Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

jr86 wrote: »
    Seems to be the only Irish journalist in general who doesn't heap nothing but lavish praise on the national rugby team, who are overhyped every single 6n campaign, and get off scott free after every bad loss (while the soccer team get pillared after bad performances)

Speakith not those foreign codes! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Barlett

I like McKenna, he was the only one to make an proper argument against the BS that was the rugby world cup bid.

It’s funny alright that Dublin can be lauded as the best in a generation, as well they should be, and that the team that gets closest to them be mocked.

Just last week on Terrace Talk on Radio Kerry during a discussion about Dublin the host , Timmy Moynihan, said that “Mayo are miles behind Dublin”.
    Sure Timmy, that’s right, they are.

No doubt Timmy thinks Kerry are a kick of the ball away from dethroning Dublin. As Wenger once said, 'Every man thinks he has the prettiest wife at home'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,329 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Barlett wrote: »
    No doubt Timmy thinks Kerry are a kick of the ball away from dethroning Dublin. As Wenger once said, 'Every man thinks he has the prettiest wife at home'.

Yep
    Sure last year in the middle of August it only dawned on Timmy and the gang that they had to play Mayo before being able to play Dublin.

All the talk to that point was about what Kerry had to do to beat Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

It’s funny alright that Dublin can be lauded as the best in a generation, as well they should be, and that the team that gets closest to them be mocked.

Yep here we are again. Same sh1t last year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Any gluttons for punishment can view the All Ireland final 2016 replay I believe on Eir Sports 1 tonight at 9.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

seligehgit wrote: »
    Any gluttons for punishment can view the All Ireland final 2016 replay I believe on Eir Sports 1 tonight at 9.30.

I have not watched a single minute of any of them back. I didnt even see Cillian's missed free in real time !

Ill watch them back some day when we have finally won one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Dev84

Dev84 wrote: »
    Why??????
    He tried to put him off and failed. If he had missed there wouldn't even be a question of whether he would do it again.
    And don't give me fair play after the mass black carding that should have followed after

km79 wrote: »
    Why??????
    He tried to put him off and failed. If he had missed there wouldn't even be a question of whether he would do it again.
    And don't give me fair play after the mass black carding that should have followed after

Because its cheating?

It's not necissarily cheating, there is no rule saying that you cannot throw a piece of equipment while another player is taking a free.

It's gamesmanship

Just like throwing the keepers tees away or kicking the ball off the keepers tee is gamesmanship.

Is it something I would prefer not to see ?, Of course it is, but unfortunately it's part of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

Hennelly,Drake and Gallagher all named to start.

It's not necissarily cheating, there is no rule saying that you cannot throw a piece of equipment while another player is taking a free.

It's gamesmanship

Just like throwing the keepers tees away or kicking the ball off the keepers tee is gamesmanship.

Is it something I would prefer not to see ?, Of course it is, but unfortunately it's part of the game.

It is cheating.

And thats a silly interview to give.

Because its cheating?

And what followed ?????
    Get out of it !!!!

In essence I agree with you though but sadly that's the way the game is gone

ureds wrote: »

I had a sneaking feeling Hennelly might get a game. May as well now just in case he is needed later in year and this game is sadly now just a free hit

ureds wrote: »

What's the full team ?

Mayo team announced.Four changes.

Robert Hennelly,David Drake,Andy Moran and Adam Gallagher replacing David Clarke,Paddy Durcan,Conor Loftus and Cillian O Connor.

1. Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
    2. Caolan Crowe - Garrymore
    3. Ger Cafferkey - Ballina Stephenites
    4. Eoin O Donoghue - Belmullet
    5. Colm Boyle - Davitts
    6. Michael Hall - Breaffy
    7. David Drake - Ballaghaderreen
    8. Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
    9. Jason Gibbons - Ballintubber
    10. Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
    11. Aidan O Shea - Breaffy
    12. Diarmuid O Connor - Ballintubber
    13. Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
    14. Andy Moran - Ballaghaderreen
    15. Adam Gallagher - Mayo Gaels

Team Manager: Stephen Rochford
    Selectors: Donie Buckley,Peter Burke,Joe Keane and Tony McEntee.

km79 wrote: »
    And what followed ?????
    Get out of it !!!!

In essence I agree with you though but sadly that's the way the game is gone

Yeh but i wouldnt consider pulling someone to the ground the same thing.

Oh and there is an infraction to cover it. Two in fact.

Engaging in rough play
    Or
    Behaving in any manner which constitutes a danger to an opponent.

Engaging in rough play
    Or

You wouldn’t consider a systematic ploy if yeh entire Dublin forward line fouling the entire mayo back line to stop play cheating
    Ok so

Never mind
    After hours regular
    Ignore

Engaging in rough play
    Or

Yea pulling to the ground would be considered "rough play"
    and
    "behaving in any manner which constitutes a danger to an opponent"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Mayo team announced.Four changes.

Robert Hennelly,David Drake,Andy Moran and Adam Gallagher replacing David Clarke,Paddy Durcan,Conor Loftus and Cillian O Connor.

1. Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
    2. Caolan Crowe - Garrymore
    3. Ger Cafferkey - Ballina Stephenites
    4. Eoin O Donoghue - Belmullet
    5. Colm Boyle - Davitts
    6. Michael Hall - Breaffy
    7. David Drake - Ballaghaderreen
    8. Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
    9. Jason Gibbons - Ballintubber
    10. Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
    11. Aidan O Shea - Breaffy
    12. Diarmuid O Connor - Ballintubber
    13. Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
    14. Andy Moran - Ballaghaderreen
    15. Adam Gaels - Mayo Gaels

Team Manager: Stephen Rochford
    Selectors: Donie Buckley,Peter Burke,Joe Keane and Tony McEntee.

Mayo GAA website should have checked that before publishing it

There is even less pace in that team than for the Galway game!!!!
    It probably won't start but it does look like Rochford has to an extent written it off and is prioritizing last 3 games which makes sense.
    Hennelly may well be on a few frees too.

I said before the league we REALLY needed to beat Dublin having lost so many games close or otherwise in recent years. If that teams starts I'll just be hoping for a good performance and one or 2 lads to show up well

Really looking forward to seeing what Adam Gallagher can bring to the plate,his form in the Sigerson Cup has been promising.

Shane Nally has not pushed on as much as one expected.

I've real fears about the scale of damage an O Gara like player could do inside.

Disappointed Conor Loftus isn't getting another opportunity to impress.

2013 final on Eir Sports 1.

Incorrectly advertised as 2016 final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

It's been a long time since I've headed to a mayo game with less optimism and I usually have the glass half full outlook. Would keeping it below 8 or 9 points be considered a decent result?

Should be a big crowd and hope we show some steel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I thought the Keegan interview was reasonable enough. The GPS incident was as he himself admits inexcusable, although he partly does excuse it! I don't think he is disliked by either Dublin players or supporters. There are one or two others who would come well ahead of him! But sure Mayo people have their own "favourites" I'm sure. Certain plyers just seem to fit, and enjoy fitting!, the part of the Pantomine Villan. Part of sport the world over. Kind of compliment.

Bonniedog wrote: »
    I thought the Keegan interview was reasonable enough. The GPS incident was as he himself admits inexcusable, although he partly does excuse it! I don't think he is disliked by either Dublin players or supporters. There are one or two others who would come well ahead of him! But sure Mayo people have their own "favourites" I'm sure. Certain plyers just seem to fit, and enjoy fitting!, the part of the Pantomine Villan. Part of sport the world over. Kind of compliment.

Great post.

Donie Vaughan is the dubs favourate after the all ireland final!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

2013 final on Eir Sports 1.

Incorrectly advertised as 2016 final.

Thanks but no too :):p

Bonniedog wrote: »

Of course it was blatant cheating,I don't like it and what followed afterwards.All the top teams do and before I'm called out on it,Mayo did similar in 2012.

I can understand Leeroy's mindset,a desperation to achieve his goal and a consequent fairly pathetic ploy to unhinge a quality freetaker who was never going to miss.It was pretty token attempt to put him off.At the time in the stand not thirty yards away I was equally clutching at any type of straw to ensure we didn't see our dreams shattered yet again.66 years and running,try it sometime.The Kerry's and Dublin's can never truly understand the mindset of a county without success for so long but at times so desperately close on occasion.

I admire his honesty,he breaches subjects like the reality that is the cynicism that is endemic in the game.Most others shy away from the subject.

I greatly admire the guy,he is a quality player.Our most important player IMO,he plays very hard and fair most of the time.He is not a dirty player who sets out to injure anybody.He is a affable rascal/joker it appears.I truly believe Dublin players and supporters secretly admire him and above all others would take him for a transfer fee.I do love the hashtag thingsleedid.Is there nothing in the world he isn't responsible for?

In spite of every loss he has demonstrated great admiration and sportsmanship towards the All Ireland winners.

I believe our Cillian is the real fan favourite amongst opposition players and supporters (for good reasons that I hope he addresses) I state with a heavy dose of sarcasm.

Of course we all have our own favourites in other teams and it may not the obvious candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

seligehgit wrote:
    I believe our Cillian is the real fan favourite amongst opposition players and supporters (for good reasons that I hope he addresses) I state with a heavy dose of sarcasm.

IMO there's a huge difference in how Keegan and Cillian are viewed

Form a capability and personal point of view.

There's plenty of dodgy stuff from Keegan, but he gets plenty of it too. He never complains, slaps the ground , moans to the ref and he'd walk onto any team.

I think that he explains why he does what he does. There is an honesty to his play and interviews that focuses people on the reality of the situations, actions reactions etc.