Christmas bonus for welfare recipients not only restored but increased

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I can't even make out what ye are arguing about at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

The earlier point stands so. All council estates look like Armageddon! Took me a day to get you to concede but I got there even against a consummate liar. On to the next point!

I conceded nothing, I mentioned two council estates in my home town which received awards for tidiness in response to a claim by another poster. Your replies have been nothing but abject lies and bs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 330 ✭✭All Seeing Eye

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    I conceded nothing, I mentioned two council estates in my home town which received awards for tidiness in response to a claim by another poster. Your replies have been nothing but abject lies and bs.

And I was in one of them and it was rough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Anyone know with any certainty are we the only country to reward the unemployed for being unemployed at Christmas? 
    Genuine question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Anyone know with any certainty are we the only country to reward the unemployed for being unemployed at Christmas? 

Genuine question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭piplip87

I have an issue with this. Anybody on Job seekers for more than 12 months who has not availed of the opportunities available to them.tonseek employment or up skill should not be rewarded.

Disability, blind, carers, BTEA or any simaler payments should be given a triple payment before Christmas..

This is not a dole bashing post I have availed of it myself during the recession but the amount of opportunities available to retrain and up skill free of charge is one thing successive governments in this country have done right. If you are unemployed and able to work and not taking these opportunities with both hands then something needs to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,263 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

piplip87 wrote: »
    I have an issue with this. Anybody on Job seekers for more than 12 months who has not availed of the opportunities available to them.tonseek employment or up skill should not be rewarded.

Disability, blind, carers, BTEA or any simaler payments should be given a triple payment before Christmas..

This is not a dole bashing post I have availed of it myself during the recession but the amount of opportunities available to retrain and up skill free of charge is one thing successive governments in this country have done right. If you are unemployed and able to work and not taking these opportunities with both hands then something needs to be done.

Honestly... Half of me gets what you are saying. But the other half just screams who gives a bollocks?
    If some wa*ker wants to live his or her life on the dole then so be it. People are still going to get taxed a hilt even if there wasn't social welfare tomorrow.

Call me self-centered. Call me a pri*k even... but I do not care about other people. I don't care if someone is getting double free money for Christmas. I am too concerned with my own upcoming Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Honestly... Half of me gets what you are saying. But the other half just screams who gives a bollocks?
    If some wa*ker wants to live his or her life on the dole then so be it. People are still going to get taxed a hilt even if there wasn't social welfare tomorrow.

Call me self-centered. Call me a pri*k even... but I do not care about other people. I don't care if someone is getting double free money for Christmas. I am too concerned with my own upcoming Christmas.

well said! and true, so true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I dont want ro alarm anyone too much but rumour has it the weekly rate is set to increase by €5 in the budget today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭liamoreilly

...It's a Christmas bonus FFS...Thankfully I've worked ever year around this time bar one, and the one year I was unable to work I was absolutely delighted that I had an extra bit of money to buy some presents, have a good night out with my family and friends and not have to hide 10 euro in my sock for my taxi home...I have seen people when it comes to Xmas worry and stress so so much because of money to buy others presents or have some nice decorations so other people don't know they are struggling...I honestly feel the whole system needs to be reviewed because alot of people abuse the system, but giving 53 weeks welfare instead of 52 per year is not gonna break the country, and if it is then we've bigger fecking problems to worry about...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,808 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    I dont want ro alarm anyone too much but rumour has it the weekly rate is set to increase by €5 in the budget today.

AH will be in great form :D

...It's a Christmas bonus FFS...Thankfully I've worked ever year around this time bar one, and the one year I was unable to work I was absolutely delighted that I had an extra bit of money to buy some presents, have a good night out with my family and friends and not have to hide 10 euro in my sock for my taxi home...I have seen people when it comes to Xmas worry and stress so so much because of money to buy others presents or have some nice decorations so other people don't know they are struggling...I honestly feel the whole system needs to be reviewed because alot of people abuse the system, but giving 53 weeks welfare instead of 52 per year is not gonna break the country, and if it is then we've bigger fecking problems to worry about...

Great post; thank you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Don’t wanna worry about the cost of Xmas?? Get a f’king job!!

Some people have to buy presents for friends and family (obviously not you). So increased costs compared to a normal month. Hence a bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

It's not always that easy, and then there are those who cannot work.

I was in two minds about the extra payment but really, I don't care. There are those who abuse the system, don't want to work or are working for cash etc., but then there are those who are genuinely down on their luck, I don't begrudge them this extra payment. I'd be devastated if I couldn't provide a few presents for my little fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,190 ✭✭✭Greyfox

If some wa*ker wants to live his or her life on the dole then so be it.... but I do not care about other people

Well thank god we live in a world where most people care about other people especially hard working people who are suffing because a minority abuse the system, it's the principle of wasting money and not the amount. Nobody should be able to prefer to be on the dole, the option of dole for life should not be there unless you have a disability

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Great post, thank you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

People are still going to get taxed a hilt even if there wasn't social welfare tomorrow.

Given that welfare and pensions make up the vast majority of government spend I’m not sure your statement stands up to scrutiny.
    pjohnson wrote: »
    Some people have to buy presents for friends and family (obviously not you). So increased costs compared to a normal month. Hence a bonus.

We all have increased costs at this time of year. Many people have to put in extra hours at work. or make sacrifices to other parts of their family budget so it’s a bit sickening to see extra money handed out for nothing to people who never contribute.

I’m not saying it’s right or wrong. Just is what it is. You can’t keep taxing one section of society into oblivion while freely giving that money away to another section and not expect some ill feelings about it.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

You have to love all of the people defending job dodgers in here (judging by the first page alone).

When it’s your blood, sweat and tears going into your work, taken out of your pay and put into the accounts of people who have no interest in joining the workforce or contributing to society, people like the OP aren’t going to take it very lightly, nor should they.

But shure isn’t it little old Ireland, we might as well stay quiet and get on with it. Don’t stand up for ourselves at all.

Fine Gael won’t be getting any votes from me next election that’s for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,496 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

pjohnson wrote: »
    When I get a bonus it's for performance against targets.

I have a contractual 12% bonus which is awarded pro rata against personal targets (eg performance numbers), my organisation targets (eg reduction in loss numbers) and company targets (profits, share price etc).

What does someone do on the dole to warrant a ~2% bonus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I've zero problem with a generous welfare system. But for those that need it. Those that are not in a position to change circumstances. But when you have a system in place that offers zero incentive to get those that can change circumstances off it. That's where my problem lies. And that of many i reckon. I doubt there are many people in Ireland that are labelled begrudgers in relation to social welfare comments, that have an issue with somebody who genuinely needs help getting it. It's those that have no intentions of ever trying to get off it and will blame everybody else around them.

ELM327 wrote: »
    When I get a bonus it's for performance against targets.

I have a contractual 12% bonus which is awarded pro rata against personal targets (eg performance numbers), my organisation targets (eg reduction in loss numbers) and company targets (profits, share price etc).

What does someone do on the dole to warrant a ~2% bonus?

Apples and oranges?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Graces7 wrote: »
    Apples and oranges?

Yes quite right - they could pack those for work.

Now you're helping finally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭caitb1

The poor people on illness benefit get no bonas

On your last point there, something I find concerning is just how similar the main parties seem to be these days. I know there hasn't been a massive difference between Fianna Fail and Fine Gael for years, but I wouldn't have expected Fine Gael to be increasing welfare spending at the rate they currently are. I'm pro-welfare (with the caveat that I think those on it for extended periods of time should come under more scrutiny than they currently do) but I worry about the long term consequences of having a political system that increasingly seems the same no matter who's in power. It's going to leave increasing numbers of people feeling like they don't have a voice, and I don't think that's a good thing even if I disagree with that voice in the majority of cases.

Then vote for Irexit party.

Honestly if the whingers on boards set up an anti-welfare, anti-immigration, anti-church party they can just all vote for it and see this revolution at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭Cina

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    It's not always that easy, and then there are those who cannot work.

I was in two minds about the extra payment but really, I don't care. There are those who abuse the system, don't want to work or are working for cash etc., but then there are those who are genuinely down on their luck, I don't begrudge them this extra payment. I'd be devastated if I couldn't provide a few presents for my little fella.

The problem is that a lot of the ones down on their luck are probably the ones on jobseekers less than 12 months and therefore they won't get it. Most on the dole longer than 12 months are long-term unemployed with no real inclination of bothering to get a job.

Seriously, what does it say about our welfare that you are actually rewarded for being on the dole longer here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,688 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I think after fg made a balls up of their last election slogan “a recovery for all” they are now so paranoid , they think of everyone doesn’t benefit every budget, they will be attacked from all Angles. As if fg would ever get the welfare class vote. Spineless bastards, at least I have renua to vote for, fg aren’t getting my vote, housing situation out of control, bleeding people dry and then they literally are throwing a few cent a week back to workers!

Spending v tax cuts was meant to be 2-1 as agreed with ff , it’s now less than ten to one!

Jsa and jsb bring hiked, in the face of minuscule to the point of nearly irrelevant usc cuts , is a disgrace! And ff didn’t insist on it low and behold, looks like this is fg doing!

Idbatterim wrote: »
    I think after fg made a balls up of their last election slogan “a recovery for all” they are now so paranoid , they think of everyone doesn’t benefit every budget, they will be attacked from all Angles. As if fg would ever get the welfare class vote. Spineless bastards, at least I have renua to vote for, fg aren’t getting my vote, housing situation out of control, bleeding people dry and then they literally are throwing a few cent a week back to workers!

Spending v tax cuts was meant to be 2-1 as agreed with ff , it’s now less than ten to one!

Jsa and jsb bring hiked, in the face of minuscule to the point of nearly irrelevant usc cuts , is a disgrace! And ff didn’t insist on it low and behold, looks like this is fg doing!
    Perfect then seems Renua is just what you guys need. Don't even need to start a new party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

I genuinely didn't even realise they were still a party

I think they still have one councillor, could be wrong.