Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

British version of Trump becomes PM

• Registered Users Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Voltex

Them appointments were confirmed already

Was reading an article from earlier, but only got to post now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,302 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I saw this on Twitter a short while ago. It made me LOL. :D

EAQ5N9-XoAEopky.jpg:large

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

I wonder what number the jobs made were on the back of brexit? Just saying

Customs and immigration people maybe?

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Enter name here

EU now saying if Boris wants to come back to the table there maybe some wriggle room the BBC is reporting. 9 hrs in and the EU starting to finally realise the UK is serious perhaps about leaving with no deal.

Just read Leo's assessment of Boris's position vis a vis the current proposed withdrawal agreement - the EU are clear in their position, Ireland will not change their red lines, which are by association the EU's red lines. We're headed for a hard Brexit! Its time for the EU to close ranks and demonstrate solidarity.

If the EU were to pressure Ireland to relent on the backstop, the whole EU project could come under major questioning!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Voltex wrote: »
    Just read Leo's assessment of Boris's position vis a vis the current proposed withdrawal agreement - the EU are clear in their position, Ireland will not change their red lines, which are by association the EU's red lines. We're headed for a hard Brexit! Its time for the EU to close ranks and demonstrate solidarity.

If the EU were to pressure Ireland to relent on the backstop, the whole EU project could come under major questioning!!

Or would it? What was the phrase they used in a different scenario a few years back :
    'A bomb could go off in Dublin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Just noticed Nigel is 3rd fav to become the next PM (After Jer & Jo).
    2019 GE is increasing likely (November perhaps) at even odds.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Or would it? What was the phrase they used in a different scenario a few years back :
    'A bomb could go off in Dublin'.

Priti Patel once cited a report saying Ireland would suffer food shortages in the event of of a Hard Brexit and suggested this was an appropriate negotiating lever - completely ignorant of our famine history - and now this woman is Home Secretary!

I think the time has come for the EU to demonstrate its commitment to their smaller State members! Which I think it will!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Priti Patel once cited a report saying Ireland would suffer food shortages in the event of of a Hard Brexit and suggested this was an appropriate negotiating lever - completely ignorant of our famine history - and now this woman is Home Secretary!

I think the time has come for the EU to demonstrate its commitment to their smaller State members! Which I think it will!!

I would hope and like to think they would. However, I would be worried that we could get steamrolled if the UK pushed or threatened to push the nuclear option.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    I would hope and like to think they would. However, I would be worried that we could get steamrolled if the UK pushed or threatened to push the nuclear option.

I would be too, but this current UK Government is inherently unstable. From the EU's perspective there's more chance now of a GE in the UK and a second referendum so long as they hold their ground and demonstrate a united front.

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Enter name here

I would be too, but this current UK Government is inherently unstable. From the EU's perspective there's more chance now of a GE in the UK and a second referendum so long as they hold their ground and demonstrate a united front.

And when the tories win the GE there will be no need for a 2nd referendum because voting them back in is a mandate.
    Or we will need a 2nd GE because apparently thats what people demand nowadays when things dont go their way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

There's a facebook page tabulating every job loss story. Up to 243,000 as of this week.
    https://www.facebook.com/BrexitWrecksIt/

I quite like the page. We only hear of the big players pulling out of the UK (Like Nissan today), never of the small businesses who are suffering just as badly.

IMPORTANT NOTES ON METHODOLOGY:
    ================================

Job losses are attributed to Brexit if they meet one or more of the following conditions:

1. The employer's business has been significantly affected by sterling's devaluation, either immediately through rises in the cost of imported inputs or later by inflation passed on by those who were so affected.

2. Government austerity cuts are attributed to Brexit since Britain voted to remain the EU, austerity would have been lifted instead of deepened.

3. Barring other obvious explanations businesses that were doing okay but experienced a significant slowdown after the Brexit vote are deemed to have been impacted by Brexit.

4. Businesses and other enterprises (e.g. EU regulatory authorities) that will be impacted by the imposition of trading or regulatory barriers (including the potential imposition of tariffs).

5. All jobs moved abroad are considered Brexit-related even if offshored outside the EU, since Brexit makes Britain a "third country" to the EU, just like India or China.

Other factors are occasionally cited but these are the main categories.

Job losses due to changes in the way business is conducted, such as those due to banking automation or to internet shopping, are usually excluded unless there is some compelling reason to regard Brexit is the real reason for cutting staff

Doesn't that run counter to the actual employment figures?

And when the tories win the GE there will be no need for a 2nd referendum because voting them back in is a mandate.
    Or we will need a 2nd GE because apparently thats what people demand nowadays when things dont go their way.

What the Tories and the DUP fear most is that anti-brexit Parties win majorities in the regions. SNP pushing a secede agenda in Scotland and a referendum in 2021. IRA/Sinn Fein pushing for a Border Poll within a year or two. No Prime Minister will ever want to be remembered as the one who broke up the Union...and thats what will be in the event of a No-Deal Brexit!! Ireland knows this and so does the EU!!

Doesn't that run counter to the actual employment figures?

No, Brexit is undoubtedly costing jobs, but new jobs are still being created and filled. Most of the developed world is in an employment boom.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

first Trump now this.....have the lunatics taken over the asylum?

No, Brexit is undoubtedly costing jobs, but new jobs are still being created and filled. Most of the developed world is in an employment boom.

As counter intuitive as it may seem, the Pound £ did rally on news of a Boris win. Im convinced all successful modern economies need to be the trading freely within a "Mundell" stylised trade area.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭tedpan

It's funny, Boris was born in the US and his great grandad was turkish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 fqollere

As counter intuitive as it may seem, the Pound £ did rally on news of a Boris win. Im convinced all successful modern economies need to be the trading freely within a "Mundell" stylised trade area.

i think they won't leave at the last minute

everything that's happening now is drama before a second referendum imo

fqollere wrote: »
    i think they won't leave at the last minute

everything that's happening now is drama before a second referendum imo

It'll either be deal or no deal IMO, but most likely a deal.
    BJ will be lynched if he doesn't deliver some sort of Brexit.

Don't see the EU budging for the UK.
    Definitely see the Scots going for independence if Brexit hurts them.
    Definitely see NI moving closer to us than Britain over the next few years.
    Unification within a decade? A boy can dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 fqollere

If they leave their economy will be destroyed

They're afraid to tell the public they got it wrong but will wait until it sinks in imo

fqollere wrote: »
    If they leave their economy will be destroyed

They're afraid to tell the public they got it wrong but will wait until it sinks in imo

I just can't believe that in 3 years of negotiations theres more uncertainty now than back then. The deal was meant to be done and signed this time last year.

If borders go up and logistics gets backlogged I see tens of thousands of workers being told to stay at home.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,519 ✭✭✭✭dudara

There’s a certain part of me that’s very curious to see what Boris will achieve. He said today that will take personal responsibility :)

And then he went to say that Britain will be ready by October. 3 months time, with most of Europe on holidays in August. The project manager in me is having a good giggle at that timeline.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

dudara wrote: »
    There’s a certain part of me that’s very curious to see what Boris will achieve. He said today that will take personal responsibility :)

And then he went to say that Britain will be ready by October. 3 months time, with most of Europe on holidays in August. The project manager in me is having a good giggle at that timeline.

Well ye project managers think nine women can have a baby in a month! Just throw more bodies at it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

I wonder what number the jobs made were on the back of brexit? Just saying
    On paper at least, thousands of customs and immigration types, and other assorted civil servants (or G4S droids paid under public procurement contracts - same difference).

The obvious issue is that they're all paid from taxation income, which dwindles as the private sector shrinks/divests/offshores into the EU27 through its own ad hoc preparations.

We've all seen the estimates for the pre-Brexit preparations to date. That famous £350m per week is already long spent by now, and they haven't left yet.

There's an obvious rabbit hole to follow, and that is which politicians à la Chris "fresh startup with inexistant ferries gets multi-£m procurement without tendering" Grayling and lobbyists à la Crispin "Nigel, do us a favour and throw in the referendun towel a couple hours before the official results" Odey have been minting it since June 2016. No end to it in sight, after yesterday's appointments.

So glad I brexoded last year and they've been doing all this without my tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You'd assume Johnson is looking to steal the Brexit Parties possible vote while looking to keep conservative voters on board

Labour are doing so poorly that could give him a working majority. Johnson will adopt the tactics Thatcher used on Kinnock and hope it works

• Registered Users Posts: 40,164 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

One positive to take from this is that if Boris goes to form he will be off at the first sign of trouble. Given the current situation in the UK that probably wont take very long.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,680 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

This thread is mad - right down to the title.

Liberal types personally offended because someone they don't like got elected in another country. Like him or not, Trump has done most of what he said he would and their economy is doing fine.
    Boris can't be any worse than say Leo Varadkar - the most empty suit Taoiseach we've had yet. More concerned with his gigs and Tweets than running the country with any sort of competence, or even coming down on dodgy insurance claims from within his own party.

Even more funny is the hope that the UK economy goes down the toilet to teach them a lesson and because it's "de Brits". Time to get over the 800 years and join the rest of us in the 21st century.

Well the EU isn't any particular friend to Ireland either.. maybe a friend of convenience. Oh sure we got a lot of infrastructure investment and subsidies, but we're a net contributor these days and we certainly paid them back with the cheapest bailout in history :rolleyes: to prevent the contagion to their own banks.

If the UK economy tanks as some seem to hope, it'll be far more damaging to us than Brussels, Paris or Berlin

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,254 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Who has expressed hope that the UK economy will collapse?

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

I hear it the whole time. I'm sure there's a few instances in this thread.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Seriously?

Man, that is some comment.