Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Green Peter

whiskeyman wrote:
    Paul Williams made a good point, as much as I don't like him. Why didn't the Gardai give a press conference of their operations thus far, and provide updates? During any incident in the Uk, they'll always give updates to the media on their operations. This would help kill a lot of the speculation.

I guess with the ombudsman investigating the shooting they are in a difficult situation discussing the case with the media. Maybe the ombudsman should be part of the media briefing.

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Paul Williams made a good point, as much as I don't like him.
    Why didn't the Gardai give a press conference of their operations thus far, and provide updates?
    During any incident in the Uk, they'll always give updates to the media on their operations.
    This would help kill a lot of the speculation.

The difference is that in this case the body has been found and the killer killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

pjohnson wrote: »
    Basically every "expert" and "friend of a garda" was completely wrong on every count.

That's not fully true true, there were some posts that turns out were quite accurate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,050 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Says in the papers he went drinking then abducted and murdered the victim then went drinking again and was trying to source cocaine. What a scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

o1s1n wrote: »
    I do know what you mean, however people already use a tonne of items incorrectly in criminal/dangerous ways (knifes, bleach, tools, sports equipment, bricks (!) therefore I don't see pepper spray being added to that list to make much of a difference. If someone wants to harm someone they have the means currently available already, and legally.

On the flip side, allowing people to use it as self defense could potentially make a huge (and non lethal) difference to some particularly hairy situations.
    "Misuse" of defensive weapons doesn't necessarily mean people buying them to use in robberies, but can also include the weapon being used on the person who owns it.

Police officers have the spray on a belt, in an easily accessible location, they see it every day, they know how to use it.

A woman will have a small canister at the bottom of a messy and overloaded bag, that she sees once every 3 weeks and may have forgotten what the instructions say.

In the heat of the moment, and in her attempt to fumble for the weapon (rather than, e.g. scream and run), she may be more vulnerable and subsequently have it taken from her and used against her.

I'm not saying it definitely doesn't work, but I'd like to see evidence that personal defence weapons are effective before making them legal.

Things like rape alarms may be arguably far more effective because they can be kept easily accessible, require no brainpower to activate and can't be used against the victim.
    whiskeyman wrote: »
    Paul Williams made a good point, as much as I don't like him.
    Why didn't the Gardai give a press conference of their operations thus far, and provide updates?
    During any incident in the Uk, they'll always give updates to the media on their operations.
    This would help kill a lot of the speculation.
    It's not the job of the Gardai to quell speculation tbh.
    With investigations where you are still searching for someone, speculation and rumour has a tendency to get in the way, to cause energies to be focussed in the wrong place. That's why the UK cops give regular updates.

In this case it's just an investigation now, the Gardai have nothing to gain by spending time dispelling rumours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

The more I think about this case the more horrific it gets. As another person mentioned I cannot reconcile the pure terror Jastine must have felt throughout the whole ordeal. Its just so difficult to comprehend how one human can do that to another without a seconds thought and really upsetting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,858 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Its just so difficult to comprehend how one human can do that to another without a seconds thought and really upsetting.

It's probably worse than you think. I'd say there are a lot more people out there who are just barely able to stop themselves from doing crazy sh1t like this. It's probably a very fine line between acting on these urges and not acting on these urges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭2forjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭nc6000

tretorn wrote: »
    I dont think the site where Jastine was abducted from was searched until the following morning at daybreak.

If the phone had been found very quickly after she had been abducted then it could immediately have been established that she was missing.

Why did they wait until daybreak to search the area? If they had received reports of the abduction at around 18.30 - 19.00 and acted on them like they say they did then they would have still had two maybe three hours of daylight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Time to cancel the daughters Ballet lessons and get her to take up some sort of martial art/self defence.
    Knee jerk reaction - maybe
    Sensible - definitely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

nc6000 wrote: »
    Why did they wait until daybreak to search the area? If they had received reports of the abduction at around 18.30 - 19.00 and acted on them like they say they did then they would have still had two maybe three hours of daylight.

Most likely concentrating completely on finding Jastine .Then they knew the car , knew she was gone and it was vital to actually search and try locate her . She was not there where she was taken so I guess they were just all out trying to find her .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

sideswipe wrote: »
    Time to cancel the daughters Ballet lessons and get her to take up some sort of martial art/self defence.
    Knee jerk reaction - maybe
    Sensible - definitely

I think I would be the same if I had a daughter. Also some gym work for strength. At least make it difficult for an attacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭kingofclay

nc6000 wrote: »

How quick did the news break? Was the reg and car released within '45 minutes' causing him to panic? It didn't seem that quick from what I remember(It was only 4 days ago) Things got serious when Jastine was reported missing 5 hours later. He wasn't thinking rationally obviously or rationally in the context of an abductor. I know he ultimately murdered Jastine but I think he have panicked/realised that he had an actual person in the car and not just an object as he probably envisioned. You don't really recover from the reputation of being convicted as an abductor of a young women. He felt at this point the only way for him to even attempt to go back to the life he was living before the abduction was to kill Jastine and hope it never came out. He went to the Ramblers and socialised as an alibi. We don't know where he went after and the fact he didn't return home after being out sort of dispenses with my theory but maybe he was hearing the type of car that was spotted and knew he had ****ed up. It just makes no sense doing this in your own borough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

2forjoy wrote: »

jaysus!

what the f*ck goes on in some peoples heads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

A postmortem on Hennessy
    has established a bullet fired by the garda ricocheted off his shoulder and struck his head. He was not
    intentionally shot in the head. He was also shot in the chest.

At least that should shut some of the armchair marksmen up. Still no indication of why he did it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,822 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

At least that should shut some of the armchair marksmen up. Still no indication of why he did it though.

I'm wondering if we will ever know what was going through his head. (And I'm not talking about the marksmanship part of your post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

So he tried to break into a house a few weeks ago too. I dont think its any coincidence that the person inside was a teenage girl by herself
    Id say shes a bit shaken after she heard what he went on to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

2forjoy wrote: »

They seem to be implying that the video doing the rounds is indeed from Sat night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Grayson wrote: »
    I'm wondering if we will ever know what was going through his head. (And I'm not talking about the marksmanship part of your post)
    wakka12 wrote: »
    So he tried to break into a house a few weeks ago too. I dont think its any coincidence that the person inside was a teenage girl by herself

I think its quite clear.
    This was a man that probably harbored fantasies of doing this for years - decades even.

It's frightening, like we all said, scary what goes on in peoples heads.

The drinking and cocaine - a way to psyche himself up to do it - and then to escape it ??

Even he probably felt some sort of pain and remorse for what he did - I'm am not excusing the scumbags actions tho - it's so ****ed up, and the poor girl, being in the wrong place at the wrong time, rotten luck.

RIP.

wakka12 wrote: »

Yeah it seems he'd been planning to do something like that for a while.

The drinking and cocaine - a way to psyche himself up to do it - and then to escape it ??

Was the cocaine not after the murder though?

Nah the scene in the background doesn't look like the ramblers rest(I've never been in it's quite small on the outside and not set up like that) possible the Martello in Bray?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭MaccaTacca

Cocaine story is 100% true, have heard from people who were in the pub that he was asking anyone at all if they were selling, even people who clearly wouldn’t be selling drugs. He then returned later asking again.

The video of him in the pub with the girls is the Martello in Bray, and the photo is the ramblers rest.

What can be done in future cases? A poster a few pages back mentioned how only 3 cars and a helicopter went in pursuit after the abduction. In the future, perhaps the information about reg's and even make should be kept under wraps and instead have a large scale Garda force go in pursuit. If members of the public are urged not approach and basically just ordered to let the Guarda know, then there is no real point in us knowing in the first few hours. Better just deploy huge numbers from around the area with the information at hand. Then again, you have to protect other people too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

He was about to slit his own throat. The shot to the shoulder was to stop him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Tippex

kingofclay wrote: »
    Nah the scene in the background doesn't look like the ramblers rest(I've never been in it's quite small on the outside and not set up like that) possible the Martello in Bray?

My wife was listening to east coast yesterday and they were sent an anonymous message that the video doing the rounds was in the martello around 2nd/3rd of may.

wellwhynot wrote: »
    He was about to slit his own throat. The shot to the shoulder was to stop him.

I meant why he killed her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

kingofclay wrote: »
    What can be done in future cases? A poster a few pages back mentioned how only 3 cars and a helicopter went in pursuit after the abduction. In the future, perhaps the information about reg's and even make should be kept under wraps and instead have a large scale Garda force go in pursuit. If members of the public are urged not approach and basically just ordered to let the Guarda know, then there is no real point in us knowing in the first few hours. Better just deploy huge numbers from around the area with the information at hand. Then again, you have to protect other people too.

How many Gardai cars are going to be on hand at a given time - this isn't like a movie where 25 cop cars are going to turn up. They give out the information because of the urgency for finding the car and they need the help of the public in spotting where it might be. It's not an invitation from the Gardai for have a go heroes to try a spot of vigilantism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,905 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I meant why he killed her

Seems he was a on a drink and drugs bender for weeks, issues at home, existing mental issues, he just snapped.

How many Gardai cars are going to be on hand at a given time - this isn't like a movie where 25 cop cars are going to turn up. They give out the information because of the urgency for finding the car and they need the help of the public in spotting where it might be. It's not an invitation from the Gardai for have a go heroes to try a spot of vigilantism.

And then the perpetrator panics when he finds out and kills the abductee. I get though that this case is very rare, not often are you going to get instances whereby the car and reg have been spotted.