Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭The White Feather

You can see O'Connor was very rusty throughout. Def a second yellow card.

Should have been about 3 frees for Cork in this passage at the 59th min as I type and the ref somehow gives a free out for Limerick!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,512 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Clear free in and the ref gives a free

e out - incredibly poor decision.

But Cunningham wallops over a great point to take the lead with 3 mins injury time left. The 14 men doing well v 16.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,512 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Get the fúck in !!!!

Great comeback by Cork and delighted we came away with a win.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Not their greatest display but they have incredible heart and guts.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭eigrod

A ballsy 2nd half by Cork. Dug in and got some great scores from play. Well done all.

This team is special alright. Really got going in the second half. A sign of a great team when you barely even notice a man down.

Cunningham is really good when it comes to the dying minutes or when you need an important point or goal. He can only get better. Great second half when English could have been sent off in the first. He is a very good player too for Limerick though.

Cork manager clearly annoyed at the situation with Eoin Downey. Rightly so, We all know that the rule is silly

Ballsy is right, not something you can always say of Cork teams but I do think this team has something special about them. Considering Limerick were ahead and had to win, several soft frees for Limerick - very hard fought ones for Cork, down to 14 - correctly - they upped their performance to knock Limerick out away from home.

A very enjoyable win.

not sure how useful it is long term though. sub keeper presumably sub to his brother for club as well, rarely getting game time at either level.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

• Registered Users Posts: 611 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Ger plays outfield with his club, which is common enough with intercounty goalies.

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Well said Ben. He's got the hunger and bulling for the Red jersey which you love to see. I can still remember in my minds eye him putting the insurance point over against Clare in '99 in Thurles, a fcking hero. If someone has the Ben Cunningham interview link please post it.

We're on the way back lads, make no bones about it.

Camogie playing Waterford at 1:30 tomorrow before the hurling

• Registered Users Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Between this and the defeat for their senior team, are cracks beginning to appear in the Limerick hurling empire i wonder? Limerick are a great team for sure, but they'll fall back into the pack eventually. We've had nearly twenty years worth of heartbreak and disappointment, but we'll have Liam McCarthy back on Leeside before 2030 comes around imo. Form is temporary but class is permanent, our knockers would do well to remember that. Up The Rebels.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

And Waterford have yet to even make it out of the group stage in Munster. It'll be a close one, but hopefully Davy Fitz will be a quiet man this evening! Let's send this crowd back over the Youghal bridge, with their tails tucked firmly between their legs!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,878 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

tis not long ago ye were looking for him ,but .....ye can have him for as long as ye like 😂

I have family from Waterford. I wouldn't begrudge the Deise a long awaited all Ireland, but i just don't think Davy is the man to bring them back to the promised land.

hes too structured as a coach , gets alot of things right dont get me wrong , but i doubt we would have beaten ye in the replay in 2013 but for paul kinnerek , once he left our set up the standards dropped dramatically, when he came back we won the league in 2016

i feel fitz is a good coach but is dining of 2013 a little too much ,

waterford have a fine team but looking at how onsided the club championship is with ballygunner wining every division last year in championship its probably not good for the game down there, that and the mass exodes to austrailia its tough going for them

Suncream - check.

Sunglasses - check.

C'Mon The Rebels !!

Phenomenal performance! Roche was immense as well as a lot of the others.

I did kind of think this would happen and not just saying it as we won well. With Tadhg De Burca out, I was almost certain our forwards would do well. He is that great a player and that valuable to the Waterford team. But I was reluctant to say it out as you never know what will happen on the day. A word on Waterford, much as I love to win, they were very poor. I would blame Davy as he almost out tactics himself with gameplans that the players end up hindered. Outside of Cork, I would love to see them win the All Ireland.

The win sets us up nicely for Tipp next week. Lot of scorers and great performances throughout. We still have areas we can improve in so this team has even more potential. A lot of our young guns look very hungry and great to see.

In all the excitement of the Hurlers win, I just saw that in the football, Cork and Kildare confirmed in Sam Maguire group stages, after Armagh's Ulster semi-final win over Down.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Seadin

We must beat Tipp next weekend. Good win today but I think Waterford weren't up for it for some strange reason. They are a good team but just didn't get going at all today. If Cork beat Tipp next weekend we should be ok as one of the teams to come out of Munster.

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Is the final table decided on pts difference or head to head if teams are level?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,432 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

If it’s just two teams tied, it’s H2H.. if more than 2 teams tied, then score difference for all

• Registered Users Posts: 34,062 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Some performance today. Hope after that

Great win that was in fairness. We have the old enemy Tipp coming to Cork next Saturday evening and a win there, will put us in a great position ahead of difficult trips to play Clare in Ennis and Limerick in Limerick. I'm still of the opinion that on our day we can beat anyone. I was confident of a Cork win, but i honestly didn't expect it to be this easy.

It looks like Waterfords dismal record in the Munster round robin structure is set to continue, but we did make it through to the all Ireland series last year, after losing our two opening games so you never know. A great win and a great performance Corcaigh Abu Rebels Abu!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭eigrod

The game time O’ Flynn, Fitzgibbon, Millerick and Kingston got today after their injuries should really stand to Cork over the coming weeks. Squad looking strong now.

your after putting yourselves in a great position with one game +9 , if we do beat Waterford we will have to put 13 or 14 past them just to level that ,

cork were good today but the goal chances cant happen as easily next week , the likes of jake morriss and john mcgrath might not be as forgivable , still an impressive opening and following up on a really good league

Lose to Tipp and we're then facing difficult trips to Ennis and Limerick, we need to beat Tipp next saturday imo. Waterford made a massive mistake reappointing Davy Fitz as manager imo.

i also see the great stephen hill has his new advert what a man,

back in 2019 himself his brother his son and your man with the glasses , whos a scream altogether , were in front of me in the terrace , one shot as hes knowen down in the gurranabraher area of north inner city cork with his traditional umbrella drowned what clare supporters around him by spinning it around in the rain for each cork score

that was of course before a cloud bust over cusack park and the pace was flooded , with grinded teeth we were asked " what do you clare lads think of my umbrella now" ect....

he may be still finding feathers at home from a promotional photo gone wrong but he is some craic and if young aaron keeps going he will be in the crucible before long

i reckon stephan is the white feather on this page 🤣