Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I horrible...

• 27-12-2019 12:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭

My dog is gone away for his christmas holidays (a week in the kennels)..

With him gone, I went to bed last night without walking in the cold to clean up a sh1te, my house smells fresh, i got up this morning and had breakfast without looking after him first and don’t have him under my feet for the day! Life is sweet!!

I love him (i think..) but with him gone, I’m realising how much of a clown he is and how stress free life could be without him..

Anyone been in this situation before? I

All Dogs Go To Heaven. Get the Disney DVD.

Or buy a Nintendo Switch and get the game 'Nintendogs';

Don't worry OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭D3V!L

With him gone, I went to bed last night without walking in the cold to clean up a sh1te, my house smells fresh, i got up this morning and had breakfast without looking after him first and don’t have him under my feet for the day! Life is sweet!!

I love him (i think..) but with him gone, I’m realising how much of a clown he is and how stress free life could be without him..

We did the same for the past few years. Can I ask how old your dog is ? As the years go on I noticed ours calming down a lot and being easier to have around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,367 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

I have a child, feel the same, just don’t go back to the kennels to collect the mutt and life will be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭The chan chan man

D3V!L wrote: »
    We did the same for the past few years. Can I ask how old your dog is ? As the years go on I noticed ours calming down a lot and being easier to have around.

Thanks, He’s 2. How about you?

I have kids, they’re hard but at least you get rewarded with nice moments. This dog just annoys me now that I think about it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,921 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

How does that saying go?

Dogs aren't for Christmas.

Oh wait....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭poeticjustice

He deserves better

I agree

He deserves better

Nonsense. Everyone appreciates a break from everything and everyone. Some time away from responsibility is nice and it makes you think like OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,259 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Nigzcurran wrote: »
    I have a child, feel the same, just don’t go back to the kennels to collect the mutt and life will be better

Yeah no. Do not abandon your animal like this. Its just mean and cruel.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I would have thought the Xmas break would be a time for enjoying time at home with the pets, going for walks etc.

Maybe if you feel like this it's time to reconsider and get yourself a cat instead. They care even less about you than you do about them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

I don’t see why people get themselves responsibilities they don’t need that offer no benefits.

Having a dog gives you stuff to do. Going for walks, cleaning up crap, having something scratching or making horrible slobbering noises when trying to get some quiet.

Swap the dog for a PlayStation OP. You won’t regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,130 ✭✭✭✭anewme

If you care about the dog at all, rehome the dog in the New Year through Dogs Trust or DSPCA.

He/she is only two and has hopefully a long life ahead. It would be better spent with someone who does not shunt him off to Kennels for Christmas.

Must people look forward to Christmas to spend additional time with their family and pets, but you see the dog as a burden.

Pet ownership has a lot of responsibility and commitment attached. Not everyone is suited to it. It’s clearly not for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,802 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I wouldn't say you are horrible, but I think it's horrible for the dog.

How exactly is it horrible for a dog that its owner enjoy a break?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Yeah you're horrible and your dog deserves better. Why did you get one in the first place.Did you think it would clean up after itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭dinnybyrne

You just need to put a bit of work in with the dog, lay down some ground rules and do a bit of training when you pick him up from the kennel. Constant and consistent reinforcement of the rules. At 2 years old your dog should not be pooing inside!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,233 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Dogs become hugely attached to their owners, a week in a kennel and the dogs heart will break and break with every minute.

Dogs dont need as much looking after as people think, I lost my 14year old lab in October and I know for a fact he'd cry for a a week if in kennels.

Horrible for the dog because he's been taken out of his home and away from his family and he doesn't know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,130 ✭✭✭✭anewme

This dog just annoys me now that I think about it..

New home needed for the dog definitely. Resentment is not good.

Oh and don’t get a cat either. There need work too.

Some ppl just not suited to having pets.

anewme wrote: »
    Oh and don’t get a cat either. They need work too.

I called in sick for two days when I got a kitten. I just couldn't leave him. I work in a bloody jail and I'm calling in sick for a little ball of fluff yelping :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Omackeral wrote: »
    I called in sick for two days when I got a kitten. I just couldn't leave him. I work in a bloody jail and I'm calling in sick for a little ball of fluff yelping :o

Did you not need to provide a doctors note to say you were sick?

How does the system work?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

I think you should give the dog up to the SPCA or an organisation of that kind OP

If you realised you don't really want the dog then it's the best thing to do all round - it won't be easy for the little fella but he's young and should be a viable candidate for rehoming

It'll be better than you keeping him and your resentment building which won't be good for either of you, it takes guts to realise you've made a mistake and it doesn't make you a horrible person as long you go about it the right way and the onus is on you to do what's best for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Most places require a sick cert after three consecutive days off sick so he was probably fine with just the two

Took an uncertified sick day (no note required) and got the next day covered by a colleague that I worked a day back for. All gravy.

The system works by working the system :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

If you think having a dog is hard enough work to have to send him away to kennels maybe dog ownership isn't for you.

I've two mutts, and yes they can be hard work. One one of the esp hard work, she ticks all the boxes for autism in dogs (don't laugh!).. She's very hard work, is overly sensitive to sounds, light, new people or dogs, has repetitive behavior that can drive you nuts (like walking around and around the coffee table all night, won't go past the hall door and I have to carry her outside to go the toilet.. There's loads I could write on her.

But when I got her 12 yrs ago I took on all the responsibility which comes with dog ownership. My only respite from her is when the Vet gives her valium, it calms her for a few weeks but then she has to come off it for awhile.

The other lad is great but has a skin condition which costs me €55 a month, again a responsibility I took on when I rescued him.

If you have your doubts that you love him maybe think of finding someone who'll love him unconditionally.

Oh, to answer your question.. I don't think you're a bad person, I just think maybe you're not great with dogs and responsibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

Well op, considering you asked the question, imho, yes you are horrible. Why don't you put your poor unwanted dog up for rehoming? He could have spent Christmas with a family who actually loved him, instead of in kennels. And it won't matter to him if the place he's staying in is a 5* doggy hotel. :(

I've two mutts, and yes they can be hard work. One one of them esp hard work, she ticks all the boxes for autism in dogs (don't laugh!)..

Same as that, I've two kitties. I'm convinced one of them has Catspergers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I think the OP is just being honest and a lot of dog owners feel the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,508 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Get some scented candles!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 143 ✭✭Ready4Boarding

The dog is oblivious to it being Christmas. If it's not horrible to send a dog to a kennels in Summer then it's not now, either.

Dogs become hugely attached to their owners, a week in a kennel and the dogs heart will break and break with every minute.

Dogs dont need as much looking after as people think, I lost my 14year old lab in October and I know for a fact he'd cry for a a week if in kennels.
    Horrible for the dog because he's been taken out of his home and away from his family and he doesn't know why.

Families with dogs don't go on holidays? I'm not sure how this is much different.. I grew up with dogs so I know what it is to have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Acquiescence

My cat adds absolutely nothing to my life...

Except hair.

There. Is. Hair. Everywhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

Our youngest child looks after the dog on the weekend now, its great. The dog gets let out in the garden then back in and a scoop of food given all before the wife and I even get out of bed. She's a bit older now so has significantly calmed down from her earlier years and is now an irreplaceable member of the family. Our youngest would count her as a friend and calms her fears, brings the dog with in different areas of the house if she's wary of being alone.. Dogs have a lot of health benefits for people both physical and mental. Dogs can teach children responsibility too. And they're a great deterrent against robbers. If you stick it out and do some good training you will get a lot back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,287 ✭✭✭Esse85

Arghus wrote: »

Well the vast majority don't, the vast majority would consider their dog like family, and people don't just hand over a family member to someone else and say keep them, I've had enough.

Families with dogs don't go on holidays? I'm not sure how this is much different.. I grew up with dogs so I know what it is to have one.

It's still crap for the dog. Doesn't matter where their family are going. For the record, I'm not calling the OP horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Esse85 wrote: »
    Well the vast majority don't, the vast majority would consider their dog like family, and people don't just hand over a family member to someone else and say keep them, I've had enough.

Fair enough, but everyone is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

Dogs become hugely attached to their owners, a week in a kennel and the dogs heart will break and break with every....

Willoo shtawp. We put our girl in for 2 days around New Years every year because the fireworks scare the living daylights out of her. Nice and quiet in the countryside where she is, way more relaxing for her.

She also goes in if we’re going on holiday somewhere during the year and comes home much better behaved and chilled out. Long walks, loads of playmates and underfloor hearing I would guess would be way better for her than 10 hrs+ each way in a car. Plus she’s probably only delighted to get a little holiday herself from our 3 yr old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Arghus wrote: »

I always have the same "this is bliss" thoughts when my kid goes to a sleepover and i get an extra two hours in bed :pac:

And when I'm paying the cost of a second mortgage just for childcare i do think how much cheaper life would be without her. None of it means i actually want her gone though!

(I don't rehome her for a week or two at a time though!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Dogless Day Afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭molly09

I have to say when my dog goes to the groomers , I miss him so so much . Can’t wait for the couple of hours to be over so I can collect my best friend again.

If you think having a dog is hard enough work to have to send him away to kennels maybe dog ownership isn't for you.

I've two mutts, and yes they can be hard work. One one of the esp hard work, she ticks all the boxes for autism in dogs (don't laugh!).. She's very hard work, is overly sensitive to sounds, light, new people or dogs, has repetitive behavior that can drive you nuts (like walking around and around the coffee table all night, won't go past the hall door and I have to carry her outside to go the toilet.. There's loads I could write on her.

But when I got her 12 yrs ago I took on all the responsibility which comes with dog ownership. My only respite from her is when the Vet gives her valium, it calms her for a few weeks but then she has to come off it for awhile.

The other lad is great but has a skin condition which costs me €55 a month, again a responsibility I took on when I rescued him.

If you have your doubts that you love him maybe think of finding someone who'll love him unconditionally.

Oh, to answer your question.. I don't think you're a bad person, I just think maybe you're not great with dogs and responsibility.

Just for clarity, hes only in the kennels because we’ve a lot of overnights/time out of the house over christmas - not because he’s hard work...which he is.. However, him being there has made me realise how easy life could be and I’m wondering why do I give myself the hardship for no return.

I run a business, have kids and a lot of other responsibilities in life. I’m questioning why I purposely give myself this extra one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

If boards were to teach me anything alarm bells would be ringing like feck if having a rescue dog was mentioned on a first date.

It seems it gives people the right to judge and gather in packs and hiss.

Op do what you like if you need a break you need a break.

There would be less outrage if you sent your son to the Gaeltacht for the summer and they have people brains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭bitofabind

Do the kids like the dog? How would they feel about him being sent away to be rehomed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

You're not horrible OP just honest, and I wouldn't be listening to anyone here telling you otherwise.

Boards is a place of contrasting and divided opinions.

I call to an old friend who's been really good to me since my early teens he thought me how to fly-fish, trap rabbits and tickle trout etc

But the poor fella smells like piss now and lives in a mess, his house stinks like piss too, he doesn't want anyone to clean his mess because that would undermine his integrity.

That doesn't take from the fact I love the smelly old grouch, but I don't love the smell of piss.

I don't call to smell piss, I just call to have a cuppa and learn about paganism and being a wild man..

SOME DAY WE'LL ALL SMELL OF PISHHH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Asitis2019

If you don't want a dog, then you should notify the DSCPCA.

I can understand putting a dog in the kennels if vacationing, but doing so just to take a break from the dog is silly.

And rather than doing something meaningful with that break, you opt instead to write a meaningless thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Same as that, I've two kitties. I'm convinced one of them has Catspergers

I've a cat too, she's the boss of us all. I love cats, they're so funny. Mine cat is 15 yrs old and still carry's on like a kitten.. She drives me mad when she's waking me up at stupid o'clock in the morning wanting to play games :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

Lillyfae wrote: »
    We put our girl
    She also
    Plus she’s probably only delighted to get a little holiday herself from our 3 yr old.

You have more affectionate terms for your dog than your child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

mordeith wrote: »
    You have more affectionate terms for your dog than your child

And?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I love my 2 dogs ...I love them so much when the rare moment the Male dog bite one of my kids I smacked the kid ..... I trust the dog enough to know he didnt do it for the craic ...

I'm going on a family holiday in few weeks time , haven't been in years and I've organised a nice lady who grooms them to look after them ... I've had 2 members of my family ask me why I didnt ask them ...I told them it was because I didnt want to impose on them ...

What I really should have said was you can hardly wipe ye own asses never mind look after my fury friends... I just know they wouldn't get a walk, fed on time ... and just treated like assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I love my 2 dogs ...I love them so much when the rare moment the Male dog bite one of my kids I smacked the kid ..... I trust the dog enough to know he didnt do it for the craic ...

I'm going on a family holiday in few weeks time , haven't been in years and I've organised a nice lady who grooms them to look after them ... I've had 2 members of my family ask me why I didnt ask them ...I told them it was because I didnt want to impose on them ...

What I really should have said was you can hardly wipe ye own asses never mind look after my fury friends... I just know they wouldn't get a walk, fed on time ... and just treated like assholes.

This should be a lesson to all parents on how to deal with vicious dogs, oops I mean kids.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.