Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Police release bodycam video capturing woman's violent beach arrest

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

I would have slaughtered the cop even if this resulted in my own demise.

She hit him first :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

She hit him first :confused:

Yeah, she hit his fist with the side of her head! A few times!!

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    Yeah, she hit his fist with the side of her head! A few times!!

The Rotterdam video.

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    This is yet another example of why law enforcement officers should all be wearing body cams. In this situation, the body cam video, coupled with bystander phone video will do a great job when that thug and his police force are sued until they bleed!!

The wearing of body cams by the police, is actually helping them an awful lot. So much so that certain people in society who were calling for them are now saying, it's an invasion of privacy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

The wearing of body cams by the police, is actually helping them an awful lot. So much so that certain people in society who were calling for them are now saying, it's an invasion of privacy.

Absolutely. It's only 'bad cops' that have anything to fear from them. As to the privacy 'issue', to those ppl, tough!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Having alcoholic drinks visible on the beach is an offence under New Jersey law you dont need to be drinking it. He told her she was getting a ticket for that. She refused to give her surname and called him a rent a cop. She tried to just walk away from him and when that didn't work she assaulted him first.
    When she was down she started screaming he was choking her which doesn't appear to be true and calling her friend to help. She starts flailing arms and legs (not sure if she successfully kicked him) and then he punches her.
    She racially abuses him ( white trash) and spits in a cops face.....

Yeah, I have zero sympathy. Wasn't hit hard enough.

Usually I have no problem with people striking, it can be hard to restrain someone. But when you're on someone's back who weighs far less than you there is no excuse for hammer fists to the back of their head.

The cop was on a little power trip, got caught out when she blew zero and kept pushing. Asked the other cop if they had cuffs. "You're about to get dropped" FFS.

Usual people defending it of course, would expect no less.

Ronin247 wrote: »
    Having alcoholic drinks visible on the beach is an offence under New Jersey law you dont need to be drinking it. He told her she was getting a ticket for that. She refused to give her surname and called him a rent a cop. She tried to just walk away from him and when that didn't work she assaulted him first.
    When she was down she started screaming he was choking her which doesn't appear to be true and calling her friend to help. She starts flailing arms and legs (not sure if she successfully kicked him) and then he punches her.

I bet you start great "conversations" in bars.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

I bet you start great "conversations" in bars.

So at what point do you think she crossed the line???

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

So at what point do you think she crossed the line???

Oh teh line omg

She didn't - he started to rise her ( you're about to get dropped etc ) - she took the bait

I hope he gets jailed

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Mrtestosterone

gctest50 wrote: »
    Oh teh line omg

She didn't - he started to rise her ( you're about to get dropped etc ) - she took the bait

I hope he gets jailed

He gets jailed? Don't be ridiculous. As a cop in the USA you can literally get away killing people. In most cases the cop is found innocent. Even the cases where they knocked on the door and the father opened the door, they immediately blasted him with no questions. Cam footage available as well. Same thing with the man crawling on the ground. All of them didn't even get a slap on the wrist. If you enjoy slaughtering people then join the USA freedom police force as you will definitely get the opportunity to kill. I have watched officer401 videos on YouTube and he himself admits that he could shoot unprovoked if he suspects that they may have an opportunity to cause harm.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Doesn't go so well when they pick on a man :

NSFW - someone getting battered

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mp320Si9a14

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

No sympathy for anyone who resists or think it's smarter to run from the police rather than just comply to simple questions like your name.
    Thankfully these people usually end up on YouTube and the people who answer the question continue to enjoy their day.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Mrtestosterone

Snotty wrote: »
    No sympathy for anyone who resists or think it's smarter to run from the police rather than just comply to simple questions like your name.
    Thankfully these people usually end up on YouTube and the people who answer the question continue to enjoy their day.

Yeah just like that father who complied with instructions and got immediately blasted when he opened the door. Oh what about the guy who was following instructions and crawled towards the cops, oh yes, he was executed too. Should have followed instructions. Would be absolutely beautiful if you would receive same fate.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,214 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Several years of Brazilian jiu-jitsu experience, boxed and practiced karate as a kid, I've been punched a few times. I as a very average BJJ player could restrain most people without hurting them or me. A cop who part of their job is to restrain people (for various reasons) should be able to do the same.

It's incredibly easy to restrain a resisting, untrained person.

Don't have time to play D&D unfortunately, too busy trying not to get malaria at the moment.

You'd best get back to trying to defend sociopaths who assault and batter petite women because they tell them to **** off.

Ah, so your one of those people so. You do a but of Martial Arts in the gym, a safe secure environment where there are rules and you think you can do what you do there, in the real world?

Again, you just admit to me that you have no experience of doing anything like this in the real world, when the person you are trying to restrain is kicking and screaming, while you are trying to handcuff someone as well as restraining them.

Also, that woman kicked, punched and spat at the officers, which is assault.

The problem today is that every video like this emerges is scrutinised by internet 'experts' who have no or real world experience in what they are talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,006 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

If she's telling the truth, they alcohol wasn't hers.

She spat out sand, not at him. A perfectly reasonable thing to do if your mouth has been shoved into the sand.

He deserved to be verbally abused for being a little pr1ck on a power trip. He was pissed because of the negative breath test and so escalated the situation unprofessionally. She didn't have to tell him her name. It is not illegal to resist unlawful arrest.

I hope she sues for wrongful arrest and assault.

As for your last comment, I hope karma delivers unto you something appropriate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Well they were literally fascists until relatively recently.
    On the Plus side it keeps costs down . I suppose it depends on how much you value Thrift .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

Just Americans displaying their violent tendencies once again...

Makes no difference whether they are in a swimsuit or a police uniform. Violent and aggressive tendencies from everyone on display...

And no assault weapons used here. Should they ban beaches? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 867 ✭✭✭xl500

At least the cops are enforcing the Alcohol Laws there over here most Beaches and Parks are completely taken over by Gangs of under age drinkers ruining it for families happens every summer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

xl500 wrote: »
    At least the cops are enforcing the Alcohol Laws over here most Beaches and Parks are completely taken over by Gangs of under age drinkers ruining it for families happens every summer
    Drink and beaches are not a great mix .

Drink and bitches are not a great mix .

Drink and male bitches are not a great mix .

• Registered Users Posts: 35,888 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Total over reaction. The whole can't drink until 21 is so dated over there, need to change that law. Can drive at 14, do hardcore porn at 18, but take a sip of beer at a beach and you'll get the crap kicked out of you by two nerds on a power trip.
    Maybe change it to you can drink at 18, and raise age of doing porn to 23. That would make more sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Several years of Brazilian jiu-jitsu experience, boxed and practiced karate as a kid, I've been punched a few times. I as a very average BJJ player could restrain most people without hurting them or me. A cop who part of their job is to restrain people (for various reasons) should be able to do the same.

It's incredibly easy to restrain a resisting, untrained person.

Don't have time to play D&D unfortunately, too busy trying not to get malaria at the moment.

You'd best get back to trying to defend sociopaths who assault and batter petite women because they tell them to **** off.

So in short you really haven't a clue what your talking about in real life

though so ,

Walter Mitty on boards again

• Registered Users Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

A shreiking bitch thinking she can do whatever she likes and people defend her, but at the same time I've seen what cops are like too. The world is going to ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

mynamejeff wrote: »
    So in short you really haven't a clue what your talking about in real life

though so ,

Walter Mitty on boards again

No. Someone with competition and real world knowledge of how easy it is to restrain someone who is half your weight of you have even a basic understanding of what you're doing.

This rent a cop who got a summer job being a beach comber and couldn't get a real job as a cop obviously doesn't understand than you don't need to hammefist a tiny woman in the head or grab her by the hair and throw her face first into sand to control her.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,914 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Jujitsu, self defence, it's easy, etc...

Look. That video shows the rent a cop is wrong. No doubt about it. I haven't seen the unedited start to finish of it, So I can't comment on the legality of the arrest in the first place.

But I have to step in here. I don't know you, and I've no doubt you're great at what you do, but You actually don't know what you're talking about here. Restraining someone and arresting someone through restraint are very different things. I take it because you know how to restrain, you've heard of fight or flight? And subsequently you know that when fight kicks kicks, it makes the situation worse?

One question: have you ever legally arrested someone who didn't want to be arrested?

I have. A lot. And I've had easy arrests and hard arrests. The hardest are not the big guys, it's always the small ones. Why? Not because they're strong, but because they're not strong, and a move or technique you use on a bigger person could hurt them. In the age of cameras being everywhere, and back seat judges scrutinizing every second of a video where the cop has literal split seconds, extra care is needed, as management will throw you under a bus (in Ireland anyway). As a result, you don't use as much force out of fear.

Oh, and ask any guard in Ireland that has Jujitsu training and they will tell you they can't use it as it's not an official technique and can land you in trouble. I've seen a certain colleague who is stupid strong take down 1 large angry coked out man by himself. I've seen the same one struggle with a small person. It's not black and white, but it is every shade of grey inbetween.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Look. That video shows the rent a cop is wrong. No doubt about it. I haven't seen the unedited start to finish of it, So I can't comment on the legality of the arrest in the first place.

But I have to step in here. I don't know you, and I've no doubt you're great at what you do, but You actually don't know what you're talking about here. Restraining someone and arresting someone through restraint are very different things. I take it because you know how to restrain, you've heard of fight or flight? And subsequently you know that when fight kicks kicks, it makes the situation worse?

One question: have you ever legally arrested someone who didn't want to be arrested?

I have. A lot. And I've had easy arrests and hard arrests. The hardest are not the big guys, it's always the small ones. Why? Not because they're strong, but because they're not strong, and a move or technique you use on a bigger person could hurt them. In the age of cameras being everywhere, and back seat judges scrutinizing every second of a video where the cop has literal split seconds, extra care is needed, as management will throw you under a bus (in Ireland anyway). As a result, you don't use as much force out of fear.

Oh, and ask any guard in Ireland that has Jujitsu training and they will tell you they can't use it as it's not an official technique and can land you in trouble. I've seen a certain colleague who is stupid strong take down 1 large angry coked out man by himself. I've seen the same one struggle with a small person. It's not black and white, but it is every shade of grey inbetween.

When was the last time you have to hammer-fist a 7 stone college aged girl in the face, grab her by the hair and throw her to the ground, and more to successfully arrest her? When you weren't on your own? And she posed absolute no risk to you or your colleagues?

I'd wager never... Because you know what you're doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

When was the last time you have to hammer-fist a 7 stone college aged girl in the face, grab her by the hair and throw her to the ground, and more to successfully arrest her? When you weren't on your own? And she posed absolute no risk to you or your colleagues?

I'd wager never... Because you know what you're doing.
    She was a risk. She was throwing digs and kicks. In front of her own child too, the skanger. Good enough for her.

This is like the Katy French episode. Months of coverage and the 2 lads in Waterford who died in the same week no one ever heard about them.

And btw, hammer fist? Get to fcuk. My 9 year old daughter could give a harder slap.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,914 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'm not referring to that video. I made my comment on it at the start. I'm referring to arresting people in general and that it's easy to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,538 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I’ll never understand anyone being a dick to police and refusing to cooperate.
    She had a terrible attitude and thought because she had a kid nearbye she could push her crappy attitude to the end.

The police man was just doing a job, she mightn’t like it but his job is to enforce the law.

If she had been better mannered and cooperative it would never have gotten to that stage. She continued to struggle and clearly seen her spitting at officers.

I’d be happy to see her charged with resisting arrest, and the police not followed for just doing their job.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Your Face wrote: »
    New Jersey

WILDWOOD!!!

heard its a right dump ..