Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When will Jesus return?

• 23-08-2019 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭

It’s been 2019 years now, surely due an appearance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

He probably created a load of planets.

Probably like a big bag of marbles to him that he grew out of a thousand years ago, in some box in an attic just like Andy’s toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Any century now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭MrMiata

I'm sure he's cooler friends than us.
    We're like the lads he met during the first few days of college vs the ones you went to playschool with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Back next Wednesday, he took a few days, took the kids to Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,830 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

knockers84 wrote: »

Of course to “return” one would need to believe there was an initial visit ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Mr.Maroon

I reckon he'll start ahead of Aguero on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

If your imaginary friend was born in the year 0 and allegedly died 33 years later then he's only been gone for 1986 years. Not 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,854 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

If Jesus returns its more likely to be an advanced alien race called the Vorlons trying to win us over to their side in an intergalactic war...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,205 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Do Christian burials face west if they are east of Jerusalem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject

Well if you are of the Christian faith, and read and understood the Bible and Scripture. You would know only Jesus knows of the day and hour of it. Instead of making a post asking people if they know. Truth is no one knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,471 ✭✭✭7 Seconds...

this-is-why-jesus-hasnt-returned-he-cant-move-til-the-32390489.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭branie2

We don't know the day or the hour of his return. Only God knows that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

Im thinking after a nice lunch. cos lets face it supper didnt work out for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Well if you are of the Christian faith, and read and understood the Bible and Scripture. You would know only Jesus knows of the day and hour of it. Instead of making a post asking people if they know. Truth is no one knows.

So it's like when the plumber says he's definitely there tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Joe Kane

He's supposed to be very bad on the sneachta these days.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

In the year 7510
    If God's a-coming, he ought to make it by then
    Maybe he'll look around himself and say
    “Guess it's time for the judgement day!”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,925 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

8 year olds dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Saw him this morning...in my toast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

He arrived back 17 years ago and proclaimed he was Jesus Christ in the carpark of a Supermercado near Madrid and was arrested and sectioned in a psych ward as no one claimed him and he had no ID on him...which makes perfect sense when you think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Archeron

Nosnon wrote: »
    If your imaginary friend was born in the year 0 and allegedly died 33 years later then he's only been gone for 1986 years. Not 2019.

So is it 1986 again now? The producers of reeling in the years are not gonna be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭d8491prj5boyvg

Shouldn't this be in the euro 2020 forum? He'll be back to play in goals for Italy. After all, Jesus saves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Archeron wrote: »
    So is it 1986 again now?

Yes, and I'm eagerly awaiting the return of Marty McFly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,978 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

He was in town last weekend.
    Suppin on Virgin Martinis like a boss

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,918 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

khalessi wrote: »
    Im thinking after a nice lunch. cos lets face it supper didnt work out for him

:pac::pac: At least we'll know it's pointless killing him again.

Nosnon wrote: »

2033 is going to be mahoosive! on the second coming front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

When he is good and ready

Does his omnipotent father have any inkling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

From the book of revolutions I'm sure they mentioned the two girls one cup thing:

"And the woman was arrayed in purple and scarlet colour, and decked with gold and precious stones and pearls, having a golden cup in her hand full of abominations and filthiness of her fornication:"

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

He's not the Messiah. He's a very naughty boy! Now, go away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Probably about 33, after City have sold him onto Real Madrid and Inter Milan respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Didn't he return as Ian Brown?

🙈🙉🙊

Can anyone help me track down this piece of scripture, or maybe it's from some ancillary text?

When I was in school, we were taught that Jesus already walks, or rather sits, among us as a beggar on the roadside.

Always found that equally as alarming as it is useful. I'm an agnostic, but you don't need to believe in biblical Jesus to know that he's real in another context, and probably a beggar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Pints?

8 year olds dude.

I am the walrus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,819 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Trump said yesterday he was the second coming of god. I'm not sure if that means Jesus or not tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Jeju

Probably sooner than we can get out of here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭ChrisJ84

Can anyone help me track down this piece of scripture, or maybe it's from some ancillary text?

When I was in school, we were taught that Jesus already walks, or rather sits, among us as a beggar on the roadside.

Always found that equally as alarming as it is useful. I'm an agnostic, but you don't need to believe in biblical Jesus to know that he's real in another context, and probably a beggar.

I reckon you're thinking of Matthew 25, specifically verses 35-40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

knockers84 wrote: »
    The messiah is not one man.

Its echad. The unity of all men in harmony grace and kindness.

Its enough acts of kindness from all of us to save the world. And its the tiny act of kindness that made the tiniest difference.

I'm an agnostic, but you don't need to believe in biblical Jesus to know that he's real in another context, and probably a beggar.

He was a rabbi.

ChrisJ84 wrote: »
    I reckon you're thinking of Matthew 25, specifically verses 35-40.
    Thank you!

I've been searching for that piece of scripture for ages. Probably the most important biblical verses of all.

34 Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:

35 For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:

36 Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.

37 Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?

38 When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee?

39 Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee?

40 And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

Pints? wrote: »
    I am the walrus
    Coo coo ka choo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭iPhone.

When will Jesus return?

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,225 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

He's already been. He returned two days after the end of the first appearance. That's it. No mention of third coming.

If you think you are a Savior you're not. Real saviors just think they are normal people doing the normal right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Thank you!

I've been searching for that piece of scripture for ages. Probably the most important biblical verses of all.

34 Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:

35 For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:

36 Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.

37 Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink?

38 When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee?

39 Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee?

40 And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

These words are the guides and reason for living for my faith family and I. It is all we live and believe in and we give all for this sheer utter beauty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,221 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Was he here in the first place??? is it all one big myth that snowballed over time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I hope there is something after this whether it be Jesus or whatnot.

I've good people gone who I want to meet again.

Death is such a daunting concept. We'll all have to do it on our own some day.

Dying is such a daunting concept. Death isn't anything to worry about.

I absolutely loved The Brothers Karamazov. In it is one of Dostoevsky's most famous existential writings, which was subsequently published as a separate section entitled The Grand Inquisitor. It covers this question of what happens if/when Jesus returns. A great read:

Fyodor Dostoyevsky, The Grand Inquisitor (1881)