Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Valentines Day Bollocks

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

People like to waffle on about commercialism and 'capitalism' (while living their lives quite firmly within same) but each to their own.

If only the worst excess of capitalism was a surprise box of chocolates for your partner.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I booked a table for me and the wife for this evening.

I hope she likes snooker........

• Registered Users Posts: 29,006 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

People like to waffle on about commercialism and 'capitalism' (while living their lives quite firmly within same) but each to their own.

If only the worst excess of capitalism was a surprise box of chocolates for your partner.

try live outside the world of capitalism;)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The rhythmic slap of valentines day bollocks will echo round the bedrooms of the world tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Wanderer78 wrote: »

One presumes that would entail slightly more effort than hanging around message boards recycling platitudes that would make Citizen Smith blush.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

That reads like something you’d hear in a Rage Against The Machine lyric.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,848 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I was never into it passed the age of around 18.
    Thankfully, the Mrs was never into it either so no compromise was needed on either side.

Birthday presents and Christmas presents have been phased out too.

We almost always forget our wedding anniversary - I think we actually remembered it last year and went for a nice lunch.

If you are both on the same page, it's great.

Had the ride this morning but it was nothing to do with Valentine's

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

The only tradition I have is buying all the girls at work a single rose...gets me off the hook for being a a mean boss :D

You employ children and buy them roses on Valentine's Day?!? You big meanie

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,410 Mod ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

Spending hundreds of euros for Valentines day is madness. It is nice to make a small gesture, but you don't need to break the bank! I've spent about 15euro on a card and a box of chocolates (each one hand selected yours truly so it has none of the coffee or dark chocolate ones he despises!). We're going to have a nice meal in. We bought a couple of steaks when doing the weekly shop and himself picked up starters and dessert in M&S.

I appreciate that even 10-20 euro is a lot to some people, but you don't have to spend money to do something nice. It just involves a bit more time and creativity!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

The only tradition I have is buying all the girls at work a single rose...gets me off the hook for being a a mean boss :D

That's kinda nice. Something you don't have to do really. Fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭optogirl

That's kinda nice. Something you don't have to do really. Fair play.

I would find this a bit weird to be honest

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Some people can have Valentine's Day, Mother's Day or Father's Day on any given damp, forgettable day of the year. Other's need Hallmark to remind them to be thoughtful people!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭halkar

If you love someone everyday is Valentine’s Day.
    Same for other days like Mother’s Day Father’s Day. Don’t need special days to remember loved ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

LirW wrote: »
    He made me a nice stack of french toast for breakfast, even though he's sick. I think this is a really nice gesture. You get to sit down together and enjoy breakfast.
    I in return got a card and 2 T-Bone steaks. Love starts in the stomach.

hmmmmm French toast -- it's been a long long time since I had that ...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I can't stand this day.
    I'm also married to someone who doesn't care as it's just a commercialized day full of nonsense and soppy movies.
    I decided to make an observation to see if prices increase just cause of the day at hand and last week our local florist was selling roses for about 2e per rose.
    Passed her by today and she had them up at 3.50 a rose.. 75% increase simply due to the day.
    Wonder what the price will be tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,006 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

bear1 wrote: »
    I can't stand this day.
    I'm also married to someone who doesn't care as it's just a commercialized day full of nonsense and soppy movies.
    I decided to make an observation to see if prices increase just cause of the day at hand and last week our local florist was selling roses for about 2e per rose.
    Passed her by today and she had them up at 3.50 a rose.. 75% increase simply due to the day.
    Wonder what the price will be tomorrow.

its clearly gonna be at least 4.00 a rose, this market is only going one way!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I got a card and we went for dinner last weekend. Bit of ridin later and sure that'll do me :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

Both of us are sick, I made her a cup of Ginger Tea for Valentines day

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

We went to the cinema last Friday night, had a night away on Saturday, cinema again on Monday night............but I have the NCT tonight, which I booked without realising the day that was in it.

Neither of us are into VD (is it OK to abbreviate Valentine's Day to VD? :D) and the nights out weren't planned as part of some VD excess.

I must remember to buy a card in Tesco on the way to the NCT though, as I'm pretty sure she's got one for me.

So overall, I'd be very definitely of the opinion that VD is indeed a load of bollox.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Ara Johnny, have you no bird to give an auld rattle to? Thought a member of the management around here like yourself would be a great catch for a geeky type of doll.

They removed our hooker allowance :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

kg703 wrote: »
    Last year my husband sent a big fancy present to my office. We dont really celebrate Valentines day and Ive always thought girls getting flowers and gifts to the office was just complete showing off and so so tacky. I mean - give them the gift at home for gods sake.

I almost died of embarrassment especially considering a lot of people gathered around me and were like 'oh wow thats so lovely'.

I nearly killed him, he knew exactly how much I would hate that. Were spending valentines in the academy for Soil/AAF - hurrah!

Agricultural activity farming / soil ? :confused:

I suppose whatever you're into yerselves .... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

I don't mind it. We just get each other something small. Made time for a nice breakfast together this morning.

One of our first dates was on Valentine's day when we were about 19 and we ended up going for a drink in a pub where his uncle and his uncles wife's family were which was awkward and they kept slagging us about young love and stuff like that.

A woman came around selling roses and his family started saying to him to get me one but I think he was embarrassed and they were starting to annoy him so he wouldn't get one. I still always joke with him and say "and you wouldn't even get me a rose" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Ive never taken part in VDay. It just doesn't appeal. Some women get kind of competitive with friends. yawn....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Some of my mates aren't so lucky, one lad poor ****er will need to spend at least €300 - otherwise grounds for divorce.
    Which should be grounds for divorce in the other direction. Does she spend the same on him today?

Never been that bothered with Valentines Day personally, it's a good way to do something for a new relationship or nice to have dinner out or whatnot but this expectation some have that they deserve all of the everything in the history of ever (esp. as in my experience those people tend to not feel they need to lift a finger - Valentine's day is "their day" and not "their relationship's day") is really pathetic, spoiled and childish in my opinion.

Obviously though if both partners love making a huge deal of the day though, as another poster said, have at it!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,444 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

All a scam, created by an industry that manipulates us into consuming by using or conscience and our emotions in doing so. Just spend time with loved ones today, but don't break the bank, as time is the most precious thing we have with our loved ones.

How is it a scam exactly?

Yes, it's overly commercial but how is it a scam?

I bought a card yesterday for €1.50 in Card Factory and she's arrange an M&S meal deal special. That's about as far as my wife and I need to go after being so long together.

As for people who buy other stuff, how are they being scammed? They want something and they buy it.

It's all their own choice and nobody is forcing them to do it.

You don't have to mark the day with exorbitant spending.

Scams to me involve dishonesty, such as phising or e-mail scams but not places charging for products and services.

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

kg703 wrote: »
    Last year my husband sent a big fancy present to my office. We dont really celebrate Valentines day and Ive always thought girls getting flowers and gifts to the office was just complete showing off and so so tacky. I mean - give them the gift at home for gods sake.

I almost died of embarrassment especially considering a lot of people gathered around me and were like 'oh wow thats so lovely'.

I nearly killed him, he knew exactly how much I would hate that. Were spending valentines in the academy for Soil/AAF - hurrah!

Two years ago was the ultimate Valentine's day gig. Suicidal Tendencies at the Academy. Some interesting stories of how some lads got the ok to attend and what they would have to do to make up for it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,471 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

murpho999 wrote: »
    How is it a scam exactly?

Yes, it's overly commercial but how is it a scam?

Check out flower prices before during and after today and you will see how its a rip off. A bunch of roses was 29.99 all year round and because of the day involved its now 100 for the same roses.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,152 ✭✭✭limnam

And the men?

limnam wrote: »
    And the men?

He works in a 100% male only company :pac: