Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IreExit

• Registered Users Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭ectoraige

I expect it'll get a lot of press coverage anyway. Vladamir Putin just booked tickets for himself and Donald Trump :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

listermint wrote: »
    Its not, Nigel Farage should be given a platform alright. off the edge of a ship. The gormless spineless loafer that he is.

No problem taking EU money and then going around crying about it, Oh and he was crying about how he should keep his pension afterwards

If there’s an audience for whatever any individual is preaching, they should be allowed to be heard by that audience as long as it’s all above board and complying with our laws.

If he somehow managed to sway enough people to get this over the line after what we all know about what he did with Brexit (he wouldn’t) then that’s on us as a nation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭MayoSalmon

EU is socialist, Irish people live socialism so never going to happen

• Registered Users Posts: 33,857 ✭✭✭✭listermint

If there’s an audience for whatever any individual is preaching, they should be allowed to be heard by that audience as long as it’s all above board and complying with our laws.

If he somehow managed to sway enough people to get this over the line (he wouldn’t) then that’s on us as a nation.

He has a stage, people are free to mock it pretend to want to go if they wish.

We are an open country here for this form of mockery.

He has a stage, people are free to mock it pretend to want to go if they wish.

We are an open country here for this form of mockery.

I’ve no problem with anyone mocking it. Stand outside, point and laugh, fill your boots.

I do have a problem with sabotaging any event like this whatever it’s for. It goes against democracy

• Registered Users Posts: 33,857 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I’ve no problem with anyone mocking it. Stand outside, point and laugh, fill your boots.

I do have a problem with sabotaging any event like this whatever it’s for. It goes against democracy

Yeah im afraid it doesnt.

Ridiculous..

• Registered Users Posts: 23,458 ✭✭✭✭ted1

backspin. wrote: »
    ted1 wrote: »
    I’m not having some Brit who ruined his country come over and try to ruin mine

Good man, you'll decide for us all then so.
    Absolutely I’m all on for revoking the vote from certain groups.

No representation without Taxation

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭IP freely

2 tickets booked for a Mr. Put Matipin and Mrs Tip Receiver.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

The lyrics of Ireland's last place finishing Eurovision entry as written by John Waters:
    The curtain has been raised, the wall no longer stands
    And from Lisadell to Latvia, we're singing as one clan
    The curtain has been raised, and Europe's all one stage
    And the archipelagic icicles have melted like the cage

We don't need no party, just a party band
    A continental choir singing hand in hand

[/U][/B]

Yeah im afraid it doesnt.

Ridiculous..

Democracy was the wrong choice of word. I just don’t agree it’s fair game to sabotage an event because you don’t like what they have to say.
    You are preventing people who do want to hear what they have to say from attending.

It’s dangerous and not befitting of a so called liberal country.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

How come Nigel Farage isn't campaigning for a break up of the UK? Surely such unions are bad? Or is it that they are good as long as England is the big player in them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,625 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

c_man wrote: »
    I remember challenging a canvasser/councillor (?) on that one. His response was along the lines of "sure the EU will be giving us jobs!" and that they'd punish us if we didn't toe the line. Should have been put on bus really.

I dare say that says more about Irish politics (wink and a nod, parish pump, provincial gombeens) than it says about European politics.
    And "vote yes for jobs", absolutely despicable, how dare they! They can keep their jobs and prosperity. I just want to be a proud Fenian Shepherd. Ireland needs nothing more.

As an aside, people complain about posters promising jobs. The NO side had posters of babies with bar codes printed on their foreheads with something like " THIS WILL HAPPEN TO YOUR BABY!".
    So should I vote for jobs or loons screaming about babies? Hhmmhhh, tough one...
    I think I'll go with jobs.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Is that a fact now...if you bothered your arse to look into these things you'd find out Juncker comes out with some right doozies....

I seem to remember these signs everywhere at the time...

https://www.flickr.com/photos/infomatique/3913110009

And what of the "everyone will be working for €1.12 an hour" signs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

the_syco wrote: »
    Ah, Farage. The prick that got what he wanted, and left for someone else to clean up his mess.

The biggest myth in politics right now. Farage was never going to be involved in the government because he was UKIP leader. If he had remained leader he would still not have been involved in these negotiations. This nonsense that he just walked away and somehow walked away from "power" and responsibility is just that, nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's amazing how the Brits have become the rebels all of a sudden.

Fair play to them, I wonder will they inspire more. They usually end up doing well for themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭minikin

It’s the equivalent of a spoiled ballot, perfectly democratic. The only thing sabotaged are some egos. If you think this posh knacker has the interests of Irish citizens (or the working class of the UK) in mind you’re very much mistaken.

minikin wrote: »
    It’s the equivalent of a spoiled ballot, perfectly democratic. The only thing sabotaged are some egos.

It would be more equivalent to spoiling someone else’s ballot for them.

minikin wrote: »
    It’s the equivalent of a spoiled ballot, perfectly democratic. The only thing sabotaged are some egos. If you think this posh knacker has the interests of Irish citizens (or the working class of the UK) in mind you’re very much mistaken.

I don’t support him. I support the freedom for other people to support whoever they want.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,625 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

The biggest myth in politics right now. Farage was never going to be involved in the government because he was UKIP leader. If he had remained leader he would still not have been involved in these negotiations. This nonsense that he just walked away and somehow walked away from "power" and responsibility is just that, nonsense.

Farage is a troll and moron who incites like minded idiots to vote for the destruction of their country out of some sort of misplaced spite to "stick it to the man".
    It's like persuading someone to punch themselves in the face to hurt someone else.
    And a sad indictment of just how many gullible, angry idiots the world has right now. Its enough to make you despair for the human race, because I feel IQs have fallen sharply over the last 15 years. People just vote for the most obnoxious, idiotic blowhard in the hope of what, I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I don’t support him. I support the freedom for other people to support whoever they want.
    Are you suggesting that people shouldn't be free to partake in a boycott? On an Irish forum?:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,884 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

How come Nigel Farage isn't campaigning for a break up of the UK? Surely such unions are bad? Or is it that they are good as long as England is the big player in them?

I think you just answered your own question there.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,722 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

2 tickets booked.

Ignatius Patrick Freely and Oliver Clothesov will be attending.

2 tickets booked in plausible oirish names, so they won't be at risk of being cancelled.

Are you suggesting that people shouldn't be free to partake in a boycott? On an Irish forum?:pac:

Nope. Boycott to your hearts content. Booking tickets with a pseudonym to stop other people attending isn’t a boycott by my understanding of the word.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,353 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

It's amazing how the Brits have become the rebels all of a sudden.

Fair play to them, I wonder will they inspire more. They usually end up doing well for themselves.

you seem to have misspelled "idiots who went into a process without the first idea of what was involved".

• Registered Users Posts: 29,037 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Farage was never going to be involved in the government

correct. failed to get elected what, 7 times? not to mention he hardly ever turns up to the EU parliament. 1 person who absolutely does fit the term "waste of space" in my view

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Luke and Matthew Goss will be in attendance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

It's probably not worth considering any time soon, but what about in about 2022c.

There is a possibility that 'after the dust of Brexit settles'* UK will have much lower corp tax than Ireland,
    and probably a new trade deals with the US, Canada, India, NZ & Aus. Maybe even China if they want.

* Believe there is a chance Brexit may not actually happen, and Corbyn will become their new PM during 2018.
    The whole episode since June 2016, has been an lengthy episode of sabotaged-laden, paper-shuffling.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭minikin

correct. failed to get elected what, 7 times? not to mention he hardly ever turns up to the EU parliament. 1 person who absolutely does fit the term "waste of space" in my view

I’m sure Farage will appreciate the irony of a boycott which uses his own tactic against him 😀

• Registered Users Posts: 23,607 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The typical brexit voter...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Can we set up a GoFundMe page to have Farage put on a rocket with a one way trajectory to outer space? FaraExit.

FarAway?