Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Benimar wrote: »
    Of course the massive flaw in your position is that without closing the country down, deaths wouldn’t be ‘20 odd weekly’ as you put it. They would’ve been of a magnitude higher.

There are 0 flaws in my argument. We have 100,000 construction lads eating chicken fillet rolls for 18 days now, huddling together. Barely any masks. 0 Social distancing. Woodies, B&Q and a host of other hard ware store operating.

We have 1000 + marching O connell Street to Dublin 4.

We have blackmarket of hairdressers going house to house cutting hair.

What restrictions do you think CURRENTLY and for the LAST 2 WEEKS, keep deaths low? the fact that japanese restaurants are closed?

The fact that you cant get a pint in your local pub? are you really that out of touch with reality?

And more importantly, what in the gods name do you think gonna change on 10th of August?

Whatever you say about lift the lockdown merchants, pro lockdown people sure are living in fantasy land.

We had 28 % unemployment down to 26% unemployment. its absolutely bizarre.

frillyleaf wrote: »
    I would guess this is to stop people from travelling to different parts of the country to holiday homes, renting Airbnb homes. Plenty would. If the 20km was lifted massive numbers of people would travel to different parts of the country just as we are going into phase 2. If they can keep numbers and spread as low as possible for phase 2 we may be open up much more in phase 3 with no restrictions on movement. As as last weekend checkpoints were set up to deter people from going to beaches

Well that didn’t work! Beaches were packed everywhere last weekend, and it was great to see, except in places like Donegal where locals were ringing the Gardai and blocking them off.
    At this stage tourists will never want to visit some counties with the level of local resistance ! Be careful what you wish for guys ! This is your livelihood .
    It’s not like the country is full of Covid anymore , this “people will visit and spread the virus” stuff is crazy. Covid has dropped off the cliff lately, most new cases in meat factories, direct provision centres and the Roma community . Not in the Dub 4 community in their SUVs heading to the West to their holiday home.

There is such unbelievable fear out there . The longer people live in their locked up bubble , the worse the fear of restarting life becomes .

.....and I’d be happy to wear masks from tomorrow if it meant dropping the stupid, punitive and senseless 20km restrictions!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

hi5 wrote: »
    The logic is a bit baffling alright. The figures are counted on a national basis.
    If I have the virus and I travel to spread it in a low infected area it means while there I'm not spreading it in the area I have come from.
    No area has 100% infection or is 100% free.

Wexford has had no new cases in the last two weeks. Dublin has had over 500 cases, so if Dubs travel to Wexford, there is a chance it could spread there.

That's the idea behind the distance, trying to keep it local and manageable.

If you want to travel 100k, you go ahead no one will stop you. Once your happy is all that matters in this country

Naos wrote: »
    People complained we had no roadmap. Our government gave a roadmap.
    People complained the roadmap was too slow. Our government said the speed of our roadmap would depend on the progress we make.

So what do those people do next?

Went to black market barbers (because a haircut is that important), disobeyed restrictions, sided with protestors, rallied behind pubs & shops to forge the phases and open anyway.

And now they are complaining that the government are not speeding up the roadmap and wondering why.

And yet we will never know what constitutes enough progress..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

You don't know what kind of underlying conditions the people wearing masks or those they live with have. I can understand the giving out about a lot of the restrictions, even if I don't necessarily agree myself, but the sneering attitude some people have towards masks is bizarre to me. Someone else wearing a mask doesn't have any impact on you whatsoever. Leave them to it.
    Indeed, let everyone make their own choices about masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,079 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Govt to reduce pandemic payments to part-time workers

The Pandemic Unemployment Payment is to be cut by 42% for part-time workers.

The Irish Independent reports the €350 a week payment will be reduced to the Jobseeker's allowance rate of €203.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/govt-to-reduce-pandemic-payments-to-part-time-workers-1003314.html

Can see many more people want a speeding up of easing restrictions when they're €147 less well off per week now

Not before time either

You don't know what kind of underlying conditions the people wearing masks or those they live with have. I can understand the giving out about a lot of the restrictions, even if I don't necessarily agree myself, but the sneering attitude some people have towards masks is bizarre to me. Someone else wearing a mask doesn't have any impact on you whatsoever. Leave them to it.

Completely agree with you on this, none of us know what anyone else is living with which makes them vulnerable. Face should have been mandatory in shops, public travel and busy areas, as a trade off for dropping travel restrictions of 5km and 20 km. Why is there no debate, no consideration, no discussion of these things with Simon Harris?? He’s a headless chicken at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭alta stare

What you say is true and i agree with you. What is baffling is why people are wearing them out in the fresh air. I mean they are using masks which look like they re use all the time out in the fresh air......makes no sense.

AdamD wrote: »
    And yet we will never know what constitutes enough progress..
    We do, Phase 2 is coming right up. You need to parse what the CMO says for actual meaning. There has been no "we are not in a a position" or "concern" for about a week and a half and the disease is under control and behaving as they would like. Even the demeanour is far more relaxed.

KrustyUCC wrote: »

The Irish Independent reports the €350 a week payment will be reduced to the Jobseeker's allowance rate of €203.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/govt-to-reduce-pandemic-payments-to-part-time-workers-1003314.html

Can see many more people want a speeding up of easing restrictions when they're €147 less well off per week now

Not before time either

Will govt do a poll now - how quickly they are lifting restrictions?

We all know the answer :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,079 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Unless they speed up some phases we have 6 weeks of travel being restricted at 20km from 8th June to 20th of July

Glacial slow when vast vast majority of countries are fully opened for internal travel and will have their international borders open before us as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

In fairness I can see the logic of the travel restriction. It means people aren’t travelling from infected regions and bringing it with them to regions that are now infection free. What they are doing is working so this 20km will likely be lifted at the end of June.

The only thing it will achieve is making sure that the tourism and entertainment sector in this country is decimated.

Unless they speed up some phases we have 6 weeks of travel being restricted at 20km from 8th June to 20th of July

Glacial slow when vast vast majority of countries are fully opened for internal travel and will have their international borders open before us as well

The very fact that we have fools in the government and group of advisers to the government who say "write off tourism for 2020" is already shocking.

We have posters here flying to Spain on bloody 1st of July, Lanzarote.

Ah shure, tourism employs 265,000 people in Ireland, just pay them that 203 a week and be done with it until summer of 2021.

Embarrassing

Wouldn't it make sense to impose the distance restriction on areas that have a high number of cases? Someone travelling from a county with no cases to another county with no cases is very unlikely to spread anything.

I'm not one of the people strongly against the restrictions in general but even I think the distance thing is getting a bit daft.

But most counties have cases, except for 3-4 counties.

It would get very confusing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,728 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Wouldn't it make sense to impose the distance restriction on areas that have a high number of cases? Someone travelling from a county with no cases to another county with no cases is very unlikely to spread anything.

I'm not one of the people strongly against the restrictions in general but even I think the distance thing is getting a bit daft.

How would you know what county the person lives in? Or the county they are going to?

We don't have mandatory ID cards. Driving licences aren't required to have a current address...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

There is no logic to it.. who is walking, jogging, cycling a 40km round trip?

Why only include exercise in the 5km or 20km? You know you can drive 5km away for social visits at the moment right?
    It’s a ridiculous and tedious farce, time to call time on the nonsense, the only ones bothering with it are the handful of extreme hypochondriacs still wearing masks.

You misunderstand the point of the mask - it's to stop the spread of the virus, from the mask wearer. So these 'hypochondriacs' are actually trying to do a nice thing by not spreading it to others.
    There are 0 flaws in my argument. We have 100,000 construction lads eating chicken fillet rolls for 18 days now, huddling together. Barely any masks. 0 Social distancing. Woodies, B&Q and a host of other hard ware store operating.

We have 1000 + marching O connell Street to Dublin 4.

We have blackmarket of hairdressers going house to house cutting hair.

What restrictions do you think CURRENTLY and for the LAST 2 WEEKS, keep deaths low? the fact that japanese restaurants are closed?

The fact that you cant get a pint in your local pub? are you really that out of touch with reality?

Valid points about construction - I would add though that all the research is pointing the risk of transmission is lower outdoors (construction, protests etc) than indoors (offices, pubs, shops etc).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,459 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Not just Ryanair and Aerlingus looking to get back flying in Dublin anyway
    https://twitter.com/etihad/status/1268456099646255105?s=19

KaneToad wrote: »
    How would you know what county the person lives in? Or the county they are going to?

We don't have mandatory ID cards. Driving licences aren't required to have a current address...

I believe the phases will start coming quicker now also. I know our swimming lessons are starting early August

KaneToad wrote: »

Your car Reg is all the Gardai need to know where you’re from ....in a few seconds.

Not before time either

Very good sign btw. They wouldnt be doing this if they were loaded with cash or they were keen on borrowing a lot.

Clearly restrictions will be lifted ahead of time, but not because Tony H is comfortable or uncomfortable, but because they dont have money to continue this charade.

Also note how it said "the PUP for full time employees will be phased out"

Not just Ryanair and Aerlingus looking to get back flying in Dublin anyway
    https://twitter.com/etihad/status/1268456099646255105?s=19

Aer Lingus and Ryanair have cancelled most of their July Flights.
    Our one to France is gone in July

I believe the phases will start coming quicker now also. I know our swimming lessons are starting early August
    Yep, there is a whole lot of extreme caution built into it. The rationale of one month ago has changed quite a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

It is likely because our health system can’t manage a surge compared to other countries. We are doing well and the lower the cases become the quicker restrictions will be lifted. Phase 2 will likely stay as it is with minor adjustments but phase 3 will have stages from 4 and 5 brought into it

Our health system coped with the first surge which is always likely to be the worst (there was little or no social distancing at the time, lots of commuters using public transport, etc. now we have social distancing, a lot of wfh, 100k+ with antibodies so won't be getting it again, etc.).

There is no evidence of a surge despite countries being in their fourth week of what we consider to be Phase 4 level of opening. Where is the evidence on which this fear of a surge or second wave is based?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Its a police state in Ireland. End of.

Please stop with this shíte. It's not a police state. Saying, "End of," after something doesn't make it so.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Very good sign btw. They wouldnt be doing this if they were loaded with cash or they were keen on borrowing a lot.

Clearly restrictions will be lifted ahead of time, but not because Tony H is comfortable or uncomfortable, but because they dont have money to continue this charade.

Also note how it said "the PUP for full time employees will be phased out"

That was always the plan. They had to go with the emergency plan first, now things are clearing up they can reduce it.

What is happening and I know a few people doing it, they are refusing to go to work as they are better off on the 350 per week. Such a society

Penfailed wrote: »
    Please stop with this shíte. It's not a police state. Saying, "End of," after something doesn't make it so.

Sometimes I wish it was, maybe then they could beat the crap out of the scumbags around Ireland

That was always the plan. They had to go with the emergency plan first, now things are clearing up they can reduce it.

What is happening and I know a few people doing it, they are refusing to go to work as they are better off on the 350 per week. Such a society

Those are the same people who vote that govt is lifting restrictions too quickly and are afraid to go to back to work cus "fears of covid"?

You are right, messed up society.

Wexford has had no new cases in the last two weeks. Dublin has had over 500 cases, so if Dubs travel to Wexford, there is a chance it could spread there.

That's the idea behind the distance, trying to keep it local and manageable.

If you want to travel 100k, you go ahead no one will stop you. Once your happy is all that matters in this country

what if someone wants to go from Gorey to Fethard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,459 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Aer Lingus and Ryanair have cancelled most of their July Flights.
    Our one to France is gone in July

Ryanair are running 40% service in July so some will be cancelled but not all. Services with multiple journeys per day are being cut right back.

Aerlingus have some services back in the air in July anyway, multiple Spanish routes restarting 1st July but not a full service