If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Opening of "No-Food" pubs pushed out again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

MrStuffins wrote: »
    And they're open. Selling pints. I've been there. The pints are still as nice as they were pre-Covid.

You've made that same point over and over again you've had your Guinness we get it, you've enjoyed it fantastic. I've had my pints its nice but they aren't pubs.

A pub isn't open, thats a restaurant you've to have food. A pub is open when you can go in and not have to think about what your going to eat and you can just sit there and have a few pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,582 ✭✭✭SteM

God, does it not get boring posting the same thing over and over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,778 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

11:30pm.

It's good you recognise that they're open. Have you been? It's quite nice

Some place's are bit different regarding closing hours, some close anywhere between 9.30-10.30

I enjoy been back and have only once been turned away cause the place was booked up. Still not used to the early close. Not a fan of the food part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,577 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

You've made that same point over and over again you've had your Guinness we get it, you've enjoyed it fantastic. I've had my pints its nice but they aren't pubs.

A pub isn't open, thats a restaurant you've to have food. A pub is open when you can go in and not have to think about what your going to eat and you can just sit there and have a few pints.

Nah, it's definitely a pub. I've been going there for years.

Going again on Saturday. Well, to a different one. But it's definitely a pub. They were selling food and drink a year ago, they're selling the same today.

SteM wrote: »
    God, does it not get boring posting the same thing over and over.

Right??

200 + pages (I'm on mobile, maybe it's fewer on desktop).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭HBC08

They can all open tomorrow if they want. Most of them already are

I live in a town with about 30 pubs,8 are currently open with two of those just opening in the last week.
    Theres a massive rural/urban divide on this.
    Lots of Dublin tourists wandering around here during the summer and giving out that all the pubs were closed.

HBC08 wrote: »
    I live in a town with about 30 pubs,8 are currently open with two of those just opening in the last week.
    Theres a massive rural/urban divide on this.
    Lots of Dublin tourists wandering around here during the summer and giving out that all the pubs were closed.

Why haven't the others opened? They know they can, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

NPHET have enacted a Coup. They are running the government. We have no idea how they are have mustered up dirt on our feeble, emasculated government to stage this Coup. It needs to be stopped.

We're through the looking glass here people!

Why haven't the others opened? They know they can, right?

The ones that can have done so,one or two more might be able to do the same.
    Most dont have the capacity to do so and work as a viable business,it's a pretty bleak future for them.
    But hey,tell us again about how you had a pint ,it was lovely and everything is sound in your world.

Most dont have the capacity to do so.......

2/3 of the pubs in your town are so small that they can't open? That they can't have groups with 2 meters between them?

I don't buy it!

2/3 of the pubs in your town are so small that they can't open? That they can't have groups with 2 meters between them?

I don't buy it!

....and be a viable business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

I noticed that as well with the reporting that NPHET decided to extend the Kildare lockdown and not open the pubs, not that they advised the government. The unelected and incompetent NPHET are running the country and it is heading in the same direction as the health service i.e. into the ground. It's been a farce for the last 3 months how we have handled the reopening in Ireland, politicians across the parties have let us down.

....and be a viable business.

I don't buy it. Not a hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

I'm really surprised that the Vintners haven't brought a legal challenge forward. There is definitely an argument to be made that the continued restriction on public houses is unconstitutional as it arbitrarily encroaches on the right of publicans to earn a livelihood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,155 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I'm really surprised that the Vintners haven't brought a legal challenge forward. There is definitely an argument to be made that the continued restriction on public houses is unconstitutional as it arbitrarily encroaches on the right of publicans to earn a livelihood.

The pubs can feck right off, they'd never even give you a packet of crisps or a pack of peanuts.

Anyway the tapa thing in Spain is just brilliant, drink all you want but have a nibble in between.

Anyway I know someone in Spain if anyone is interested, and the non food pubs are closed. Just like ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,617 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I don't buy it. Not a hope!

Then you are willfully ignorant of the situation....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,201 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Is it just me or are Gardai having trouble counting the amount of pubs thery are finding not compliant, seems 26 each week is the number they pick out of a hat

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

The ones that can have done so,one or two more might be able to do the same.
    Most dont have the capacity to do so and work as a viable business,it's a pretty bleak future for them.
    But hey,tell us again about how you had a pint ,it was lovely and everything is sound in your world.

So are the pubs who are not opening asking to be exempt from social distancing before they do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Fundamental rights are not absolute - they can be limited or restricted by the Oireachtas for certain reasons, for example, for the common good or public order.

They are not absolute rights so there can be restricted by the government.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Then you are willfully ignorant of the situation....

Nah, unless you live in a town with 20 pubs which are each the size of an average sitting room!

Ones which were "viable businesses" before but can't be if groups sit 2 metres away?

Nah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The last time we seen the President was about 2 months ago. Where is he? Has the President been executed? Since then NPHET have staged a Coup and Micheal Martin gave the EU 16bn when he was supposed to get a loan. Have the EU taken over the running of our country via NPHET? Are the Saudis involved? Is that why they want our pubs closed? Was the golf meeting the begining of the resistance? Is that why they suddenly clamped down on gatherings the day before and everyone was hung out to dry by the government?

There has been a Coup folks.

Nah, unless you live in a town with 20 pubs which are each the size of an average sitting room!

Ones which were "viable businesses" before but can't be if groups sit 2 metres away?

Nah!

So explain to me how a family owned pub with 2 staff are supposed to open tomorrow and make money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭seamusk84

Think you might actually be on to something 🀔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭irishgeo

The last time we seen the President was about 2 months ago. Where is he? Since then NPHET have staged a Coup and Micheal Martin gave the EU 16bn when he was supposed to get a loan. Is the President been executed? Have the EU taken over the running of our country via NPHET? Are the Saudis involved? Is that why they want our pubs closed?

coup : a sudden illegal, often violent, taking of government power, especially by part of an army:

i dont see any army on the streets :rolleyes:

The last time we seen the President was about 2 months ago. Where is he? Since then NPHET have staged a Coup and Micheal Martin gave the EU 16bn when he was supposed to get a loan. Is the President been executed? Have the EU taken over the running of our country via NPHET? Are the Saudis involved? Is that why they want our pubs closed? Was the golf meeting the begining of the resistance? Is that why the suddenly clamped down on gatherings the day before and everyone was hung out to dry by the government?

Conspiracy theory forum is that way

>>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,553 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Anyway I know someone in Spain if anyone is interested, and the non food pubs are closed. Just like ours.

This is not true, 1am is closing time. Up to each region currently if they want to implement the food pubs like us, but offering snacks counts and you can open.

Not exactly like us.

Nightclubs and night time bars in Spain are closed as they operate past 1am.

Many articles available online as to what the measures in place are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭TomsOnTheRoof

irishgeo wrote: »
    They are not absolute rights so there can be restricted by the government.

Yes you are correct. However that is not to say that the point can't be argued. The restrictions must be proportionate (Cox v Ireland, 1992). Surely, considering what's at stake for so many publicans, it's worth having a go.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    So explain to me how a family owned pub with 2 staff are supposed to open tomorrow and make money?

There are 20 pubs in your town with 2 staff each?

I'm in the middle of Dublin, and there's at least 3 pubs with 2-4 staff within a 10 minute walk of me, usually the owner, the barman and a blow in.