Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One Plus 6T Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭og2k7

Phone arrived today around lunchtime so haven't played around with it too much yet.

Performance is fast, definitely the fastest and smoothest Android I've used. Trying out the gestures, bit glitchy but that's probably user error.

Screen size is great, the little tweaks over stock are the ones I missed most. Nylon case feels good in the hand, a bit slippery but the sides offer a little bit extra grip.

One of the lads at work had his delivered yesterday: as a long-time iPhone user gotta say that the fingerprint scanner in the screen is impressive. Funny that Apple could not get it sorted last year and OnePlus could.

The phone looks amazing from what I have seen so far and far far more advanced than iPhone (and I am well sucked into iOS)

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Morpork

Ranjo wrote: »
    I've googled and searched in settings but cannot find how to set the phone to silent or vibrate only.

I can only see "do not disturb" which turns off notifications completely. I've tried the option "No sound from notifications" in the Do Not Disturb settings, but it's not what I'm looking for, I still want the phone to ring & pop up anything on screen, just without sound and/or vibrate only.

Any pointers?

Use the slider above the power button to change between

Silent
    Vibration
    Ring

If you go to Settings > Buttons & Gestures > Alert Slider there are a couple of extra settings in there too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

How slippery is the 6T compared to the 5T?!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Pacifico wrote: »
    How slippery is the 6T compared to the 5T?!

Less slippy.

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭EletricMan

Anyone get insurance? If so with who?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

How are people finding the fingerprint sensor. Watching the reviews I thought it might be a little iffy but I've only had to rescan once so far.

After a couple of days the battery is great but I'm feeling it's a little short or my P20 Pro. Charging time is properly fast though.

Camera is a little meh. It's grand but nothing fantastic. Going to try out the Google camera apk.

The speed though is what makes this. Really snappy, iOS levels of smoothness.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

trying to get my hands on two, none in stock :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

shakencat wrote: »

None at all? I almost bought the Mrs a purple one earlier today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

All in stock on the OP site?

I presume the fingerprint scanner will work fine with PayPal, revoult etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,827 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Pacifico wrote: »
    All in stock on the OP site?

I presume the fingerprint scanner will work fine with PayPal, revoult etc?

Why wouldn't it?

The only app I found the fingerprint scanner interferes with is the AIB app. The quick balance button gets covered by it if you have login with fingerprint turned on.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,310 ✭✭✭xtal191

Huh?

https://www.oneplus.com/ie/oneplus-6t?from=carousel

I think you were looking at the oneplus 6, not 6T?

Morpork wrote: »
    I think you were looking at the oneplus 6, not 6T?

Speaking of which you can get the 128gb 8gb 6 delivered for just under €470 on Amazon Germany, its a much much better deal than the 6T imo

https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B07CK7KB95/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_3?smid=A3JWKAKR8XB7XF&th=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

xtal191 wrote: »
    Speaking of which you can get the 128gb 8gb 6 delivered for just under €470 on Amazon Germany, its a much much better deal than the 6T imo

https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B07CK7KB95/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_3?smid=A3JWKAKR8XB7XF&th=1

It's not a better deal of you want a 6T though.

Apologies! Don't know where or what I was looking on!!

Anyone know if the cases are the same shape as the one plus 3/3t?
    Also, are the cases for sale on the website as good as otter box?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭davo2001

Anyone know if the cases are the same shape as the one plus 3/3t?

They are not. Sure, it's a different phone with different dimensions.

I must admit the purple colour is great looking

Pity its covered by black covered:o:(

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭bigslick

Very tempted by this, but finding it hard to justify the upgrade from my current daily, HTC U11+. Bit more ram, more screen ratio and 845 versus 835. Not even sure if camera on 6T is better as no clear comparison.

Dam you sexy Oneplus 6T, you temptress!!!!!

bigslick wrote: »
    Very tempted by this, but finding it hard to justify the upgrade from my current daily, HTC U11+. Bit more ram, more screen ratio and 845 versus 835. Not even sure if camera on 6T is better as no clear comparison.

Dam you sexy Oneplus 6T, you temptress!!!!!

You're phone is still fine, I'd wait for the 7 if I was you or see what their new 5G phone will be like when its announced at the start of 2019, although rumour is that will have a bump in price of 100+

i bit the bullet and ordered a purple and a black one this evening for myself and himself..
    got the sandstone cover, and a clear one on amazon for my smexy purple one, lets hope its a good cover!!

i bit the bullet and ordered a purple and a black one this evening for myself and himself..
    got the sandstone cover, and a clear one on amazon for my smexy purple one, lets hope its a good cover!!

It actually looks fine in the case that comes with it, could cancel your amazon order if you're happy with the one included

didnt realise it came with a case:rolleyes:

They all do since the 5t I think it was.
    And it does look better in the case imo.

i have a one plus 3 so im way behind!!

i bought screen protector too so can't even cancel the order.

so it was a waste to get the sandstone one too? great!

i have a one plus 3 so im way behind!!

i bought screen protector too so can't even cancel the order.

so it was a waste to get the sandstone one too? great!

If you are coming from a 3, you are going to love your new phone!
    Enjoy!!

when people had there phones delivered (i paid for registered)

is the box a giveaway as to what it is?
    its a present for the other half, but he's the one home tomorrow and tomorrow is delivery day.

ive a feeilng he'l end up with his present earlier than expected?

what type of packaging did yours arrive in?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

when people had there phones delivered (i paid for registered)

is the box a giveaway as to what it is?
    its a present for the other half, but he's the one home tomorrow and tomorrow is delivery day.

ive a feeilng he'l end up with his present earlier than expected?

what type of packaging did yours arrive in?

Just a yellow DHL bag. You can make the box out inside and know it's a phone. The case was in the same bag wrapped in bubble wrap.

They arrrrrived!