Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Police release bodycam video capturing woman's violent beach arrest

• 01-06-2018 3:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭

Do you guys think this was deserved or did the police go too far?

Personally I think it's completely out of order that 2 policemen have to violently restrain and repeatedly punch a 20 year old woman in the face over such a petty offence as underage drinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,173 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

'Merica !!

I'm not even going to watch it, I have lost interest now in watching police over-reaction videos in the US.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

She must have a really embarrassing surname....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

New Jersey

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

She resisted arrest. Game over.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭SSr0

No need to punch anyone multiple times in to the head, when they're more or less totally subdued on the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Would you ever goway and ****e. She weights about 7 stone, they could have restrained her easily, hammer fists tomthe face by a pathetic little man with a power trip because a girl wouldn't do what he told her. Disgusting behaviour and it takes an fecking sociopath to enact in or attempt to defend that behaviour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

she was a mouthy entitled brat caught in the wrong and trying to run away and you can hear her trying to get at least one person to help her run away .

she assaulted the cops when they rightly went to arrest her and can be seen spitting at them right up to the end .

however punching her was 100 percent wrong

a shot of pepper spray or dart of a tazer would have been the way to go .

its not like she may have had a ak hidden in her swim suit , cops in america tend to over react ,

thats not a secret so why give them the opportunity

• Registered Users Posts: 17,751 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Why was she arrested? She passed the breathalyser, they literally arrested her for not giving her name which considering they had no reason to suspect her for anything illegal was perfectly okay for her to do.

Also your basically saying that the ends justify the means when it comes to police behavior which is an incredibly dangerous way for a police force to be allowed act.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Do you guys think this was deserved or did the police go too far?

Seems to be a little man on a power trip.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Some people when they get into a position of power use any opportunity to abuse it.

It's not just in America though, we see examples of it this side of the pond many a time also.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

The moral of the story is: Don't fight the cops when they arrest you.

The punching was over the top, but she made a fair hand of fighting them, and when you do that, someone always gets hurt - unless you are Bruce Lee, it ain't going to be the two cops. The only thing that's going to save the cops asses now is that she isn't black.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭conor2469

Full version:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NkLb-0-L5OA

She's a belligerent, entitled brat, he is an idiot who lost his cool and got aggressive. He didn't need to hit her though, he fuc*ed up.

Deserved to be arrested alright, but grabbing her by the hair and the thumps to her head and neck are what I see as unwarranted.

Wtf for? Not heiling and clicking her heels quick enough?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

She's a gowl, no doubt about it.
    The police officer does incredibly well to come out of this as the villain by throwing needless punches and that is some achievement.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,034 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Would you ever goway and ****e. She weights about 7 stone, they could have restrained her easily, hammer fists tomthe face by a pathetic little man with a power trip because a girl wouldn't do what he told her. Disgusting behaviour and it takes an fecking sociopath to enact in or attempt to defend that behaviour.

And you know this by the considerable amount of years you have trying to restrain people?

The reality is somewhat different.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,448 ✭✭✭weisses

Rotterdam last night

hit a cop and you are in trouble ... No mercy

https://www.dumpert.nl/mediabase/7443549/6bd88998/gelijke_monniken,_gelijke_klappen.html

Odhinn wrote: »

1636419.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭stimpson

She was drinking from a bottle of alcohol on the beach. Do people learn nothing from TV?

2fe8b1ee23fc3bfa646f94afd99d0797.jpg

It seems equality is unwanted when it comes to acting the maggot - if this was some drunk 7 stone guy who took on two cops, we'd never hear a word about it.

stimpson wrote: »
    She was drinking from a bottle of alcohol on the beach. Do people learn nothing from TV?

2fe8b1ee23fc3bfa646f94afd99d0797.jpg

You can't drink on the beach?

(Just did a google and it appears that you can't actually drink on the beach in nj..mad stuff)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Can't wait for yer man Trump to finish the wall the whole way around his country so they can all kill each other without us having to hear about it

• Registered Users Posts: 17,751 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

(Just did a google and it appears that you can't actually drink on the beach in nj..mad stuff)

Indeed but they never saw her drink from the bottle AND she passed the breathalyser so she was arrested for what reason?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

VinLieger wrote: »
    Why was she arrested? She passed the breathalyser, they literally arrested her for not giving her name which considering they had no reason to suspect her for anything illegal was perfectly okay for her to do.

Also your basically saying that the ends justify the means when it comes to police behavior which is an incredibly dangerous way for a police force to be allowed act.

If you think you are being arrested in the wrong you sue the police afterwards. If you assault the police officer who is arresting you you're going to have a bad time.

As to the arrest, seems to be very poorly done from the footage available. I don't have an issue with force being used against a woman or even a punch being thrown for an arrest when required but it doesn't seem like they went through any escalation of force procedures, an issue which is pretty common in American police it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

markodaly wrote: »
    And you know this by the considerable amount of years you have trying to restrain people?

The reality is somewhat different.

If a cop can't restrain a 7 stone woman easily he shouldn't be a ****ing cop.

Can't wait for yer man Trump to finish the wall the whole way around his country so they can all kill each other without us having to hear about it

Unless your plane goes down on the way to canada and you have to fight your way out of the place, while being pursued by maniac redkneck gangs in their pick up trucks.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭stimpson

That episode of Its Always Sunny was actually shot on Jersey Shore.

Well they're giving her a ticket and she's not giving them her name. I'm presuming that's an arrestable offense?

Most likely differs from state to state but usually in most countries failing to give your name so you can receive a ticket (like when found not to have paid a fare on public transport for example) will result in an arrest.

Either way, she certainly was assaulted to a degree which can in now way be pawned off as them having just used reasonable force.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭correction

Gravelly wrote: »
    It seems equality is unwanted when it comes to acting the maggot - if this was some drunk 7 stone guy who took on two cops, we'd never hear a word about it.

There absolutely has been social media uproar over men being abused by cops as well so I dunno what you mean.

correction wrote: »
    There absolutely has been social media uproar over men being abused by cops as well so I dunno what you mean.

There's been social media uproar because a drunk white guy assaulted cops and got arrested? Really? I've never seen or heard it.