Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think nurses will get their payrise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Don’t agree.
    The public change like the wind.

Public opinion doesn't means thing.

LUAS drivers had very little support.
    Striking during the Easter 2016 commemoration, and threatened to strike during the Leaving Cert.

They still got well paid.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,162 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Not in a million years.
    They won’t even attempt to go there.

It will be very unfair if they don't.

You
    alloywheel wrote: »
    The country is not importing teachers to replace disloyal teachers who go swanning around the world, but if it makes you feel better all students should have to repay part of their subsidised education costs if they flee the country after 3rd level and give other countries the benefit of their education, paid by the taxpayer here.

Hah, loyalty.

Graduates have been royally f*cked over by the previous generation. They have no reason to be loyal to this country, when it's so willing to sell out their futures.
    KaneToad wrote: »

It will be very unfair if they don't.

Unfair to who exactly?

Even if there was repercussions, it would be more than offset by any financial gains.

Again, with the LUAS example, they lost their bonuses and pay for strike days, but they would have more than made up for that loss through wage increases as a result of the strike.

What about all the other issues.....or is the strike just about money now?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,162 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Unfair to who exactly?

The ASTI, for one.

They were financially disadvantaged by not signing up to the pay agreement in the first instance. If the INMO, who did sign up, but who are now acting as if they didn't, are not financially disadvantaged it is very unfair towards the ASTI.

Different treatment for different sectors who are both outside the pay agreement.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

KaneToad wrote: »
    The ASTI, for one.

They were financially disadvantaged by not signing up to the pay agreement in the first instance. If the INMO, who did sign up, but who are now acting as if they didn't, are not financially disadvantaged it is very unfair towards the ASTI.

Different treatment for different sectors who are both outside the pay agreement.

That’s politics. Leo wouldn’t do anything that would annoy the votes they need. But who knows , if it turns sour for the nurses , he might. It’s basically optics ....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

The country is not importing teachers to replace disloyal teachers who go swanning around the world, but if it makes you feel better all students should have to repay part of their subsidised education costs if they flee the country after 3rd level and give other countries the benefit of their education, paid by the taxpayer here.

This exact strawman argument regularly shows up on these types of threads.

A simple question.

Have you or are you in the process of repaying your heavily subsidised primary, secondary and maybe even third level education (everyone's college education is subsidised by the state)?

Well if you live & work here (at nurse type packages) for years you do payback really.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Nurses are trained to work in the health sector and should put something back in to the country ,if they get a greatly subsidised education which they do. In Malaysia for example they have to work 7 years there after qualifying, I believe.
    Why should oil and resources rich countries like Middle Eastern ones and Oz get the benefit of our already trained nurses?

Because we don't pay them properly and pay/conditions are better abroad

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

Dyz3M-4W0AA2rLR.jpg

This is just sickening, laughing and smiling. While cardiac and cancer surgeries are being cancelled.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Dyz3M-4W0AA2rLR.jpg

This is just sickening, laughing and smiling while cardiac and cancer surgeries are being cancelled.

Im sure nurses, doctors and other health care workers laugh and smile when cardiac and cancer surgeries aren't cancelled also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭alloywheel

Many times over, I have paid a 7 figure sum in tax in my lifetime in Ireland.

Dyz3M-4W0AA2rLR.jpg

This is just sickening, laughing and smiling. While cardiac and cancer surgeries are being cancelled.

Well they can smile, they are some of the best paid nurses in the world, and holding the country to ransom by looking for even more, by delaying treatment even longer for cancer patients.

All power to them! They have my full support!

Dyz3M-4W0AA2rLR.jpg

Fair play to them, i think they should withdraw all cover

• Registered Users Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Let's get real.

Any pay-rise for the nurses will be spent in Copper Face Jacks.

As a country, we simply can't afford to piss away money like it's 2006.

The nurses need to cut down on the socialising and get back to work pronto.

This is getting ridiculous - someone could die.

Let's get real.

Lovely post full of generalisations there.

Many times over, I have paid a 7 figure sum in tax in my lifetime in Ireland.

You've paid over a million in tax?

Keep up the good work. The health service needs your money :)

Income tax, prsi, usc... VAT... all combined loads of folk would do so over 30/40 years.

The income tax people on €60k+ salaries pay is fairly high in monetary terms ....not even looking at %s.

Let's get real.

It was found for the TDs!!!!!!!

Theres 124 migrants in a hotel near me

Ginger83 wrote: »
    It was found for the TDs!!!!!!!

Theres 124 migrants in a hotel near me

And that is why the nurses (already among the worlds best paid nurses) should not get it. Because if they do, the ambulance and physios and teachers and cleaners and everyone else in the public service will say "it was found for the nurses" and they will break their pay agreements too.

The country was here in 2006, lets not make the same mistake again.
    The country is 200 billion in the red.

And that is why the nurses (already among the worlds best paid nurses) should not get it. Because if they do, the ambulance and physios and teachers and cleaners and everyone else in the public service will say "it was found for the nurses" and they will break their pay agreements too.

The country was here in 2006, lets not make the same mistake again.
    The country is 200 billion in the red.

but its ok for the tds.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Flyingsnowball

A swirling toilet.

The tds get it
    The nurses get it
    The bus drivers get it
    The train drivers get it
    The luas drivers get it
    The Garda get it
    They raise the taxes
    The rest pay for it

A fecal merry go round.

Leo will be the strong leader who stops this shameful problem we have.

And the Gardai. €80,000,000 pulled outta the FG arse pocket a few years back.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,388 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Which is a relative drop in the ocean compared to public service- we have 160 tds...there’s over 40k Nurses alone. Do the maths

Fann Linn wrote: »
    And the Gardai. €80,000,000 pulled outta the FG arse pocket a few years back.

Two wrongs do not make a right.

In other countries public sector pay and private sector pay are the same.

In Ireland the public sector gets much more on average.

A swirling toilet.

The tds get it
    The nurses get it
    The bus drivers get it
    The train drivers get it
    The luas drivers get it
    The Garda get it
    They raise the taxes
    The rest pay for it

A fecal merry go round.

Leo will be the strong leader who stops this shameful problem we have.

Funny how no one pays any attention to all the other staff the public service employ.

All the executive officers, accountants, auditors, revenue officers and the like who get paid very good wages as it's recognised they'll just pop into the private sector if they get a better offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Flyingsnowball

Funny how no one pays any attention to all the other staff the public service employ.

All the executive officers, accountants, auditors, revenue officers and the like who get paid very good wages as it's recognised they'll just pop into the private sector if they get a better offer.

Ye the people who count the money arnt important in your utopia.
    Just keep swirling the toilet until we go bankrupt

Ye the people who count the money arnt important in your utopia.
    Just keep swirling the toilet until we go bankrupt

Never said they weren't important. Just noticed they're never in the spotlight when people talk about pay.

There's 17 government departments, yet people only focus on the same 3 or 4.