Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Hard Shoulder with Ivan Yates (interregnum)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,520 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

omerin wrote: »
    It's only a small thing but most times Ivan signs off on the radio he mentions that he'll be on the tv tonight with Matt Cooper, Cooper on the other hand never mentions Ivan. He is so insecure that he doesn't want to mention the competition. Ivan is great except he cuts across his guests and hurries them up, it can annoy. Imo he has no competition, TLW is a diluted piss poor effort of mostly dead air and fluff

I very rarely listen to TLW as I find Cooper's delivery is often too contrived. Like he's reading lines and focusing on diction more so than focusing on spotting an opening and going for it.

I doubted Yates being able to carry 3 hours on his own continually but he's well able for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭robo

Ah lads I cam on here to see what positives are happening on THS cos I am getting sick of TLW & the last two posts are knocking Matt :D
    So I guess I should just cop on and switch to THS with Ivan for a better walk home from work

robo wrote: »
    Ah lads I cam on here to see what positives are happening on THS cos I am getting sick of TLW & the last two posts are knocking Matt :D
    So I guess I should just cop on and switch to THS with Ivan for a better walk home from work

I think Matt Cooper is genuine, and he is knowledgeable in current affairs. I just feel he misses an interesting angle during some interviews because (it seems) he has a list of questions to get through.

Ivan is very direct and given his own professional experience, he spots bluff and blather a mile away.

He does talk all over some guests though. In the travel slot on a Wednesday, I'd say only 17% of what he says relates to something she just said.

He's definitely worth a listen for variety.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

robo wrote: »

As a former addict to news/current affairs programmes you would be better off listening to the birds singing as you walk home - they make as much sense as Matt or Ivan and are less stressful. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭lola85

I think Matt Cooper is genuine, and he is knowledgeable in current affairs. I just feel he misses an interesting angle during some interviews because (it seems) he has a list of questions to get through.

Ivan is very direct and given his own professional experience, he spots bluff and blather a mile away.

He does talk all over some guests though. In the travel slot on a Wednesday, I'd say only 17% of what he says relates to something she just said.

He's definitely worth a listen for variety.

Matt Cooper is dire.

A champagne socialist who has shown has no tact on the tonight show dealing with guests who know their stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,717 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I never thought I'd say this about a show that Yeats hosted, but IMO its miles better than its two direct competitors shows at the same time.

OK, he obviously isnt a natural broadcaster but he has no problem taking the p1ss out of himself or others. He is direct, cuts to the chase and isnt afraid to go against the grain.

He would not tolerate some of the guests that are regulars on TLW thats for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Sporshe
    Reporshe

Friday panel this evening discussed Love Island.
    Stand in for Ivan, Shane Beatty said he had never watched it.
    Niamh Horan said she loved it, that it was anthropology on television and the other 2 guests cut it to pieces and said you'd want to be crazy to believe a micro-second of it was true.
    Niamh seemed taken back by their dislike of it. They didn't spare her as the only one of the 4 of them who said they watched it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Poor ould Bobby shafted with an hour taken from his show.

doylefe wrote: »
    Poor ould Bobby shafted with an hour taken from his show.

I'd say he's happy enough if he is going to be filling in for a couple of weeks. To go from 4 hours a week to 15 would be a fair challenge.

Joe Molloy? Are you having a laugh?

Is Riche McCormack going to sit in for Pat tomorrow?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Sounds like a very last minute thing I would imagine!

Those would be great stand-ins for both shows. Good to hear Joe Molloy in the Hard Shoulder, hope this becomes a standard replacement.

Miles ahead of Bobby Molloy, anyway; i.e. has a voice for radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,120 ✭✭✭prunudo

Seems to me he's doing a decent enough job from what I've heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,776 ✭✭✭griffin100

prunudo wrote: »
    Seems to me he's doing a decent enough job from what I've heard.

He was surprisingly good, better than I find him on Off The Ball when he has a tendancy to drift away from sports into politics. I’d listen to him again.

griffin100 wrote: »
    He was surprisingly good, better than I find him on Off The Ball when he has a tendancy to drift away from sports into politics. I’d listen to him again.
    Would like to hear himself and Ivan do a Drivetime programme, they both have their individual strengths. Really enjoyed Molloy's interview on the cocaine trade, he asked the intelligent and serious questions that were needed, but you'd miss Ivan's fairly unique political insights in politics and the racing.

A bit like Breakfast with Ivan and Chris (Chris dunno who). Only better.

• Registered Users Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

Joe was great, I’ve said before I think his future will be in current affairs rather than sport.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Another vote for Joe. Thought he was very good.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Would like to hear himself and Ivan do a Drivetime programme, they both have their individual strengths. Really enjoyed Molloy's interview on the cocaine trade, he asked the intelligent and serious questions that were needed, but you'd miss Ivan's fairly unique political insights in politics and the racing.

A bit like Breakfast with Ivan and Chris (Chris dunno who). Only better.

I think that'd be a bad move as he'd have to put up with Yates being an arse to him for the whole show in the name of "banter".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

humberklog wrote: »
    Another vote for Joe. Thought he was very good.

Would using him as a stand-in for Pat Kenny work either? Jonathan Healy seems to be liked by nobody.

I actually was just thinking along those lines (I don't mind HEaly as stand in but can see there isn't much love for him). Pat is 71. Sounds a lot younger to be fair but if he was to move towards retirement then replacing him would be a massive challenge for the station.

Maybe having someone like Joe in house to develop over time would work. It would be a different animal altogether to go from standing in to hosting full time but could be worked towards.

He has a great interview style and ability to see the relevant question which is evident on the sports show even. He started in NT as a researcher on Hook's show I think so an interest in current affairs is probably there as well.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I think that'd be a bad move as he'd have to put up with Yates being an arse to him for the whole show in the name of "banter".

Listen, I enjoy Mary Wilson as much as the next Tipp man, but when I get out of work at 5pm I do not necessarily want to listen to Very Serious Radio. Sometimes it's nice to hear a no-nonsense distillation of the day's news, or a barstool discussion that just happens to involve a former Government minister.

Joe Molloy is well able to hold his own, anyway. He and Chris O'Donoghue are in different leagues. Let's not even go there.

Listen, I enjoy Mary Wilson as much as the next Tipp man, but when I get out of work at 5pm I do not necessarily want to listen to Very Serious Radio. Sometimes it's nice to hear a no-nonsense distillation of the day's news, or a barstool discussion that just happens to involve a former Government minister.

Joe Molloy is well able to hold his own, anyway. He and Chris O'Donoghue are in different leagues. Let's not even go there.

I like Yates on his own.
    The banter is only at times and is much less contrived than when he was part of a team and he is in a different league to most in his ability to call political players on some of their statements. He has walked the walk.

I like Yates on his own.
    The banter is only at times and is much less contrived than when he was part of a team and he is in a different league to most in his ability to call political players on some of their statements. He has walked the walk.
    The banter with Donoghue was often contrived, that's true. I blame Donoghue for that, he isn't naturally charming. I wouldn't have too many positive things to say about Donoghue.

I reckon Yates could work up a real rapport with Molloy. At least they'd have sport in common, and I reckon Joe Molloy has a lot of sincerity in him as against Yates's pragmatism.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭blindsider

Came on here specifically to praise Joe Molloy - I though he was excellent yesterday.

Imagine what he'd be like given a few months to settle into a 'Drivetime'-type show.

Ah crap, Stane Beatty in instead of Joe Molloy oday.

He's alright but something about his style of interviewing grates a little. Not particularly natural.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,080 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Ah crap, Stane Beatty in instead of Joe Molloy oday.

He's alright but something about his style of interviewing grates a little. Not particularly natural.

he sounds too much like Al Porter to my ears... grates with me.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    he sounds too much like Al Porter to my ears... grates with me.

I didn't hear it, now I can't unhear it !! :(

• Subscribers Posts: 41,080 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I didn't hear it, now I can't unhear it !! :(

My apologies!!

Not this fog horn