Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs when/will they re-open - the Megathread

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Clonee, parts of blanchardstown and lucan, loughlinstown, naul, and anywhere North of balbriggan you're a 5 minute taxi from the next county over.

You're not making it more difficult for people to get a drink.

It's not difficult at all as they're not closing the pubs that are already open doing food. Clonee isn't in Dublin anyway either so their pubs will be opening if they weren't already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Its the dangling carrot. Behave for 3 weeks and we'll open the pubs and bring Dublin in line with the rest of the country.

I'd say we won't see Pubs open in Dublin this side of Christmas with NPHET in charge..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

It's not difficult at all as they're not closing the pubs that are already open doing food. Clonee isn't in Dublin anyway either so their pubs will be opening if they weren't already.

It's Dublin 15 when they're selling the houses, so I'm counting it.

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    I'd say we won't see Pubs open in Dublin this side of Christmas with NPHET in charge..

I heard the same about all the pubs a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,468 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Nonsense, number just has to come down a little. Not even alot to be honest. Wouldn't take much to bring Dublin back in line with what would be expected given the population size.

I would nearly guarantee they get one go at this and won't be able to push it out again after a 3 week period as everywhere else will be open 3 weeks so they'll know how its going

Nonsense, number just has to come down a little. Not even alot to be honest. Wouldn't take much to bring Dublin back in line with what would be expected given the population size.

I would nearly guarantee they get one go at this and won't be able to push it out again after a 3 week period as everywhere else will be open 3 weeks so they'll know how its going

Still chasing that Dangling Carrot stephenjmcd? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,177 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

No they'll be closed, restaurants will be take away. You can't go for a pint and a meal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

I was in Newry at the weekend for a night out which didn't involve having to sit at the table all night, place was busy too. Just stayed in the one bar and it was good craic, felt pretty normal to be out and about again. Seems bizarre to come back to Dublin and bars aren't even open at all except for food and now I read they're being further delayed. Makes no sense considering the fear has been around hosue parties the past few months.

Although, maybe they're still trying to assess whether the partying on the June Bank Holiday will result in more deaths before committing to the pubs, the next two weeks are crucial.

No they'll be closed, restaurants will be take away. You can't go for a pint and a meal.

All back to the Gaff for a House party, have the BBQ warmed up, the 75" telly turned on with the surround sound and a fridge full of beer, yehhaaa!

Still chasing that Dangling Carrot stephenjmcd? :D

Doesn't bother me, they'll be open where I am anyway.

I'd expect Dublin pubs to probably be 3 weeks behind if the measures do reduce the numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,177 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Doesn't bother me, they'll be open where I am anyway.

I'd expect Dublin pubs to probably be 3 weeks behind if the measures do reduce the numbers

It's up to Dubliners now to make sure the numbers go up so they can't blame the pubs. The next 3 weeks will be crucial.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Is it last orders at 11.30 for wet pubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,579 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

It's up to Dubliners now to make sure the numbers go up so they can't blame the pubs. The next 3 weeks will be crucial.[\b]

Dr Glynn is that you?!

sasta le wrote: »

Off premises by 11.30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭inthenip

There's not that far you can go if you're drinking.

Hotels, Bed and Breakfasts, Dart to Bray.

I'm sure there's plenty of people are going to use up holidays now since the pubs are back open.

Can a mod please merge the two pub threads? This is doing my head in trying to keep up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Off premises by 11.30

So my local deffo wouldnt have 2 metres so its 105 min and gone by 11.30?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,895 ✭✭✭✭road_high

The likes of Kilkenny etc will be packed with dubs if pubs aren’t reopened in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

road_high wrote: »
    The likes of Kilkenny etc will be packed with dubs if pubs aren’t reopened in Dublin.
    Assuming Dublin doesn't go into lockdown, which looks more likely given that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭questionmark?

sasta le wrote: »

Pubs. It's Pubs. Would people ever stop with this nonsense of saying 'Wet' pubs.
    Hopefully they bring in legislation that anyone saying the term wet pubs over pubs get slapped in the face with a saucepan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,722 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Dublin will have to go into lockdown or as mentioned before 'dubs will travel to other counties for a piss up' etc

****ing stupid decision, just open the pubs in every county. Its proven the ones serving food have had little/no impact on the numbers. Dublin publicans and staff revolt and I hope ye tear the government a new one

So will this include shutting the dail bar ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

PTH2009 wrote: »

****ing stupid decision, just open the pubs in every county. Its proven the ones serving food have had little/no impact on the numbers.

Dont think we know that really?

hetuzozaho wrote: »

If there had been a cluster attached to a food pup or if the contact tracing proved that food pubs were increasing cases, we'd know about it...... NPHET would be shouting it from the roof tops.

think if there was the media would be all over it like a rash

So will this include shutting the dail bar ?

The Dail visitors bar is closed, the members bar is open as it serves food......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Can't wait to see those bills.. :rolleyes:
    €9 before each individual sits to drink.
    Weren't they owed €20,000 - €25,000 coming up to christmas last year?

jesus what other nation would have their pubs closed in their capital city

faracial

think if there was the media would be all over it like a rash

But they don't know where community transmission happens though? I may be wrong. But a doctor on Claire Byrne yesterday corrected the vintners guy when he said this too.

jesus what other nation would have their pubs closed in their capital city

faracial

It's gonna be madness today if its officially announced! I'm actually on the vintners side if the pubs are treatred diff to restaurants on Monday as they defo have the impression this would not be the case from the 21st. And that's what pubs are expecting I feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It's gonna be madness today if its officially announced! I'm actually on the vintners side if the pubs are treatred diff to restaurants on Monday as they defo have the impression this would not be the case from the 21st. And that's what pubs are expecting I feel.

Exactly, I’m pretty sure Leo said there would be no more pushbacks on the date unless there were localised lockdowns.