Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Tipp people might see this as sour grapes, but i wouldn't be surprised if they don't make it out of Munster next year. The same goes for us. Limerick and Clare will be eager to prove a point and Waterford have to get out of the group eventually. I'd take third place in the group next year right now if offered it.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

It's an absolute possibility. Like Clare this year as champs were knocked out. Cork if they let this final hit their confidence could find themselves out too. I'm expecting a Waterford revival but the big question for me is Clare. Will they take another year to recover.

As of now I'd go with Waterford, Tipp and Limerick qualifying but I'm not at all confident. It's a lottery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

The last few seconds of that drawn 2013 all Ireland final was the costliest in the history of Cork hurling. Not only did we fail to seal the deal, but it set the wheels in motion for this disastrous losing run in all Ireland finals. It would have been the poorest Cork all Ireland winning team in living memory, but feck it an all Ireland is an all Ireland at the end of the day.

The Australian rules football team Collingwood lost a shitload of grand finals in the 70's and 80's. They lost eight of them in a row before coming good in 1990. The Colliwobbles they called it well i think we can call what's happening here the Corkwobbles.🤣 We need to give more of that 2023 all Ireland winning u20 team a run next year the likes of Ben Cunningham, Will Buckley and Michael Mullins etc. Having a fit and raring to go Padraig Power will be a great boost as well. Hoggie should only be a sub if he's still around next year.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Well compare the build up in Kerry this week compared to cork last week's

It's chalk and cheese, Kerry lads are not running around roaring that the tradition of their 39 all Ireland's are going to be too much for Donegals 2, they are worried they might get caught on the day

That's what happened cork last week, if cork won Bryan Hayes gets hurler of the year, he played like a hurler under serious pressure last Sunday, in fact nearly every cork player did

The best thing for cork is to go into a game like this as under dogs or with no noise around the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭sasol

@Straight Talker My response was in the context of @MisterAnarchy asking why Cork are disliked so much.

My answer was that the dislike spawns from a tsunami of unwarranted arrogance. The local media and knowledgeable sports people like Nash, Hoggie and Seanie McGrath were blowing and boasting about how great ye are.

You know the phrase about self praise ? No other county engages in this. Cork supporters, fans and local media seem to be obsessed with telling the rest of the country that ye are brilliant, when ye are not.

I never claimed that ye don’t win because ye are too arrogant.

IMO the reason ye don’t win is because ye have very little in the stomach when it comes to a fight in the trenches, plus 3/4 players who are not of the quality required. Nothing to do with player arrogance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 treklane

I’m a limerick man and not trolling.congratulations to Tipperary I myself had it as a draw thought it would have been extremely tight with cork just getting over the line in extra time.

Would strongly agree with above comment I personally think it’s disgraceful.think off the pressure mothers and fathers went through financially to bring young kids to the games in limerick Dublin etc.the kids adore these players and win or lose would love to bring the hurls to the pairc for autographs and pictures.i understand the hurt that the squad is feeling but they have to own it.shows weakness and no class in my view.doesn’t paint a good picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,607 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Of the approx 584k people in Cork - how many is many?

Lads paid to write click bait pieces for papers etc , the fact you seemed to have read/listened to it all and are all worked up just shows it worked- but yes we are all arrogant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭deisedude

Speaking as a Waterford fan who attended the 2008 homecoming after the Kilkenny hammering ye were better off not having a homecoming. The players and management didn't want to be there, they were embarrassed and looking at their shoes. None of the fans wanted to be there too and attended out of a sense of loyalty. It was a very weird night, like going to a wake

limerick hurling went through some dire times in the 90s.beaten fairly in 2 finals but always showed resilience and respect for the supporters.dublin football team also had barren times but always manned up for homecoming.

Imagine a Kilkenny team doing this would never happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,787 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Will ye ever learn? What in gods name makes you think Cork have the beating of KK in AI final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭Seadin

Anytime something like that happens it backfires. Kerry five in a row t-shirts. Kilkenny five in a row t-shirts. Limerick five in a row t-shirts before they actually won the five in a row and now that clown with the tattoo comes back to bite every teams that tempts fate. That lad with the tatoo head was so swelled that he still doesnt care that he has the tattoo despite losing the game. Loves the attention. Fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭lukin

Niall Moran has been gloating about our defeat; https://www.rte.ie/sport/hurling/2025/0721/1524635-moran-cork-were-inhibited-by-fear-of-failure/

Why a Limerick man feels the need to comment on a Cork match I have no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,610 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

We have to take it unfortunately. Everyone is having a great laugh at Cork. The players need to remember these days and never let it happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,952 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

We have to accept as Cork supporters that we have been destroyed in 2 of the last 3 All Ireland finals.

Tbf in 2021 limerick wrestled us up. Yesterday was far worse as Tipp simply out hurled us without a dirty stroke by a very well drilled and organised team and super manager both on field and off it.

I had few friends saying it was a fluke. Really? The warning signs were there after Early Clare and Limerick games.

Until as supporters and a team we accept that we have got it badly wrong now time and again.

We have been second best far too much.

As Cork lads I respect everyone of you but some make far far too many excuses for defeats and shrug them off as if the turnaround is only around corner.

At moment we are failing to win a All Ireland as being one top 3 or 4 teams in country year on year within those 20 years. (Not every year of course but in least half those years of top my head.

Overall we still have very good record in Finals but losing 5 in a row and getting it so badly wrong time to admit we simply lost the battles and the war.

Excuses after Excuses. Not good enough. Christy Ring be turning on his grave with way we are facing these challenges.

We got to face it head on that we are mentally weak. Lost far far far too many battles that has led to year on year disappointment.

We simply have start facing up to reality or we be another 20+ years without winning one

I could write a lot more but it's no more time for excuses. We need face reality or we get some results over and over.

Same with footballers. " oh we gave Kerry good game". Ya we lost again. Yippee.

Do you think Roy Keane, Sonia O Sullivan, Paul O Donovan, Chrisy Rings and so many super sports people we produce would be accepting this rubbish? We need grow pair balls.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭AlanWatts

Some players left us down on the day but the team was set up to fail by the complete arrogance of the management for the second year in a row. Limerick adjusted constantly, their achievements looks even more impressive now on and off pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

No doubt Cork have had a great team but when is the last time an All Ireland was won without an All Time Great on the team. McGrath/Maher? , Kelly , Gillane, Lynch , TJ , Paidi , the great KK team etc .

Just to lighten the mood a bit: Cork 5 year football plan failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cork2021

there’s plenty of players around that should be given a shot! You’ve Brian O Sullivan Colin & Alan Walsh from Kanturk that 100% should be given a go! The Kanturk Blackrock game next week will be a cracker! At least we’ve that back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

If Tipp hadn't missed so much in the first half, then your comments would not be relevant.

The reality is that Tipp played as good as Cork in the first half from general play, but missed loads. The half-time scoreline flattered Cork big time. And Tipp walloped Cork in the second half. Pointing out a couple of shots that came of the post is not relevant at all. Wouldn't have made a bit of difference. That's all theoretical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

Ah now father , " a Cork match" you dont think that's over simplifying it a bit? It was an All Ireland Final, also id probably describe it as a Tipp match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭lukin

I guarantee you that it was only because Cork were playing (and beaten) that he commented on it at all. If we had won or not been in the final he wouldn't talk about it all. Ever since we ended their five-in-a-row bid they have been obsessed with us. Great team and I take nothing away from them but Cork are none of their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

can you explain how the cork management were arrogant and how they set team up to fail…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

Ah maybe you are right, there'll always be knife diggers, Cork should try use it as fuel.

It has happened most of the players not all of them three times now since 2021 in an All Ireland final and they have developed no hunger to go and win the bloody thing. We deserve to be called bottlers and chokers and will carry that tag going forward until we actually turn up for an All Ireland final and win it. We probably won't get out of Munster next year we have to go to Walsh Park and Thurles. They are finished this team. They are now failures let's call them that because that's what they are and no other deflections will hide that fact. Munster and League doesn't do it for me without the big prize. I would clear most of the failures out and start again. Cody would do that if in charge. No point doing the same thing and expecting different results. Another rebuilding process that won't guarantee us anything going forward but feck it, it's horrible. The wait goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I had predicted around 2020 that we would have an All Ireland by 2025…unfortunately we didn't get overt the line but I'm still fairly certain we will win by the end of the decade or at least before 2035…we just need to get more dog in this team like Cork teams had in their pomp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Old_-_School

Seen a lot of people saying Mayo didn't cancel a homecoming- actually they did in 2006.