Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

IreExit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,349 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Much better to let all those interested attend.
    If their case is so weak it will be exposed under scrutiny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

Ivor Hardy and Hugh Jass will be there to fight the good fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

EU funding gave Keogh's crisps a grant of 92k last year for some new equipment the bastards. Also have being dishing out 1.2 billion a year since 2007 to those already super rich farmers.

Get them out! We can do that ourselves no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

monnies wrote: »
    real mature lads trying to politcally sanotage them
    how did that work out for the last bolsheviks?
    The Bolsheviks signed up for free tickets? It's just very unfortunate, many of us have simply realised we tend to be working at 11am on Fridays.....
    No that's just your version of what I think...
    jaykay74 wrote: »
    The addess in the poster isn't a full address ? How has anyone applied for tickets :) ? Think its missing ".co.uk"

www.ticketsource/irexit

Also the first line of the poster is below.... Its hard not to read in Borats voice.

YOU ARE INVITED TO FREE CONFERENCE ENTITLED

Is Biggins involved maybe ?

It gets better, it's a .eu address...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Yes, the EU is a disgusting evil empire, committing atrocities such as allowing free travel, movement of goods and services and having the audacity to bring peace and prosperity to Europe.
    If we look at the centuries ahead, it was so much better with Europe split into thousandfold of fiefdoms, all extracting taxes from everything going through their borders, when they weren't brutally slaughtering each other in centuries of warfare.
    As for not consenting:
    Whoa, STOP EVERYTHING! Someone is not consenting! OK, let's sit down with this person and go through every piece of legislation there is in Europe and we won't stop until he consents to everything. Yeah, that'll work... :rolleyes:
    (Oh by the way I'm being sarcastic)
    With I don't know how many hundreds of millions of people, I'm afraid we cannot go round to every single one of them and ask them if they agree to every piece of paper we've ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭sameoldname

Edz87 wrote: »
    Is the 2% of our GDP to go to that EU army or is that fake news?

I would imagine that would have quite the bearing on our love affair with the boys and girls in Brussels.

No, 2% of our GDP is the target we are to spend on our own army. It's not likely that we will though seeing as we spend less than 0.5% as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭arch_stanton

Peig Sawyers and Fionn MacCumhaill will be there to fight the good fight

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Might go, get to meet Farage, behind enemy lines nonetheless. The EU can go to hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Overall the EU (up to now) has been beneficial for Ireland, but...

...If the ultimate aim of the EU is further expansion (which likely is), via the 'Union for the Mediterranean' (UfM).
    Then you can expect to see immigration levels up and beyond anything ever seen before, from cultures that may well not choose integrate easily.
    This goes under different names e.g. Euro-Mediterranean Partnership (Euromed) or 'Barcelona Process/Agreement'.

Screen_Shot_2017-12-19_at_13.16.54.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭minikin

Two tickets booked by Neil Shay Anshuh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

Overall the EU (up to now) has been beneficial for Ireland, but...

I believe "Project Fear" is the correct term, no?

Nate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,882 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Well For a start this union doesn't have the peoples consent,in fact theyve gone about it very sneakily,re-votes on referendums that don't go the EU's way etc,I think the cornerstone of any democracy is people being able to choose were they are ruled from,by who and who make laws for them,I prefer my politicians directly elected and directly accountable to the people.Its getting increasingly authoritarian as they push for this radical utophia "superstate"

I could go on but I'll be here arguing with idiots all day who'll claim that we would still be wrapped in a bit of rag and hunting with spears if it wasn't for the EU "Shur they gave us roads"

Sneaky referendums? They try to slip it past us by giving months of notice, fecking posters everywhere, mail every house in the country and loads of TV coverage. Sneaky bastards.

Grayson wrote: »
    Well For a start this union doesn't have the peoples consent,in fact theyve gone about it very sneakily,re-votes on referendums that don't go the EU's way etc,I think the cornerstone of any democracy is people being able to choose were they are ruled from,by who and who make laws for them,I prefer my politicians directly elected and directly accountable to the people.Its getting increasingly authoritarian as they push for this radical utophia "superstate"

I could go on but I'll be here arguing with idiots all day who'll claim that we would still be wrapped in a bit of rag and hunting with spears if it wasn't for the EU "Shur they gave us roads"

Sneaky referendums? They try to slip it past us by giving months of notice, fecking posters everywhere, mail every house in the country and loads of TV coverage. Sneaky bastards.
    But no one knew what what they voted for, no one knew what it was all about. Well that is what our elites tell us and Europhiles.

I believe "Project Fear" is the correct term, no?

Believe the correct term is 'The Barcelona Agreement' no?

i.e. Expansion and integration of the 'bundle of fun' know as 'North Africa & the Middle East', no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Yeah because dare we have any dissent from the powers that be that made us vote multiple times until they got the answer they wanted, ensured bailouts for the rich who 'invested' in Anglo at super rates of return, and are engineering a reversal of the Brexit vote presently.

Right on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

It is the exact same system as the Irish, British etc governments. It is a parliamentary system, whereby you elect representatives for your local area. They, in turn, elect a leader who appoints people to certain roles etc.

In terms of Lisbon etc, it is the perfect example of democracy. The majority of the people didn't believe the "no" arguments (that minimum wage would be lowered to circa €2, we would have Abram tanks on our streets and we would be forced to microchip babies, that we would have gay marriage forced on us*) and were happy for it to pass, and they voted for this to occur. I've never understood the idiots arguments that this is a bad thing.

*We got to vote on that separately, and it turns out that the vast majority of Irish people are not a$$holes and were happy for Gay marriage to be allowed - but it wasn't the EU who "forced it on us".
    Quite the contrary,I've been doing a lot of reading into the EU ever since the Lisbon re-vote I'd suggest others do the same,it's not the benign organisation with noble aspirations it makes out to be

Stay away from the conspiracy websites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

Might go, get to meet Farage, behind enemy lines nonetheless. The EU can go to hell.

Can you clarify, do you honestly view the Republic of Ireland to be 'behind enemy lines'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

And remember we rejected two treaties and incredibly we were made to vote again with nothing but worthless platitudes as a sweetener. The EU central hive mind is a very nasty dysfunctional unit.

pitifulgod wrote: »

Can you clarify, do you honestly view the Republic of Ireland to be 'behind enemy lines'?
    Nah. Just banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭elefant

Yeah because dare we have any dissent from the powers that be that made us vote multiple times until they got the answer they wanted

Why did over 60% of the country vote for The Lisbon Treaty after the revisions if they didn't want to? Was someone forcing people to vote Yes en masse at gunpoint?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

dotsman wrote: »
    In terms of Lisbon etc, it is the perfect example of democracy.

Ah here. You're not really going to tell me that. Irregardless of the Irish vote, the treaty itself was the repackaged EU constitution designed to bypass the public votes of other countries after France rejected it, and others looked likely. Democracy my ar$e.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

elefant wrote: »
    Why did over 60% of the country vote for The Lisbon Treaty after the revisions if they didn't want to? Was someone forcing people to vote Yes en masse at gunpoint?

I remember the first attempt at the Lisbon Treaty.
    The main motivation in rejecting it was giving FF a good, solid kick up the hole. And that's exactly what happened. That was satisfying.
    Second time round it passed with 67%.
    At the time it was crystal clear what happened and that it would be passed second time round.

There will always be the "I don't consent!" crowd, but in the end this is democracy, it passed and there will always be a few dogs howling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Aaron Rodgers and Tom Brady will be making this their first point of call at the beginning of the NFL off season ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

dotsman wrote: »
    It is the exact same system as the Irish, British etc governments. It is a parliamentary system, whereby you elect representatives for your local area. They, in turn, elect a leader who appoints people to certain roles etc.

In terms of Lisbon etc, it is the perfect example of democracy. The majority of the people didn't believe the "no" arguments (that minimum wage would be lowered to circa €2, we would have Abram tanks on our streets and we would be forced to microchip babies, that we would have gay marriage forced on us*) and were happy for it to pass, and they voted for this to occur. I've never understood the idiots arguments that this is a bad thing.

*We got to vote on that separately, and it turns out that the vast majority of Irish people are not a$$holes and were happy for Gay marriage to be allowed - but it wasn't the EU who "forced it on us".

Stay away from the conspiracy websites.

Who needs conspiracy sites when we have that roaring alcoholic and bastion of democracy Juncker sharing his thoughts.....they should keep him away from the plonk!

“Of course there will be transfers of sovereignty. But would I be intelligent to draw the attention of public opinion to this fact?,”

"there can be no democratic choice against the European treaties."

Lisbon treaty re-vote was a perfect example of this rather dubious EU style democracy

Oh and "vote yes for jobs!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Who needs conspiracy sites when we have that roaring alcoholic and bastion of democracy Juncker sharing his thoughts.....they should keep him away from the plonk!

“Of course there will be transfers of sovereignty. But would I be intelligent to draw the attention of public opinion to this fact?,”

"there can be no democratic choice against the European treaties."

Lisbon treaty re-vote was a perfect example of this rather dubious EU style democracy

Oh and "vote yes for jobs!"

The manure talking is strong with this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

bear1 wrote: »
    The manure talking is strong with this one.

Is that a fact now...if you bothered your arse to look into these things you'd find out Juncker comes out with some right doozies....

I seem to remember these signs everywhere at the time...

https://www.flickr.com/photos/infomatique/3913110009

Let's see what happens after 'corporate tax harmonisation' occurs.

Obviously when that (as it will) happens any primary business operating decisions will be:

- Logistics of product/services shipping/delivery to main markets
    - Commercial site and associated operating costs
    - Sourcing of cheap and skilled labour.

None of these would fair well for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Is that a fact now...if you bothered your arse to look into these things you'd find out Juncker comes out with some right doozies....

Doesn't change my thoughts that you aren't talking with much logic or sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,898 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Our unemployment rate has gone up or down since then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,157 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Is the site/url not working for anyone else?