Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have we come to

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Billcarson

bubblypop wrote: »
    Clearly you or any if your family weren't victims of the IRA, don't think you would feel the same.

Like he said time to move the **** on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Billcarson wrote: »

Can we move on from eulogising Bobby Sands then?

After all, it's been 39 years....

Not for anyone who was a victim it's not.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Do people see them as a true left wing party, or a far right party in disguise?
    Do people really think they will stand up for migrants over white Irish?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Do people see them as a true left wing party, or a far right party in disguise?
    Do people really think they will stand up for migrants over white Irish?

the shinners, I reckon theyd try dismantle the SCC and go back to being anti-EU but they have their left wing backers now so will continue a 'brown people first' and 'abortions for all' agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭thequarefellow

They only want one thing. To keep their noses in the trough. They'll flip flop any which way to do that. It's no surprise. They shouldn't even have the chance at being in government after what they did to the people of Ireland, they should be nothing but a very distant memory. They're playing with house money at this point. If things go well they can take credit and if not they can blame FG and SF.

It's quite amazing looking at his turnaround considering his vehement stance on not going into government with SF just 48 hrs ago.

Just imagine him as Taoiseach with his number two MLMD standing next to him:) It's priceless

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

Why do people think SF are a good deal ?
    You don't think they will tax the f*ck out of the working man to pay for their benefits/free houses/open borders promise ?

That **** will cost money - lots of money. SF could be as bad as the greens when it comes to stealing your money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

You don't think they will tax the f*ck out of the working man to pay for their benefits/free houses/open borders promise ?

That **** will cost money - lots of money. SF could be as bad as the greens when it comes to stealing your money.

Anyone earning over €40k is in for a rude awakening.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭RandomName2

NIMAN wrote: »
    I have no great allegiance to SF, but can I ask you is there a time limit in your head when IRA atrocities are allowed to be forgotten about when a general election is on and SF are getting votes?

It would genuinely help if they didn't
    • Have ex-IRA members as candidates
    • Excuse the actions of the IRA
    • Still have communication with republican terrorists today
    • Still have nationalism and opposition to the UK as their dog whistles
    NIMAN wrote: »
    These 2 innocent kids who you pictured who died, should they be brought up in another 10 years, 20 years, 50 years?

While there are wrongs to be righted.

Isn't that what every moral person would feel? Well, apart from the slippery shills for Sinn Fein that say that it is faux outrage in order to silence their detractors. Oh how they must wish they could permanently silence their families. They did a decent job with the McCartney sisters in fairness though. That family was shocked by their treatment as they had been loyal Sinn Fein voters before their brother's murder. I don't know why they were surprised, didn't they know what Sinn Fein was like before that?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

And the brain drain continues...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,664 ✭✭✭✭maccored

how do you figure that out?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

every party was gunning to screw those people worse than a gangbang porno anyway.

And there you go folks.

It's just murder guys, give it a breaaaak. Somebody should tell that to families of victims of Bloody Sunday 'time to move the f*ck on'.

While I have zero time for the party he represents, just imagine telling John Finucane to get over the murder of his father, or saying that he was using faux outrage in his election.

ffs cop onto yourself.

Breakerz wrote: »
    You're looking down on others for not voting for the status quo. The troubles are over. In a generation or two there won't be a FG or FF. Voting for the same parties over and over again and expecting change is incredibly stupid. People are starting to wake up.

Vote for the ****ing Greens then. At least they don't have a private army and don't run criminal enterprises.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Those tears taste salty hahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

That’s my worry too.
    Did we just jump from the frying pan into the fire? Hope not.

Interesting times ahead if they get into power. Someone has already likened it to 1977 when FF promised the sun, moon and stars.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

What ever happens Im enjoying watching FG and FF supporters squirm.

This is all self inflicted, FF and FG have to take a long hard look at themselves and ask why people felt the need to turn to SF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Blaze420

Yeah I mean how dare those people work hard to earn that amount the absolute bastards - they’ll be sorry now though because the wasters have to be given free houses!!

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

This is all self inflicted, FF and FG have to take a long hard look at themselves and ask why people felt the need to turn to SF.

I think people are not too worried about FG or FF.
    They’re worried about themselves, especially the workers.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

maccored wrote: »
    how do you figure that out?

Because SF view anyone earning over 35k as 'high income earners'....ie the people they aim increase taxes on to pay for all their grand plans.

Elessar wrote: »
    I'm thinking this might actually be a good thing, longer term.

SF are a populist nonsense party and Mary Lou knows she cannot deliver on any of her promises. Get them into power, watch them be forced to make the tough choices that will alienate their demographic and then watch them get absolutely hammered for it.

This election could actually signal the end for SF long term.

That's what the Germans thought about the Nazis. Turned out once they got into power it wasn't so easy to get them out again.

History is full of corrupt, incompetent politicians and monarchs being overthrown by populists that promise the earth and make everyone worse off than they were before.
    I think people are not too worried about FG or FF.
    They’re worried about themselves, especially the workers.

I'm concerned about SF's plan to give itself a permanent dominant political position by dismantling the border, by its plans to ride the multinationals into the dirt, by its pursuit of nationalism for the sake of nationalism, for its inflated social spending coupled with diminished tax revenue, for its lack of objectivity in foreign relations (particularly in relation to Brexit).

The things we need fixed are hospitals, homes, and transport. I don't think they have the competence to achieve this (although honestly I couldn't name any party that I think could). At least other parties have experience other than running a country at a loss (when I say running, I mean when they aren't refusing to form a government because they are prioritizing the Irish language above literally everything else)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,134 ✭✭✭screamer

More morally bankrupt choices from the electorate. Pick the morally bankrupt choice and that’s what’ll be voted in.
    I always thought Irish people were gullible, now I know for sure. The haves- have a mortgage, have bills to pay, have to work to feed their family, will have even less so that the have nots- have not to work to feed their family, have not a mortgage but a free house, have not to work will have even more. Morally bankrupt, now where’s my passport.....

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

billyhead wrote: »
    Sinn Fein topping the polls in many constituencies. I believe in democracy but too vote this crowd in as your number 1

OPs username checks out.

Constidering a family with 2 kids renting is financially better off unemployed than working for 40k I predict a lot of people giving up working after they are hammered for even more taxes to give to the work shy. 19% of single households here on disability, highest In Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I hope not, hopefully MM wont do a deal with the devil

Oh come on now, MM would sell his mother to the dark lord to become Taoiseach.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Constidering a family with 2 kids renting is financially better off unemployed than working for 40k I predict a lot of people giving up working after they are hammered for even more taxes to give to the work shy. 19% of single households here on disability, highest In Europe.

You’d qualify for disability here by going into a gp with a common cold!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

History is full of corrupt, incompetent politicians and monarchs being overthrown by populists that promise the earth and make everyone worse off than they were before.

I'm concerned about SF's plan to give itself a permanent dominant political position by dismantling the border, by its plans to ride the multinationals into the dirt, by its pursuit of nationalism for the sake of nationalism, for its inflated social spending coupled with diminished tax revenue, for its lack of objectivity in foreign relations (particularly in relation to Brexit).

The things we need fixed are hospitals, homes, and transport. I don't think they have the competence to achieve this (although honestly I couldn't name any party that I think could). At least other parties have experience other than running a country at a loss (when I say running, I mean when they aren't refusing to form a government because they are prioritizing the Irish language above literally everything else)

FG and FF were to arrogant to believe they could be outed, they thought they could continue on forever lining their own pockets and serving themselves, this is a wake up call.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

Idbatterim wrote: »
    You’d qualify for disability here by going into a gp with a common cold!

Do it so if its so easy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

blanch152 wrote: »
    We have full employment for those who want to work.

There is a significant proportion of the population, maybe as much as 30% who are not interested in work. We have the highest percentage of such households in the EU.

That's not legal is it? To collect welfare because you don't want to work?
    Are you suggesting the FG government turned a blind eye or their system is flawed?
    Either way good job if they get left out of government right?