Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

PARlance wrote: »
    Well..... usually gets on about it without the shenanigans. You might be forgetting the start of last year. He was great after that though.

Parlance what's the story with Matthew Ruane?Still injured.You seem to be our man with the inside track on all things Breaffy.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

EICVD wrote: »
    Knew you’d bite ;)

Ah yes. The old - got skinned, cant answer, pretend you were trying to wind people up - defence

Joke's on us :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

seligehgit wrote: »
    Mayo News piece on those Missing The Action seems to indicate they are in know on as little a basis about Zippy's intentions as any of us.

Hoping he is enjoying his time away from the liathroid mor given what a wonderful servant he's been to Mayo football since 2006 without attaining that which he craves so much.

Sometimes one just needs to get away from it all after some heart breaking disappointments much like in everyday life and return to one's roots.He evidently has a very warm relationship with Derek Walsh.

I'd still be hopeful he'll return post the league.

Anyway it's looking like it's going to be a very cold night come Saturday.

What is about the weather when the Dubs come to town?:)

Fog,horrendous downpours and ice cold nights.

Hoping we'll get a performance Saturday irrespective of the result.

Perhaps Keith believes that his best chance of winning an All Ireland medal is with the hurlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭statto25

djPSB wrote: »
    Perhaps Keith believes that his best chance of winning an All Ireland medal is with the hurlers.

Mayo won the Nicky Rackard in 2016 so he has an All Ireland medal already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Parlance what's the story with Matthew Ruane?Still injured.You seem to be our man with the inside track on all things Breaffy.:)

I'm very much on the outside looking in these days but I'll find out.

statto25 wrote: »
    Mayo won the Nicky Rackard in 2016 so he has an All Ireland medal already.

Added to his U21 one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,333 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

PARlance wrote: »
    Added to his U21 one!

He has a very varied medal collection, add in a pair of Railway Cup medals, one in each code, to the Nicky Rackard and the Football U-21.

Pity the senior football one has been so elusive thus far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭flasher0030

TommyDe wrote: »
    He was brilliant all year. An absolute joy to watch. And just gets on with the game without the shenanigans.

His form was awful at the beginning of the season. Was playing bad. Got sent off against Galway, which ultimately cost us the game in my opinion and led to the team have to graft through the lottery of the qualifiers. Form was still bad after the Galway games, and it was widely speculated that he would be dropped from the first 15. Fortunately, he clicked when it matters. Came to life against Roscommon. That’s what makes him special. He’s a big game player. He rises to challenges and shows nerves of steel. Rather than shying away in All-Ireland Finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,333 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

km79 wrote: »

Yea looks like a very depleted team v Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Mayo News piece on those Missing The Action seems to indicate they are in know on as little a basis about Zippy's intentions as any of us.

Hoping he is enjoying his time away from the liathroid mor given what a wonderful servant he's been to Mayo football since 2006 without attaining that which he craves so much.

Sometimes one just needs to get away from it all after some heart breaking disappointments much like in everyday life and return to one's roots.He evidently has a very warm relationship with Derek Walsh.

Was just thinking that? What year was the almighty shower of hailstones, in the last 10 minutes? Unreal stuff altogether. All we're missing at this rate, is the plague of feckin' locusts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭muddle84

ProudDUB wrote: »

Was just thinking that? What year was the almighty shower of hailstones, in the last 10 minutes? Unreal stuff altogether. All we're missing at this rate, is the plague of feckin' locusts.
    Wasn't that 2016? Pouring rain for most of the match too.

Yeah, that sounds about right. Only game I've ever been at, where I spent more time looking at the clock & begging the ref to blow the whistle, than I did the action on the pitch. (All Ireland finals aside, obviously. ;) ) I honestly wouldn't have cared if ye got a last minute goal to win the damm thing. I just wanted the torture to end.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

muddle84 wrote: »
    Wasn't that 2016? Pouring rain for most of the match too.

Was it 14 then that it was fogged out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Yea looks like a very depleted team v Dublin.

Good! The easier it is to bury Mayo in their own backyard the better ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

yop wrote: »

Nope was earlier than that, I remember Gilroy was still the Dublin manager ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

yop wrote: »

2012 would you believe!

Wasn't 14 when we absolutely blew it? Playing keep ball in our own half and they turn it over and O'Gara blasts to the roof of the net the last kick of the game. We were like 7 up in last ten aswell or something mad like that?

Cluxton was sent off too.

No. I think that was 2012. First game was all tied up at half time. Then Mother Nature sneezed & the game was called off due to fog. Ye bate us out the gate in the replay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

ProudDUB wrote: »
    No. I think that was 2012. First game was all tied up at half time. Then Mother Nature sneezed & the game was called off due to fog. Ye bate us out the gate in the replay.

Ah jaysis PD the hip flask must've been empty leaving McHale - Dublin were winning at HT, that fog which I saw it on the way up to Castlebar really only hit McHale about 20 mins into the game .. least said about the refix the better ;)

jr86 wrote: »
    2012 would you believe!

Wasn't 14 when we absolutely blew it? Playing keep ball in our own half and they turn it over and O'Gara blasts to the roof of the net the last kick of the game. We were like 7 up in last ten aswell or something mad like that?

Cluxton was sent off too.

Yeah spot on re the years.

Really blew it in 2014,Kevin Mc was a tad mischievous on the Cluxton kickout.

Don't know how on earth we managed to be relieved to get a draw after building up a handy lead!Plus ca change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

Dublin 2/5 to win on Saturday. With all the injuries suspensions and whatever i reckon thats a great price for a Dublin win. I put €50 on will pay for the match ticket should/when we lose.
    Hate being defeatist but little to no chance on Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

franklyon wrote: »
    Dublin 2/5 to win on Saturday. With all the injuries suspensions and whatever i reckon thats a great price for a Dublin win. I put €50 on will pay for the match ticket should/when we lose.
    Hate being defeatist but little to no chance on Saturday
    We will get a big performance Saturday
    I’ve no doubt in my mind
    Whether it will be enough to get anything out of game is another story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

km79 wrote: »
    We will get a big performance Saturday
    I’ve no doubt in my mind
    Whether it will be enough to get anything out of game is another story
    I'd be surprised if Mayo playing at home in front of a big crowd don't deliver a good performance on Saturday night. Dublin have won all 3 games but they aren't flying 2-10 conceded v Kildare needed goalkeeping error to set them up for a win v Tyrone and for a lot of the 2nd half against a Donegal side in transition they were far from great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Yeah it was 2012.
    I remember the sound wasn't it McCarthy clattering someone and getting sent off , the Echo was mad.

Connelly was flying that night.
    Mayo were terrible in the first half but were coming into it towards the end of the half.

That was a game changer for Mayo.

On the replay the new Mayo showed up and have been here since

The Bear is departing our shores,very talented young lad.Transferring from Breaffy to North London Shamrocks.Who knows with the requisite level of commitment he might have made the transition to the senior squad/team?

http://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/281565

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

The Bear is departing our shores,very talented young lad.Transferring from Breaffy to North London Shamrocks.Who knows with the requisite level of commitment he might have made the transition to the senior squad/team?

http://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/281565

Its funny as he entered my head when you asked a question around Breaffy. I heard if true or not, that he was disappointed to not get a call this year but that could be rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

I have no doubt the 15 that go out will do their best but dont think they will be anywhere near Dublin. Hope I am badly mistaken. If ever there was a time to step up for fringe players next Saturday is it.

Its funny as he entered my head when you asked a question around Breaffy. I heard if true or not, that he was disappointed to not get a call this year but that could be rubbish.

He may have been disappointed but he can't have been surprised. Commitment nowhere near what is required, I think that's fairly common knowledge at this stage.

He has been playing with Castlebar Celtic in the Connaught Cup of late.

Mayo News Football Podcast 2018

Dublin Preview.

http://themayonews.podomatic.com/enclosure/2018-02-21T09_24_50-08_00.mp3

A fairly non descript podcast.

Hmmmm. A feature length episode with Mr Shoes himself.

Don't spoil it for me, but does it start with "WHAT THE FCUK WERE YOU THINKING?????"