Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is America treating the UK like a colony?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Blinky Plebum

They'll be worse and always have. Look at the pathetic fawning over Obama last time he was here. It's hilarious to hear people giving out about the British considering the way we act here in this country.

We know what we are, we've been kissing the Americans arses for decades and we're very happy to do it.

We don't view ourselves as some power that would above that type of behaviour, the British however do.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

The real world threat to Ireland and her citizens doesn't come from Russia.

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭yrreg0850

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    The US treats virtually every country as a colony. How many American army bases are there around the world? How many leaders have they deposed in other countries? They've been running riot since the Monroe Doctrine.

If Trump was in any other country the U.S who would be trying to depose him.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Aegir wrote: »
    so it hides behind Britain and the US?

If you look at it that way A the UK hides behind America. It also hid behind the EU in terms of trade but they didn't realise it. The best outcome is an EU army.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,463 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Russian bombers enter UK Airspace, RAF escorts them until they clear off.

Russian Bombers enter Irish airspace, RAF escorts them until they clear off...then tell the Irish who knew nothing about the two bombers flying across international air lanes with no transponders on, in an area that it is their duty to control.

no US involvement whatsoever.

Do you honestly believe we're under threat of bombing from Russia? We are of complete insignificance to them.

AdamD wrote: »
    Do you honestly believe we're under threat of bombing from Russia? We are of complete insignificance to them.

No, Ireland certainly isn’t.

They are expected to have some plan for controlling their airspace beyond “call the Brits”.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    If you look at it that way A the UK hides behind America. It also hid behind the EU in terms of trade but they didn't realise it. The best outcome is an EU army.

So Ireland can hide behind an EU army?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,463 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

No, Ireland certainly isn’t.

They are expected to have some plan for controlling their airspace beyond “call the Brits”.

Against what? :pac:

This couldn't be any lower down on the list of priorities I'd like our government to put money towards. Defending our air space against non existent threats

Ireland and every other country in the EU.

We're a small country with nothing of real interest that some other country would want to invade us.

A is your phrase of the week "hide behind"?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,982 ✭✭✭threeball

recedite wrote: »
    I certainly am.

Trump is selling weapons like they're going out of fashion and turning a blind eye to how they're used. It doesn't matter if the US drop the bomb themselves or supply the weaponry then hold their hands up saying "hey nothing to do with me". Thats just war by proxy and they're every bit as culpable as if Uncle Sam himself dropped it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

We're a small country with nothing of real interest that some other country would want to invade us.

Here is an example of a real threat Irish people face from foreign military operations in and around Irish territory.

Nothing to do with the Russians.
    IT WAS just after 1pm on a clear, calm day on the Irish Sea, 25 miles off Howth.

A number of trawlers were hunting for prawns. One of those boats was the 70ft Sharelga.

Raymond McEvoy from Chapel Road in Clogherhead had bought her just before Christmas 1981, a big investment at the time and she needed to deliver.

His brother Philip was on board with him, his uncle, Noel Kirwan, brother-in-law Mickey Kelly and Gabriel Hesnan from Kildalkey who had been in the fishing game since the previous summer.

Suddenly, the Sharelga began to stop in the water and within moments terror struck.

The boat lurched backwards and continued to speed across the sea. The crew made frantic efforts to hold on to whatever they could as the stricken vessel ripped through the water at speed.

At first it was a strange kind of experience, Hesnan would later say 'we were laughing and saying maybe it's a whale!'

But the seriousness of the situation soon began to descend on the men as the boat sunk lower in the water, still being dragged fiercely along.

After about two miles and 20 minutes of concern, the boat swung to its side and that was it.

As she succumbed to the water, the men scrambled onto the keel, before finally jumping overboard.

Mickey Kelly couldn't swim and he stayed on the last piece of the vessel until he too crashed into the water. Skipper McEvoy swam to him immediately and slung a lifebelt over his arm.

Within moments the boat disappeared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

threeball wrote: »
    Trump is selling weapons like they're going out of fashion and turning a blind eye to how they're used. It doesn't matter if the US drop the bomb themselves or supply the weaponry then hold their hands up saying "hey nothing to do with me". Thats just war by proxy and they're every bit as culpable as if Uncle Sam himself dropped it.

Every US president in my living memory has sold weapons to anyone and everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Trump is selling weapons like they're going out of fashion.
    Maybe they are going out of fashion; the US army is obviously not consuming (or expending?) enough of them since Trump became president.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i love the way he pointed at the queen and said.."great woman great great woman"

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

steddyeddy wrote: »

I take it you're too old to be conscripted into the EU army?

RustyNut wrote: »
    Here is an example of a real threat Irish people face from foreign military operations in and around Irish territory.

Nothing to do with the Russians.

The Sharelga was sunk due to a British submarine (who according to some here are our great protectors), also it happened nearly 40 years ago and was an accident.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,982 ✭✭✭threeball

Berserker wrote: »
    Every US president in my living memory has sold weapons to anyone and everyone.

My point is that just because the US isn't officially at war it's still running wars by proxy. Its not because Trump is adverse to war or it's consequences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

My point is that just because the US isn't officially at war it's still running wars by proxy. Its not because Trump is adverse to war or it's consequences
    I love how some people can still cling to their preconceived opinion, even when all the evidence is against it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 28,440 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Sense of perspective here on when the red carpet was rolled out for Romanian dictator Nicolae Ceausescu as part of a British Airways trade deal...
    https://www.spectator.co.uk/2019/06/why-ceausescus-1978-state-visit-was-far-more-humiliating-than-trumps-ever-could-be/

At least this time the red carpet is being rolled out for the USA!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Sense of perspective here on when the red carpet was rolled out for Romanian dictator Nicolae Ceausescu as part of a British Airways trade deal...
    https://www.spectator.co.uk/2019/06/why-ceausescus-1978-state-visit-was-far-more-humiliating-than-trumps-ever-could-be/

At least this time the red carpet is being rolled out for the USA!

Probably not as embarrassing as this little gem though..
    https://www.historyireland.com/20th-century-contemporary-history/de-valera-hitler-the-visit-of-condolence-may-1945/

• Registered Users Posts: 28,440 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

RobMc59 wrote: »

I think even the Germans were embarrassed at that one...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

The US President called the US-UK "special relationship" the "greatest alliance the world has ever known."
    Actually when you think about it, and look today at the 75 anniversary of the D-day landings, it probably is.

Trump also said Britain and the US would be able to strike a "phenomenal trade deal" once the UK left the European Union.
    He also said to Teresa May "I would have sued (the EU) and settled maybe. Perhaps you won't be given the credit you deserve". Interesting times.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Sweet mercy people actually buy the utter shite Trump sells. The Americans told Britain to get the fuck out of Suez not long after WWII and they did exactly as they were told. Some 'alliance' that is.

the difference being that every other country in the EU would at least contribute to the european army.

why anyone would want to hand over their military capability, however small, to an organisation outside of their country though, I do not know.

RobMc59 wrote: »

Or the collaboration of a former king of Britain with Nazis. That always seems to get overlooked.

janfebmar wrote: »
    The US President called the US-UK "special relationship" the "greatest alliance the world has ever known."
    Actually when you think about it, and look today at the 75 anniversary of the D-day landings, it probably is.

Trump also said Britain and the US would be able to strike a "phenomenal trade deal" once the UK left the European Union.
    He also said to Teresa May "I would have sued (the EU) and settled maybe. Perhaps you won't be given the credit you deserve". Interesting times.

He also gave money to Sinn Fein and is associated with Gerry Adams.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

so you are saying that Ireland does need air defence? If so, then why does it hide behind the UK?
    have you ever looked at a map? Where do you think a soviet union/US war would take place?
    Russian bombers enter UK Airspace, RAF escorts them until they clear off. Russian Bombers enter Irish airspace, RAF escorts them until they clear off...then tell the Irish who knew nothing about the two bombers flying across international air lanes with no transponders on, in an area that it is their duty to control. no US involvement whatsoever.
    Irish controlled airspace from who? civilian airlines were protected, because the British fighters put their transponders on, so other planes could see them. As the Norwegians did prior to handing over to the British and the French did after they took over. The Irish, on the other hand, did nothing.
    so it hides behind Britain and the US?
    No, Ireland certainly isn’t. They are expected to have some plan for controlling their airspace beyond “call the Brits”.

I'd say you'd have loved to be posted to the north during the troubles with the BA - you'd have been able to stick it to Paddy any time you like and got paid for it.

Where's the Russian aggression coming from by the way? I don't remember Irish-Russian relations to be that intense.

• Registered Users Posts: 67,254 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Suggesting the British are protecting us from the Russians and not themselves is almost as funny as thinking Trump will pause for a second before he screws the British on a trade deal. :D