Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What practice/beliefs make you instantly lose respect for someone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

All religious people and anyone who claims to come from a [insert political party] family. Maybe pity would be a better word.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,144 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

All religious people and anyone who claims to come from a [insert political party] family. Maybe pity would be a better word.

I don't get that either. But I'm sure there are plenty of people in the UK who are 'labour through and through' and would never vote Tory.

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭red petal

People who live their lives the opposite to "The secret" but constantly quote it and misinterpret "The law of attraction" as "sit on your ar$e, draw a mansion on your vision board and it will appear". It has completely put me off ever reading it or listening to their advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Vicarious Function

Not sure as to what constitutes a practice

But the "practice" of passing on my PM's (Private Messages) to other people, unauthorized by me and without my permission - I consider to be the lowest of the low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭KikiLaRue

Not sure as to what constitutes a practice

But the "practice" of passing on my PM's (Private Messages) to other people, unauthorized by me and without my permission - I consider to be the lowest of the low.

You've led a fairly charmed life if that's the worst thing you've ever experienced.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Vicarious Function

KikiLaRue wrote: »
    You've led a fairly charmed life if that's the worst thing you've ever experienced.

Depends! I consider it the ultimate betrayal on a chat forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

People who cannot see the other-side of the coin and see how Trump played the election superbly, annoy me if I am honest.
    You have to give credit to the fella for winning when he was given no chance and laughed at.

Going from complete outsider even to get nominated, to President of the United States.

A billionaire who has managed to style himself as a straight talking, anti-establishment, man of the people'. Amazing marketing.

There are other viewpoints in the world and Trump expertly tapped into those, made publicity for himself, used social media, gave simple messages etc etc.

Meanwhile there was Hillary...... The best she could come up with in reply to try and make herself seem like a 'woman of the people' 'My great-grandfather the coal miner...'

Even in the face of all Trump's 'scandals' he still managed to win.
    This made it an even more incredible campaign, exceptionally played by Trump is a massive achievement.
    But the fact he won says a lot more about what is wrong with the American political system than it does about Donald J. Trump.

Do you admire Hitler for getting 13.5 million Germans to vote for him in the 1932 German presidential election?

As a frequent traveler to the US for work, I found a passionate hatred for Hillary Clinton that I never fully understood. Whatever the reasons, it does/did exist and I don't think Trump should be given too much credit for the Dems choosing the wrong candidate or for the Reps having rubbish candidates themselves for the last 35 years.

At the same time, he deserves some credit for winning hoodwinking voters and whoever his Dem opponent ultimately is in 18 months time, he'll probably win again regardless of all of this....

98bqiuF.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 15,849 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

'Zactly. Door-to-door 'selling'/panhandling should be illegal.

There's no reason anything should be sold door to door in this day and age. It's not the 1950s.

Most anything sold door to door now is either shyte quality, overpriced, dodgy or all of the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

This is the main one for me it tells me so much about the person.

In particular people who are born and rared in Ireland, that make a deliberate and conscious effort to say TG 'four' = TG4.
    Would it kill you to say 'ceathair'?

You can make the argument of course that they are translating the Irish word to English, and it has the correct meaning.

Yet the really galling thing is those people who make the conscious effort to say 'four' have no problem saying the following:

1) Luas (which means speed - ironic really as it is not very fast)

2) Dáil (which means assembly)

3) Oireachtas (which means assembly/gathering)

4) Taoiseach (which means chief/chieftain)

5) Garda (which means guard)

There used to be channel called TV5 in France now TV5monde. TV5 = TV 'cinq'.

Even a fella like me who has very little French would say 'Cinq' because that is what the French say.
    It's the station's name even I know it means five!

When I hear an Irish person in particular say 'TG four' it immediately tells me a lot about them and thier mindset, without them having to say much more.

:D Jesus.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Do you admire Hitler for getting 13.5 million Germans to vote for him in the 1932 German presidential election?

As a frequent traveler to the US for work, I found a passionate hatred for Hillary Clinton that I never fully understood. Whatever the reasons, it does/did exist and I don't think Trump should be given too much credit for the Dems choosing the wrong candidate or for the Reps having rubbish candidates themselves for the last 35 years.

At the same time, he deserves some credit for winning hoodwinking voters and whoever his Dem opponent ultimately is in 18 months time, he'll probably win again regardless of all of this....

98bqiuF.jpg

What a dude. He's the type of guy who you'd love to go get a pint with. Unreal banter I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

What a dude. He's the type of guy who you'd love to go get a pint with. Unreal banter I'd say.

Having worked in a casino ...you gotta be pretty dumb to bankrupt one..or defrauding it more likely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

(slightly topical at the moment )

People who paint their new born's room 'gender neutral' in shades of gey, void of 'offensive colours'.

Using overpriced 'hippy' tins of paint that are laced with essential oils of eucalyptus/lavender/teatree.
    Which in turn will actually start to turn a boy 'neutral' and present early gynecomastia.

Just paint it blue and buy the lad some action men toys.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Anyone who spouts that God loves all his children, while so many are suffering from hunger, illness, depravity and hardship

• Registered Users Posts: 18,325 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

This is the main one for me it tells me so much about the person.

In particular people who are born and rared in Ireland, that make a deliberate and conscious effort to say TG 'four' = TG4.
    Would it kill you to say 'ceathair'?

You can make the argument of course that they are translating the Irish word to English, and it has the correct meaning.

Yet the really galling thing is those people who make the conscious effort to say 'four' have no problem saying the following:

1) Luas (which means speed - ironic really as it is not very fast)

2) Dáil (which means assembly)

3) Oireachtas (which means assembly/gathering)

4) Taoiseach (which means chief/chieftain)

5) Garda (which means guard)

There used to be channel called TV5 in France now TV5monde. TV5 = TV 'cinq'.

Even a fella like me who has very little French would say 'Cinq' because that is what the French say.

When I hear an Irish person in particular say 'TG four' it immediately tells me a lot about them and thier mindset, without them having to say much more.
    pgj2015 wrote: »
    [/B]

Talk about a first world problem.
    What about those of us who still call it TnaG?

I think it is an Irish problem to be deliberately obtuse and say 'TG four' when you know it is known as 'TG ceathair'. It is still the hangover that colonisation instilled in the Irish people. English language = forward and progressive. Irish language = backward etc

As I said it really says a lot about the individual straight away, when they say 'TG four.'

It may mean a few things if they are born and rared in Ireland:

If the person is Irish - depending on who you are talking to it can lead a person to make a number of assumptions which may/may not be contained in the following list of the 'TG Four' people

1) They my have had a poor education and are from lower socio-economic background

2) They have a top class education, and are highly intelligent, from a high socio-economic background - and consciously want to avoid Irish, as they deem it inferior (this is the worse of the lot in my view)

3) They may have an extreme fear of using any Irish language

4) They may not want to be associated with the Irish language, and make a conscious effort to distance themselves from it

The irony is that if those that consciously make the effort to say 'TG four' knew a word such as 'Luas' they would say 'Speed' instead....

As for the 'TnaG' thing that avoids the whole mess entirely! :D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Laois_Man wrote: »

I obviously do not admire Hitler's beliefs, but credit where it is due there was superb organisation and great dress sense from the Germans. Ignoring all the crimes against humanity etc

It is the same with the British you have to admire thier organisation how a group of people managed to colinise nearly one quarter of the globe.
    Yes, they caused a few famines along the way India, Ireland etc but look at the ingenuity and planning they had.

That was no mean feat.

As for Hillary v Trump I do not buy the 'internet meme' narrative

Trump = Bad Person

Hillary = Good Person (Anyone who thinks that I think OK no talking to this person - nod politely)

The truth is far more nuanced than that. The truth is as well that Hillary did not connect with electorate, and ran a terrible campaign, which you alluded to.

Snobbery racism etc.

Many Irish TD's from across the Political Spectrum. Doing down their opposition as much as they bluudy can.
    One Prime Time program in particular.
    I don't want to incur the wrath of the mods or td's or councillors so pm me for the YouTube link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I think it is an Irish problem to be deliberately obtuse and say 'TG four' when you know it is known as 'TG ceathair'. It is still the hangover that colonisation instilled in the Irish people. English language = forward and progressive. Irish language = backward etc

As I said it really says a lot about the individual straight away, when they say 'TG four.'

It may mean a few things if they are born and rared in Ireland:

If the person is Irish - depending on who you are talking to it can lead a person to make a number of assumptions which may/may not be contained in the following list of the 'TG Four' people

1) They my have had a poor education and are from lower socio-economic background

2) They have a top class education, and are highly intelligent, from a high socio-economic background - and consciously want to avoid Irish, as they deem it inferior (this is the worse of the lot in my view)

3) They may have an extreme fear of using any Irish language

4) They may not want to be associated with the Irish language, and make a conscious effort to distance themselves from it

The irony is that if those that consciously make the effort to say 'TG four' knew a word such as 'Luas' they would say 'Speed' instead....

As for the 'TnaG' thing that avoids the whole mess entirely! :D

Or 5), we're reared on English and when we see a 4 our brain says 'four'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4 CentsPerLitre

People who swear in every sentence would often annoy me, no need for it at all

• Registered Users Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

(slightly topical at the moment )

People who paint their new born's room 'gender neutral' in shades of gey, void of 'offensive colours'.

Shades of 'gey' :pac: obsessed much?

Just paint it blue and buy the lad some action men toys.

Because baby blue is sooooo masculine.

Using overpriced 'hippy' tins of paint that are laced with essential oils of eucalyptus/lavender/teatree.
    Which in turn will actually start to turn a boy 'neutral' and present early gynecomastia.

People who post complete and utter bollocks on the internet, but expect everyone to 'respect' it just because it's their 'opinion'.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

I bet you say the following though:

Paris (with an 's')
    Milan
    Rome
    Turin
    Prague
    Geneva
    The Hague
    Brussels
    Munich
    Nuremberg
    Warsaw
    Vienna

So when it suits you you say it in English, yet give out about other people who do exactly the same.

Making a big deal over nothing says a lot about mindset, alright.

BTW the word you were looking for both times was 'reared'.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Shades of 'gey' :pac: obsessed much?

Fruedian slip, lol.
    Because baby blue is sooooo masculine.

Don't be colour/blue-ist. Grey is so last season (and boring).
    People who post complete and utter bollocks on the internet, but expect everyone to 'respect' it just because it's their 'opinion'.

People who don't read newspapers (today mentioned Archie would have some fancy special paint formulated with essential oils in his {grey, gender neutral} room).

People who don't read broadsheet newspapers or glance at medical press releases, and thow their toys out of the pram instead, while crying utter bollocks to the world in their rant, and expect people to respect their view, instead of an ounce of fact checking, because their 'opinion' is above all factuality, Whaaa whaaaa wha.

https://www.niehs.nih.gov/health/topics/agents/essential-oils/index.cfm
    Lavender and tea tree oil may act as endocrine disrupting chemicals (EDCs)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Lack of respect from someone I've just met.

People who think a foreign "royal" popping out a kid is "news".

People who swear in every sentence would often annoy me, no need for it at all

Agreed.

This ..i don't mind just not noticing me thats fine ...but if you go out of your way to be rude or just very careless or assuming etc

I bet you say the following though:

Paris (with an 's')
    Milan
    Rome
    Turin
    Prague
    Geneva
    The Hague
    Brussels
    Munich
    Nuremberg
    Warsaw
    Vienna

You are one of these obtuse people who deliberately misses the point.

But I will play along -

Paris (with an 's') - I say Paris Saint Germain (PSG) [par-ee)
    Milan - I say Inter / AC depending on the team.
    Rome - I call them Roma when referring to the football team
    Turin - Torino when referring to the football team
    Munich - Bayern when referring to the football team - occasionally I refer to them as 'Bayern München'

And why do I do that? Because that is the way those teams are pronounced in the various languages it is also part of the brand.
    As is 'tg ceathair' is the brand and name and is pronounced as such by Irish people unless they have 'issues' (which I detailed in my original post)

I would like to congratulate you on helping me to prove my point to an even greater extent. Well done. Good effort on your part I must admit.
    Unfortunately by your implication Irish people should not have to say 'TG ceathair' as it is viewed as a 'foreign' language so why bother?
    Again, it comes back to the 'TG four' Irish people with 'issues'.

Strange you mention "Inter Milan" as that's not the name of the club, just the name that is used in English.

You're doing the exact thing you are complaining about.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,298 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I hate when you met somebody and they expect you to bow to them and give them special attention because they think there really important.

Yeah who dey think dey is meghan markle?? :p