Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this the end of Democrat front runner Joe Biden?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

I
    Health issues in your 20s or 30s can be incredibly serious. Crohns for example puts one at high risk of surgery, can put you out of action for months and when it's active can make it very difficult to even think clearly. For example I have to cocoon during covid because of medications I'm on. Biden's aneurysm was when he was in his forties btw.
    Will only quote what is relevant, without all the extra superfluous guff.
    Sure some here are only quoting #4 (allergies) from the 3pg health rap sheet, double standards at play.

The point is he had surgery in his 40's, and thus surgery at that fairly young age makes recovery faster, easier and with better survival rates than it would be at e.g. 78.

Age is a really huge factor, don't try to brush that under a carpet, by lazily comparing to others half (or less) of his age with other conditions.

Stick 4yrs on 78, a 82yo in office, that won't be ideal.
    Thus my forecast stands that he'll be replaced sooner rather than later.

Besides there are better candiates to choose from, all of whom, who won't call Reporters 'dog faces', not act inappropriately around females or minors, sniffing their hair, rubbing them, and grasping at the arms to drawn in close. Nevermind his own lies about his education (he didn't finish top of his class it now seems), the miners themed (stolen) speech was a real howler too.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,178 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Will only quote what is relevant, without all the extra superfluous guff.
    Sure some here are only quoting #4 (allergies) from the 3pg health rap sheet, double standards at play.

The point is he had surgery in his 40's, and thus surgery at that fairly young age makes recovery faster, easier and with better survival rates than it would be at e.g. 78.

Age is a really huge factor, don't try to brush that under a carpet, by lazily comparing to others half (or less) of his age with other conditions.

Stick 4yrs on 78, a 82yo in office, that won't be ideal.
    Thus my forecast stands that he'll be replaced sooner rather than later.

Besides there are better candiates to choose from, all of whom, who won't call Reporters 'dog faces', not act inappropriately around females or minors, sniffing their hair, rubbing them, and grasping at the arms to drawn in close. Nevermind his own lies about his education (he didn't finish top of his class it now seems), the miners themed (stolen) speech was a real howler too.

Biden releases comprehensive detailed medical reports and people pore over them searching for evidence of a disqualifying ailment.

But those same people are seemingly fine with a 1 pager from Trump that says absolutely nothing.

Double Standard indeed.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,522 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

It's so interesting the way you phrase comments to denounce Biden because topic by topic there are examples from Trumps behavior which makes Biden's practically look inconsequential.
    Besides there are better candiates to choose from, all of whom, who won't call Reporters 'dog faces'
    already covered in a previous post.
    not act inappropriately around females or minors, sniffing their hair, rubbing them, and grasping at the arms to drawn in close.
    I saw an image of this incident I think and an explainer that the child in person was actually Bidens grandchild and the image was taken at the funeral of her father, Bidens son. Puts a different context on the story if this is the case. But again, Trumps behaviour around his own daughter is well documented.
    Nevermind his own lies about his education
    Stable genius anyone? The guy who said nobody can understand things like he can? The guy who claimed to be smart because he had an uncle who was a professor at MIT
    the miners themed (stolen) speech was a real howler too
    Compared to Trumps speech which was said to be plagiarized from 'Legally Blonde', whose wifes speech was based on Michelle Obama's and whose white house released a press release with a full paragraph copied from an Exxon Mobil press release.

It's almost like you are deliberately accusing Biden of things which Trump has more concerning examples of having done previously.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,285 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I'm quite happy to see all the trump supporters try to bring biden down. It means they are scared.

It's so interesting the way you phrase comments to denounce Biden because topic by topic there are examples from Trumps behavior which makes Biden's practically look inconsequential.
    Subjective.
    already covered in a previous post.
    And it stands he called the Reporter a 'dog face', and not in any humour.
    This was from a standard and reasonable question.
    I saw an image of this incident
    Stick e.g. 'hair sniffing Biden' in the google and bet met with a shed load of inappropriate images of scared looking females (inc minors), often being grabbed and rubbed up the wrong way.
    Stable genius anyone?
    An ego based comment isn't the same as Biden making clear lies about his student acheivements (or lack of).
    Besides looking backwards, the future ability of someone now in mental decline is the bigger concern. Prediction remains:

Yes, perhaps much sooner, rather than later.

They're really not. I fail to see how Donald Trump could be scared of Joe Biden. That doesn't necessarily mean that Trump will win but the suggestion that he is somehow scared doesn't seem right.

Joe Biden is scattered brained, incoherent.

trump and his supporters have been doing their best to stop biden being the democrat nominee. even to the extent of getting himself impeached while trying to dig up dirt on him. If they weren't scared why would they bother?

Subjective.

And it stands he called the Reporter a 'dog face', and not in any humour.
    This was from a standard and reasonable question.

Stick e.g. 'hair sniffing Biden' in the google and bet met with a shed load of inappropriate images of scared looking females (inc minors), often being grabbed and rubbed up the wrong way.

An ego based comment isn't the same as Biden making clear lies about his student acheivements (or lack of).
    Besides looking backwards, the future ability of someone now in mental decline is the bigger concern. Prediction remains:

Yes, perhaps much sooner, rather than later.

Hmm, Biden lying about student achievements 30 years ago versus Trump University which only settled back when he was elected.

well you certainly cant accuse trump of lying about his student achievements. mainly because he does all he can to keep them hidden. Probably because he is too modest about his success

• Registered Users Posts: 25,456 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Funny how you only select the least offensive item, from the rap sheet of health issues, and ignore the...

...two brain aneurysms, later complicated by subsequent deep vein thrombosis and pulmonary embolism. Blood thinners and medication for acid reflux and cholesterol. Biden has also had his gallbladder removed and has been preemptively treated for non-cancerous polyps and skin abrasions in recent years. Earlier this year he started bleeding from the eyes live on CNN. More recently his vocal capacity appears to be diminishing.

Then there are the mental issues (see the video on previous page for some real good lols, that make dubya look like a mensa member).
    https://youtu.be/0B6TjuoMAaY

When questioned by a reporter on testing for mental/congnitive decline, Joe responds by calling the chap a... 'lying dog face'.
    Classy and professional!

So he takes a gaviscon now and then lol

• Registered Users Posts: 25,456 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    Biden releases comprehensive detailed medical reports and people pore over them searching for evidence of a disqualifying ailment.

But those same people are seemingly fine with a 1 pager from Trump that says absolutely nothing.

Double Standard indeed.

A one page report that he dictated to the doctor :pac:

is it normal for people to dictate medical reports to a doctor?

So he takes a gaviscon now and then lol
    Ah the subjective cherry picking (yet again).

...two brain aneurysms, later complicated by subsequent deep vein thrombosis and pulmonary embolism. Blood thinners and medication for acid reflux and cholesterol. Biden has also had his gallbladder removed and has been preemptively treated for non-cancerous polyps and skin abrasions in recent years. Earlier this year he started bleeding from the eyes live on CNN. More recently his vocal capacity appears to be diminishing.

Actually can understand the support for Biden from some here, Dems sudden increase in taxation, (including 28% Corp), will make Dublin's 12.5% even more attractive to flee towards.

But you have to balance all this (Biden very elderly chap in mental decline), allowing escalating Chinese global supremecy (they've already brushed off the COVID), and negative US GDP caused alone, from Biden's proposed tax rises.

If there is a chance he'll survive and do well, we may as well welcome the Chinese overlords, a great bunch of lads and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ollkiller

If there is a chance he'll survive and do well, we may as well welcome the Chinese overlords, a great bunch of lads and all that.

As opposed to the current Russian overlords. As to your nonsense about Bidens health. Who would win in a 100 metre race between Trump and Biden. Doubt Trump could make 20 metres.

Ah the subjective cherry picking (yet again).

Actually can understand the support for Biden from some here, Dems sudden increase in taxation, (including 28% Corp), will make Dublin's 12.5% even more attractive to flee towards.

But you have to balance all this (Biden very elderly chap in mental decline), allowing escalating Chinese global supremecy (they've already brushed off the COVID), and negative US GDP caused alone, from Biden's proposed tax rises.

Your posts are actually making me laugh here.

Random pontificating about allowing Chinese global supremacy while Trump has been literally found to be cowing to Putin and allowing Russia to fund bounties on US soldiers in Afghanistan.

ollkiller wrote: »
    As opposed to the current Russian overlords. As to your nonsense about Bidens health. Who would win in a 100 metre race between Trump and Biden. Doubt Trump could make 20 metres.
    Ah yes the aul russbots, sure 'tis always the bots. Who knows what goes down over in the Afgan hills, the best idea was to get the flock out of there, or never arrive there in the first place.

Bidens health issues aren't nonsense, if he bleeds from the eyes again on CNN during a major live debate, imagine his ratings will crash.

Trump showed no symtoms strutting (hundreds of metres) and at pace, across DC, all be it for a somewhat misguided photo opportunity outside a church.

Any physical/mental IQ test would be great TV, but when someone asked Joe about doing such tests, he was met with 'dog face something or other' named calling. Ah here it is:
    'Lying dog face pony soilder'
    (Biden), This really takes some consideration, such a nasty outburst. Imagine if it was a female reporter who asked the question, sure you can't ever call a lady a 'dog face', not even big Kim would do that.

as met with 'dog face something or other' named calling. Ah here it is:

(Biden), This really takes some consideration, such a nasty outburst. Imagine if it was a female reporter who asked the question, sure you can't ever call a lady a 'dog face', not even big Kim would do that.

Already posted this.
    Biden's 'lying dog-face' quip was a joke partly at his own expense.

Biden drew criticism earlier this year after he called 21-year-old college student Madison Moore 'a lying dog-faced pony soldier' after she asked about his poor performance in Iowa, during a rally in Hampton, New Hampshire.

When the woman said she had never been to a caucus, Biden replied: 'No you haven't. You're a lying dog-faced pony soldier.'

Moore later spoke out on the incident, calling the moment 'humiliating' and said Biden attempted to 'invalidate me by exposing my inexperience.'

Biden's camp later said the line was taken from a scene in a John Wayne movie, where a Native American chief refers to Wayne as a 'lying, dog-faced pony soldier.'

Not ideal, but better than referring to womens menstrual cycles or mocking the disability of a reporter.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,110 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Ah yes the aul russbots, sure 'tis always the bots. Who knows what goes down over in the Afgan hills, the best idea was to get the flock out of there, or never arrive there in the first place.

Bidens health issues aren't nonsense, if he bleeds from the eyes again on CNN during a major live debate, imagine his ratings will crash.

Trump showed no symtoms strutting (hundreds of metres) and at pace, across DC, all be it for a somewhat misguided photo opportunity outside a church.

Ahh, how'd he do at West Point? Where Biden had run up the ramp 4 years prior?
    Any physical/mental IQ test would be great TV, but when someone asked Joe about doing such tests, he was met with 'dog face something or other' named calling. Ah here it is:

He said he would as soon as Trump did. https://thehill.com/homenews/campaign/505292-biden-can-hardly-wait-to-compare-his-cognitive-ability-with-trumps

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,178 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Yeah.. Imagine calling someone a dog.

List of everyone Donald Trump has called a DOG

Omarosa Manigault
    David Gregory
    Erick Erickson
    Steve Bannon
    Ted Cruz
    Glenn Beck
    Chuck Todd
    George Will
    Bill Maher
    Reverend Jerimiah Wright
    Kristen Stwart
    Daivd Axelrod
    Brent Bozell
    Mac Miller

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    Yeah.. Imagine calling someone a dog.
    'Lying dog face pony soilder' is a bit more substantial than some flippant casual dog comment.

It combined, accuses someone of lying, having an actual dogs-face, and being a pony solider all at the same time, whatever that is.

Biden has also told black folks what he thinks of them.
    He said they 'ain't black' if the don't vote for the brother him.
    No pressure voters.

'Lying dog face pony soilder' is a bit more substantial than some flippant casual dog comment.

It combined, accuses someone of lying, having an actual dogs-face, and being a pony solider all at the same time, whatever that is.

"Lying Dog Faced Pony solider" is a (mis)quote from a Movie , Trump just calls lots of people dogs.

Not saying it's great , but it's a poor attempt at comedy/satire rather than the plain old meanness of Trumps usage of the term "Dog"
    No pressure voters.

You mean like when Trump called any GOP person that didn't support him "Human Scum" ??

Look - No no is trying to suggest that Biden is perfect - far from it , it's just that EVERYTHING you are accusing him of, Trump is guilty of infinitely Worse examples.

So trying to suggest that these things are reasons to chose Trump over Biden is at best disingenuous and at worst disillusional.

It was a quote from a movie Easton Melted Mineralogist, or do you think he happened on just the same list of random words in the same order?
    No pressure voters.

On Trump
    The Justice Department sued his company ― twice ― for not renting to black people

“I think the guy is lazy,” Trump said of a black employee, according to O’Donnell. “And it’s probably not his fault because laziness is a trait in blacks. It really is, I believe that. It’s not anything they can control.”

He condoned the beating of a Black Lives Matter protester

Trump has also indicated he believes the entire Black Lives Matter movement lacks legitimate policy grievances.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,001 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

No pressure voters.

Jesus my lad are you still bumping uglies with this dead horse about the pony soldier remark?

It’s already been explained to you the origin is a John Wayne movie, titled iirc, Pony Soldier. It wasn’t even the first time Biden had used the phrase, and it wasn’t directed at a woman in that earlier case, defeating your idea it was somehow a sexist remark.

https://www.vox.com/2020/2/10/21131327/biden-dog-faced-pony-soldier-new-hampshire

But no, I guess please keep bumping that horse I’ll get a coffee and have a good kick at your expense watching you die on this hill? It might be best to let this one go.

As for the aneurisms nothing to write home about, they happened over 32 years ago. Trumps sniffly septum is a more recent scandal...

Overheal wrote: »
    Jesus my lad are you still bumping uglies with this dead horse about the pony soldier remark?

when you dont have much material to work with you have to keep repeating the little you have.

It’s why they’re so pissed about him out raising Trump and beating him double digits in the polls from his living room, it gives them nothing to work with :D

He’s done more leadership through Webex this year than Trump has in the last 4 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ollkiller

You're right. North Korea would say far worse. You're saying a misquoted film quote is worse than mocking someone with a disability or alluding to menstruation in women. Oh there's no talking to you. Gwan there and post up more nonsense about Biden's health issues. It really is resonating.

Another ‘gaffe‘ still being molested by many is the “I’m going to be/beat Joe Biden” which I think is dumb as hell when, if you say this phrase yourself, “Be Joe,” it’s frankly indistinguishable without labored pronunciation from “Beat Joe” purely down to the nature of the involved phonetics. But again, this is the best oppo from people against Biden, and it’s in itself incredibly telling.

Money on Accumulator quoting a single line from your posts and addressing nothing more... :P

If so it’s a not so subtle concession of the points made.

Another Jobs report out showing growth in Jobs (still not reporting it correctly though)

4.8M Jobs in June , Unemployment reported at 11.1% but it's actually 12.3%.

I don't actually understand some of the figures in this though.

The reports say that 4.8M new jobs were created in June , but that 1.4M new people claimed unemployment - It's not clear to me it that means that it was 3.4M net jobs gained or if the 4.8M accounts for the 1.4M.

Nearly a 3rd of those new jobs are in the Bar/Restaurant trade and sadly a lot of those are closing back down again so some of those that got job back at the start of June may have lost them again already or will do very shortly.

This should give Trump a lift in the polls , but 12.3% is still 50% above the worst that it got to during the 2008 crash so how much of a lift remains to be seen.

Ah shure everythings just a old ‘gaffe‘.
    Am sure there'll be plenty more from both sides regardless.

Found an excellent market for Joe, but isn't available as the (much prefered) acca builder:

Joe Biden not to be Democratic Nominee (presume this is for election day, but not stated and will need to verify): 7/1.

FcbjPpn.png

Slightly short, but with 5mths to go, ideally this will become available and increase as a line multipler option closer to the day.
    The only bigger question still remains, is who'll replace the stand in.