Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not without me horses boss. Free housing rejected

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Omackeral wrote: »
    Not saying it's right but what do you say to the fact that the vast, vast majority on here have had nothing but negative dealings with Travellers? Nearly everyone has a bad opinion of them or a bad experience when they've come across them. Why is that? Are they all wrong?

No, I wouldn't say they are necessarily wrong.

What I would say though, is that I would bet that even the most basic engagement with Travellers, on a human day to day level, is something that is most likely both unheard of or unthinkable to the majority on here.

All meetings tend to either be transactional or situational, an imposition in which it is the Traveller who generally has to make themselves seen or heard to initiate. Otherwise they will remain invisible, ignored and avoided.

There's rarely talk or mention of everyday situations, a talk of a sit down and chat, of people socialising, acknowledging or getting to truely know these folk on a human level. There always seems to be an implied standoffishness.

It skews the data somewhat in my opinion as there are so very few open interactions in which outright avoidance wasn't the preferred option from the off.

There is a very dehumanising element here, and I would wonder how long most people here would handle being complete invisible to the majority of people for most of their lives before generally feeling the need to make ones presence known.

It seems most everybody is all talk about wanting Travellers to change, but most nobody has an assuring word for them about what world would await them if they sought to make that change.

From that perspective it might seem like all that awaits is a world of ridicule and hatred.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Pkiernan wrote: »
    This banana republic of hours is screwed.

How dare the government take so much of my income and waste it on sacks of human garbage like these.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/families-wont-move-into-17m-homes-without-stables-and-land-37394115.html

Pkiernan wrote: »

How dare the government take so much of my income and waste it on sacks of human garbage like these.

Your tax is going towards methadone this week, and next week :

https://bit.ly/2IKoBF5

3,300 heroin addicts on HSE methadone for more than 10 years at a cost of €20M-a-year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭removed2

Just realised you can't thank a post that has a warning sorry OP 122 your staying at.

Eidt I had already thanked that post.
    +1 for OP

Honestly thought it was a joke listening to the headlines on the radio earlier. Tipp co council having to categorically deny they promised accommodation for horses to these people

Seriously. Just boot them off the housing list and ban them for life.
    mexican stand-off in midlands
    tipp cc will have to back down

• Registered Users Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

wexie wrote: »
    How? Based on what?

No idea, pretty sure thats what was said. Maybe I misheard it, will see again on the 9 o clock news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

No, I wouldn't say they are necessarily wrong.

What I would say though, is that I would bet that even the most basic engagement with Travellers, on a human day to day level, is something that is most likely both unheard of or unthinkable to the majority on here.

All meetings tend to either be transactional or situational, an imposition in which it is the Traveller who generally has to make themselves seen or heard to initiate. Otherwise they will remain invisible, ignored and avoided.

There's rarely talk or mention of everyday situations, a talk of a sit down and chat, of people socialising, acknowledging or getting to truely know these folk on a human level. There always seems to be an implied standoffishness.

It skews the data somewhat in my opinion as there are so very few open interactions in which outright avoidance wasn't the preferred option from the off.

There is a very dehumanising element here, and I would wonder how long most people here would handle being complete invisible to the majority of people for most of their lives before generally feeling the need to make ones presence known.

It seems most everybody is all talk about wanting Travellers to change, but most nobody has an assuring word for them about what world would await them if they sought to make that change.

From that perspective it might seem like all that awaits is a world of ridicule and hatred.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

How the fook does it cost 1.7 million to build 6 houses? Who's creaming the middle there lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

gctest50 wrote: »

That's a benefit to society as a whole. Housing layabouts is not. If these people get what they are demanding, there should be hell to pay for.

Media doesn't give a fcuk about the news, they care about their sales. They will print what sells and won't give a damn if it's the truth or not.
    P_1 wrote: »
    How the fook does it cost 1.7 million to build 6 houses? Who's creaming the middle there lads

It's Tipp ffs, it's madness to be paying 350K for a house for these wasters.

So you're saying since we have already wasted €20 million whats €1.7 million more.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

removed2 wrote: »
    mexican stand-off in midlands
    tipp cc will have to back down
    No they wont.
    Too many decent hardworking people on the housing list. In the 1950s donkey and cart was the common means of transport in rural Ireland. It was our "culture" but we have moved on.
    So must those scroungers unless they can pay for it themselves. Of course gob****es like Vincent Brown thinks otherwise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Vermin , I mean What about the Vermin these animals will bring. You can't have animals living in housing estates
    Mod note: Banned

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

That's a benefit to society as a whole. Housing layabouts is not. If these people get what they are demanding, there should be hell to pay for.

Media doesn't give a fcuk about the news, they care about their sales. They will print what sells and won't give a damn if it's the truth or not.

It's Tipp ffs, it's madness to be paying 350K for a house for these wasters.

350k to build a house anywhere is madness. Serious questions need to be asked there. Should cost 120k each to build max

Excellent trade off. 122 thanks and barely a wrap on the knuckles for calling an ethnic group "sacks of human garbage". Well worth it.
    reported for back seat modding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

So if you refuse a social house do you not go back down the list ?

In theory yes, in practice no.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,295 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Does the 350k include the land? If it does then a clever farmer got top dollar for his land and fair play to him, if it doesn’t then the council need to look at the procurement dept.

If the council do decide to say fcuk them and give the houses to someone else, I pity the people who would have to move in there, next door to disgruntled traveller neighbours...

..and 1.7M??!! FFS Someone is definitely on the take there!!
    1.7 million
    the wall at the front cost 80,000 grand
    heard that on the radio
    how is that value for money
    is it built out of italian marble
    this fiasco is bringing heat on the tipp coco

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

I'm off to Penny's tomorrow lads anyone want anything, Cause apparently its OK to take whatever you want if your a member of an ethnic minority that is constantly having its ar*e kissed and wiped at the same time. who are being indulged despite numerous reasons not too and who it would appear can make demands so far beyond what anyone else would get away with and still think its ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Their culture involves treating horses like shite. Complaints about money aside, it's ridiculous that they're allowed to keep horses. None of the travellers I know have stables. They just dump horses in any patch of grass they can find. There was a couple of horses in a derelict field right beside the post office here. I used to bring carrots to one of them because I felt sorry for her to see her dumped there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

ಥ_ಥ
    It's about as well thought out of a response as I've come to expect tbh.
    Well done.

removed2 wrote: »
    1.7 million
    the wall at the front cost 80,000 grand
    heard that on the radio
    how is that value for money
    is it built out of italian marble
    this fiasco is bringing heat on the tipp coco

Government contracts one thing.
    If the builder is providing quotes like that in a competitive economy his business will be knackered before long.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭oceanman

someone is definitely creaming the middle..big time!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

That's a benefit to society as a whole.

Please point out how spending 200 million on methadone is a benefit to society as a whole

https://bit.ly/2IKoBF5

3,300 heroin addicts on HSE methadone for more than 10 years at a cost of €20M-a-year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Excellent trade off. 122 thanks and barely a wrap on the knuckles for calling an ethnic group "sacks of human garbage". Well worth it.

Jeez, i nearly feel bad about his bump from 121...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

They had a "vox pop" on Newstalk earlier to get the reactions of locals. While all said the travellers should accept the houses as they are, it was surprising to me how many of the people interviewed were also in social housing or on the housing list.

One woman going on about how they are looking for a new house because thier current free house is beside the road and they don't like it.

What the fook is going on here.

It's about as well thought out of a response as I've come to expect tbh.
    Well done.

A picture is worth a thousand words as they say.
    Why don't you toddle along and engage with these fine folks?

Do come back and enthral us all with the tales of merriment pink bunny rabbits and rainbows you encounter.

5065994476_6aee63ec60.jpg

gemma o doherty is investigating

• Registered Users Posts: 15,903 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

So Tipp CC may back down because of the meeja? I sincerely hope not. It is high time the stupid one sided meeja got its arse handed to it on a plate.

The only people who would have a problem with Tipp CC telling them all to F off is the ethnic group themselves, and the protected liberal arts students (sorry journo hacks) who will never live in the real world.

Vive la Revolution!

Edgware wrote: »
    No they wont.
    Too many decent hardworking people on the housing list. In the 1950s donkey and cart was the common means of transport in rural Ireland. It was our "culture" but we have moved on.
    So must those scroungers unless they can pay for it themselves. Of course gob****es like Vincent Brown thinks otherwise.

the coco will have to back down
    its a scandal to have top of the range empty houses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Their culture involves treating horses like shite. Complaints about money aside, it's ridiculous that they're allowed to keep horses. None of the travellers I know have stables. They just dump horses in any patch of grass they can find. There was a couple of horses in a derelict field right beside the post office here. I used to bring carrots to one of them because I felt sorry for her to see her dumped there.

We have some down the road, horses (and goats and dogs) are constantly out on the road, in other people's gardens and fields just looking for something to eat.

SPCA won't even come anymore (and have taken no actions whatsoever :mad:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Are they registered horse owners and are the horses microchipped as per the law of the land which the councils are to inforce. The ordinary joe tax paying public is registered for love of their horses. One law for one group and not for the other.

There was an interview with one of them on the radio this evening and that was a question that was not asked.