Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you going to your work Christmas party?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Christmas party in my department is finger food in a rented out part of a bar and people look after themselves for drinks. Usually senior management will show and buy a few rounds too.

I attend most work nights out, its nice having the craic outside of work and talking to people I wouldn't normally socialise with. Obviously some are painful to listen to, but they're in the minority. But as soon as I feel like I'm getting a little drunk, I'm straight out the door and into a cab. I've seen some serious casualties at these events before and its never a good idea to be hammered in front of co-workers

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭James 007

.................was a strong sense of cliquishness in both ........

My last job was with a biotech company which had expanded rapidly in the last year so there were always new people which made things easier. I couldn't put my finger on it but I'm not sure these sorts of competitive work environments suit me.

I used to work in a consulting engineering small practice where there seems to be a very strong sense of professionalism and a great approach to learning. Ever since I changed to a pharma company I have experienced this 'cliquishness' to high degree that it reminds me of when I was in school and everyone was in groups, its pure childish antics.......like you have pointed out everything is about competitiveness and culture this and that. I have had more respect from construction staff on a building site than some of the so called professionals working in this industry, so to answer the OPs question, am I going to the xmas party?

Hell yes, to stick it up there arses, I wouldn't give them the satisfaction of not going:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

God no.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Spend time with colleagues and not be getting paid. No thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 16,411 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Think I'll go this year, get the dinner and a few free pints off them.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭branie2

When I was working, we didn't have Christmas parties, just Christmas meals for the company I was working with.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,297 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Cocktail, meal, and drinking. Although this is Canada, so most of the crowds "heavy drinking" would probably be classed as "tee teetotaler" in Ireland :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

I've never gone and don't plan on going mainly because most of the people I work with are so boring and unbearable

• Registered Users Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭branie2

When I was doing a course for a couple of years, our Christmas meals was given to us by our tutors

• Registered Users Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

What's that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

God no. It's far too expensive anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

I always enjoy going to our department Christmas parties. It usually starts off with a meal paid by the company in a hotel or restaurant, the drinks you can buy yourself there.

Then afterwards off to a craft beer pub, where our managers will give us free drink tokens. A bit of craic to be had there especially when people get tipsier. We get some finger food to keep us going as well.

As the night goes on people will either stay in the pub, go to a club or late bar, or go home. I usually end up in a club and come to regret it the following morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭Feisar

Definitely going.

Good feed and put up for the night in a nice hotel, partners also invited.

People I work with are sound, the owners are A1. It'll be a great night if last years was anything to go by.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

Was working for a large multinational with office in Dublin with around 40 employees last year.

Christmas party was organised by the social committee - we didn't know they had a budget at the time. Free meal, unlimited (we thought) drinks from a fairly limited bar. Ended up drinking double whiskeys and coke after the meal as they hadn't a great beer choice. After our 5th or 6th drink the barman declares that there's no more doubles/triples. Perplexed, us young naive drinkers started ordering 2 drinks each go to make up for this.

It was only afterwards that we learned that the social committee realised that they had quickly reached the tab they had paid and knew they'd need to stop the expensive orders. Tbf to them they increased it continually over the night, so everyone apart from them just assumed it was unlimited.

My nights out with this company (leaving dos, social events etc) have been by the far the messiest nights I've had. Always ended up in some seedy looking late bar. Would usually be outside my comfort zone but find it hard to say no to free drink. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Yes. I'll spend the first half of the night avoiding my managers and the second half of the night stalking them. Then the next six months avoiding eye contact with the last three people I spoke too before going home. I love Christmas.

I also do this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

I also do this.

We may work together. Don't look at me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

Eh mine is the same night as the Star Wars premiere .... so I know where I'll be ... and it won't be at a poxy false Christmas party ...

I've never been more embarrassed for a poster upon reading his post than I am for you right now ........... you really should get out more. :o

Paying for it, so might as well turn up. Small office, will be 5 of us there, but we're all very close anyway so will be like a meal with friends.

When I had a good social life used to leave them at it - 4 others all women - and regarded it as a waste of a wild night out as they'd be more...conservative. Alas, now baby landed in it's one of my only reasons to get out...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Don't often go but might go this year as I've skipped the last two. I like my colleagues a lot but as you get older, you get a bit more wary of getting drunk with workmates plus with kids and work, you don't get to see your friends as much so a work party in December is a bit of a waste of a weekend night you could meet up with friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭moonlighting

how do people figure out transport for thies events. cant drink and drive so i never bothered.

Taxi

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

I'm self employed so I guess I be having a Xmas party by myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I work often on the weekends so it depends if I am working the next day. Won't go if I am working the next day, won't go if the weather is bad or if it's not in a convenient location. So generally, unlikely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭moonlighting

Patww79 wrote: »

exactly my problem also the cost for a taxi for a single person out to the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

FTA69 wrote: »
    Yeah I don't get this hatred of coworkers, it seems to be more common amongst tension-ridden white collar office environments with a lot of competitiveness etc. When I worked on site or in a hotel we used to always go on the lash or for a game of football or something, same with my current job we'd often go for a drink or even an event if something was on. One lad I work with lives close to me and we'll often pop into each other's gaff on the way home for a brew.

There was always a lot more camaraderie in blue collar type jobs I found.

I worked on my tools for a few years, then in an IT department with a lot of shirt and tie people (myself included - I already had them, though :D ).

I really enjoyed both working environments. The lads on the tools had to organise their own Christmas Party and we usually hired a hotel room or upstairs in a pub and brought the girlfriends as well. We started paying into the fund from about September so it didn't break the bank in December.And we ALWAYS enjoyed ourselves, no killjoys, perhaps one or two of the older guys wouldn't go.
    In the office environment, it was your typical stressed out place, long hours with no o/t payments, always under the cosh. However, the department arranged Christmas lunch every year, which always went well. And everyone, lads and girls attended and went to the pub after. There was no nastiness or antagonism (except towards the management!). The stress and pressure actually served to make the groups more cohesive, common enemy and all that, I suppose. Even after I retired, they still email me and I go (but it s pay for yourself , these days).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭JimPa

So many people dread the thoughts of it!?

I know the few who won't turn up to ours and while they'd be very welcome, to be honest they won't be missed at all. I'm sure they'll sit at home and grumble. The vast majority of the office will show up and make a good time of it. All good, normal people. Mostly. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Brego888

Of course. Who else is gonna make an arse of themselves.