Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Barlett wrote: »
    That's true enough but on that basis you would say that Dublin went backwards in 2010 compared to 2009,whereas the opposite was true. I know what you mean but when a team wins lots of provincial titles as this Mayo team have done it doesn't really apply.

I'm not going to hog the Mayo discussion thread talking about Dublin, but to answer your question Pat Gilroy and the management team did a lot of hardwork rebuilding the team after 2009.

In terms of Mayo steping up to the plate I think that similar changes have to be taken at management level if the team are to become a clinical winning machine. That mindset has to start at home. Provincial wins should be a given not an afterthought. Its why I commeted on the initial post about progression. My honest view is that Mayo are stuck in a rut, right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,337 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

STB. wrote: »
    I'm not going to hog the Mayo discussion thread talking about Dublin, but to answer your question Pat Gilroy and the management team did a lot of hardwork rebuilding the team after 2009.

In terms of Mayo steping up to the plate I think that similar changes have to be taken at management level if the team are to become a clinical winning machine. That mindset has to start at home. Provincial wins should be a given not an afterthought. Its why I commeted on the initial post about progression. My honest view is that Mayo are stuck in a rut, right now.

They may very well be, or even worse from a Mayo fan point of view they may be regressing.

But my original post was about the assertion that Galway have a "psychological hold" over Mayo.

There is zero evidence to suggest they do, because in spite of beating Mayo twice in the last two Championships they have failed to progress further in those years than Mayo.

And in actual fact they have made asses of themselves with losses to the likes of Roscommon and Tipp and were too feeble and pathetic to lay a finger on Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Green Peter

And in actual fact they have made asses of themselves with losses to the likes of Roscommon and Tipp and were too feeble and pathetic to lay a finger on Kerry.

Mayo went farther than Galway in 96 and 97 as well, not 98 though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Mayo went farther than Galway in 96 and 97 as well, not 98 though!

It's been a long, long time since Mayo won the All-Ireland but 20 years in football is a long time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

It's been a long, long time since Mayo won the All-Ireland but 20 years in football is a long time too.

Galway also won it in 2001 so 17 years which is still a long time but not near as long as mayo's 67 years and counting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Galway also won it in 2001 so 17 years which is still a long time but not near as long as mayo's 67 years and counting.

You won your All-Ireland in June last year too remember ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

We were celebrating that June win while we were celebrating the two Irelands in September and still had time to chuckle at Cillian bottling again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,723 ✭✭✭irishgeo

leave the galway lads to their cockiness , all that got them last year was an embarrassing defeat to roscommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

STB. wrote: »

Time will tell if we are in a rut but I do have concerns re the mileage on the clock and lack of new blood.Then again I've been saying same for time eternal and the lads keep proving me wrong!:)

Re the lack of provincial titles,I believe we took our eye off the ball in 2016 but last year was different in that we did not want to go through the back door.

May 13th is a huge day for this team as with the super 8s Mayo can't really afford to not progress via the provincial route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

irishgeo wrote: »
    leave the galway lads to their cockiness , all that got them last year was an embarrassing defeat to roscommon.

It took two goes for mayo to beat them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TommyDe

BENDYBINN wrote:

Rossie's are a good team with some quality players in fairness.

Jaysus the month of May will have the most eagerly anticipated game in connacht history. With roscommon awaiting the winners.
    I can't wait. About time connacht woke up.

Mad question but does anyone know how many of the galway side work outside galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭LooseCannonUF

TommyDe wrote: »
    Rossie's are a good team with some quality players in fairness.

Jaysus the month of May will have the most eagerly anticipated game in connacht history. With roscommon awaiting the winners.
    I can't wait. About time connacht woke up.

Mad question but does anyone know how many of the galway side work outside galway?

There ya go

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

We were celebrating that June win while we were celebrating the two Irelands in September and still had time to chuckle at Cillian bottling again :D

Jaysus ye'd be well used to the hurlers bottling it now wouldn't ye ;) Was it 7 finals lost before you won that one this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭TommyDe

There ya go

Cheers. Roscommon, Mayo, sligo, Donegal, leitrim, cavan, monaghan.
    That is a messed up but telling stat.

There's a lot to be said about jim mcguinness and his use of helicopters getting lads to training.

yop wrote: »
    Jaysus ye'd be well used to the hurlers bottling it now wouldn't ye ;) Was it 7 finals lost before you won that one this year?

After yesterday the Galway lads are talkin of the double this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,723 ✭✭✭irishgeo

BENDYBINN wrote: »

But we still won.

On their day the Rossies are a match for anyone and long may it continue.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    On their day the Rossies are a match for anyone and long may it continue.

True. That's why their in division two :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

yop wrote: »
    True. That's why their in division two :p

Our day isn't every day unfortunately!

Certainly wasn't yesterday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Mayo News Football Podcast 2018

Galway Win Again.

http://themayonews.podomatic.com/enclosure/2018-02-12T06_33_55-08_00.mp3

Our day isn't every day unfortunately!

Certainly wasn't yesterday...

Expected ye to come back up, still think ye will. Quality in that side just not hitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

As someone said, we had two to celebrate in September, while the footballers are becoming competitive and underage teams are hammering everyone in Connacht. There's not a GAA fan in the country that wouldn't swap for Galway's situation currently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Hulk Hands wrote:
    There's not a GAA fan in the country that wouldn't swap for Galway's situation currently

I'd take Kerry's underage set up over Galways anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    As someone said, we had two to celebrate in September, while the footballers are becoming competitive and underage teams are hammering everyone in Connacht. There's not a GAA fan in the country that wouldn't swap for Galway's situation currently

There is a big step up to been competitive in Croke Park. Its all well and good doing this in Salthill or Castlebar, but the real pressure is put on in Quarter/Semi/final. This really tells you if you are competitive and at the level required. Galway have not been at that level yet. The signs look good but a hiding like last August can really set a team back and make a team look very ordinary. We are only in February so it is very early to draw any real conclusions.
    We will not really know for sure until super 8s but that's a long time away if either team make them. I think Mayo have received a real red flag now on what they will receive in May with the tactics that Galway will deploy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,025 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I'd take Kerry's underage set up over Galways anyway.

Think he's talking overall. Football and hurling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Think he's talking overall. Football and hurling.

Dublin?

Even in hurling they have the club champions (pretty much nailed on for 2 years in a row) and in fairness the last decade has seen them rise from minnows to very competitive. The next ten years will probably see them become regular All Ireland contenders

It's a mad comment though, underage success means damn all a lot of the time really - Kerry have often had poor underage teams yet have always been there or thereabouts at senior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

jr86 wrote: »
    Dublin?

Even in hurling they have the club champions (pretty much nailed on for 2 years in a row) and in fairness the last decade has seen them rise from minnows to very competitive. The next ten years will probably see them become regular All Ireland contenders

It's a mad comment though, underage success means damn all a lot of the time really - Kerry have often had poor underage teams yet have always been there or thereabouts at senior

How is it a mad comment to think having the Champions in hurling and a Top 8 football side, while being competitive at both in underage, is the best GAA fan situation currently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

There ya go

That must be a few years old? 18 in Dublin for us I way more than I thought, even allowing for Students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

jr86 wrote: »

At a given moment in time it mightn't mean damn all but in general, it counts for an awful lot.

We've seen very few new players really come through of late bar the 2016 U21 team.
    An awful lot of our squad is made up from 06 and 16 winning teams... Higgins, Boyle, Caff, Seamie, Barry Moran, Barrett along with a whole pile of 2016 winners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    How is it a mad comment to think having the Champions in hurling and a Top 8 football side, while being competitive at both in underage, is the best GAA fan situation currently?

I dunno, I think I'd rather have the the Champions in football (x3) and a Top 8 hurling side, while being competitive at both in underage myself :)