Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rowan Croft the gran torino

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Auntie Semite

Grayson wrote: »
    By psychological they believe that rationality and ethics should be used when coming to a decision involving the lives of people?

No its the ingrained assumption that Left equals moral righteousness and Right equals inhumanity/immorality.

This of course is not true.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

No its the ingrained assumption that Left equals moral righteousness and Right equals inhumanity/immorality.

No ones saying that you absolute strawman hahahahahha

• Registered Users Posts: 40,214 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Doesnt every side assume that their position is morally superior?

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭dingledosser

The most dangerous idea prevalent on the Left is not ideological, but psychological.

It is the unquestioned assumption that to be Left makes one essentially good.

I always find it fascinating when far right people engage in a discussion, they almost immediately begin to attack the left. It's possible to dislike fascists, the alt-right and conspiracy theory nutjobs without being a 'leftie' you know.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,538 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Not necessarily. I try to keep an open mind and recognise that I've been wrong in the past. It's important to be able to change your mind. If you feel like such change will cost the moral high ground then you render yourself intellectually immobile.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 40,214 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Not necessarily. I try to keep an open mind and recognise that I've been wrong in the past. It's important to be able to change your mind. If you feel like such change will cost the moral high ground then you render yourself intellectually immobile.

I was referring to the more dogmatic ends of the political spectrum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Auntie Semite

Not at all, many (such as myself) on the so called 'right' clearly see the benefits of many of the ideals of Socialism.

I've always voted left but now with my opposition to mass immigration, I suddenly find myself categorised as 'Far Right'

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,538 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I was referring to the more dogmatic ends of the political spectrum.

Those are naturally to be avoided if you ever see the same axioms being repeated ad nauseam.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

Not at all, many (such as myself) on the so called 'right' clearly see the benefits of many of the ideals of Socialism.

I've always voted left but now with my opposition to mass immigration, I suddenly find myself categorised as 'Far Right'

The housing of refugees is not mass immigration.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,154 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

But to be fair, I would consider the ideas that make up the far right to be morally repugnant. They're racist, sexist, xenophobic idiots.

Note that I'm saying far right. Not right wing. I'll disagree with someone about how immigration policies should be managed but I can generally see their point. However when you see people who want to ban other races from the country that's just wrong, both morally and ethically.

But to be fair, I would consider the ideas that make up the far right to be morally repugnant. They're racist, sexist, xenophobic idiots.

Note that I'm saying far right. Not right wing. I'll disagree with someone about how immigration policies should be managed but I can generally see their point. However when you see people who want to ban other races from the country that's just wrong, both morally and ethically.

I don't disagree. However, it's important to give them a hearing.

In this particular example, we see people reregging constantly and dumping videos on thread while repeating the same axioms and soundbytes so we can conclude that their ideas have little, if anything of substance. It's also probable that they are not debating in good faith in which case they can be ignored or sidelined.

H. H. Asquith

I don't disagree. However, it's important to give them a hearing.

In this particular example, we see people reregging constantly and dumping videos on thread while repeating the same axioms and soundbytes so we can conclude that their ideas have little, if anything of substance. It's also probable that they are not debating in good faith in which case they can be ignored or sidelined.

That's the big thing. You can't make an ethical decision based on false information. Their conspiracy ideas are so factually wrong that any ethical conclusion that's made from them is going to be incorrect.

Why would you make an ethical conclusion based on claims which are so flimsy that they disintegrate upon the slightest scrutiny?

H. H. Asquith

Why would you make an ethical conclusion based on claims which are so flimsy that they disintegrate upon the slightest scrutiny?

I think for them they make a decision than find any evidence, no matter how flimsy, to back it up.

That's their perogative. You can't alter that. I never advocated blindly accepting what they say. I think it's important to have an open but skeptical mind.

H. H. Asquith

Just as an FYI apparently the left are doxxing Rowan in the hopes that a jihadi will kill him because he's former british army

https://twitter.com/realThePatriot/status/1105469545228259328

It kind of went over their head that he said it himself on youtube.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

Just as an FYI apparently the left are doxxing Rowan in the hopes that a jihadi will kill him because he's former british army

https://twitter.com/realThePatriot/status/1105469545228259328

It kind of went over their head that he said it himself on youtube.

Is there nothing they won’t blame on those pesky leftists?

How can someone who grew up in a country with socialised education be so singularly stupid?

H. H. Asquith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

It was lies and it was deliberate. They have been caught badly.
    Going on about dp and isis is irrelevant whataboutery.
    You've been harping on and on about "lies" and "being caught out".
    Do you not realise that most people don't see a huge difference between central govt. seeking to set up a DP centre for asylum seekers in a small town, and central govt. seeking to set up social housing for asylum seekers in a small town.
    One takes over the local tourist hotel, the other takes over housing.
    The hotel in Lismore is an up-market castle, so that was not available.

Grand Torino asked a valid question in the video about ISIS members in the Irish asylum system. Which went unanswered.

The last remaining IS fighters in Syria have been concentrated and herded into a few small enclaves, where they are (genuinely) becoming refugees.
    Syria does not want them, and no western country wants them either. These are the hardened IS fighters and their fundamentalist brides, and their small kids. The nucleus families for a whole new generation of future terrorists.
    The obvious country for them to go to now is Turkey. If they want to go further, then Pakistan or Bangladesh, where the Sharia laws should be more to their liking.

Any "normal" Syrian civilian now has the opportunity to go home and help rebuild the country. They have no need to leave Syria at all, and any that are already in Europe to "wait out" the war should be thinking about going home now.

One of those IS enclaves is in Idlib. We would be mad to take unvetted refugees from that area now that the war is virtually over. And yet...
    The letter, seen by RTÉ News, says that some IHAP beneficiaries from the last scheme have had problems exiting Syria to travel to Ireland - particularly from the province of Idlib
    https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2019/0207/1028116-refugees-reunification/

There are no “moderates” among these jihadists. Putin refers to them as "cornered rats".

But you ignore all this, and nitpick about why a DP centre is not the same as social housing. I think they are allowed to cook in one, but not in the other, is that the answer? Not that anyone really cares.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭TheRepentent

batgoat wrote: »
    Waugh is the guy she had on, he's a well known loon.
    Yeah he's buddies with that other clown , The Retard Against Flouride.

His research gets panned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

How can someone who grew up in a country with socialised education be so singularly stupid?

Because it's intentional, and a central part of the alt right fascist movement. This clown, Trump, hardline Brexiters, moaning about identity politics while cheerleading the fecking Identitarian movement... the list goes on.

Boom Bap already chimed in early in the thread to say he knows this guy and he is apparently not an idiot or nutter. In other words, this crap is no accident or misunderstanding. It's very much targeted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

What do the supporters of Mr Croft here think mass immigration is? Like %?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Billy86 wrote: »
    Boom Bap already chimed in early in the thread to say he knows this guy and he is apparently not an idiot or nutter.

Just to add to that, I do not subscribe to all his erm, thoughts, on things.

But yes, smart and dedicated and by no means a nutter. I can certainly see why people would say that given how deep and beyond he goes on certain topics. But it's his way of processing and doing things.

Also....you must also remember that Grand Torino is his pseudo name for online persona that you are seeing. He doesn't wake up in the morning yammering on about immigration over his corn flakes which I imagine the people who are calling for him to get a mental check up think.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I should also add that I don't believe I've ever had breakfast with him, I'll have to think harder, and do not know if Corn Flakes are his cereal of choice.

Billy86 wrote: »
    Because it's intentional, and a central part of the alt right fascist movement. This clown, Trump, hardline Brexiters, moaning about identity politics while cheerleading the fecking Identitarian movement... the list goes on.

Boom Bap already chimed in early in the thread to say he knows this guy and he is apparently not an idiot or nutter. In other words, this crap is no accident or misunderstanding. It's very much targeted.

Yeah, fair enough but there do seem to be some highly intelligent people who believe this crap. I've a fairly well read friend who recently tried to credit Trump with the metoo movement.

H. H. Asquith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

Who gives a flying fukc if he was in the British Army. He's now doing all that he can to help the cause of an Irish Nationalist and Patriot movement, which to be fully achieved would require leaving the EU and regaining control over the borders of the Ireland.

That is a worthy effort on behalf of the Irish nation, unlike the treasonous little snakes who would allow the Irish to become a minority in their own land while been dictated to by French and German politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Yawn...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

DS86DS wrote: »
    Who gives a flying fukc if he was in the British Army. He's now doing all that he can to help the cause of an Irish Nationalist and Patriot movement, which to be fully achieved would require leaving the EU and regaining control over the borders of the Ireland.

That is a worthy effort on behalf of the Irish nation, unlike the treasonous little snakes who would allow the Irish to become a minority in their own land while been dictated to by French and German politicians.

The Irish becoming a minority... You really would not have been out of place backing Hitler back in the day. Granted, you and Croft seem likely to believe in Rotschild conspiracies. Ireland does not need to implode its own economy by exiting the EU and we don't really need excitable racists either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

batgoat wrote: »
    The Irish becoming a minority... You really would not have been out of place backing Hitler back in the day. Granted, you and Croft seem likely to believe in Rotschild conspiracies. Ireland does not need to implode its own economy by exiting the EU and we don't really need excitable racists either.

Good old Godwin's Law, the favoured line of attack of every Leftist who can't stand that everybody doesn't share their own outlook.

Why not come out and just bloody say the men in the GPO were fascists for wanting an Ireland, free and Irish. Those cultural nationalists, evil Nazis etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

DS86DS wrote: »
    Good old Godwin's Law, the favoured line of attack of every Leftist who can't stand that everybody doesn't share their own outlook.

Why not come out and just bloody say the men in the GPO were fascists for wanting an Ireland, free and Irish. Those cultural nationalists, evil Nazis etc

It's incredibly relevant when you're praising a guy who has arguments that are effectively conspiracy theories about an evil world elite intent on executing the 'Kalergi plan' and QAnon nonsense as well. The Nazis also spread such conspiracies about the evil international elite.

Fyi, Godwin thinks the term is far less relevant to the present day. You didn't have Charlottesville marches back in 1990. I would classify Rowan as very much very so of the same type as those in Charlottesville. Expresses the exact same views. So let's call a spade, a spade.

https://twitter.com/sfmnemonic/status/896884949634232320