Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Subscribers Posts: 41,003 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Excuse the ignorance but who's Victor Meldrew?

Jeez, you're such a blow in....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Herpes Free Since03

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Excuse the ignorance but who's Victor Meldrew?

He was in an episode of Father Ted

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

b.gud wrote: »
    Personally I like nothing more than a craft beer after enjoying a locally sourced artisan vegan lunch. I also try to get it somewhere that servers fair trade single source organic Guatemalan cappuccinos, with unsweetened skinny soy milk naturally. I usually get a second coffee in my keep cup to take with me on my cycle home on my fixed gear drop handle bar bike

Soy milk? From the soya plantations that are destroying the Amazonian rainforest? You environmental vandal, you. Supporting big business global capitalist agri-techno-corporations. What a sellout!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

b.gud wrote: »
    Personally I like nothing more than a craft beer after enjoying a locally sourced artisan vegan lunch. I also try to get it somewhere that servers fair trade single source organic Guatemalan cappuccinos, with unsweetened skinny soy milk naturally. I usually get a second coffee in my keep cup to take with me on my cycle home on my fixed gear drop handle bar bike

Why is AK posting on your account?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,774 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

stephen_n wrote: »
    There is something about the words craft beer, that instills the same reaction as Vegan, making me want to punch the issuer. It’s nearly as pretentious as that monkey **** coffee.

Nah...craft beer is great. No more bland, boring beer that if you had a blindfold on you couldn't tell them apart.
    Beers with mango, pineapple, orange. Stouts with chocolate, milk and vanilla.
    As for coffee....it's never been better since the hipsters got their hands on it.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Nah...craft beer is great. No more bland, boring beer that if you had a blindfold on you could tell them apart.
    Beers with mango, pineapple, orange. Stouts with chocolate, milk and vanilla.
    As for coffee....it's never been better since the hipsters got their hands on it.

To quote Dennis Leary “Cranberry Ale! Cranberry NUT CRUNCH ****ING ALE! Cranberries and beer do not go together! One's for bladder infections, one's for getting DRUNK!”

• Registered Users Posts: 24,176 ✭✭✭✭Buer

10 years ago I'd have a pint to quench a thirst and for alcoholic relaxation. The taste was, at best, fizzy blandness. I ended up drinking mostly Guinness because of this.

Now I can have a pint of beer which I genuinely enjoy the taste of. Craft beers have been a great addition to the Irish retail market.

Buer wrote: »
    10 years ago I'd have a pint to quench a thirst and for alcoholic relaxation. The taste was, at best, fizzy blandness. I ended up drinking mostly Guinness because of this.

Now I can have a pint of beer which I genuinely enjoy the taste of. Craft beers have been a great addition to the Irish retail market.

You mean you don't genuinely enjoy the taste of Guinness?! :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

GET HIM OUT OF HERE

• Administrators Posts: 53,365 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Zzippy wrote: »
    You mean you don't genuinely enjoy the taste of Guinness?! :confused:
    I think he is saying he drank Guinness because the choice of lager available was tasteless and fizzy.

At least I hope that's what he's saying, or he's getting banned.

Do it, there's no downside

Awec is correct. Guinness was the only pint I drank out of enjoyment . But I wouldn't sit in the sun drinking pint after pint of stout or go on a session drinking it.

Do it, there's no downside

I haven't decided precisely how I'll one day close my account by getting deliberately site banned but it's not going to be today!

It's not all it's cracked up to be ;).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭swiwi_

swiwi_ wrote: »
    So...and with thanks to Teferi for a few words of encouragement...I've started playing rugby again (well at I've been to a couple of training runs). First I needed to maintain Swiss neutrality, so that meant Leinster shorts and a Munster top.

I felt and no doubt appeared like some sort of uncoordinated retard, all those silky handling skills, no look passes, deft offloads, and amazing jinking runs that marked out my U16 career...gone

The team is half Swiss, half imports (mainly French expats). The colours are black and white, which is a nice touch All the good players wore AB training gear to practice...actually I tell a lie...there was no correlation between the jersey and the skill level. One of the guys introduced himself with what sounded to me like "Salivan". I was like "ça s'écrit comment?", and he was like "Sullivan, comme les Irlandais" . I was like"Oh, Sullivan" (I'm not lying, his name IS Sullivan).

Team came up with a really original nickname "Kiwi". I like the deep thought that went into it.

First game in 2.5 weeks - against the deadly rivals from Yverdon, Canton du Vaud. I'm debating throwing my hat in the ring for the trois quarts centre or else arrière...but I'm a lot more rotund and a lot less quick than back in the day. Team mascot is the back-up option. The squad's best player "Max" has really got the Carlos Spencer look going, complete with tank top, cap back to front, and a physique you just know the girls will cat-fight over. Pretty boy 10 - some things never change...

Podge_irl - no excuse lad, Geneva has rugby clubs too

452318.jpg
    No-one gets past Swiwi with his patented VDF tackle technique

Well, first season is over...and I finally scored a try...in our final match. We finished 3rd in Swiss League B. It was a really interesting experience. Reasonably tough physically at the start, but by the end I felt about 25 again. Didn't get too much playing time in the first half of the season, I think the coaches looked at the physical stats etc, and thought "nah", but I got my lucky break when a couple of lads got injured, and I started on the wing. Took my chance, and got about 5 or 6 starts in the 2nd half. My favourite position is 15, but I got 14 and 13, and the coaches reckon I'm a 13.

Few injuries, the worst of which was the mid-foot strain. But also shoulder bursitis, elbow bursitis, AC joint sprain, and all the other usual little knocks.

The level was fairly average, which is probably why I survived. Can't speak for playing rugby in Ireland, but in NZ you WILL come up against raw Polynesian power on a regular basis - it's not enough for Samoa etc at international level, but at lower club level, those Polynesians are amazing physical specimens and they take no prisoners.

The level of coaching was waaaay better than I expected. Learnt quite a bit. Just simple things that you never think about when you watch on TV, like if a guy is running towards you on your right side, do you lead with your inside (right) shoulder or your outside (left) shoulder when you go to tackle? I watched Josh Van de Flier after that lesson at training...and he nailed it. Every. Single. Time. The guy is a tackle machine on defence.

Team cameraderie was top - when you have some of the lads and the coach in tears at the end of the season...one guy retiring after 10 years - he got to keep some of the home turf, read out the teamsheet, lead the team out...and get a goodbye wedgie :eek:. We drank on the bus, sang on the bus, drank some more. Team trip to Toulon was a highlight. Next year's 6N country is England, after that we have Italy...and Ireland. If you think your club would like to host some Swiss lads for a friendly match and some socialising, there could be an opening...The club celebrated its 10 years of existence - started by some local lads who got hooked up into rugby during the 2007 RWC.

So a great experience, in a country where soccer and ice hockey are kings, and rugby is very much a minority sport. I'm almost certain to give it another year at least, I regret not having played again earlier...

Awec is correct. Guinness was the only pint I drank out of enjoyment . But I wouldn't sit in the sun drinking pint after pint of stout or go on a session drinking it.

Weirdo.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,774 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

swiwi_ wrote: »

those Polynesians are amazing physical specimens and they take no prisoners.

You ain't wrong there Swiwi. They used to do the doors of the pubs and clubs in Sydney. Only took a glance from one of them to put manners on lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Franciscan Well in Cork also gets Thomond's Thumbs Up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭kuang1

Franciscan Well in Cork also gets Thomond's Thumbs Up.

You there right now?

I'm the fella sitting in the corner by himself typing on my phone trying to look like I'm waiting for someone.

I'm not really waiting for someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

kuang1 wrote: »
    You there right now?

I'm the fella sitting in the corner by himself typing on my phone trying to look like I'm waiting for someone.

I'm not really waiting for someone.

Hmm...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Do ye lads get any Kerry beers up the country? Killarney brewery makes some fine stuff

chupacabra wrote: »
    Do ye lads get any Kerry beers up the country? Killarney brewery makes some fine stuff
    You can get the Killarney stuff everywhere. It's good yea.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

chupacabra wrote: »

Best beer I've had out of Kerry is West Kerry Brewery's Carraig Dhubh. Amazeyballs porter.

dregin wrote: »
    Best beer I've had out of Kerry is West Kerry Brewery's Carraig Dhubh. Amazeyballs porter.

When they started out it was literally on the side of the river and using for want of a better word, a bath to produce their first beer

Sounds very crafty

So, an actual bath or just a limited vocabulary? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭swiwi_

I see the Forbes sporting rich list is out

Ireland - Conor McGregor (4)
    Northern Ireland - Rory (26)
    Switzerland - Roger (7)
    NZ - Steven Adams (86 - NBA basketball)

List is basically full of athletes playing in American sporting competitions, as you'd expect.

Listening to LBC there this morning, jesus christ Labour voters are so completely naive...

They genuinely think that Corbyn was/is holding onto a hard brexit position in order to appease voters in the northern constituencies, they can't see that they're the ones being appeased! Corbyn is some magician to keep them all onside.

(I say was/is because this supposed shift by Labour towards a "softer" brexit is still absolutely bonkers and has 0% of getting anywhere)

How and why Brexit is still happening is beyond my comprehension.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

How and why Brexit is still happening is beyond my comprehension.

Something beyond the grasp of every British politician too, by the look of things.