Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fox hunting

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

You forgot to throw in badger baiting there as well.

Oh yeah, and dog fighting too.

You can't have a reasonable discussion on Boards.ie about fox hunting without mentioning badger baiting, bear baiting and dog fighting.

Fox hunting.
    Badger baiting.
    Bear Baiting.
    Dog fighting.

One of these things is still legal in Ireland.

All of these things are barbaric.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭mulbot

Really?

How do you hold the lamp while shooting the fox with the rifle?

Again, a scope lamp, it's a lamp that sits on the scope, as opposed to having to have someone else there. So it is just as I first wrote, 1 man(In my case,) a rifle, lamp and fox caller.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    I've done it.
    It's the reason I hate it. I know what happens.My (now thankfully ex) in-laws were big into the old fox hunting. Middle Aged Ascendancy wanna be's trying to disguise their blood lust with fancy costumes. Oh how thrilled they were when 'they' made a kill - oh the disappointment when the fox got away.
    Not a farmer among them - a lot of hoteliers tho who sold package holidays to Americans - so yeah - the fox vermin problem among Irish hotels must be a big issue rarely talked about - so bad we need to get the Yanks in to help. Yanks who - I kid you not - often asked what kind of gun they would be using - and had no idea how to ride a European trained horse... or any horse for that matter. It's barbaric. No different to bear baiting.Anyone whose idea of fun is setting a group of dogs after another animal is the lowest of the low.

Not doubting your in-laws etc - they sound delightful ;) but the hunting down here is nothing like that. Pretty much as it was done by locals for hundreds of years. Hunting especially on foot with hounds is mainly used to disperse foxes and remove the occasional problem one as asked by a landowner. I've seen plenty of hunts and even the odd kill. And in my experience hounds kill the same way foxes do quickly and efficiently. There's no gentry involved and yeah there may be the odd tourist who turns up but no they tend not to know feck all tbh. It's not really surprising really.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,546 ✭✭✭Hoboo

gozunda wrote: »
    So our history of hunting is rubbish is it? Cuculain etc tell of hunting with hounds before the English had got off their beds. Ancient Irish laws stipulated that landowners were obliged to hunt and control foxes and wovles. The Irish also hunted on horse back. But you do what the funny thing is? More hunting today is done on foot with hounds in rural areas than anywhere else. But then of course hunting and horses is the favourite poster campaign of the english nutter anti / sab community. And the same bs repeated. That's the same bunch who want to get meat banned as well and want everyone to eat beans or whatever.

Don't quote Irish legends names when you cant even spell them. Its a British tradition, continued by idiots. No comparison to ancient people hunting for food, or protecting livestock when the technology and ability to do so hadn't been invented yet.

They didn't feed fox cubs to dogs to give them a blood thirst, they didn't dig out foxes with terriers and gps collars, they didn't kill their hunting dogs when too old to keep up.

Fox hunters are utter scum in every way, animals are nothing but commodities to feed their perceived right to torture and mistreat. You've no argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

mulbot wrote: »
    Again, a scope lamp, it's a lamp that sits on the scope, as opposed to having to have someone else there. So it is just as I first wrote, 1 man(In my case,) a rifle, lamp and fox caller.

Again, so it's not just one man, a rifle, a lamp and a fox caller.

You need a rifle scope too, that makes more sense.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Fox hunting.
    Badger baiting.
    Bear Baiting.
    Dog fighting.

One of these things is still legal in Ireland.

All of these things are barbaric.

I know fox hunting is legal but is bear baiting illegal in Ireland?

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users Posts: 3,546 ✭✭✭Hoboo

gozunda wrote: »
    Not doubting your in-laws etc - they sound delightful ;) but the hunting down here is nothing like that. Pretty much as it was done by locals for hundreds of years. Hunting especially on foot with hounds is mainly used to disperse foxes and remove the occasional problem one as asked by a landowner. I've seen plenty of hunts and even the odd kill. And in my experience hounds kill the same way foxes do quickly and efficiently. There's no gentry involved and yeah there may be the odd tourist who turns up but no they tend not to know feck all tbh. It's not really surprising really.

Foxes roll over as a dog does to expose their belly, and be submissive. They get gutted alive by the dogs, literally disembowelled.

Foxes, being wild creatures and hunting for food (no comparison) kill by the neck.

You're posts stink of either denial or lies.

Again, so it's not just one man, a rifle, a lamp and a fox caller.

You need a rifle scope too, that makes more sense.

Yes a scope is needed for a rifle usually. Aplogies. My original post was to refute the argument that the hunt is needed to control foxes. That is utter nonsense, as I tried to put it that one man is more effective. No person who needs foxes controlled call on the hunt, they use someone with a rifle with experience in fox control.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Hoboo wrote: »
    Don't quote Irish legends names when you cant even spell them. Its a British tradition, continued by idiots. No comparison to ancient people hunting for food, or protecting livestock when the technology and ability to do so hadn't been invented yet.
    They didn't feed fox cubs to dogs to give them a blood thirst, they didn't dig out foxes with terriers and gps collars, they didn't kill their hunting dogs when too old to keep up.Fox hunters are utter scum in every way, animals are nothing but commodities to feed their perceived right to torture and mistreat. You've no argument.

Oh a spelling Nazi - that's great. The only English I see are the anti movement bs being repeated over here..The Irish have hunted with hounds for as long as there have been people here. I'd say you've been feeding on that bs from that little diatribe tbh. Btw yes I've seen a kill - and it's was quick a kill by the neck. And yes it torn up up afterwards. pretty? No. But no worse than foxes smashed up by people on roads.But you know what? It's rarely about a kill - its more often about dispersing foxes and making them wary of humans and livestock which shooting doesn't do. You clearly don't have a fracking clue. I guess 'Cú Chulainn' (Culann's Hound) was a vegan then ...

same as grey hounds, house them with either an elderly couple or childless couple.

I’ve had greyhounds as pets from before I had children. Never had a problem with them around children of any age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Come around my place after the milking and you can see Paddington and Rupert and Ruxpin duke it out against the CareBears...... death match style..... no submission, first piece of stuffing to hit the floor wins.

Being honest, I wouldn't call it remorseful,. My father's family are farmers, if during lambing season foxes were bothering them or milli g lambs, then its just something that needs to be done. I don't take pleasure in it if that's an easier way to put it.

So there you are with your rifle, scope, special scope light attached to the scope out on a dark cold night on your own trying to eradicate a lamb killer for people related to you who depend on lambs to make a living.

You sight a fox, take aim and miss. He/she runs away, and is consequently now a fox that is going to be wary of bright lights in future and harder for you to shoot.

How do you feel then or has that never happened to you?

I've done it.
    It's the reason I hate it. I know what happens.

My (now thankfully ex) in-laws were big into the old fox hunting. Middle Aged Ascendancy wanna be's trying to disguise their blood lust with fancy costumes. Oh how thrilled they were when 'they' made a kill - oh the disappointment when the fox got away.

Are you sure it was the fox hunting that ended your marriage or was it something else? Maybe you just werent suited or read different books? That can cause friction in a marriage. Did ye by any chance do a pre-marriage course?

Come around my place after the milking and you can see Paddington and Rupert and Ruxpin duke it out against the CareBears...... death match style..... no submission, first piece of stuffing to hit the floor wins.

Thank you, PM me the finer details and I'll be there.

So there you are with your rifle, scope, special scope light attached to the scope out on a dark cold night on your own trying to eradicate a lamb killer for people related to you who depend on lambs to make a living.

You sight a fox, take aim and miss. He/she runs away, and is consequently now a fox that is going to be wary of bright lights in future and harder for you to shoot.

How do you feel then or has that never happened to you?

Foxes are very clever, clever enough to know, if that happens to usually find an easier more natural meal.

Hoboo wrote: »
    Foxes roll over as a dog does to expose their belly, and be submissive. They get gutted alive by the dogs, literally disembowelled.

Foxes, being wild creatures and hunting for food (no comparison) kill by the neck.

You're posts stink of either denial or lies.

I have never seen a fox roll over for a dog!!!
    Sounds like a lot of BS to me.

Foxes are very clever, clever enough to know, if that happens to usually find an easier more natural meal.

I asked how do you feel after you missed the shot.

Yup.
    The Cruelty to Animals Act (known as the Pease Act) of 1835 - which also outlawed cockfighting and dog fighting.
    Hasn't been repealed

I asked how do you feel after you missed the shot.

I don't feel anything, why would I? I don't understand what you mean to be honest

Thank you, PM me the finer details and I'll be there.

You are too late ... its already started... come back next week, its the gummi bears against Barbar and his crew, I am allowing chains and brass knuckles

Are you sure it was the fox hunting that ended your marriage or was it something else? Maybe you just werent suited or read different books? That can cause friction in a marriage. Did ye by any chance do a pre-marriage course?

that explains it!!!!

Yup.
    The Cruelty to Animals Act (known as the Pease Act) of 1835 - which also outlawed cockfighting and dog fighting.
    Hasn't been repealed

Mine is 5 inches any takers? Short and thick does the trick!!

I don't feel anything, why would I? I don't understand what you mean to be honest

Do you take any pleasure when you kill the animal?

Do you take any please when you kill the animal?

Already answered that, no I don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

The Tetrarch
    People still concerned about chasing the fox, who usually escapes.
    Nobody is concerned about horses, who are eaten by the dogs.
    Discodog wrote: »
    Rubbish. Plenty are concerned about the welfare of horses. But horses aren't chased to death.

Using the word rubbish does not help the discussion. You have to say why it is rubbish.

The fox usually escapes.
    My guess is "plenty are concerned about the welfare of horses" evokes pictures of horses in fields without food or shelter abandoned by their owners, or cared for in a haphazard fashion.

You missed the point completely in your fashionable concern for one fox.

The hounds eat meat. Many horse foals, yearlings, two year olds who do not make the grade, and older horses past their best are killed. The hounds are fed horse meat.
    While you are wringing your hands with concern for one fox that is chased once every few weeks you are looking at the wrong end of the hunt, ignoring the horses that are killed continually to feed the hounds. Hounds feed every day.

Nature is red in tooth and claw. Death is part of nature.
    There is a balance. Too many of one species and they suffer from a shortage of food, and are a greater food source for their predators, and balance returns when the greater number is reduced by the increased number of predators.
    You see herds of antelope in Africa and a pride of lions of perhaps ten to twenty. You do not see herds of lions hundreds strong and about a dozen antelope. Balance.
    The same with birds, many small birds, a few hawks.
    Foxes kill other animals and are killed by others, all unseen.

The chase of one fox is insignificant in nature.
    I have seen a pickup truck chasing a herd of antelope in Africa until they suffered from exhaustion and were clubbed to death.
    You see a hunt with horse and hounds and are offended, but you are not offended by the death of hundreds of horses, because you do not see it or do not know enough about the subject.

You probably are a fan of "free range" eggs because the chickens can socialise and have a great life, which is perfect for foxes. They like their food "free range" and easily accessible.

The fox hunt is about the horses, running and jumping over open countryside. It has almost nothing to do with foxes.

As someone who has missed a few foxes and witnessed more being missed by others I can say without fear of contradiction the initial reaction is always one of disappointment sometimes manifested in a short verbal outburst that if I were to type it here would probably get me in trouble with a mod.

Speaking as someone who has been on target and witnessed others aim at a fox and be on target I can again say that 100% of the time the reaction to that has been very positive.

My point is people who go out to shoot foxes are in my experience very happy when they succeed.

You are obviously an exception.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,868 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I am sure they do! Foxes became domesticated and became dogs.
    Why were there 15 left in the morning then? Older foxes kill what they need a young fox kills for sport. Well the foxes got into the house on that night digging underneath the wire. that was remedied and my dog separated a vixen from her two cubs, so we are quits.

I am suggesting that third level Orts department have no connection with the real world.

Nope. Wolves became domesticated, not foxes. I have met hand reared foxes & they never lose the instinctive nervousness.

They would of returned for the remaining 15 & usually they bury the bodies to eat later.

You moan about the fox but are happy to let two cubs die of starvation. Your hens are lucky to have such a caring owner.

As someone who has missed a few foxes and witnessed more being missed by others I can say without fear of contradiction the initial reaction is always one of disappointment sometimes manifested in a short verbal outburst that if I were to type it here would probably get me in trouble with a mod.

Speaking as someone who has been on target and witnessed others aim at a fox and be on target I can again say that 100% of the time the reaction to that has been very positive.

My point is people who go out to shoot foxes are in my experience very happy when they succeed.

You are obviously an exception.

You're mixing up someone who shoots an animal for pleasure with someone who has shot foxes to control numbers or to stop them attacking lambs. The hunt kill foxes for pleasure, I disagree with their actions completely. If I miss, I miss. Do you think its fun to sit in the rain, wind, cold etc just to shoot a fox?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,868 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I know lads that hunt foxes with lurchers, they're rough men..lol, you've got to be a bit tapped to be cheering as your dogs chase down and kill a fox, i had to delete him off my facebook page cos of the crap he was putting up. Holding up dead foxes and videos of them digging down the holes , that the foxes had got back to ,then setting the dogs on them. then they just throw the dead foxes in a ditch. He'd killed 80 foxes one season a few years back. I spied on a fox a few weeks while out fishing, beautiful creatures. They've a tough enough life without a bunch of rich arseholes chasing them through fields with dogs.
    That being said , i dont have a problem with them being shot if there numbers get out of control on a farmers land. As for the OP parents cats, they do the most damage to native songbirds and wildlife. We've had wild rabbits out my back garden and cats killed them all and left them all at our back door. Ive seen the stalking our bird feeder early in the morning too. They're pets for lazy people. If id a gun , id shoot every cat that came into my garden.

Not according to the RSPB.

https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/advice/gardening-for-wildlife/animal-deterrents/cats-and-garden-birds/are-cats-causing-bird-declines/