Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IV - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,627 ✭✭✭Micky 32

storker wrote: »
    Priceless...you're so in love with your own insults that in the rush to get your dig in you forgot that such people would hardly be blocking the footpath and mocking someone else for keeping a distance, would they?

Next time try putting a bit of thought into it. :rolleyes:

Wasn’t it you that mentioned they might be posters on here. Maybe you should have put thought into it. The 350 stops for people who can work whether they like it or not. i personally know of gob****es that are sour because they have to go back to work. Maybe they were salty and acting that way because they couldn’t stay home drinking , twitching the curtains and watching netflix all day long anymore. Roll eyes my arse, get over yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

the kelt wrote: »
    Its amazing how many people dont realise that though.

The fact that literally people are scared to walk past someone on a street within 2metres is terrible really amd i dont blame people that are scared, its been programmed into them for months now.

As much as theres been an information campaign to change peoples behaviours to help stop the spread the opposite may be needed to allow people return to a level of normality.

Definitely you hit the nail on the head,fear was definitely used as a tool at the start to try control the situation in Ireland and understandably in some way.
    But across Europe I have friends from spain Germany France Poland and others and have been in contact throughout this,they are quite surprised by our governments profound use of fear even know to get messages across to the mass public.
    There is a definite more of an acceptance to the situation in Europe than here and definitely an understanding of living along with the virus they definitely getting back to there lives with a better understanding and outlook than us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The fact that literally people are scared to walk past someone on a street within 2metres is terrible really amd i dont blame people that are scared, its been programmed into them for months now.
    Plenty of people are stepping aside from other people, and I hope it continues. It's a way of signifying respect and community. I have no way of telling if the person coming towards me is in some vulnerable group and afraid to go for a walk, so the decent thing is to be generous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,265 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

It’s just about others acknowledging that some people have this fear and instead of mocking them to have some empathy and compassion for them

That would involve basic decency, a trait many of the selfish economy/mental health advocates here are lacking. Theres some who would probably find coughing in the face of the elderly "funny" plus the Gardai had to use "spit hoods" for some of the llama's about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭the kelt

hmmm wrote: »
    Plenty of people are stepping aside from other people, and I hope it continues. It's a way of signifying respect and community. I have no way of telling if the person coming towards me is in some vulnerable group and afraid to go for a walk, so the decent thing is to be generous.

Which is great, i do it myself.

Its when people are so fearful to go out and about because someone came within 2m of them for a few seconds that it becomes an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

ZX7R wrote: »
    Definitely you hit the nail on the head,fear was definitely used as a tool at the start to try control the situation in Ireland and understandably in some way.
    But across Europe I have friends from spain Germany France Poland and others and have been in contact throughout this,they are quite surprised by our governments profound use of fear even know to get messages across to the mass public.
    There is a definite more of an acceptance to the situation in Europe than here and definitely an understanding of living along with the virus they definitely getting back to there lives with a better understanding and outlook than us

That in bold. I think Irish society as a whole is lagging couple of decades behind most European countries unfortunately, fundamentally because of strong catholic church grip on the proceedings in the past. Our political system is also woeful, the fact that we can all say no matter who wouldve been in the govt response wouldve been the same would be bizarre to any European. (appreciate SF in power we wouldve extended 350 euros until June 2021 lol so a little different)

My friend in France tells me that covid is old news that and they are long past it - more busy now with suing French govt for disproportionate response to the whole thing. Something that will start occurring here over the next 6 - 9 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

As much as theres been an information campaign to change peoples behaviours to help stop the spread the opposite may be needed to allow people return to a level of normality.

It was the same as the hysteria over joggers and the plum of virus that was going to spew out of their mouths due to heavy breathing.:rolleyes:
    And I believe this is THE single biggest risk to the economy now. The fear.
    And the powers that be are doing nothing to quell it. They are dishing out unsustainable and unoperable guidelines just so they can tick a box. I even heard someone on from kildare County council yesterday saying they are recommending parents to prevent their children from touching their nose eyes and mouths while playing in their playground!
    You can say it, and you can do up your little guidelines if it makes you feel better about opening but it's time people, especially those in positions of trust and influence, got real about it. We cannot do life while living in fear.

This.

Fear has been beaten into people for months now from our very own CMO all the way through the media. How people like Gerry Kileen are getting air time is a disgrace.

And now it looks like the plan is back firing. A large amount of people are now too afraid and critical of any plans to return to normality.

The irony is that having that level of fear will actually make you sick.

Unless you are over 70 and in bad health, the chances of catching this illness and dying are extremely low, minuscule even.

And I believe this is THE single biggest risk to the economy now. The fear.
    Covid is the biggest threat.

You think it's all "fear". I disagree, as do most of the population. Instead of calling for everything to re-open as quickly as possible we need to acknowledge the reality, stop disparaging people for fearing this disease, and put systems in place which will give people confidence they can reasonably go about their lives while reducing risk.

Stop talking about "getting back to normality" for a start. It's not happening until we have a vaccine or a treatment.

There’s no real evidence presently to suggest that. No one knows what will happen with the virus longterm. I suggest stop talking about it from both sides.

You think it's all "fear". I disagree, as do most of the population. Instead of calling for everything to re-open as quickly as possible we need to acknowledge the reality, stop disparaging people for fearing this disease, and put systems in place which will give people confidence they can reasonably go about their lives while reducing risk.

But if Covid is biggest threat - why are we re opening now and so quickly? Why was phase 5 scrapped? Why are protests of 3000 + allowed to happen by Gardai?

Has covid become less of a threat over the last 2 weeks? :confused:

I completely agree
    I’ve tried to explain this to my mum so many times- who is normally a very sensible and logical woman but for some reason right now she would probably rather take her chances and be killed by a car on the road rather than die in hospital with this virus such is her fear of it.
    It’s just about others acknowledging that some people have this fear and instead of mocking them to have some empathy and compassion for them

This is it. My dad is the complete opposite. There was a funeral recently and he was up shaking hands. A few days later he was over helping neighbours bring in turf. Then there's the trips to the shop and the "I'm just going to get petrol for the car". Wut. You only ever drive like 5 minutes! He is 77. His attitude is he would rather take his chances than stop living.
    I have been trying to explain to him that his actions have an effect on others. But sure lookit. He is forgetful and doddery.

I have been amazed at how coronavirus has divided people. I think I may have lost a friend because of my handling of it. My own view is to let people be. If someone is terrified then I have compassion for them because it's a horrible feeling. If someone wants to join a BLM protest then that's grand. At the end of the day people will people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,892 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

That in bold. I think Irish society as a whole is lagging couple of decades behind most European countries unfortunately, fundamentally because of strong catholic church grip on the proceedings in the past. Our political system is also woeful, the fact that we can all say no matter who wouldve been in the govt response wouldve been the same would be bizarre to any European. (appreciate SF in power we wouldve extended 350 euros until June 2021 lol so a little different)

My friend in France tells me that covid is old news that and they are long past it - more busy now with suing French govt for disproportionate response to the whole thing. Something that will start occurring here over the next 6 - 9 months.

Old news really? Why all the restrictions on the campsites and restaurants so?
    Some beaches won't allow you to sunbathe

But if Covid is biggest threat - why are we re opening now and so quickly? Why was phase 5 scrapped? Why are protests of 3000 + allowed to happen by Gardai?

Has covid become less of a threat over the last 2 weeks? :confused:

The spread of covid is the biggest threat and that has slowed down, hence we can open up more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,739 ✭✭✭storker

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Wasn’t it you that mentioned they might be posters on here.

Yes, because the mockery fits.
    Roll eyes my arse, get over yourself.

More projection from the guy who can't stop himself from insulting other posters who disagree with him, and gets narky called out on it. Diddums. :D

Hardly surprising mind you, when the moderators tolerate so much of it on here.

The actual reality though is that just below 1700 have died in Ireland.
    The huge majority of those are over 65. In fact, most are over 80.
    Most also have underlying conditions. And I'm not talking about a touch of asthma. They are terminally ill, advanced cancer, heart disease, COPD.

Covid is really not a big threat at all to people under 65. Stats back that up.

The spread of covid is the biggest threat and that has slowed down, hence we can open up more

You do know that we test less than 20,000 people per week right?

In May it was 40,000.

So has spread slowed down or we just test less, or both?

You can only say spread has slowed down if you test entire nation every week and see reduction in number of positive tests.......

If noone gets tested this week for covid you do realize new cases = 0? That doesnt mean the spread has slowed down or covid has gone away

The actual reality though is that just below 1700 have died in Ireland.
    The huge majority of those are over 65. In fact, most are over 80.
    Most also have underlying conditions. And I'm not talking about a touch of asthma. They are terminally ill, advanced cancer, heart disease, COPD.

Covid is really not a big threat at all to people under 65. Stats back that up.
    1700 people died only because we had a lockdown. Let rip through the population we don't know what it would have done.

There's plenty of people under 65 who have suffered blood clots, strokes, lung damage, heart damage, and some have died - and it's unclear whether there are any long-term impacts. It's ironic that the same people who won't take a vaccine because of safety concerns seem quite happy to take their chances with Covid.

Once you get over about 55, mortality rates start to significantly increase upwards. And besides which, I'm not about to write off people over 65 as being "beyond economic usefullness" as some on this thread feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

Lots of pointless bickering here.

Construction crews aren't known for their fine manners and its nothing to with intellectual opposition to a shutdown.

Plenty of insults have been thrown in every direction.

Leo, what a guy

Coronavirus lockdown: Leo Varadkar hopes to have Ireland fully opened by mid-July including pubs, barbers and hairdressers
    We could be back to a new normal much sooner than expected

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/coronavirus-lockdown-leo-varadkar-hopes-18393605

His hopeful plans come as Dublin recorded just one new case of coronavirus over the last 24 hours with the capital edging closer towards the zero mark, according to new statistics.

Looking very promising :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭setanta1984

And if there is none? Everything stays like this?

All of those anti vaxxers working in HSE, how dare they

TAOISEACH Leo Varadkar has warned that the low up-take of the flu vaccine among health workers saying it's "not on" and "has to change".

It comes amid fears that there could be a second wave of coronavirus outbreaks during the winter flu season.

Mr Varadkar said that such a scenario would be "very difficult" and the government is stepping up the annual flu vaccine programme as a result including expanding free vaccination for children.

But he added: "Less than half of them got the flu vaccine last year. That’s not on. That has to change."

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/its-not-on-varadkar-warns-low-up-take-of-flu-vaccine-among-health-workers-has-to-change-39275121.html

Is anyone naive enough to think this up and coming untested and unproven covid vaccine will be rolled out and healthcare workers will "get it"? cuckoo land

PS Leo is great for PR. media soundbites :rolleyes:

You do know that we test less than 20,000 people per week right?

In May it was 40,000.

So has spread slowed down or we just test less, or both?

You can only say spread has slowed down if you test entire nation every week and see reduction in number of positive tests.......

If noone gets tested this week for covid you do realize new cases = 0? That doesnt mean the spread has slowed down or covid has gone away

We know the spread has slowed down as the positive test rate is lower percentage wise.

We are only testing 20,000 a week as less people have come forward . You forgot that part

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Leo, what a guy

Coronavirus lockdown: Leo Varadkar hopes to have Ireland fully opened by mid-July including pubs, barbers and hairdressers
    We could be back to a new normal much sooner than expected

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/coronavirus-lockdown-leo-varadkar-hopes-18393605

His hopeful plans come as Dublin recorded just one new case of coronavirus over the last 24 hours with the capital edging closer towards the zero mark, according to new statistics.

Looking very promising :)

So one minute you are criticizing the government for their covid policies the next you are complimenting them. Be careful you don't get any splinters from all the fence jumping you seem to be doing.

I was very critical of 5 month lockdown plans and made my feelings known.

Now that its going to be 3.5 months I think, yeah, govt are improving.

Is there a lot of room to improve still? Absolutely. But if Leo comes out tomorrow and announces 1m social distancing for 29 June and all hairdressers re opening 29th of June I wont be posting here "Leo is terrible" if thats where you are going.

storker wrote: »
    Yes, because the mockery fits.

More projection from the guy who can't stop himself from insulting other posters who disagree with him, and gets narky called out on it. Diddums. :D

Hardly surprising mind you, when the moderators tolerate so much of it on here.

Show me where i was insulting other posters or stop talking through your hoop. I don’t insult anyone who disagrees with me at all but i will defend myself and others of some of the bolloxogy coming from morons on these threads. There’s a big difference between boloxogy and an opinion. It’s you that’s throwing your toys out of your pram and stomping your feet going by your posts, grow up.

Btw i have abided by all the restrictions so get over yourself.

Yep “the mockery” fits toward the people who don’t share your opinion,. Mocking people who don’t share your opinion is an insult so i do agree about your moderation claim on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

George lee once again spouting fear and nonsense about masks on radio 1.this constant fear being peddled is wrong.he’s being making a living out of misery for yrs.

I don't agree with a lot of his posts but surely what he has said above is completely consistent? He criticises the government for a slow plan, then compliments them for speeding it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭finalfurlong

boggerman1 wrote: »
    George lee once again spouting fear and nonsense about masks on radio 1.this constant fear being peddled is wrong.he’s being making a living out of misery for yrs.
    He was finance reporter for bailout and heath one for pandemic.If they make him space correspondent we would get hit by meteorites.Time for his fear/alarmist approach to be neutered by RTE.His performance on Friday during the new measures being announced was meltdown stuff.

Great article -

The Covid-19 crisis could "morph into a banking crisis" if the State doesn't do more to help small firms cope with inter-company debts averaging €78,000, Isme has warned.

The lobbying group for more than 10,000 small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) said most State supports to date were merely loading already crushed firms with extra layers of debt.

"Without viable businesses, it will not be possible to re- ignite the economy. In this case, Ireland's debt levels would frighten the markets. Economic recovery as quickly as possible is essential."

https://www.independent.ie/business/small-business/small-firms-need-bigger-grants-to-avoid-banking-crisis-isme-39273985.html

The point about debt burden is a real one. Small companies arent getting a free ride here, they are required to take on more debt to stay alive. With 78k average debts, should businesses decide to close down, banks will be in huge trouble.