Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

A/R TT....Round 2 - 1 mile TT, Saturday May 30th *** please read post #1 ***

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Here are the results including category age grading. The table can be sorted by clicking on any of the headings. As was mentioned before some mobile browsers are not set up to facilitate this function. As far as I know you will see the table by age grade ranking on some mobile devices.

For those not familiar, Age Grading expresses your time as a percentage of the world record for your age. The ‘adjusted time’ expresses your result in terms of the equivalent performance by a senior male (ie 18-27 years) runner. I don't need to explain the sandbag factor as we are all very familiar with it......especially Pherekydes :pac:

Name |Cat |Prediction|Actual|AG|Adjusted|Sandbag Factor
    BeepBeep67|M53|05:15|04:59|87.22%|04:15|00:16
    ultrapercy|M45|04:59|04:47|85.23%|04:21|00:12
    66_lad|M40|04:58|04:46|82.34%|04:30|00:12
    Skyblue46|M53|05:42|05:30|79.02%|04:41|00:12
    spc78|M42|04:56|05:04|78.65%|04:43|-00:08
    Crazy Fred|M44|05:15|05:09|78.58%|04:43|00:06
    jamule|M45|04:59|05:12|78.40%|04:44|-00:13
    MrMacPhisto|M38|05:01|04:57|78.15%|04:45|00:04
    IvoryTower|M37|04:48|04:55|78.10%|04:45|-00:07
    Murph_D|M59|05:54|05:53|77.73%|04:46|00:01
    coogy|M47|05:30|05:20|77.66%|04:47|00:10
    Dubh G|M37|04:59|04:57|77.58%|04:47|00:02
    Itziger|M54|05:30|05:39|77.58%|04:47|-00:09
    Lambay island|M39|04:59|05:03|77.16%|04:48|-00:04
    Treviso|M40|05:05|05:06|76.96%|04:49|-00:01
    outforarun|M47|05:39|05:24|76.70%|04:50|00:15
    Ferris B|M52|05:43|05:38|76.54%|04:51|00:05
    Comic book guy|M40|05:30|05:09|76.21%|04:52|00:21
    MisterDrak|M53|05:55|05:45|75.59%|04:54|00:10
    MY BAD|M38|04:59|05:08|75.35%|04:55|-00:09
    Swashbuckler|M38|05:15|05:08|75.35%|04:55|00:07
    Paulie Yifter|M47|05:35|05:31|75.08%|04:56|00:04
    Diablo Verde|M39|05:09|05:12|74.94%|04:57|-00:03
    Laineyfrecks|F42|06:05|06:05|74.34%|05:00|00:00
    Ecoenergy|M45|05:45|05:30|74.12%|05:00|00:15
    denis_b|M57|06:22|06:04|74.09%|05:00|00:18
    Scotindublin|M42|05:29|05:25|73.57%|05:03|00:04
    Sheep1978|M41|05:29|05:24|73.24%|05:04|00:05
    MisterJinx|M43|05:30|05:32|72.56%|05:07|-00:02
    quick feet|M38|05:15|05:20|72.53%|05:07|-00:05
    Djemba Djemba|M36|05:30|05:16|72.41%|05:07|00:14
    Gcastelli|M41|05:40|05:28|72.35%|05:08|00:12
    OOnegative|M41|05:20|05:30|71.91%|05:10|-00:10
    FBOT01|M50|05:42|05:54|71.89%|05:10|-00:12
    TFBubendorfer|M50|05:59|05:54|71.89%|05:10|00:05
    shotgunmcos|M42|05:40|05:35|71.37%|05:12|00:05
    ThebitterLemon|M53|06:40|06:07|71.06%|05:13|00:33
    Sussex18|F40|06:40|06:16|70.66%|05:15|00:24
    ClashCityRocker|M35|04:59|05:22|70.62%|05:15|-00:23
    Speedy44|M54|05:40|06:17|70.32%|05:17|-00:37
    LastFridayNight|M47|06:10|05:54|70.20%|05:17|00:16
    Yaboya|M38|05:41|05:31|70.12%|05:17|00:10
    Classic21|M41|05:35|05:39|70.00%|05:18|-00:04
    the descent|M|05:10|05:21|69.35%|05:21|-00:11
    Hedgehoggy|F37|06:12|06:14|69.30%|05:21|-00:02
    ariana|F43|06:45|06:38|68.97%|05:23|00:07
    slow_runner|M45|05:47|05:55|68.90%|05:23|-00:08
    EnPassant|M59|06:25|06:39|68.73%|05:23|-00:14
    mister paul|M44|05:45|05:55|68.39%|05:25|-00:10
    career move|F38|06:30|06:23|68.17%|05:26|00:07
    togram|M46|05:59|06:03|67.93%|05:28|-00:04
    healy1835|M39|05:45|05:48|67.77%|05:29|-00:03
    justdoit|M39|05:52|05:45|67.77%|05:29|00:07
    DeepBlue|M49|06:16|06:13|67.69%|05:29|00:03
    Lazare|M44|05:50|06:00|67.44%|05:30|-00:10
    CR 7|M31|05:30|05:32|67.38%|05:30|-00:02
    Crisco10|M34|05:30|05:36|67.32%|05:31|-00:06
    nop98|M47|06:00|06:12|66.80%|05:33|-00:12
    woody1|M44|05:50|06:04|66.70%|05:34|-00:14
    yido1882|M34|05:50|05:42|66.14%|05:36|00:08
    MrSkinny|M48|06:15|06:19|66.09%|05:37|-00:04
    gucci|M37|05:29|05:49|66.02%|05:37|-00:20
    ReeReeG|F34|05:59|06:27|65.84%|05:36|-00:28
    annapr|F55|08:29|08:18|64.10%|05:47|00:11
    eyrie|F36|06:45|06:42|64.05%|05:57|00:03
    Tipptatlers|M30|06:15|05:49|63.95%|05:48|00:26
    Alorra|M37|06:30|06:01|63.82%|05:49|00:29
    diego_b|M38|06:30|06:08|63.07%|05:53|00:22
    Younganne|F48|07:59|07:53|61.63%|06:02|00:06
    simonw|M33|06:15|06:09|61.03%|06:05|00:06
    Pherekydes|M60|09:00|07:41|60.04%|06:11|01:19
    lenny palmer|M47|07:00|06:55|59.88%|06:12|00:05
    Omeceron|M39|06:30|06:33|59.49%|06:14|-00:03
    jackc101|M37|07:00|06:41|57.46%|06:27|00:19
    Strawberry Swan|F40|07:50|07:46|57.02%|06:29|00:04
    Annie get your Run|F49|08:44|08:44|56.34%|06:35|00:00
    DelDonut83|M36|07:00|06:50|55.80%|06:38|00:10
    ByrneDCMBrian|M37|06:50|07:03|54.47%|06:49|-00:13
    laura_ac3|F35|07:44|07:52|54.24%|06:51|-00:08
    blackbird86|F37|07:59|07:58|54.24%|06:50|00:01
    pansophelia|F40|07:31|08:22|52.93%|07:25|-00:51
    Hannibal_Smith|F43|10:20|10:30|44.09%|08:18|-00:10

Boards One Mile TT Results:

Here's the Top 3 Overall and in each category (where there are 3 in the category)

Female Top 3:
    1. Laineyfrecks 6:05 F40-44
    2. Hedgehoggy 6:14 F35-39
    3. Sussex18 6:16 F40-44

F <35
    1. ReeReeG 6:27

F35-39
    1. career move 6:23
    2. eyrie 6:42
    3. laura ac3 7:52

F40-44
    1. ariana' 6:38
    2. Strawberry Swan 7:46
    3. pansophelia 8:22

F45-49
    1. YoungAnne 7:53
    2. AGYR 8:44

F55-59
    1. annapr 8:18

Male Top 3:
    1. 66_lad 4:46 M40-44
    2. ultrapercy 4:47 M45-49
    3. Ivory Tower 4:55 M35-39

M<35
    1. the descent 5:21
    2. CR 7 5:32
    3. crisco10 5:36

M35-39
    1= Dubh Geannain 4:57
    1= MrMacPhisto 4:57
    3. Lambay Island 5:03

M40-44
    1. spc78 5:04
    2. Treviso 5:06
    3. Comic Book Guy 5:09

M45-49
    1. jamule 5:12
    2. coogy 5:20
    3. outforarun 5:24

M50-54
    1. BeepBeep67 4:59
    2. skyblue46 5:30
    3. Ferris B 5:38

M55:
    1. Murph_D 5:53
    2. denis_b 6:04
    3. En Passant 6:39

M60:
    1. Pherekydes 7:41

Top 3 AG performances are:
    1. BeepBeep67 87.22%
    2. ultrapercy 85.23%
    3. 66_lad 82.34%

The three best female AG performances are:
    1. Laineyfrecks 74.34%
    2. Sussex18 70.66%
    3. Hedgehoggy 69.30%

Biggest Sandbaggers:
    1. Pherekydes (01:19)
    2. ThebitterLemon (00:33)
    3. Alorra (00:29)

Best predictors:
    1= Laineyfrecks 0:00
    1= Annie get your Run 0:00
    3=Murph_D -0:01
    3=blackbird86 -0:01

Never giving up on your Dream Award:
    A very well deserving winner here with Dubh Geannain finally reaching the Sub 5 promised land. Feel free to send him a DM to suggest a new log title!

The When is a mile not a mile Award:
    We couldn't decide between the contenders here so KSU and Itziger will have to share the honours. Well done lads. It's great to see that even two such experienced runners can make monumental fcuk ups of a simple mile.

The Best Performance with a Hangover Award:
    This was the most hotly contested award with seemingly half the field downing copious amounts of alcohol on Friday night. BeepBeep ruined his chances by giving himself a day to recover, 00Negative was crushed by the hangover and didn't reach his usual high standards. Everyone else ran quite well on the day considering the blood alcohol levels on the roads before 9am. However a decision had to be made and for reportedly drinking 2 bottles of wine and still running the third fastest time of the TT we had to award it to Ivory Tower. Cheers man!

Comeback of the Year Award
    There could only be one winner. Great to see TbL back both on the road and logging here regularly. Long may it continue :)

Any mistakes in the table/results......don't tell us...our job here is done. Thanks everyone who contributed to the thread. It was really enjoyable to do if somewhat daunting to follow in the footsteps of a giant.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Brilliant stuff S. You have to take 99.99% of the credit for driving this. Nice work!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

skyblue46 wrote: »

Ivory Tower.

I genuinely thought i could rock up with a hangover ,5 hours sleep and blast out 4.48, what i lack in common sense i make up in false confidence

You can be absolutely sure i have learned nothing. Looking forward to the next one :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭scotindublin

I saw evidence of a goodie bag on Strava.....seems to be for the VIPs only.
    jamule wrote: »
    no medal, no tshirt, no cake, results taking ages.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Class from the 2 lads.....thanks for organising this; all your efforts have been very much appreciated.

C

• Registered Users Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Table looks great. Wouldn't change a thing :pac:

Cheers for the award and all the effort again.

Also, I heard Pherekydes's sandbag is visible from space...

Here's the age/gender adjusted sort....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,927 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

:o

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

Here are the results including category age grading. The table can be sorted by clicking on any of the headings. As was mentioned before some mobile browsers are not set up to facilitate this function. As far as I know you will see the table by age grade ranking on some mobile devices.

For those not familiar, Age Grading expresses your time as a percentage of the world record for your age. The ‘adjusted time’ expresses your result in terms of the equivalent performance by a senior male (ie 18-27 years) runner. I don't need to explain the sandbag factor as we are all very familiar with it......especially Pherekydes :pac:

Boards One Mile TT Results:

Here's the Top 3 Overall and in each category (where there are 3 in the category)

Female Top 3:
    1. Laineyfrecks 6:05 F40-44
    2. Hedgehoggy 6:14 F35-39
    3. Sussex18 6:16 F40-44

F <35
    1. ReeReeG 6:27

F35-39
    1. career move 6:23
    2. eyrie 6:42
    3. laura ac3 7:52

F40-44
    1. ariana' 6:38
    2. Strawberry Swan 7:46
    3. pansophelia 8:22

F45-49
    1. YoungAnne 7:53
    2. AGYR 8:44

F55-59
    1. annapr 8:18

Male Top 3:
    1. 66_lad 4:46 M40-44
    2. ultrapercy 4:47 M45-49
    3. Ivory Tower 4:55 M35-39

M<35
    1. the descent 5:21
    2. CR 7 5:32
    3. crisco10 5:36

M35-39
    1= Dubh Geannain 4:57
    1= MrMacPhisto 4:57
    3. Lambay Island 5:03

M40-44
    1. spc78 5:04
    2. Treviso 5:06
    3. Comic Book Guy 5:09

M45-49
    1. jamule 5:12
    2. coogy 5:20
    3. outforarun 5:24

M50-54
    1. BeepBeep67 4:59
    2. skyblue46 5:30
    3. Ferris B 5:38

M55:
    1. Murph_D 5:53
    2. denis_b 6:04
    3. En Passant 6:39

M60:
    1. Pherekydes 7:41

Top 3 AG performances are:
    1. BeepBeep67 87.22%
    2. ultrapercy 85.23%
    3. 66_lad 82.34%

The three best female AG performances are:
    1. Laineyfrecks 74.34%
    2. Sussex18 70.66%
    3. Hedgehoggy 69.30%

Biggest Sandbaggers:
    1. Pherekydes (01:19)
    2. ThebitterLemon (00:33)
    3. Alorra (00:29)

Best predictors:
    1= Laineyfrecks 0:00
    1= Annie get your Run 0:00
    3=Murph_D -0:01
    3=blackbird86 -0:01

Never giving up on your Dream Award:
    A very well deserving winner here with Dubh Geannain finally reaching the Sub 5 promised land. Feel free to send him a DM to suggest a new log title!

The When is a mile not a mile Award:
    We couldn't decide between the contenders here so KSU and Itziger will have to share the honours. Well done lads. It's great to see that even two such experienced runners can make monumental fcuk ups of a simple mile.

This was the most hotly contested award with seemingly half the field downing copious amounts of alcohol on Friday night. BeepBeep ruined his chances by giving himself a day to recover, 00Negative was crushed by the hangover and didn't reach his usual high standards. Everyone else ran quite well on the day considering the blood alcohol levels on the roads before 9am. However a decision had to be made and for reportedly drinking 2 bottles of wine and still running the third fastest time of the TT we had to award it to Ivory Tower. Cheers man!

Comeback of the Year Award
    There could only be one winner. Great to see TbL back both on the road and logging here regularly. Long may it continue :)

Any mistakes in the table/results......don't tell us...our job here is done. Thanks everyone who contributed to the thread. It was really enjoyable to do if somewhat daunting to follow in the footsteps of a giant.

Honourable mention to Ultrapercy who is probably the only one to run on a course that could probably be certified between the wheel measurement and the distance discrepancy allowance (extra 6m)

A lot of races up and down the country could learn a lot :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,621 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Jazus that male 50-54 is bloody tough gig!

Lots of second mid life crisis’s :)

Really enjoyed the whole experience

Well done guys organised with aplomb and good humour not like that other grumpy bollix :)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

Fantastic work lads, really enjoyed this thread. The effort you put in to that table is greatly appreciated.

Haven't donated yet, will do so now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Great to see the buzz on this thread the past few weeks and the reappearance of some old posters, even if some look like a bad Fr Jack at the moment!!!

Credit to Sean and Paul for putting the TT together, again I’ll say the amount of runners taking part shows the popularity of the two organisers. Superb effort lads and ye both should be incredibly proud of how ye brought the Boards A/R community together.

Lazare wrote:
    Fantastic work lads, really enjoyed this thread. The effort you put in to that table is greatly appreciated.

That was all S

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭spc78

Top marks for the organisation and results round up. Don't care what they say....ye're alright in my book.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Thanks lads for organising and well done everyone.

Plenry of people running well outside their comfort zones. And there is some serious speedsters hanging around these parts.

Thanks for getting me back racing to see where the fitness is at. I was nicely surprised too.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Well done on another successful TT lads :D
    I have really enjoyed the craic on here & the focus during this very strange time! It's a great buzz on the day to see all the times come through then the stories that go with them, some happy some not so much, but sure isn't that running!

I look forward to seeing what the next TT will be & I am still in search of getting 80% or more in my AG as previously promised to Murph ;)

Thanks for all the nice comments, we really appreciate them. Thank you.

A few have mentioned looking forward to the next TT and I'm sure that with the absence of racing the appetite is there. This is the A/R community and these few months are a chance to put some flesh on the bones of the word community. These TTs won't just happen by themselves. Each one will need someone (or 2) at the helm. Anyone with any ideas or willingness to give it a bash just step forward...it's not that difficult, pick a distance and a date and then keep an eye on the thread...easy peasy. Next volunteer please :D

There’s 3 of us to help if needs be, mind you one is a bit overly domineering but just let him off if you accept his help.........

Can I just jump on Sean’s excellent words, whoever decides to take the mantle up, try make the event as inclusive as you can. The past two TT’s were very everyone’s welcome, please try keep that vibe going.

Definitely agree with above. I like the idea of a team/relay type event (for whoever is considering taking up the mantle).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭Itziger

Very well played to the two S(o)Bs who ran this show. You very generously included my cluster F*** of an attempt and even gave me a tied prize with KSU. Heady times indeed.

A few of us here are hoping to do a 5k and a 10k in June as a kind of informal/friends' race. CrazyFred, the fast Belgian, was inspired by the thread here and is rustling up a few Strava and work buddies as we speak.Whether we measure the distance or what, I don't know, although a hard reset of my FR620 seems to have sorted the crazy GPS problem somewhat.

Hopefully, all in Ireland will be able to run again in small groups soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Definitely agree with above. I like the idea of a team/relay type event (for whoever is considering taking up the mantle).

I love that idea! I really enjoyed the bantz in this thread and thought it really added to what was otherwise have been a plain old you against the clock event and adding your suggestion would up the ante again.
    Like following on from her Spotlight imagine a team of ReeReeG you SkyBlue46 and OONegative. A match made in sweaty heaven!!

• Registered Users Posts: 19 ByrneDCMbrian

We could....but we won't :pac:

Ah no in fairness the ones we are missing either didn't do it or don't know we can't see their Strava because of their privacy settings.

So if jemsD, pansophelia, lulublue22, internet_user, sdevine89, ByrneDCMBrian, Kurt Godel or Snailsong could let us know if they did it by noon Sunday we will pop up the results after that.

Sorry lads I did it I'll sort my sets now

How to kill a thread :pac::pac::pac:

skyblue46 wrote:
    How to kill a thread

It's like the old days in school when the teacher asked a question and you put your head down praying she wouldn't pick you. Hahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭healy1835

I suggest a 10 Mile TT on July 4th. This may or may not fit in with a certain posters training plans :) I'll volunteer to organise if there's enough interest...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

healy1835 wrote: »
    I suggest a 10 Mile TT on July 4th. This may or may not fit in with a certain posters training plans :) I'll volunteer to organise if there's enough interest...

Do it!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

healy1835 wrote: »

I'll help

• Registered Users Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭woody1

I was gonna suggest an ekiden relay marathon but go with the 10 mile for now and can do that later

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Well done everyone on your mile TT. Some brilliant times and performances posted up. Haven't really been on Boards much the past month or two. Raging I missed this one, I've never raced a mile before. Will try and keep an eye out for your next TT.