Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is anyone paying tax?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,325 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

up to 37.5k you dont have to register for vat (75k for goods) maybe they want cash becuase banks charge you for cashing cheques, easier to deal in cash with the pain in the hoop the banks have become.

paid for chimney lining, rebuild chimney and new drive via an electronic bank payment - one guy wanted cash and got it - his choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,672 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

GarIT wrote: »
    I do have a problem with that too as I have alread said. I'd love to solve it by moving to a cashless society.
    Same.
    I've also already expressed my contempt on thread for not paying tax to contractors etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

ElJeffe wrote: »
    You've some neck. Every second thread on here you are giving out about dole spongers, welfare cheats etc.. and yet you are fine with tax evasion.

No I am being consistent. If you think you owe them a living, you pay more tax. I and many thers dont get free houses, medical cards, Christmas bonus and I'm not exactly flush myself. The financial waste here is appalling, it's not the tax take side that's the problem, its spending ..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Antares35 wrote: »
    I worked in the PS for a couple of years. What always amazed me was when someone went on mat leave, her replacement would be brought in then when she came back, the replacement would be kept and a job "found" for him/ her. Amazing!

I have a few buddies like that with the Council. One took a year out and travelled.

When he came back there was actually no job/space in the department he had left. He said "Eff that" he was 'encouraged' to just walk into the department on a Monday morning, take seat and desk and just sit there. Do not move and tough it out. Worked a treat.

As it happened a gang of them from various departments came back from travelling around the same time. What did the Council do? Literally made up a 'new' section/department and shoved them all in there.

I say fair play to them.

I would be the same. I'm fed up with the systems in this country.

I pay PAYE for a decade and house prices are a joke yet there's people getting free houses they don't deserve and they've never worked a day in their lives.

I was watching supergarden this year, the estate was a social housing development. One of the people was crippled in a wheelchair, fair enough, wouldn't mind her!

Then there was a young, health stay at home mother of 2 kids. Not working! And then I was on facebook and I saw her profile and she was on 2 week tour of Ireland for her staycation!

Meanwhile I wouldn't afford that. And that's where my tax is going? **** off.

She gets a free house for life, while I might get the luxury of one day getting into debt up to my tits for 30 years for the privelidge of a 2nd hand matchbox!

Dont come around here spouting facts! These people are OWED a living by you and I. They should also be shopping in m and s and have premium German metal parked out front...

ElJeffe wrote: »
    Where did i deny that. We all as tax payers pay for everything. Roads, schools, houses, health care etc...

Your beef should be with the government if you don't like the system. The voting booth is your friend.

Right, with an option on the spectrum of left, to the far left? I'm aware when you watch rte and have probably never left the country, you may believe fg are centre or centre right, but lol...

Give them an education and link welfare to education level and or previous contributions... give a hand up, not endless yand outs but when all you care about is short term re-election, you can see why they enjoy the welfare for life gravy train...

Previously filled up the car tank for ninety pound when euro pound were near parity, cost me few euro filling her up north, but I'd give it to her majesty revenue, before I would to the comedy act here...

Dublin hasn't even got a transport system health is a farce, infrastructure a disgrace. Where is the fifty percent marginal rate of tax over a pittance going? Two books and the ace is still decades behind the continent. HsE , insane welfare, free housing etc. We have zero military spend, relatively small elderly population...

paid for chimney lining, rebuild chimney and new drive via an electronic bank payment - one guy wanted cash and got it - his choice.

Electronic bank payment isn't a cash transaction.

I think we're a lot less tolerant of the black economy then we were previously.

Before there was a bit of a nod and a wink, and a "good on you" if you were getting cash in the hand.
    Not so now

• Registered Users Posts: 20,796 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I am driven mad by the raft of 'Poverty Porn' programmes on English TV.

"Single mother of 6 Becky (25) is I]insert whatever affliction of choice[/I lives in a 2 bed semi d in Manchester..."

Now, Becky did not fcuking wake up yesterday morning with 6 kids suddenly hanging off her. It is not a medical condition.

Becky dropped her knickers and took several cream pies....how well she was able to manage that but she can't spell her own name...:mad:

That is what my tax is paying for.

"Single mother of 6 Becky (25) is I]insert whatever affliction of choice[/I lives in a 2 bed semi d in Manchester..."

Now, Becky did not fcuking wake up yesterday morning with 6 kids suddenly hanging off her. It is not a medical condition.

Becky dropped her knickers and took several cream pies....how well she was able to manage that but she can't spell her own name...:mad:

No comparison between UK and here... YET, they will make endless programmes on it there. Wouldn't touch it with a bargepole here, laughable!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,672 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

What gets me is the ones that continue to produce children even though they cant afford them. EG your Becky character had 4 kids 2 years ago and now has 6.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,046 ✭✭✭✭neris

they can spell their names very well when they have to fill in the forms for more mickey money.

• Site Banned Posts: 74 ✭✭Mickey_James

Yeah.

It's not the sensible ones having babies.

Just a quick scan in my head of people around having kids in their mid 20s its all people like Becky. The sensible ones are working and can only have kids in their early or mid 30s

I'd love to see the fathers held responsible for shooting their loads

Another thing (slightly digressing)

Public sector workers who use the word "entitled":

"Oh but sure I am entitled to it [some annual payment/pay rise]"

Yeah but that is not the same as deserving it or earning it. Basically you get a pay rise every year just for still existing. What about a review and pay increases linked to performance?

or the

"Sure I have a few sick days coming to me"

Really? Are they not for sick days days? Oh I see. Hangovers are classed as sick days.

Take it up with the guy(s) who delivered the cream pies?

As usual, its easy to throw blame and shame at someone who is actually raising the kids, not the ones who disappear and take no share of their responsibility for them.

For every child being raised by a single mother, there is a single father who should take equal financial responsibility. In the case of "Becky" probably more then one.

Yeah but that is not the same as deserving it or earning it. Basically you get a pay rise every year just for still existing. What about a review and pay increases linked to performance?

or the

Really? Are they not for sick days days? Oh I see. Hangovers are classed as sick days.

OMG get with the times.

Your information is at least twenty years out of date.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭blingrhino

painter in yesterday, just finished an hour ago , just the €500 cash !
    2 large rooms and took 2 months to get him.
    price included paint and he had a helper yesterday.

As usual, its easy to throw blame and shame at someone who is actually raising the kids, not the ones who disappear and take no share of their responsibility for them.

For every child being raised by a single mother, there is a single father who should take equal financial responsibility. In the case of "Becky" probably more then one.

Take what up? Why did becky allow herself to get knocked up by several different men and now can barely survive?

Sure I get that it takes two to tango and yes there are feckless fathers but at the end of the day Becky is the one left holding the baby both literally and figuratively.

or the

Exactly.

A good one that really grinds my gears is the "pay restoration" talk.

No, you are not working for a reduced salary for the last decade, that's what it's worth.

No, any increase is not restoring pay, it's a pay increase.

What on earth made people think that 2008 was some kind of benchmark that signified the correct amount people should be paid. We were living way past our means back then, salaries gone mad, public sector spending gone mad!

OMG get with the times.

Your information is at least twenty years out of date.

I have just checked. My public sector buddies who I am referring to are still very much alive and well and still in the public sector and the conversations did not take place 20 years ago....slightly strange statement.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

Idbatterim wrote: »
    No I am being consistent. If you think you owe them a living, you pay more tax. I and many thers dont get free houses, medical cards, Christmas bonus and I'm not exactly flush myself. The financial waste here is appalling, it's not the tax take side that's the problem, its spending ..

No you are a tax evader. You've admitted that. All the rest is whataboutery.

If a fella can't decide to abort the baby then he shouldn't be burdened with raising a kid he doesn't want.

Take what up? Why did becky allow herself to get knocked up by several different men and now can barely survive?

Sure I get that it takes two to tango and yes there are feckless fathers but at the end of the day Becky is the one left holding the baby both literally and figuratively.

Ah yes, because its always the woman's fault, for getting herself pregnant, isn't it?

Men have no responsibility for contraception or where they put their dicks.

This attitude from people like you is exactly why guys think its okay to walk away and leave women like Becky "holding the baby".

Yet its the woman you attempt to shame. Clown.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,256 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I generally offer to pay cash but then I surreptitiously report the trader to Revenue.

I feel this avoids the moral-hazard of facilitating tax-evasion but still allows me to avail of the cheaper 'cash-price'.

or the

Increments aren't 'pay rises', and they can be held over in cases of poor/ unsatisfactory performance even PS worker undergoes as sgred with the unions
    (in theory) but PS are as a matter of fact, otherwise 'entitled' to if as part of their salary scale rate remuneration (unless the country is broke)

6 days uncertified ("sickies") in a 18/24 month rolling period is "allowed". Theres no sick days allowance.

System isn't great, needs more improvement, but you're incorrect on your claims.

If a fella can't decide to abort the baby then he shouldn't be burdened with raising a kid he doesn't want.

Every fella knows when they lie down with a woman that pregnancy is a possible outcome.

So save me the "no right to abort" bull****.

If a fella isn't prepared to face the possible consequences of making a woman pregnant when he has sex with her, then he should get himself the snip, or have a **** instead.

That's a risk HE decides to take, when he makes the choice to insert his penis in a woman.

Theres a fascinating thread in that post!

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

large amounts of cash is a complete waste of time if you are running something resembling a legit business

everything has to add up lifestyle wise if revenue arrive at your door