Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now Ye're Talking - to an ex-prisoner

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Noble Korhedron

If I can ask something slightly OT, why's this whole series of 'Now You're Talkin' referred to as 'AMA'? What does the 'AMA' part mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

If I can ask something slightly OT, why's this whole series of 'Now You're Talkin' referred to as 'AMA'? What does the 'AMA' part mean?

Ask Me Anything

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Noble Korhedron

Lisha wrote: »
    Ask Me Anything
    Of course; stupid of me not to realise.

Back on-topic; Q. for GypsyByName. Are certain prisons used for certain prisoners? I remember reading Paul William's "Evil Empire", and Brian Meehan was berating some random girlfriend of one of Gilligan's drug gang, that Arbour Hill was for "rapists and *swearword* rats". This was after Charlie Bowden was lifted, due to the Gardaí interrogating Russell Warren.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bob50

Hi Gypsybyname

Very enjoyabale AMA

Could i ask you how do prisoners that have health problems i.e Asthma diabetes Heart touble etc cope ? is there a chemist where they can get there regular precriptions and see a doc Also what happens if a prisoner gets real sick is there someone to call for medical help

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,937 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

When your sentence was read out, were you surprised by how short it was, or horrified by how long it was? Were you mentally prepared for a prison sentence or was there a small hope you clung to?

I was watching a documentary before on prison life, could have been UK based. And one of the guys said that when he arrived in prison first the hardest thing to get used to was the door closing behind you in the cell (obviously). But he said after his release, the strangest thing was getting used to opening a door for himself again. Are there moments when you're doing something relatively mundane that you think...I can't believe I'm doing this again?!

When you were being released did you have any mates in there that you felt bad about leaving behind?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭Nokia6230i

While I understand this is an AMA and it will eventually, run its course I wonder would it be an option, after OP finishes up this was left open, and moderated (so it doesn't turn into a right wing, judgmental as **** cesspit like it would in AH or on any number of print & online medias social media pages & sites....here's looking at TJ & TL in particular; the latter unsurprising obviously).

Because there's a lot to be learnt and gained from reading this and asking ex-prisoners questions; incl. the OP we've at least two on here also who've commented and their insight publicly and privately is invaluable.

As someone who felt on verge of going to prison I was absolutely bricking it; never want to see inside of a Gda. cell or the holding cell in a courthouse again.

Too many limitations and worries in both; if I'd been in the court one much longer I'd've been done for assault on the guy I was sharing it with; I don't need to hear your life story pal, not ten times anyway.

Memo to others; bring a book or a newspaper; you'll need the latter to wipe if call of nature arrives anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

Firstly, fair play to the op in terms of openness and you seem to be a lovely guy.

Is there anything that was a culture shock to you upon being released? Substantial changes etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Best AMA so far, fair play to you for doing it.

Was there any point since your release that you were half-tempted to fall back on your old line of work or was that even an option? Do you ever socialise with your "colleagues" from the old days?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Did you ever have a Rita Hayworth poster on your wall?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Have you seen any of the online documentaries about Halden Prison in Norway? Do you think that a similarly progressive system could work in Ireland?

Is there any truth in the advice that you often see thrown out on tv shows and movies that when you are sent to prison you don't look for trouble but if trouble finds you, you have to strike hard to get respect. Or else punch someone pretty early on to prove you aren't to be ****ed with?

I'd imagine the former is fairly good advice but the latter is a bit foolish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 RebelHeart1981

Hey Guys,

I have no problem continuing this on Monday if thats ok with you lot! I might even have a question for you guys too. Ive really enjoyed this so far so I dont see a reason not to continue it for a bit next week. Once the questions dont start getting repetitive.

This is just me throwing something out there........i was asked if I found it hard building relationships....Id like to ask the ladies on here if before reading this, would they ever consider a relationship with someone who was in prison and has there opinion changed during the course of this AMA. It is not me seeking a relationship at all, im just curious.

Asking for a friend :)

I have known a good few who were in prison. I dated a few...one who was a heroin addict,,,never again. Others were family members because of drink and the violence that entails. I still have love for men I know who went to jail so I would not judge. it all depends on circumstances. Plus its one thing seeing it written down in black and white....its another seeing it from someone you know and love. Its complicated for sure.

Just to add,,,Fair play to you doing this AMA, It's been the best AMA of all for me and I have read them all. I have someone in my life who has done a lot of time in jail . Its hard to escape a certain lifestyle even though they would like to. You start out young and oblivious, then age and realise the futility of it all but can you escape. Unless you are prepared to leave all and everything and everyone you know sometimes , it just isn't that easy.

I wish you well and I would not hold one stupid mistake again you. Good luck in the future, Stay on the right path.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I'm in a long term relationship now but if I wasn't I wouldn't let a prospective partner serving time in prison get in the way of a future relationship. As long as they'd learned from their mistakes I'd continue with a relationship with them. No one is perfect. We all have our flaws so why should any of us judge people on their past? I wouldn't care what people thought of my partner if he served time in prison. Why should I?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,321 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

As a former prisoner, are there things you can't do, that other people would take for granted. Travel to the US and jobs that need Garda clearance come to mind. Anything else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Is there any prison lingo that is unique ?

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭GypsyByName

Posy wrote: »
    There are a lot of things that turn me off a fella- but I definitely wouldn't run a mile straight away if they mentioned prison (again, depending on the crime... and the man!)
    So long as he likes animals and Christmas, I can overlook what's happened in the past! Sure we all have one!

Please tell me you were allowed to get dressed before they carted you off!!

What's the recreation yard like? Is it just a concrete yard?
    Were there any 'outdoor' activities available, like gardening, or would that really just be an open prison thing? :o

Got dressed at gunpoint!
    Just a concrete yard that we walked round in a clockwise direction! noone walks the other way, always amused me that!

Interesting read fair play!

Thanks Yumzer!
    Mark25 wrote: »
    Still finding this an amazing read and see so many things the same with my own time inside. Most realistic and honest discussion about prison in Ireland I ever seen.

I've had the same experience with dating too. Prison wouldn't be something I'd bring up straight away but like the OP I found it to be a dealbraker. i was getting pretty serious with one girl not so long ago and wanted to come clean but put it off but she found out before I got to tell her myself. I'd cover my tracks by saying I was in Australia for a while but that only got me so far. That really destroyed things for us and she said it was more about not being honest with her rather than prison but I don't think that was the case. She was a bit younger than me and was close to her family so I can't imagine they would have been thrilled to see their princess dating an ex prisoner even if she could get over it. And also I was in for a "violent" crime so that is different to the OP. There were others I dated who had a problem with it - maybe not directly break up over it but I knew it was an issue. There were a few though who seemed to find it exciting - maybe like dating a "bad boy" but nothing serious became of those.

OP did you move away from where you were living after getting out? I went back home after getting out but felt a bit paranoid that people who knew me were judging me - probably a bit paranoid but that was the way I felt. Partly because of that I decide to move to the country and also to go back to college, It was like trying to make a fresh start and getting away from things and people I wanted to avoid.

You seem to say that your son didn't know you were in prison - how did that work out? Because of things with my ex he knew and he came to visit me and that was so tough for me. he was young but as a Dad I felt like I had let him down big time and he found it hard to understand. We agreed that it was better ge didn't see me in there after a while. I know some other lads had different stories for their kids like having to go away or being in the Army but wondwe how you dealt with that?

Memories of the Christmas morning fry! I was in over 2 Chritmases - first one was hard and you are thinking so much about what you are missing at home (esp my son)and imagining people having a great time when you are stuck in a cell. I got TR for the second Christmas so got a few days at home and away from prison. It was great but so hard to go back when it was over. When you were out some weekends coming up to release did you find it hard going back or were you counting down to getting out and just went along with it?

It was good of the prison officer to post and what he said. I think people would be surprised that alot of prisoners "get on" with the officers and you can actually end up having a decent chat with them. I found that most were sound with you as long as you were sound with them as long as you weren't giving trouble. They do have a tough job I realise that and they don't want any more trouble either. It can be sort of like home for them too. Obviously you don't get too friendly but it's no harm having somebody to support you if you are looking for a job/move or to get something done.

When I was in Wheatfield I came across an officer who I had been in school with and lived in the same estate as kids. I hadn't seen him for a while but knew him straight away. It just goes to show that you never know how life is going to turn out and what happens because of the things we do. Never would have expected to meet him again in prison although he was an officer and I was a prisoner. Anything similar happen to you?

Anyway good luck with answering all the questions. It is a great read and I think for anybody reading this thread will have a different view of prisoners and prison and that is a good thing you are doing.

How it was kept from my eldest son is worthy of a whole thread all by itself !! I only found out I was a father while I was in prison! He was almost 7 then. (dont feel like getting into this in fairness)

I knew a few of the officers in Mountjoy before i was in there.
    Of course; stupid of me not to realise.

Back on-topic; Q. for GypsyByName. Are certain prisons used for certain prisoners? I remember reading Paul William's "Evil Empire", and Brian Meehan was berating some random girlfriend of one of Gilligan's drug gang, that Arbour Hill was for "rapists and *swearword* rats". This was after Charlie Bowden was lifted, due to the Gardaí interrogating Russell Warren.

Arbour Hill is for sex offenders, Portlaoise has a wing for republicans etc.
    bob50 wrote: »
    Hi Gypsybyname

Very enjoyabale AMA

Could i ask you how do prisoners that have health problems i.e Asthma diabetes Heart touble etc cope ? is there a chemist where they can get there regular precriptions and see a doc Also what happens if a prisoner gets real sick is there someone to call for medical help

There is always a medic of some sort around, medical issues are all dealt with properly. there is no chemist its not a bloody village :) You que up each morning and evening for your meds if you need them, they are prescribed by the doctor.
    When your sentence was read out, were you surprised by how short it was, or horrified by how long it was? Were you mentally prepared for a prison sentence or was there a small hope you clung to?

I was watching a documentary before on prison life, could have been UK based. And one of the guys said that when he arrived in prison first the hardest thing to get used to was the door closing behind you in the cell (obviously). But he said after his release, the strangest thing was getting used to opening a door for himself again. Are there moments when you're doing something relatively mundane that you think...I can't believe I'm doing this again?!

When you were being released did you have any mates in there that you felt bad about leaving behind?

When i got out I still used to hide my phone at night time when I was going to bed as mad as it sounds! Not as well as I hid it in prison but just under my pillow or in a drawer. I couldnt have it on view or I couldnt sleep!
    pitifulgod wrote: »
    Firstly, fair play to the op in terms of openness and you seem to be a lovely guy.

Is there anything that was a culture shock to you upon being released? Substantial changes etc.

Not really to be honest, I found crossing the road really strange at first. Getting served in shops was strange because I was really paranoid, I thought everyone knew I was just out of prison!
    jooksavage wrote: »
    Best AMA so far, fair play to you for doing it.

Was there any point since your release that you were half-tempted to fall back on your old line of work or was that even an option? Do you ever socialise with your "colleagues" from the old days?

No And No!
    vicwatson wrote: »
    Did you ever have a Rita Hayworth poster on your wall?

Nah, had the entire contents of Zoo magazine all over the ceiling tho!
    sunbeam wrote: »
    Have you seen any of the online documentaries about Halden Prison in Norway? Do you think that a similarly progressive system could work in Ireland?

It might work but..........It would have to be progressive and start with juvenile prisons I think. They could not walk into Mountjoy and adapt that approach over night!
    Is there any truth in the advice that you often see thrown out on tv shows and movies that when you are sent to prison you don't look for trouble but if trouble finds you, you have to strike hard to get respect. Or else punch someone pretty early on to prove you aren't to be ****ed with?

I'd imagine the former is fairly good advice but the latter is a bit foolish?

The big fella more than likely has more pals than you! Or little minions who want to gain his respect so its not the best advice!
    I have known a good few who were in prison. I dated a few...one who was a heroin addict,,,never again. Others were family members because of drink and the violence that entails. I still have love for men I know who went to jail so I would not judge. it all depends on circumstances. Plus its one thing seeing it written down in black and white....its another seeing it from someone you know and love. Its complicated for sure.

Just to add,,,Fair play to you doing this AMA, It's been the best AMA of all for me and I have read them all. I have someone in my life who has done a lot of time in jail . Its hard to escape a certain lifestyle even though they would like to. You start out young and oblivious, then age and realise the futility of it all but can you escape. Unless you are prepared to leave all and everything and everyone you know sometimes , it just isn't that easy.

I wish you well and I would not hold one stupid mistake again you. Good luck in the future, Stay on the right path.

Thank you!
    As a former prisoner, are there things you can't do, that other people would take for granted. Travel to the US and jobs that need Garda clearance come to mind. Anything else?

Australia and America but Im not entirely sure how stringent they are ! Ive known cases of people with similar circumstances to me having no trouble getting stateside or to Australia.
    Jobs OXO wrote: »
    Is there any prison lingo that is unique ?
    Cigarettes are called "straights"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

When i got out I still used to hide my phone at night time when I was going to bed as mad as it sounds! Not as well as I hid it in prison but just under my pillow or in a drawer. I couldnt have it on view or I couldnt sleep!

Where did you hide it in prison?

gramar wrote: »
    Where did you hide it in prison?

Bound to be prison officers reading this so i wont divulge, but it was not my prison wallet!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Bound to be prison officers reading this so i wont divulge, but it was not my prison wallet!

No stitches for this lad!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭bren2001

Did someone show you how to hide it or did you just figure it out? Were you ever caught with something in prison? How often was your room checked?

bren2001 wrote: »
    Did someone show you how to hide it or did you just figure it out? Were you ever caught with something in prison? How often was your room checked?

I had to get creative, searches are done randomly! Unless they suspect you have something you shouldnt! I did but they didnt suspect, or maybe they did and let it slide because I didnt give them any hassle! But you still have to be on your guard, there will always be a prison officer who wants to be a hero! I was caught with a phone in an open prison, just because I was lazy about it, it got taken off me but no punishment really. First Strike I guess. I was lucky!!

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭Flibble

Did letter writing become a big part of your life in there?

What stage during your 39 months did the time really start to drag for you? Was any time of year worse or did it all blend into one?

Flibble wrote: »
    Did letter writing become a big part of your life in there?

What stage during your 39 months did the time really start to drag for you? Was any time of year worse or did it all blend into one?

Letters were a big part at first, i wrote one a night mainly to pass time as much as anything, its actually quite therapeutic writing letters.

The last few months was when the time seemed to stand still. You know your nearly home but not there yet. You start to make plans and dream a bit. I never envisaged how difficult it would be, i thought life would be rosy but it was far from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jooksavage

How did you find the experience of being on trial - in front of a judge etc? Obviously you're very candid and up front about your crime, and more to power to you, but did you ever feel like you were getting excessivly harsh or unfair treatment?

jooksavage wrote: »
    How did you find the experience of being on trial - in front of a judge etc? Obviously you're very candid and up front about your crime, and more to power to you, but did you ever feel like you were getting excessivly harsh or unfair treatment?

No I didnt, I was not on trial because I went guilty straight away, I did what I did and put my hand out to be slapped, it was just a case of how hard the slap would be and coming to terms with the sting so to speak. I dont think I was unfairly sentenced or leniently sentenced really.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

What phone did you have? How did you charge it without getting caught?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Was there LGBT prisoners/staff, if a prisoner/staff member was openly gay did that make things more difficult for them? did people seem sort of "awkward" or "uncomfortable" around them???

Was there any dirty inmates? I mean that in the literal sense like inmates who never washed or changed?

tomofson wrote: »
    Was there LGBT prisoners/staff, if a prisoner/staff member was openly gay did that make things more difficult for them? did people seem sort of "awkward" or "uncomfortable" around them???

Was there any dirty inmates? I mean that in the literal sense like inmates who never washed or changed?
    Dont think there was any in Mountjoy put there was one in Loughan House!!

Actually a funny story about him....there was a band that played once a month in Loughan House, they were set up in prison. I remember saying to an officer one day while we were setting up the hall that it would be great if he could get a couple of trays of beer for us...totally in jest.
    The lad who was gay just stopped in his tracks and looked at the officer and said " Can ya get me West Coast Cooler!"

He got no bother...He was quiet enough really.
    What phone did you have? How did you charge it without getting caught?

USB PORT on telly or Playstation!
    Just a basic enough little phone, no internet or anything!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Dont think there was any in Mountjoy put there was one in Loughan House!!

Actually a funny story about him....there was a band that played once a month in Loughan House, they were set up in prison. I remember saying to an officer one day while we were setting up the hall that it would be great if he could get a couple of trays of beer for us...totally in jest.
    The lad who was gay just stopped in his tracks and looked at the officer and said " Can ya get me West Coast Cooler!"

He got no bother...He was quiet enough really.

USB PORT on telly or Playstation!
    Just a basic enough little phone, no internet or anything!

Haha cool, was there any prisoners who where psychically dirty or didn't wash ect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Did you smuggle the phone in or buy it off someone inside? How much did it cost if so?