Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Valentines Day Bollocks

• 14-02-2018 8:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

So it's Valentines Day - big scam to make card and flower companies a massive paycheque.

Luckily I'm married to someone who realises it's also a load of commercial BOLLOCKS.

So I will be spending a grand total of €0.00 on Valentines day gifts/dinner/card.

Some of my mates aren't so lucky, one lad poor ****er will need to spend at least €300 - otherwise grounds for divorce.

And the mobile companies back in the days of SMS ... would make a FORTUNE.

Bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Which is more romantic - spending a fortune on the same stuff other people do on Valentines day or doing something unexpected on a normal day?

The only day of the year where I'd rather be single.. Don't get me wrong, I don't actually do anything. But I'd rather not do anything free of any feeling that I should. Thankfully, she doesn't bother either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Solved OP.

zz5H5Q.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Valentines day is a good way of filtering out unsuitable partners.

If both want to go OTT then grand - away ye go.
    If both want to do nothing - good on ye.
    If both want to mark the occasion in your own way - whoopee.

If he/she is completely misaligned with you then jog on.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I gave herself the commemorative handshake this morning.
    That's Valentines sorted and potentially romance for the next few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

Shure it would be shocking sinful tobe engaging in that carry on, today being Ash Wednesday and all!;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

HappyLoveDay.png

I don't get the fuss about it either way. We're not doing much and i cba but I'm not going to yell about it.if someone not spending 300 on an arbitrary day is grounds for divorce there's bigger problems than valentines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Spotted on some facebook shared thingy:
    Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    Lent is beginning
    No chocolate for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

She's getting some Valentine's bollocks tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

The only tradition I have is buying all the girls at work a single rose...gets me off the hook for being a a mean boss :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Don't get the OP's bitterness.

Complaining about mobile companies in the old days charging for texts but it's people who voluntarily send them.

Being proud of spending zero just comes across as miserly and begrudging to me.

Do people not realise that events like does provide provide economic activity and generate jobs. Cards, flowers, and the busiest night of the year for restaurants all creating jobs etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

The only tradition I have is buying all the girls at work a single rose...gets me off the hook for being a a mean boss :D

And on the hook for the sexual harassment suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The kids like making a card and getting something for their Ma for Valentines Day so I buy what they choose.

If the kids weren't around, we'd sometimes exchange a card, rarely if ever a gift. Birthday, Christmas, Wedding Anniversary are the only occasions we do.

If people want to do it, their call. Ranks quite low on my outrage radar, if I could even be said to have one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

It's not about spending money necessarily. All my gf wants is a card. This morning I got up half an hour earlier and cooked her breakfast in bed and gave her a card and she's delighted. If a 1.99 card helps makes her smile getting up then I'm all for it.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,532 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Careful now, they'll all be tweeting #metoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I think Valentine's is a bit juvenile, perfect for teenagers who think a gift is the physical embodiment of how much your partner loves you. For anyone else it's a bit naff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Valentine's day bollox is exactly the present my OH will be getting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

She's getting some Valentine's bollocks tonight.

That will be you then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It's fracking everywhere. Stay away from Google's home page if you can. :mad:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Valentine's day bollox is exactly the present my OH will be getting!

Im sure you're not that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

This is my first valentine's Day with my girlfriend. In fact, it's the first time in my life having to do valentine's Day and im 27.

We're going for a Moroccan meal. Got her a dozen roses, card, and picture frame with a picture of us in it.

I'd rather be at home watching the Liverpool game later but our first year has to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭kg703

Last year my husband sent a big fancy present to my office. We dont really celebrate Valentines day and Ive always thought girls getting flowers and gifts to the office was just complete showing off and so so tacky. I mean - give them the gift at home for gods sake.

I almost died of embarrassment especially considering a lot of people gathered around me and were like 'oh wow thats so lovely'.

I nearly killed him, he knew exactly how much I would hate that. Were spending valentines in the academy for Soil/AAF - hurrah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

I love Valentine's day, I know it's all commercial bollix, but with ten kids between us it can be difficult to find the time to do mushy stuff that's out of the ordinary.
    We make time for talking and we love to cuddle in front of the tv or catch up on our day, when they're all gone to bed, but it's nice to get spoiled a bit.
    We spend about E10, to find something that will bring a giggle. I think he's worth the effort. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

professore wrote: »
    Which is more romantic - spending a fortune on the same stuff other people do on Valentines day or doing something unexpected on a normal day?

Exactly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

bluewolf wrote: »
    I don't get the fuss about it either way. We're not doing much and i cba but I'm not going to yell about it.if someone not spending 300 on an arbitrary day is grounds for divorce there's bigger problems than valentines

Well, they seem happy enough just very materialistic ... jesus ... 1k be spent on birthdays and christmas ... easily.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Don't get the OP's bitterness.

Complaining about mobile companies in the old days charging for texts but it's people who voluntarily send them.

Being proud of spending zero just comes across as miserly and begrudging to me.

Do people not realise that events like does provide provide economic activity and generate jobs. Cards, flowers, and the busiest night of the year for restaurants all creating jobs etc

Bitter ?
    Nah .. cynical, I'll say the same about mothers day or fathers day ..

The kids like making a card and getting something for their Ma for Valentines Day so I buy what they choose.

If the kids weren't around, we'd sometimes exchange a card, rarely if ever a gift. Birthday, Christmas, Wedding Anniversary are the only occasions we do.

If people want to do it, their call. Ranks quite low on my outrage radar, if I could even be said to have one.

Now that is nice!!
    Maybe ill convince the older fella to make a card for his mam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭optogirl

Solved OP.

zz5H5Q.jpg

I'll take it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

I'm not into it for myself but god help any boyfriend my kid ever has because I spoil her rotten on Valentine's. I use any excuse though.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Neither of us bother with valentines day.

The real celebrations were yesterday for pancake Tuesday.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

My husbag makes me feel special all year round, we aren't romantic but he does things that make me feel appreciated and supported. That's worth more than some generic card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,442 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Permabear wrote:

All a scam, created by an industry that manipulates us into consuming by using or conscience and our emotions in doing so. Just spend time with loved ones today, but don't break the bank, as time is the most precious thing we have with our loved ones.

Completely agree but I think I'd rather do it when the occasion calls for it rather than some arbitrary day where you feel compelled to do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭optogirl

for me it's an excuse to buy tickets for a gig or something that we both want to go to. Don't expect a present - we usually make cards (crappily made I might add) just so the kids see some exchange of affection! 6 year old is a fierce romantic (don't know where he got it from) and he would be shocked and appalled if there was nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

MarkY91 wrote: »
    This is my first valentine's Day with my girlfriend. In fact, it's the first time in my life having to do valentine's Day and im 27.

We're going for a Moroccan meal. Got her a dozen roses, card, and picture frame with a picture of us in it.

I'd rather be at home watching the Liverpool game later but our first year has to be done.

That's it in a nutshell

I'd rather be a good son/father year round then make some phoney commercial gesture cos Hallmark cards says so !

Permabear wrote:

And what's wrong with that, some do believe this capitalist stuff hasn't been all what it's cracked up to be, liberating us, I think not! We celebrated Christmas, in our own way, and as far as I'm aware, we spent little or nothing on each other, thankfully both of us on a similar page in relation to these things. Life doesn't need to be about stuff. Spending something as little as 10 euro can be a lot for some, so let's not put pressure on them doing so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Jaysus, you're all terrible miserable today. Cheer up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

He made me a nice stack of french toast for breakfast, even though he's sick. I think this is a really nice gesture. You get to sit down together and enjoy breakfast.
    I in return got a card and 2 T-Bone steaks. Love starts in the stomach.

Permabear wrote:

I base my reasoning on what I'd call sound research and life experiences, unfortunately I have not found a politician or political party that mirrors my concerns and opinions, and I may never will.
    Permabear wrote:

A tenner is a lot to some, it really is, some people have much higher priorities than buying consumables that are meaningless in their lives