Christmas bonus for welfare recipients not only restored but increased

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    It hasn't been though.

Once again for the cheap seats "work ethic, pride, self respect".

And that was the last time.

Graces7 wrote: »
    so go on. Try it. I give you a month to run screaming..

Delusional post, thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,378 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Considering that so many here claim the dole is so great I'm surprised you're not down at your local welfare office signing on.
    Maybe the poster is capable of working and has some sense of self worth so "chooses" to work, rather than relying on the state for support?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Signpost wrote:
    Must get away from being self employed for 6 months and then I too can live the dream!

Well the good news is one of today's budget measures is access to the dole for the self employed. You can live the dream now aswell.

The real goodies come from the ancilliary benefits - so no, they're still f*ked.

Once again for the cheap seats "work ethic, pride, self respect".

Nah bs.

gmisk wrote:
    Maybe the poster is capable of working and has some sense of self worth so "chooses" to work, rather than relying on the state for support?

So why ask how he can the party?

The real goodies come from the ancilliary benefits - so no, they're still f*ked.

More bs from you, does your dad get those benefits?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 330 ✭✭All Seeing Eye

More bs from you, does your dad get those benefits?

You might get job seekers benefit but means testing for everything else. As I said before the real reward is for those who do **** all with their lives. Take on no debts, save no money, have no assets, no qualifications and have a few kids and you’ll get it all.

Over 700,000 pensioners. They cost alot more per annum than the 92,000 long termers.

They are not going to go and get jobs now are they. I would hope most have worked and contributed. What would sicken me is when some of these wasters become pensioners never having contributed anything worth while to the budget or at least not being a cost to the state during their working years. Able bodied people under 66 have no place on SW when there is loads of work around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,983 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You can sell your house, go outside the EU and set up an account somewhere and put the proceeds from the sale of the house in it. Then come back and lie and say you drank, took drugs and gambled away all the money and off you go on the handy money, free medical care and drugs, fuel allowance. Then decide to become a Traveller and get a free house but don't move in until they build a stables.

eagle eye wrote: »
    You can sell your house, go outside the EU and set up an account somewhere and put the proceeds from the sale of the house in it. Then come back and lie and say you drank, took drugs and gambled away all the money and off you go on the handy money, free medical care and drugs, fuel allowance. Then decide to become a Traveller and get a free house but don't move in until they build a stables.

That could be trickier than you think.

They are not going to go and get jobs now are they. I would hope most have worked and contributed. What would sicken me is when some of these wasters become pensioners never having contributed anything worth while to the budget or at least not being a cost to the state during their working years.

ASE - Poster you replied to there is on ignore for me but through the magic of quoting:

No, my dad gets a state pension. For which he worked from age 15 for. It's about 12k a year. Or about a fifth of what the Cash family receive.

Even then it doesn't always cover everything in his nursing home and I top him up from my salary.

If he was some wastrel who did nothing ever just banged out multiple kids, he'd get a damn sight more money and sadly for the likes of some posters - their respect and a vigorous defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,983 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

That could be trickier than you think.
    Which bit, deciding to become a Traveller?

eagle eye wrote: »

That’s tricky too they don’t accept outsiders and your not part of a clan. To qualify as a traveller with the council I think you have to live in your own s***e at the side of the road or in a field for a certain amount of time.
    Banned

They are not going to go and get jobs now are they. I would hope most have worked and contributed. What would sicken me is when some of these wasters become pensioners never having contributed anything worth while to the budget or at least not being a cost to the state during their working years. Able bodied people under 66 have no place on SW when there is loads of work around.

Still far more pensioners than long termers and pensioners get more benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Considering that so many here claim the dole is so great I'm surprised you're not down at your local welfare office signing on.

Considering that you think its so bad I'm surprised more people aren't trying to get off it as soon as possible.

Its almost like its actually a pretty comfortable way to live for many people...or at least more comfortable than those silly eejits who go out and work just to bring home minimum wage and their self respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

pjohnson wrote: »
    Some people have to buy presents for friends and family (obviously not you). So increased costs compared to a normal month. Hence a bonus.

So get a job and you won’t be relying on the SW to pay for them

eagle eye wrote:

Pretty much all of it.

Still far more pensioners than long termers and pensioners get more benefits.

They don’t get a free house unless they already have one. They are not knocking out kids either. Most have paid PRSI and pension contributions except your long term lifestyle SW mates. At the end of the day SW is to help genuine cases not freeloaders, “single mothers” and assorted wasters.

If he was some wastrel who did nothing ever just banged out multiple kids, he'd get a damn sight more money and sadly for the likes of some posters - their respect and a vigorous defence.

Only have your word he was not a waster.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

What were the boys laughing at!?

Only have your word he was not a waster. Have seen alot of your posts, can't say I find you credible tbh.

Classic trying to make out the poster is some sort of crank rather coming back with a valid point. You must be on lunch break from your monotonous long term job coming back to every post you don’t like rapid fire style. Pap pap pap it’s the Hitman!

99nsr125 wrote: »
    How do you define need ?

Smartphone is an essential part of life now

When was the last time you heard of someone giving out CV's

To apply for the majority of jobs now you therefore need a smartphone / tablet / laptop / computer

We all have a need for shelter, sustenance and clothing, hence public or subsidised housing and social spending, otherwise you're murdering those less fortunate than you and someday that will be you because everyone gets sick, tired or old

But we need education also to get a job, in a changing society it must be continuing education, opportunities to retrain

Fundamentally you will find if work pays, almost everyone works.

Some people can't or never will again because of illness, physical or mental or as the case is now all the jobs are in Dublin and they live in Donegal or Dunmore east with children in school or any of the other numerous limiting factors

The society we all want to live in has opportunity for all until then our humanity shows generosity because tomorrow you could be told you have terminal cancer and lose everything in the blink of an eye

What a load of twaddle.

They don’t get a free house unless they already have one. They are not knocking out kids either. Most have paid PRSI and pension contributions except your long term lifestyle SW mates. At the end of the day SW is to help genuine cases not freeloaders, “single mothers†and assorted wasters.

Noone gets a free house. Ah my SW mates. Sorry bud not rising to your baiting attempt. Mad that a thread has gone so long because of a few whingers moaning at people getting a few extra euro at Christmas. Your life must be very full. ;-)

Classic trying to make out the poster is some sort of crank rather coming back with a valid point. You must be on lunch break from your monotonous long term job coming back to every post you don’t like rapid fire style. Pap pap pap it’s the Hitman!

I don't have to make her out to be a crank. I've seen her posts on numerous threads, she manages to protray herself as one.

Noone gets a free house. Ah my SW mates. Sorry bud not rising to your baiting attempt. Mad that a thread has gone so long because of a few whingers moaning at people getting a few extra euro at Christmas. Your life must be very full. ;-)

Yeah busy working and paying tax to cover the extra SW and Christmas bonus.

It’s free to the SW wasters if they are long term unemployed. Their free dole pays it, not them. No idea why rent for a SW house isn’t taken at source rather then giving the wastrels the cash, then watching them not pay and run up arrears of €73m

Yeah busy working and paying tax to cover the extra SW and Christmas bonus.

Obviously not that busy.