Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you going to your work Christmas party?

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭__..__

I always throw my head in for an hour or two and then head off to a better party.
    The boss really hates it when you don't go to a party he had paid for.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nope... it'll be in town somewhere which is a pain to get in and out of (plus I'm driving so wouldn't be drinking anyway), there's very few left in the place that I'd want to socialise with anyway, and to be honest I just couldn't be bothered with office Christmas parties anymore anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

hairyslug wrote: »
    I'll be quietly sipping tequila under my stairs (that's where my wife let me put my office)

You're a wizard Hairy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Nope... it'll be in town somewhere which is a pain to get in and out of (plus I'm driving so wouldn't be drinking anyway), there's very few left in the place that I'd want to socialise with anyway, and to be honest I just couldn't be bothered with office Christmas parties anymore anyway

Yes, I've got like that too. The only ones I really enjoyed were long boozy lunches in a restaurant close to work, followed by an optional trip to the pub or just simply heading home because you'd had enough.

Where I work now the party always takes place in the evening and usually involves having to go home first and then head into town. I'd far rather spend the Friday before Christmas having a couple of glasses of wine at home or meeting a couple of friends locally somewhere. I just have no interest in sitting in a rammed city centre pub for hours, shouting to be heard over the crowds and loud music, and then waiting hours to get a taxi home.

Showing my age, probably :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

That's why it really pisses me off that half the team are annoyed that it's even taking place. Get over yourselves, it's a free feckin meal.

Imagine not wanting to go, feeling forced to because staff is so small, being 8 months pregnant amd then having to pay for your own feckin meal!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I doubt it, not my kinda scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

If you're competent, professional & courteous to your clients & colleagues, that's where your work commitments end.

It's a no from me.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭afatbollix

When did a free meal and drinks become so uncool.

afatbollix wrote: »

It's not free where I work. We have to pay.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,454 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

When you have to pay for it, thats when. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 978 ✭✭✭wexdevil

Nah, only because I won't be in the country at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Ill go. its a free night out and I like a lot of the people I work with.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭daheff

nope. its done on the cheap and feels like a forced attempt. They even ask people to pay a deposit to go :eek::eek:

went last year, but wont be wasting my time again.

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

In my place it's usually a lunch (paid for by ourselves), then a few pints in the pub.

I usually only go for the pints.

There will be a few and I'll go to them all, always great craic and big sessions. I'd be out nearly weekly with work friends anyway so its not something reserved for Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

The only reason I'm going is because I want to empty my sac into an aussie with an arse on her.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

I would go, but there's one asshole in the place I work so screw that.

I'm self employed and work by myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,635 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Well, it's a typical Boardsies view and this is a cranky lot. :D Every second thread is "I hate..." (insert co workers, hipsters, craft beer, donuts, children, cats, dogs, people in general, work, rain, sun, Sundays, Mondays, cyclists, motorists, pedestrians as required) and those are still the lighthearted threads...
    I count myself lucky that I work in a company where I am happy to see the people I work with even outside of work.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Yeah I don't get this hatred of coworkers, it seems to be more common amongst tension-ridden white collar office environments with a lot of competitiveness etc. When I worked on site or in a hotel we used to always go on the lash or for a game of football or something, same with my current job we'd often go for a drink or even an event if something was on. One lad I work with lives close to me and we'll often pop into each other's gaff on the way home for a brew.

There was always a lot more camaraderie in blue collar type jobs I found.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭cagefactor

If there was overtime being paid I would attend.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,538 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

FTA69 wrote: »
    Yeah I don't get this hatred of coworkers, it seems to be more common amongst tension-ridden white collar office environments with a lot of competitiveness etc. When I worked on site or in a hotel we used to always go on the lash or for a game of football or something, same with my current job we'd often go for a drink or even an event if something was on. One lad I work with lives close to me and we'll often pop into each other's gaff on the way home for a brew.

There was always a lot more camaraderie in blue collar type jobs I found.

Depends. Both my current job and the one preceding my last one were with Universities. There was a strong sense of cliquishness in both due to the fact that multiple groups were working in each University. Neither of them were welcoming at all so I just didn't bother, especially since the former employer didn't take us out. We booked something ourselves but to please the miserly staff, we went to the cheapest dump in town where I ate a meal I could have cooked better myself.

My last job was with a biotech company which had expanded rapidly in the last year so there were always new people which made things easier. I couldn't put my finger on it but I'm not sure these sorts of competitive work environments suit me.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

I work for a great boss, have lovely work mates who all get along (usually). However, I would never dream of going to any social function connected with work. Can only ever end bad IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Benildus

Company one - No
    Department one - No
    Team one - Yes

• Registered Users Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Not sure really. Last years one wasn't great. Not sure what the story with this years one is yet. Nice excuse to get dressed up anyway... :o

I work for a great boss, have lovely work mates who all get along (usually). However, I would never dream of going to any social function connected with work. Can only ever end bad IMO.

I've been to lots of social events connected with work. They've rarely ended badly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Icsics

The newly established 'social committee' are organising ours...hear talks of a bus..wouldn't go to anything involving a bus!

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I always went in my last job because the branch only had a small number of staff and we were quite close knit, so it was basically just a night out with your mates. When the company stopped paying for the parties we organised a night out on the cheap, so nobody was under pressure to attend.

My husband's company throws a massive company-wide party (they booked out the convention centre last year) and spouses/partners are invited, so I might head along this year depending on where it is. If it's somewhere that's short on seating I'll be giving it a miss, don't fancy being massively preggers and standing around for hours while my feet and ankles balloon :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

I'd rather watch Fair City on loop from the start, forever.

No. I wouldn't waste one second of my free time!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I'm my old company, management and the boss types didn't go, which was fine. In this place the boss/management want to "get down with the proles" for Xmas food and drinks and the enforced fun for pizza and beer at other times so that's a big fat nope from me.

Tbh I'd rather a raise instead of this shyte.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 budsalt

Used to do them years ago but they don't have the appeal for me anymore.