Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lahvlann: Up the reek without a coddle - 26/07 two 18 so to speak

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I dipped in and out of the show today, and despite the subject matter (which some thought inappropriate and I can see why), thought it was great to hear a difficult subject being discussed in a mature, rational manner without any of Joe's faux pas / rabble-rousing / prejudices / hysteria. That IMO is what Liveline should be for.

I thought the two women who were victims of child abuse themselves made for powerful voices, saying "why not ask us? listen to us" (and mercifully not being prodded for the gory details / reduced to tears).

PBH was the perfect host on the day.

I can just imagine him goo-gulling "Puns for Paedophilia"; AND coming out with stuff like:

And you say de Gardai make a cock-up of the investigation? Wat's dat Aengus? I can't say wat? Back after deeze....

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭goulders

I assume it's so that foreign media would know who he was. And we kind of do have a pm: from the constitution - "The head of the Government, or Prime Minister, shall be called, and is in this Constitution referred to as, the Taoiseach. ... The Tiste shall act for all purposes in the place of the Taoiseach if the Taoiseach should die, or become permanently incapacitated, until a new Taoiseach shall have been appointed. The Tiste shall also act for or in the place of the Taoiseach during the temporary absence of the Taoiseach."

Back to politics ???? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Was anyone listening to Drivetime this evening? They were playing old clips about broadband promises during the years. There was one of Philip in the early noughties where his voice sounded completely different than it is now. They must be putting him through a synthesizer these to make his voice sound deeper

sligojoek wrote: »
    Was anyone listening to Drivetime this evening? They were playing old clips about broadband promises during the years. There was one of Philip in the early noughties where his voice sounded completely different than it is now. They must be putting him through a synthesizer these to make his voice sound deeper more boring

FYP.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,944 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

FYP.
    After hearing (some/most) of today's show, I'm actually inclined to give him the benefit of the doubt.

I think he's just bored stupid and/or mortified with the usual Lahvline fare that he winds up with, but when he got a subject that was a step above singing priests / Mary's cat in Clontaaaarf / tales of Aunt Agatha's cancer, he proved himself willing and more than able.

After hearing (some/most) of today's show, I'm actually inclined to give him the benefit of the doubt.

I think he's just bored stupid and/or mortified with the usual Lahvline fare that he winds up with, but when he got a subject that was a step above singing priests / Mary's cat in Clontaaaarf / tales of Aunt Agatha's cancer, he proved himself willing and more than able.

I didn't hear the show but from reading the posts I'm glad I didn't. I won't be listening back to hear excuses about paedophilia and "top tips for goo-gulling kiddie porn" thank you very much......
    It was very interesting. Like I say, the two women made for very powerful listening, lots of food for thought.

What Liveline should be for.

Now, I'll admit that I'm far from the most photogenic person to ever stand in front of a camera - but jaysus, the face on that :eek: :eek:

They're using a clip from yesterday's interview in the ads for the show now.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,012 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Mod note (again!)

Enough of the politics, as I'd said previously in this thread take it to Politics or PM.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,146 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

I don't think people listen in for subjects like yesterdays. I listen in for stories of dodgy companies/ Mary's cat stuck up a tree etc. If PBH was to take over, I would be switching off for good. I find him very very boring and patronising.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,803 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Monday's show was dia-bol-i-cal
    Jaysis

Now, I'll admit that I'm far from the most photogenic person to ever stand in front of a camera - but jaysus, the face on that :eek: :eek:

You think he’d smile or at least not look like he’d rather be anywhere else but there?

He probably only realised when he got to the top that it wasn’t a public appearance with a fee attached and now he had to endure the great unwashed without a foyve figure cheque-een at the end of it and not even a place set aside to sell de bikes either.

Fateen back as promised and announced for wance.

Kiddie porn again twoday, likely to be handled (no pun intended) very badly by Fateen.

American Tourist buying land dat doesn’t exist so to speak.

Stewdent Accomodation (yearly topic).

Camp voyis back in action too.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

they managed to get him down the mountain

• Registered Users Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

If 'not a happy camper' had a facial expression.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

How did the driver get the car up there ;)

You think he’d smile or at least not look like he’d rather be anywhere else but there?

He probably only realised when he got to the top that it wasn’t a public appearance with a fee attached and now he had to endure the great unwashed without a foyve figure cheque-een at the end of it and not even a place set aside to sell de bikes either.

Are we sure we won’t be treated to a tv documentary on the subject of up that reek without the coddle so to speak, wit all de fees involved?

they managed to get him down the mountain

https://www.knockrannyhousehotel.ie/about-the-hotel/helipad

A health warning
    giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 20,146 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

best advise is no one at all to listen IMO

• Registered Users Posts: 38,946 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I can almost hear him salivating...
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

DURTY PROGRAMME warning!

Jaaaaaysus not again

• Registered Users Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Ah not again

A ray darcy type monologue

I thought the elephant in the room was RTÉ fees?

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

this shouldnt be on the radio during school holidays

Health warning. I hate that phrase. Drives me mad on election count days