Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you blame him or not, MP manhandles woman protester

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Hurrache wrote: »
    But none of what you're fantasising about actually happened.

Fantasizing is the correct word. Misogyny.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,668 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

I am not a feminist. Real men protect women.

Call me old fashioned.

And it's public property.

Protect yes, but it doesn't give them the right to do what they want and expect no reaction because they are women.

ironically assaulting/escorting a woman out of a meeting is more egalitarian than protecting her.

I am not egalitarian nor am I a feminist.

I'm you know NORMAL.

Because he would never have tried it.

And if he had of course it would be a news story.

How do you know he wouldn’t have it it were a man?

There’s an alarm going off in that video. She has something in her hand and a bag on her arm. He reacted in a split second to a situation and he DID NOT assault her!

Honestly, if something serious had happened you’d all be giving out about why no one stopped her.

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Protect yes, but it doesn't give them the right to do what they want and expect no reaction because they are women.

Be real. Of it does with the qualifier ..to SOME extent. Women are physically more delicate than men.

I don't expect you to allow a woman kill you but i expect a little more stoicism than that!

Lux23 wrote: »
    A woman couldn't march a man by the neck out of a room like that, so it would never happen.

Now you’re taking the piss. Don’t underestimate the female of the species. We’re pretty good at protecting ourselves if need be.

There’s an alarm going off in that video. She has something in her hand and a bag on her arm. He reacted in a split second to a situation and he DID NOT assault her!

Honestly, if something serious had happened you’d all be giving out about why no one stopped her.

Omg only men go out mass shooting people please. Women are usually non violent.

We are the care givers etc. You guys are genetically the soldier type people. Its what you are MADE for!

Lets be adults!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,645 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Spook_ie wrote: »
    https://news.sky.com/story/tory-mp-mark-field-under-fire-after-grabbing-protester-by-neck-11745967

Should they be charging him with assault or not, should he be made to resign, given the shooting of MP Jo Cox, the "joke" of throwing acid and other things I think not, peaceful protest doesn't mean rushing up to a top table of "dignatories"

She walked by a table. Jo Cox was murdered by a violent man. It's a spurious comparison. Protestor likely searched to even get in building.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

Hurrache wrote: »
    Lots of people on this thread afraid of women it appears.

A threats a threat its not a woman or a man it doesn't have a gender.
    The beginning of the threat started when it trespassed. Case closed. Good morning folks!!

If you’re a yank, yeah.

• Registered Users Posts: 870 ✭✭✭barney shamrock

The gentleman should have waited for the lady to fling the acid in the gentleman's face or consommé before reacting.

Now you’re taking the piss. Don’t underestimate the female of the species. We’re pretty good at protecting ourselves if need be.

I am not being rude. I don't want this situation to get heated.

But you know that isn't true.

Men are just stronger and built differently. Women even injure more easily.

And this video certainly speaks to what i have just said above.

And I am female.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,668 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Be real. Of it does with the qualifier ..to SOME extent. Women are physically more delicate than men.

I don't expect you to allow a woman kill you but i expect a little more stoicism than that!

It's was an insistent reaction and none of us could say how we react. Personally I would hope and intend to react in a less aggressive manor however I cannot blame him for what he did.

She went in to cause a scene and would have refused to leave whatever way you look at it so was removed. She and other will be delighted with the reaction the protest got.

He should not lose his job for this.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Both are acceptable.

The gentleman should have waited for the lady to fling the acid in the gentleman's face or consommé before reacting.
    She had acid?

Delusional and the word 'IF' are different things. However when you use IF to go off the deep end i think i need to jump in and save you.
    Sorry. That makes no sense
    Weirdo.
    Again apologies, I assumed you were making a joke when you linked to the sexist "man up" stuff.
    I am not egalitarian nor am I a feminist.

You don't believe or supports the principle of equality for all people.
    I'm you know NORMAL.

Debatable.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Boxing.Fan

Equal rights and lefts.

A threats a threat its not a woman or a man it doesn't have a gender.
    The beginning of the threat started when it trespassed. Case closed. Good morning folks!!

She is an IT now?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

She's holding a bunch of leaflets of some sort and a small ladies bag by the strap in the same hand, she looks as awkward as two left feet and I'd say if she tried to throw anything she'd probably hurt herself first. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"What if she had a knife?"

She didn't FFS. What if she was carrying acid in her tits to spray on someone? What if, what if, what if.

If she was armed, he wouldn't have tried to stop her. This is some pompous prick, irritated that his pompous event is being interrupted by some pesky crusty types, thinking that he has the right to throw them out for being so rude.

A cut and dried demonstration of what privileged people do because they think they're entitled to.

As an assault, it's pretty low down there, he didn't exactly wrestle her. But that doesn't make it OK.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tails142

Watched the video, thought it looked ok. Nothing a bouncer wouldn't do on a typical Saturday night. Barge into a room with sirens blaring what do they expect?

He is pulling out of all his interviews now!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I'd like to think that, had I been there, I'd have the gumption to stand up and grab that fucker by the neck and say 'take your hands off her you bully'.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

She is an IT now?

No she was a threat.

Omg only men go out mass shooting people please. Women are usually non violent.

We are the care givers etc. You guys are genetically the soldier type people. Its what you are MADE for!

Lets be adults!

Stop taking the blue pills, vibes. They’re not working for ya.

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Colonel Claptrap

He is a foreign office minister who sits in on domestic and foreign security briefings.

The current threat level for international terrorism in the UK is SEVERE

An MP was murdered 2 years ago.

We live in an age when death threats are commonly made against government ministers and their families.
    We have our own loonies protesting outside minister's family homes.

Luckily the protestor was not armed. I wish I was as quick thinking as he if I ever found myself in that situation.

Fight or flight.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

jimgoose wrote: »
    Well if she did have a blade and intent to use it, at least one of them would be badly cut or possibly killed during a scuffle like that.

LOL, peak Maude Flaunders now, THEY COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED!

Sorry. That makes no sense

Again apologies, I assumed you were making a joke when you linked to the sexist "man up" stuff.

You don't believe or supports the principle of equality for all people.

Debatable.

No I don't believe in the principle of equality for all people... we are all too different.

I do believe in non violence however and just generally being kind to each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Lackadaisical

She wasn’t brandishing any sort of weapon, she didn’t look at all like she was being violent, just an uninvited protester.

He had ever right to interrupt her verbally as usher her way but not do what he did. You can’t lay a hand on someone like that.

You can however move the minister other likely target VIP out of the way ASAP.

Security guards and police have training and licenses precisely to prevent that kind of thing happening and know how to handle themselves.

It also raises huge questions about the security at the event. How was it possible for someone to get that close to a high profile political figure in the first place.

It’s also not the first time that a protester has managed to get into a Tory party event, including the guy who got close enough to Theresa May to hand her a P45 document during a party conference.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,033 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Lux23 wrote: »
    She has a right to protest. He had a right to have her removed, but he didn't need to drag her by the throat. He only has himself to blame.

Your throat is on the back of your neck?

I'd get that seen to ASAP.