Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I don't read any of them anymore. I know for a fact that some are literally run by kids.

The Mayo GAA Blog is alright. I'm not a fan of how the comments are laid out though. It can be a real eye sore to read, also let's just say that the moderating is heavy handed.

Agreed though, there's an awful lot of tools commenting online. You'd never find that here, ever!
    The Mayo Gaa Blog is far from alright.

A week of Ronan Shanahan being called a thug and scum by the blogger himself and hundreds of users proves that. Arrests, public trials and boycotts of the GAA were called for.

Then when the video evidence comes out and the challenge wasn't a swinging fist to the jaw but accidental contact with the shoulder to the jaw it was "time to wrap up this conversation, I'm right and you are all wrong". Like a 5 year old.

Pathetic. Just sack up and admit you called it wrong, instead of deleting comments to make your blog look better!

/rantover (Sorry!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

DDC1990 wrote: »

A week of Ronan Shanahan being called a thug and scum by the blogger himself and hundreds of users proves that. Arrests, public trials and boycotts of the GAA were called for.

Then when the video evidence comes out and the challenge wasn't a swinging fist to the jaw but accidental contact with the shoulder to the jaw it was "time to wrap up this conversation, I'm right and you are all wrong". Like a 5 year old.

Pathetic. Just sack up and admit you called it wrong, instead of deleting comments to make your blog look better!

/rantover (Sorry!)

And not a word on either of the O'Connors then.

I'm not a fan of it either

Thought the comments on Shanahan were remarkable. Like something you'd read on those daft Banter Page comments section

Basically any pundit or opposing manager is a spoofer or 'talking through his hoop' on it aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

DDC1990 wrote: »

/rantover (Sorry!)

It's alright if you're from Mayo :) point taken though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Let it go lads.if ye keep adding fuel to the fire it will only stay burning.each to their own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

jr86 wrote: »
    That's a very simplistic way of looking at it though.

Playing for two teams 200 odd miles apart is hardly ideal. Given all the travelling that's needed to fulfill his Mayo obligations as well as pursuing a degree (perhaps even working part-time also?) it's a heavy burden on a young man

How many training sessions would he currently have a week, also?

At the end of the day Stephen Coen is one of 30-something in the Mayo squad, it's extremely difficult to manage each individual player's schedule to the nth degree in a non-professional environment

If managed correctly, he would not be doing any other on pitch training only recovery sessions, stretching etc.

With all the expertise available to teams nowadays, one would imagine teams many this aspect pretty well.

Yes distance is not easy but he's most likely on a scholarship with the University and gets a car through Mayo Seniors.

A lot of other young lads based in Dublin not playing county and travelling home at weekends for club games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Seeing as Caff looks finished and Keane isn't being considered, would Coen be the man for the fb spot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

It's alright if you're from Mayo :) point taken though

Just sums up the Mayo mentality, every one else is a disgrace but we’re all angels......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TommyDe

EICVD wrote:
    Just sums up the Mayo mentality, every one else is a disgrace but we’re all angels......

It's really just YOUR summation of mayo supporters. Based on a handful of online messages from the same people.

Unless you know every single mayo fan individually to be able to generate that conclusion?
    Most of the fans I know call it as it is. And the amount of people I know wouldn't allow me to sum up the general mayo mentality....and I'm from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

So Stephen Coen captains UCD to Sigerson Cup glory,cracking contest.Solid outing with one point attempt coming back off the post.

Adam Gallagher impressed at times for the vanquished and took his goal chance with aplomb.He's definitely worth looking at for the championship panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

seligehgit wrote: »
    So Stephen Coen captains UCD to Sigerson Cup glory,cracking contest.Solid outing with one point attempt coming back off the post.

Adam Gallagher impressed at times for the vanquished and took his goal chance with aplomb.He's definitely worth looking at for the championship panel.

From what I saw of him in the semi final & final, I'd be putting him into the Mayo team for the rest of the league to see if he can put his hand up for a place. Looks like a very good talent and seems to be in form.

EICVD wrote: »

It was said in jest FFS. Anyways, it's hardly a surprise that someone from Mayo reads a Mayo GAA blog. Obviously the site is biased towards Mayo. It's not a business they're running so they don't need to have a neutral point of view, they're entitled to have the red and green specs on. Disagree with it if you want but the guy who runs it doesn't owe you anything.

I can't understand why someone from another county would read it anyway. I'd avoid Dublin or Kerry only forums because they'd annoy me TBH - the same way some posters here are annoyed at The Mayo GAA Blog.

We are all angels too by the way. That part is correct.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

It was said in jest FFS. Anyways, it's hardly a surprise that someone from Mayo reads a Mayo GAA blog. Obviously the site is biased towards Mayo. It's not a business they're running so they don't need to have a neutral point of view, they're entitled to have the red and green specs on. Disagree with it if you want but the guy who runs it doesn't owe you anything.

I can't understand why someone from another county would read it anyway. I'd avoid Dublin or Kerry only forums because they'd annoy me TBH - the same way some posters here are annoyed at The Mayo GAA Blog.

Because they are obsessed :) Proof in the last 10 pages after Sunday. Same lemins appear time after time :)
    Its funny and sad all in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

yop wrote: »
    Same lemins appear time after time :) .

I think I'd prefer to be an angel than a lemins! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Green Peter

Good result for Monaghan yesterday

Yeah surprised there's been no mention of it. Very significant from a Mayo POV

Monaghan probably one win away from survival now and Galway look safe. That's one team promoted from D2 and one that was expected to be in the relegation mix.

Mayo probably need to win 2 of the last 4 and that may not even be enough. Dublin looks a complete write off next week, so need to win two out of three, against a Kildare fighting for their lives and two sticky Northern teams

It'll likely come down to the wire again. How important was that win against Monaghan though? Would be all but gone but for that

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

jr86 wrote: »
    Yeah surprised there's been no mention of it. Very significant from a Mayo POV

Monaghan probably one win away from survival now and Galway look safe. That's one team promoted from D2 and one that was expected to be in the relegation mix.

Mayo probably need to win 2 of the last 4 and that may not even be enough. Dublin looks a complete write off next week, so need to win two out of three, against a Kildare fighting for their lives and two sticky Northern teams

It'll likely come down to the wire again. How important was that win against Monaghan though? Would be all but gone but for that

It could be important on the head to head.
    Unless we pull one out of the bag then we won't get anything against Dublin, which is itself is a bit nuts.
    Away to Kildare, has to be a win, but that said Kildare have played well but have nothing to show for it. So its going to be another toss of a coin.
    Tyrone at home, has to be a win, but again if they go ahead then the blanket will kill us and we seem to freeze in the face of the NI blanket teams.
    Donegal away, can't see a win here. That could mean its down to a head2head and we lose out.

Monaghan at home to Tyrone, need a Monaghan win there.
    Donegal I expect to beat Kildare.

Going to be tight as heck. We seem to only play in the last 2 games of the league last few years, that needs to change.

A vote was taken at the county board meeting last night on the formation of St. Coman's Hollymount.It was defeated by club delegates by 40 to 28.

Former Mayo footballers Alan Dillon,Austin O Malley and Kevin O Neill were appointed to the coaching and games committee by the Mayo executive.

Kieran McDonald and David Heaney will be involved in the Mayo GAA academy teams.Great news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭glack

Kevin Keane and Brian Reape amount those released from the panel according to today’s Mayo News. Also hints that it’s possible that Keith Higgins might not be be returning to the footballers anytime soon!

glack wrote: »
    Kevin Keane and Brian Reape amount those released from the panel according to today’s Mayo News. Also hints that it’s possible that Keith Higgins might not be be returning to the footballers anytime soon!

I don't think he'll see any league action this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

seligehgit wrote: »
    I don't think he'll see any league action this year.

It's far from a foregone conclusion he is coming back at all

glack wrote: »

It's a shame for Keane he never really got the chance to fulfil his potential with injuries and dips in form since breaking through in 2012.

I assume that means the out and out full back idea will be scrapped for the Championship? I'd hope so

Yeah, it wouldn't completely amaze me if Higgins didn't return at all. That said with Barrett's heroics in the final last year and Harrison a real key player now, we have two outstanding corner backs in his absence. Donoghue has also been perhaps the only real bright spark from the league to date as well

km79 wrote: »

He more than likely is I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

km79 wrote: »

I have heard similar. Be a massive blow to Mayo if he doesnt come back. Maybe not in personnel terms as that O'Donoghue lad looks a very good number 4. However, it would be a big statement by Higgins as it would suggest that he does not believe Mayo will win an AI this year. Otherwise, he would surely come back. I suspect he will be back for one last year though.

However, it would be a big statement by Higgins as it would suggest that he does not believe Mayo will win an AI this year.

Agree.

You'd think it would make sense (purely from looking in on the outside) to give it one more year as Tyrone and Kerry are both coming back from disappointing Championship losses in 2017 (and are still in a re-building phase) and galway are only a year up in Division 1 and Donegal very early in a re-build phase themselves

In 2019 you'd have to imagine all of the above will be in a much better position to challenge for Sam. Even Cork will surely have a better team then. This year might be the last real time to strike

So if there's no issue with injuries/personal issues or whatever it'd be an interesting decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

EICVD wrote: »

And yet, on this very thread there are numerous mayo fans stating that they dont like much of the biased stuff on pages like the mayo gaa blog.
    How many dublin fans are stating similar displeasure about the hill16 page, which is by a distance the worst 'fan page' on the go?

Have you ever considered that this figure is zero?
    Have you considered what that reflects?
    Have you considered how hypocritical and/or lacking in self-awareness that makes you sound?

The irony of that is, if you think mayo fans are bad, with respect to the above, how bad must the dublin fans be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Higgins was unreal for Mayo last year and not in a corner-back position. His performance out the field was brilliant and it will be a devastating blow if he is gone. (I believe he will be back after the league)

Mayo News piece on those Missing The Action seems to indicate they are in know on as little a basis about Zippy's intentions as any of us.

Hoping he is enjoying his time away from the liathroid mor given what a wonderful servant he's been to Mayo football since 2006 without attaining that which he craves so much.

Sometimes one just needs to get away from it all after some heart breaking disappointments much like in everyday life and return to one's roots.He evidently has a very warm relationship with Derek Walsh.

I'd still be hopeful he'll return post the league.

Anyway it's looking like it's going to be a very cold night come Saturday.

What is about the weather when the Dubs come to town?:)

Fog,horrendous downpours and ice cold nights.

Hoping we'll get a performance Saturday irrespective of the result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TommyDe

Higgins was unreal for Mayo last year and not in a corner-back position. His performance out the field was brilliant and it will be a devastating blow if he is gone. (I believe he will be back after the league)

He was brilliant all year. An absolute joy to watch. And just gets on with the game without the shenanigans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

TommyDe wrote: »
    He was brilliant all year. An absolute joy to watch. And just gets on with the game without the shenanigans.

Well..... usually gets on about it without the shenanigans. You might be forgetting the start of last year. He was great after that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

And yet, on this very thread there are numerous mayo fans stating that they dont like much of the biased stuff on pages like the mayo gaa blog.
    How many dublin fans are stating similar displeasure about the hill16 page, which is by a distance the worst 'fan page' on the go?

Have you ever considered that this figure is zero?
    Have you considered what that reflects?
    Have you considered how hypocritical and/or lacking in self-awareness that makes you sound?

The irony of that is, if you think mayo fans are bad, with respect to the above, how bad must the dublin fans be?

Knew you’d bite ;)