Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for Health Simon Harris and family trapped in home by protesters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Marengo

I missed all Irish tv news this evening. Was this incident covered.

It's very poor form. If you have a problem with a politician's performance, protest outside their office, don't bring their family into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭AllForIt

There's another billion of my money I won't get back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

I responded to your piece of comedy.
    Why not discuss instead of just making snide comments?

And Leo?
    I'm not a fan of Varadkar but I think he's more trustworthy when it comes to fiscal oversight. He seems intelligent and risk-averse.

I'm sure Simon Harris is a nice guy, but I really wouldn't trust him to oversee an extension on my kitchen, let alone the biggest capital project in the history of the State.

Politically I'm no fan of Simon Harris but 'mob rule' can't be allowed to become the norm.

We always had proper channels to protest. The most effective being the ballot box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Marengo wrote: »
    It's very poor form. If you have a problem with a politician's performance, protest outside their office, don't bring their family into it.

When that politicians lies, bluffing and ineptitude affects your families lives ~ as his has done to many families I've no problem seeing protests brought to their door steps.

As for being 'trapped', sure he was at home. How was he trapped by anyone?.

From the video I seen it was a few gobsh*tes silently staging some kind of protest outside his house, hardly a siege.

We're all going to have to pay for this pricks lies and poor decision making, well I'm sick and tired of paying for poor decision after poor decision, for lie after lie time and time again. And while I don't advocate house calls by protesters I couldn't give a tup'penny's fvck about this idiot.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I'm not a fan of Varadkar but I think he's more trustworthy when it comes to fiscal oversight.

I'm sure Simon Harris is a nice guy, but I really wouldn't trust him to oversee an extension on my kitchen, let alone the biggest capital project in the history of the State.

Seriously, Leo is more trustworthy??
    Harris is in the cross hairs at the minute, but why should Varadkar escape unscathed? When exactly was it tendered?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Why not discuss instead of just making snide comments?

What's snide about stating a fact. SSM was not a FG policy, yet you claimed it was. I have no interest in discussing anything with anyone who is blatantly willing to lie in support of their party. Soz but I have standards.

When that politicians lies, bluffing and ineptitude effects your families lives ~ as his has done to many families I've no problem bringing problems to their door steps.

From the video I seen it was a few gobsh*tes silently staging some kind of protest outside his house, hardly a siege.

We're all going to have to pay for this pricks lies and poor decision making, well I'm sick and tired of paying for poor decision after poor decision, for lie after lie time and time again. And while I don't advocate house calls by protesters I couldn't give a tup'penny's fvck about this idiot.

It's intimadatory though and I feel the family home should be off limits. It's a slippery slope if this attitude is given credence.

FG are not "my" party. Thinking that a person who doesn't view an organisation as entirely malignant = automatically one of their biggest fans... is not very intelligent. Things aren't always just one way or the other.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,239 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Was anyone arrested in the end for it?

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Was a

nyone arrested in the end for it?

Dr. Richard Kimble 😉

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

He is really young for such a huge portfolio, I had thought that first time he was appointed Minister for Health, and now am convinced of it, but there was a contract as I understand and that should have been adhered to

FG are not "my" party. Thinking that a person who doesn't view an organisation as entirely malignant = automatically one of their biggest fans... is not very intelligent. Things aren't always just one way or the other.

You claimed that FG are responsible for the passing of the SSM referendum despite it was a Labour party policy during their shared tenure. I couldn't give a monkeys about the rest of your claim.. not "my" party . You have shown you are willing to lie to defend a Political party, in my opinion your comments are nothing but bullsh*t. It's cool though you claim not to be brainwashed but willing to lie. lol. :-)

JP Liz V1 wrote:
    Was anyone arrested in the end for it?

Nope, all 11 protesters went home and Simon went to the shop to get some milk .

"lol :-)" - that is like such great material.

• Site Banned Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Dakotabigone

Forget about making an apology now tomorrow Simon. Just resign.

When that politicians lies, bluffing and ineptitude affects your families lives ~ as his has done to many families I've no problem seeing protests brought to their door steps.

And that's where the tendering process failed. Harris is a long way down the line when it comes to poor decision making in this process.

Harsh on his family though? Even if his decisions affect families, it still doesn't make sense to have HIS family dragged into it.
    As for being 'trapped', sure he was at home. How was he trapped by anyone?
    Well I suppose it means he wouldn't have felt safe venturing out.

"lol :-)" - that is like such great material.

Still haven't been able to refute my claim you are a liar, lol. But hey you only started supporting FG in 2016 even though SSM was a policy agreement with Labour in 2011/16 government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

And that's where the tendering process failed. Harris is a long way down the line when it comes to poor decision making in this process.

He is responsible for holding key project stakeholders accountable. Any sign if the budget going over spend he should have been on it asking the serious questions instead of fobbing it off.

Not an easy job by any means but he simply doesn't have the teeth for such a huge role.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,299 ✭✭✭✭ted1

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/harney-sets-out-to-save-the-hse-from-itself-1.944464

Harney.

15 years on and the experiment gets worse and worse. Each minister hires new managers to fix it. Laughable. Will you ever take the blinkers off?

Nothing has changed. It has probably worsened since 2004.

M Martin just brought in a smoking ban. He did SFA otherwise. The HSE managers love weak ministers the most!

We now have a public who are afraid of their own health service.

It will never be fixed sadly. We cannot even learn the lessons if people forget so easily.

Don't get sick...

Martin :
    https://health.gov.ie/blog/press-release/micheal-martin-td-minister-for-health-and-children-announces-appointment-of-chair-and-board-of-the-interim-health-services-executive/

The deal was done before Harney got in

• Registered Users Posts: 40,851 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

listermint wrote: »
    Joan was at an official event so protests are fair there tbh.

This outside someone's home is not on, ever.

Trying to tie the two together is a tad disingenuous

Trapping her inside car was not fair

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

eagle eye wrote: »
    So standing outside their homes is a no go?
    If it's in any way violent or aggressive or if they enter his property then yes I agree it's not on.
    But if they simply protest outside his property then it's a bit different.
    I don't know much about the man but maybe it's impossible to get his attention by protesting anywhere else.
    Let's be clear here, I'm not backing these people just taking the other side, sorta...
    Does he have a constituency office, could that be located at his house?

His office is not in his home.

The view I take on it is that a protest outside a politicians home is disruptive to their family and neighbours.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

I think comparisons with Joan Burton being trapped in her car are a bit inappropriate. Way more confined space, and she couldnt even go for a slash when she needed to. I imagine it really was intimidating to have an angry crowd screaming abuse at you when you're in a space like that. The issue of Gardai lying in court doesn't really have an effect on whether it was intimidating.

This is all quite different to a dozen Facebook Mums & Dads holding a minor protest outside your front drive. I honestly think I'd just turn the TV up a bit, and leave them at it.

It wasn't 'nice' but let's not lose the run of ourselves.

We have a practicing witch as Minister for Children who wants to show children pornography as part of sexual education.

It's certainly not the daftest idea out there. Hell, Varadkers on the record as trying to set up bot accounts on Twitter to create purely positive FG posts.

We've a government thats gone rogue. Anything is possible at this stage.
    Jaysus people do spout awful sh>te here. Nobody is talking about showing children pronography.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I have to laugh at all those calling for Simon Harris and Fine Gael generally to resign.

First of all they are not evil incarnate nor are they corrupt - not even close and if you all knew as much as you claim about politics you’d know that. If you want to see a truly corrupt political system visit the States. Or Zimbabwe. Or North Korea.

Secondly who would be a better alternative in your eyes? The party who got us into the mess FG are gradually pulling us out of? The one who though a terrorist made a good leader?

Come on now - I know the Irish electorate are smarter than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,288 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I think comparisons with Joan Burton being trapped in her car are a bit inappropriate. Way more confined space, and she couldnt even go for a slash when she needed to. I imagine it really was intimidating to have an angry crowd screaming abuse at you when you're in a space like that. The issue of Gardai lying in court doesn't really have an effect on whether it was intimidating.

This is all quite different to a dozen Facebook Mums & Dads holding a minor protest outside your front drive. I honestly think I'd just turn the TV up a bit, and leave them at it.

It wasn't 'nice' but let's not lose the run of ourselves.

Bit of a slippery slope that reasoning really

lawred2 wrote: »
    Bit of a slippery slope that reasoning really

I dont agree with this protest at all but to an extent ATNM is right on this. The spin is that Harris was blockaded and trapped inside his house. He wasn't. Joan Burton was trapped inside her car with a baying angry/agressive crowd banging the car and screaming. These lads yesterday just stood there. I can see where ATNM is coming from on this. Harris wasnt fully trapped. It was a tiny group. He wasnt being screamed at agressively. So yes the comparison is a bit much. That being said I never think any politicians homes are fair game for protest.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 24,288 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I dont agree with this protest at all but to an extent ATNM is right on this. The spin is that Harris was blockaded and trapped inside his house. He wasn't. Joan Burton was trapped inside her car with a baying angry/agressive crowd banging the car and screaming. These lads yesterday just stood there. I can see where ATNM is coming from on this. Harris wasnt fully trapped. It was a tiny group. He wasnt being screamed at agressively. So yes the comparison is a bit much. That being said I never think any politicians homes are fair game for protest.

That's not really my point. I don't think that there is any acceptable level of protest on a politicians front door. Who is going to be the fair arbiter of acceptable levels of the protests?

It's amazing how quickly things can become normalized. The rapid plummet in the standards of public discourse in the US and UK attests to that.

This isn't a subjugated nation under a dictatorship. Like him or not, like FG or not, it's very hard to argue that these are politicians who aren't honestly trying to do their best.