Pineapple1 wrote: » Wont see Ruane until a possible final
Loafing Oaf wrote: » Alan Dillon cameo FTW!:p
seligehgit wrote: » Try here.https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/gaa-hour-coming-westport-almighty-mayo-v-donegal-preview-204425
Pineapple1 wrote: » Of course. I think Rockford would love nothing more than to get one up on the countyboard in particular. I wouldnt blame him either.
Bunny Colvin wrote: » Can't dispute that but any word he trained this week? If that man comes on and kicks the winner, we'll get him elected Taoiseach Thanks man. Got them there. Should be a bit of craic. That's true.Aidan O'Mahony was speaking on Off The Ball this morning. His view was that the Mayo lads will also not want to lose to a Donegal team with Rochford involved and it's just a game they can't lose. Just another way of looking at it. He thinks there's still a kick left in this Mayo team. Hopefully he's right. The lads simply need to follow the standard that Andy and Boyler laid down against Meath. Looking forward to seeing the matchups when the ball's thrown in.
ProudDUB wrote: » Staggeringly brilliant piece of insight there from Twinkletoes O'Mahony. And there was us lot only too willing to believe that Mayo would love to lose to Donegal. Thanks for setting us all straight there Aido. Not having a go at you btw, but the amount of shyte talk going on is mad.
Bunny Colvin wrote: » I was paraphrasing but I take your point that it looks like a cliched and simple quote but there was a bit more to it. He was trying to put across the fact that the Mayo lads will do anything for Rochford to not put one over them by using their strengths against them. If that makes sense. It was a different slant because all week we've been hearing that Rochford will be masterminding a gameplan against Mayo and sure that might very well happen, but you also could see more fire from Mayo because they won't want someone they know all too well gunning to beat them.
Squatman wrote: » rumour has it the mcbrearty has picked up some sort of injury. Dunno if its true, or how bad!
km79 wrote: » Just seen a photo of Diarmuid on JJ Burke car site from today He still has light cast on
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » The reality is (in no particular order) Mayo are missing key players due to injury Have played a lot of games in a short period of time Have in general terms failed to play as the Mayo we expect in all but one half of one game (first half v Galway) Have been exposed defensively. Have been exposed on restarts Have a manager who seems not to think as tactically as his predecessor. All of that combined coming up against a younger team preforming well gives me very little confidence I hope I'm wrong but there is a slim chance of that happening.
Fr Tod Umptious wrote: » Here here I have the good fortune to be in the great county of Mayo this week, and reading "The Connaught" all I am seeing is this positivity based on nothing more than intangibles. Now I know the aforementioned newspaper is poor quality as it is but all it is doing this week is telling it's readers what they want to hear. The reality is (in no particular order) Mayo are missing key players due to injury Have played a lot of games in a short period of time Have in general terms failed to play as the Mayo we expect in all but one half of one game (first half v Galway) Have been exposed defensively Have been exposed on restarts Have a manager who seems not to think as tactically as his predecessor. All of that combined coming up against a younger team preforming well gives me very little confidence. The writers in "The Connaught" are expecting Mayo to do what they did v Galway for a full game v a better team. I hope I'm wrong but there is a slim chance of that happening.
Barlett wrote: » I don't disagree, but I think there is a huge amount of revisionism of late regarding Stephen Rochford and Mayo. When I think back on those years, I have great memories of the big days no doubt, but I can still count on both hands the games Mayo actually played well in. Every other game was the same failings on show time and again, letting teams back into games, baffling in-game decisions from players and management. What I see now is a team on a natural slide that would happen regardless who is in charge, but a few new players on the horizon. I think Rochford is an excellent manager and I think Horan is an excellent manager but there is little that can be done to reverse the reality of what is currently happening as players get older, we need to bring through more players next year and continue to rebuild.
spakman wrote: » +1 Good summary. There were days when we were playing terrible under Rochford that I thought "this would never happen under Horan". But equally I don't think we'd have played as well in 2017 final under Horan. I think Horan is a better man to build a team, he's already brought through more players this year than Rochford did in his 3 years. Maybe some of that was through necessity, and Rochford tried to include Carr but he was injured, but I still think Horan is better suited to building a new team in the next few years.
Loafing Oaf wrote: » That's meant for Donegal eyes:p
km79 wrote: » It is a light cast it must be said I wonder ..........
Lisbon67 wrote: » https://www.facebook.com/JJBurkeCarSales/photos/a.604463539567886/2824914937522724?type=3&sfns=mo No cast on here
Cartman78 wrote: » Can anyone recommend ninja parking options for the match on Saturday? I'll be coming in the Breaffy side :cool: It's been a helluva long time since I was at a game in Castlebar
Barlett wrote: » Agreed, even last year James Diskin and Cian Hanley were parachuted into championship football, probably out of necessity, but it was a bit out of no where. There appears to be a more concentrated move to introducing new players this year even if there's only 2/3 making the first 15 currently.
TCDStudent1 wrote: » Where is Cian Hanley this year? Has he been on the panel?
seligehgit wrote: » There's definitely a cast on his left hand.
charlie14 wrote: » There are intangibles that nobody seems to have considered when it comes to Donegal as well. They have their own injury problems where there is the possibility of their first choices at 2, 3, being out as well as the number 2 stand in against Kerry. Plus their standout half back is out for the season, Eoghan Ban Gallagher There are also doubts over their two mid-fielders. Add to that Paddy McBrearty now looks as if he will not make it due to a hamstring problem and you have a serious amount of intangibles with a relatively young inexperienced team where it comes down to replacements. Especially when Mayo look to be getting some of their older experienced players back.