Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Seadin

Thats a commom trend with all Cork intercounty teams playing football at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Working in kerry and they tell me that's a poor enough Kerry side.

Sure look what happened last year when they got beat to Sligo in semi.

Was not a player who looked any bit decent. Captain was ok but nothing special there.

We be having same argument in 10 years and 20 years time you can lock that in.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

We have 4 All Irelands in 80 years and it seems Cork people are happy enough with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭zetecescort

1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
    2. Ger Mellerick (Fr O’Neills)
    3. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarrs)
    4. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra) Captain
    5. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
    6. Ciaran Joyce (Castlemartyr)
    7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)
    8. Tommy O’Connell (Midleton)
    9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
    10. Shane Barrett (Blarney)
    11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
    12. Seamus Harnedy (St Itas)
    13. Alan Connolly (Blackrock)
    14. Sean Twomey (Courcey Rovers)
    15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
    16. Brion Saunderson (Midleton)
    17. Eoin Downey (Glen Rovers)
    18. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons)
    19. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
    20. Ethan Twomey (St Finbarrs)
    21. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
    22. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own)
    23. Brian Hayes (St Finbarrs)
    24. Brian Roche (Bride Rovers)
    25. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields)
    26. Eoin Carey (Kilworth)

(1) Christopher Kelly (Eire Og)
    (2) Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
    (3) Daniel O’Mahony (Knocknagree)
    (4) Maurice Shanley (Clonakilty)
    (5) Luke Fahy (Ballincollig)
    (6) Tommy Walsh (Kanturk)
    (7) Matty Taylor (Mallow)
    (8) Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)
    (9) Colm O’Callaghan (Eire Og)
    (10) Paul Walsh (Kanturk)
    (11) Sean Powter (Douglas)
    (12) Brian O’Driscoll (Carrigaline)
    (13) Chris Og Jones (Iveleary)
    (14) Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers)
    (15) Brian Hurley (Castlehaven) Captain
    (16) Micheal Aodh Martin (Nemo Rangers)
    (17) Sean Meehan (Kiskeam)
    (18) Darragh Cashman (Millstreet)
    (19) Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty)
    (20) Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
    (21) David Buckley (Newcestown)
    (22) Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree)
    (23) John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)

(24) Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)

(25) Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers)

(26) Steven Sherlock (St Finbarrs)

Extra Panel Members;Fionn Herlihy (Dohenys), Cathal Maguire (Castlehaven), Damien Gore (Kilmacabea), Neil Lordan (Ballinora), Patrick Doyle (Knocknagree), Rory Maguire (Castlehaven), Jacob O’Driscoll (Valley Rovers), Killian O’Hanlon (Killshannig), Jack Cahalane (Castlehaven), Cathail O’Mahony (Mitchelstown)

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Looking forward going to my first championship match in Wa'fud tomorrow morning - hopefully I won't be coming back up the road depressed. Hope as many of ye make it as possible - up the **** Rebels 🔴⚪ bring the noise biys

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,353 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

First time going there aswell, car full and rairing to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,407 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Looking forward to both games today and tomorrow.

Today we obviously go more in hope as Killarney a tough place to go and get a win. Realistically if we can keep it tight until near the end and not lose by more than 6, I think we will be doing well. Getting hammered and it feels like we are back to square one again. We are very inconsistent so its hard to know what will happen.

For tomorrow we are on the other side almost where I expect us to win. Waterford have a good team picked and are at home but they have one big problem. Its name is Davy. His weird gameplan will either work really well or fail miserably. Even if it works well, I think we will have more than enough to counteract it near the end. Having Connolly and Coleman back this year is like having 2 new players who you know are good.

Interesting to read that Pat Ryan brought in Ian Jones as S&C coach straight away after being knocked out last year and he has earmarked goals this year. Feels like he learned a lot from last year as he said he got it wrong last year before the Tipp game. They trained rather than having a break which might have been better. All lessons learned that should help things this year.

The home games are key for all counties and thats why I feel the pressure is on Waterford and Davy. If we can get a good start, they will get disheartened with Davy and his antics and then the home advantage becomes a burden. If they start fine, it will still be there if we get on top later. Our bench has some great options and this is where the game will be won for us. I don't think Waterford will be able to keep us out and if we get a few goals early they are in big trouble.

If you have not guessed by now, I don't think much of Davy and his tactics. Waterford should have got rid of him already but as was seen last year, he is likely to win one game so we have to make sure it is not us! Waterford have to be respected though as they have very good players.

If we can get this win on the board it will set us up nicely for the home games. Once we don't gift them opportunities and easy scores that will give them confidence, we will be ok. I hope to see us pulling away near the end and this is what I see happening.

Great to have Championship back on although don't get me started about GAAGO as that really annoys me!!

Another round of Celtic Challenge Hurling games today

Cork City 1-16 Wexford 1-12

Cork North 3.17 Derry 1.16

Cork West 1-11 Limerick 1-15

Haven't got the Cork East result yet

I saw a Ladies Football Senior B result which seems very odd

Cork 6-11 Kerry 0-1

What are the odds of that score in the mens game today? 😂

Cork 1-7 Kerry 0-9 HT. Started really well but Ķerry came into the game as it went on

Ladies football leading Waterford 1-5 to 03 at HT

Half Time
    Kerry: 0-9(9)
    Cork: 1-7(10)

Good first 20 mins from Cork but just scored one point after the 18th min. We looked ragged near the end of the half so now we can regroup. Great to be actually in the game but Kerry have fluffed a lot of chances. Ref also seems to give them a lot of 50-50s which doesnt help.

We look great running at them but old habits crept in near the end of that half. We had the ball but literally stopped and were looking around. Kerry got the ball and within 2 kicks Clifford was putting it over the bar.

If we can keep the tempo up we might have a chance but I'd expect Kerry to come out and pull away handily

Ladies football win 1-10 to 0-11

• Registered Users Posts: 39,442 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Kerry 0-15 Cork 1-10

• Registered Users Posts: 39,442 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Kerry 0-15 Cork 1-11 59 minutes gone.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,353 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

A much better performance and much closer than a lot of folk thought it would be.

Kerry 0-18 v Cork 1-12

Second half went as expected really. We still don't have the squad depth to get over the line against Kerry. We literally ran out of steam.

In saying that the Ref in particular was very poor giving Kerry a good few frees that were just collisions. One where Clifford ran into a Cork defender and somehow got a free was the pick of them. You could actually argue he was the difference as we only lost by 3. He gave every 50-50 to Kerry. The free count was 17 to 9 in Kerrys favour

You would have to say we kept it within 6 points as I hoped so that was a good thing. It felt like that game will bring us on further as we know whats needed. Just a bit more squad depth of quality and we are nearly there.

All in all, not too bad and at least we gave them a good game and had a go. Encouraging signs at least.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Good effort in fairness. Today was another reminder though that we need to get back up to division one next year.

Hopefully we'll do well in the all Ireland group stages now.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

These moral victories are no good lads. Fcuk that. How many times have we done this in the past v Kerry we can get so close but yet so far. Look at it for example Cork had a top team from 1989-92 and yet a poor Kerry team of 1991 and 1992 beat us. No excuses we aren't good enough and still continue to be the bridesmaids v Kerry.

The very vast majority of counties in Ireland prove to be beneath Kerry ffs.

That's why we don't win, because some people are happy in Cork to be within 3 points of Kerry. Cork have plenty of clubs and plenty of players more so than other counties. We should be beating Kerry more regularly with our player pool. The moral victories attitude needs to go, it's useless and Cork football will never progress if we don't ask the questions why we came up short against Kerry last two years.

We came up short because Kerry are better - plain and simple. You come across as a person who thinks Cork have a divine right to beat Kerry because we have more clubs and players. Historically, that has proven to have nothing to with it, but you clearly can't see that.

Kilkenny have around a dozen Senior hurling clubs - Cork should hammer the shite out of them as per your reckoning.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

Sorry but what are you talking about? You act as if someone isn't doing something they should be doing, all the time. Like someone didn't tell the lads to win the match. What questions need to be asked? We got hammered before and now we are competitive. The next step is to get over the line. Its about incremental steps to get there not a magic bullet.

No doubt you have the post ready for the hurlers when they get beaten too. This wailing as if someone isn't doing something is pathetic. You remind me of a guy I used to know, who would tell me I was useless all the time and then when I won something, was telling people that he always believed in me! There is one of these fellas everywhere, first to say things are crap and then first to claim credit as if they did something.

I actually said this to myself after the game. When will Seadin post his tantrum? Its about as regular as clockwork. Same old whinging as if people are happy to lose and you are the only one upset by it. You brought up teams from 1989 ffs Thats a lifetime ago. It is about the here and now.

Anyway I am looking forward to the hurling tomorrow as watching the football is nowhere near as good!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

you cant just click your fingers and go from mid table division 2 to beating kerry , even the 2010 era team couldnt win in Killarney , and its the best part of 30 years since ye won up there , id say ye have only won up there 7 or 8 times in yer history , in other word it takes a team to beat them on their home patch a really serious team , today was a really good effort and should be seen as a huge positive

• Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Sure if it was just about population areas of Dublin would be beating the rest of the counties...lack of hurling in Kerry helps to focus on football but it's alot more complex,, Kerry have a few exceptional players at the moment but that seems to be the norm, there's no simple answers,a big county creates problems, players from the west have to have a serious commitment to be involved ,the pool of players with higher abilities is narrowed by sport preference and location,funds, infrastructure etc.the list goes on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

We were destroyed in Killarney three years ago ffs. We pushed Kerry all the way both last year and this year.

All Irelands aren't won at the click of your fingers. It takes many years of planning and gradual improvement and a bit of luck as well!

We don't have an entitlement to anything success has to be earned at the end of the day.

This team is making great progress under John Cleary. Bring on the all Ireland group stages now.

The hurlers game against Waterford could be a banana skin for us if the heads aren't right. I'm expecting a tough game from Waterford but hopefully we'll have too much firepower for them.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

It's a mental block too Shamo, they can't get over the line because it's the green and gold mentality. They certainly were good enough for large stages today and then they throw it away in the last 10 mins of the game when it REALLY matters. I look at Kerry's 1991 team that beat Corks best team ever and that Kerry team were bang average back then but they turned up and beat Cork on the day.

I'm trying to say it without you getting defensive is we have to stop these moral victories talk and start beating Kerry especially if they can stay with them for 60-65 mins.

If we can stay that long with them, then why can't we find what's needed to win? That's more important than being competitive.

Post edited by Seadin on

ok if you are happy for Cork to be competitive and still lose to Kerry each time EVERY YEAR, I rest my case. If that's what Cork GAA fans are happy to accept fair enough, we have lowered our standards. And as for the hurlers, I couldn't care less anymore, they play well great, if they are poor and disappointing so be it. 2005 is ages ago too for your knowledge. That's rich saying I'm whinging and going on tantrums, you are actually one of the biggest whingers on here I must say and you can't see any negatives regarding Cork GAA. A typical Cork "yes" man who is oblivious to the issues regarding Cork GAA teams.

Post edited by Seadin on

Last year it was seen as a positive too against Kerry and then they get beaten out the door by Derry. It's no good. Terrible division 2 league performance finishing 4th. No proper ambitions of trying to get out and up to division 1. Losing to Louth and Cavan on the way who are no where near Kerry's standard.

I agree with you but beating Kerry and winning a Munster title might be a good start for this team.

As for the hurlers Im not expecting any miracles so will just watch and support them and hope for the best. Waterford will be difficult tomorrow to beat no doubt.