Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Marathon 29 Oct 2017 - *** NOTE: no number transfer!

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭jahaco

As a matter of interest, did anyone else notice a runner in a black singlet (running at a pace that would have probably been about a 3:01 marathon finish) turn right after we entered the Knockmaroon Gate and head down towards the lake on the Furry Glen, thus cutting off the route to the top of the Upper Glen road...may have shaved a few minutes. I only could see him from behind (so couldn't really identify him again) and shouted after him. No steward inside the gate (one was standing outside). The race organisers would like to identify him.

• Registered Users Posts: 902 ✭✭✭JMSE

jahaco wrote: »
    As a matter of interest, did anyone else notice a runner in a black singlet (running at a pace that would have probably been about a 3:01 marathon finish) turn right after we entered the Knockmaroon Gate and head down towards the lake on the Furry Glen, thus cutting off the route to the top of the Upper Glen road...may have shaved a few minutes. I only could see him from behind (so couldn't really identify him again) and shouted after him. No steward inside the gate (one was standing outside). The race organisers would like to identify him.

Jahaco if you look up yourself on the results and certificates page and click on 'video' under your name when it lists you, have a look at the people around you as you exited the castleknock gate, maybe you can narrow things down a bit albeit inconclusive. Maybe though he was just in need of a jacks!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

That doesn't sound like a great point to try and cut the course and would only save a couple of hundred meters. Most likely finding a tree to hide behind at that point because they were shy.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,387 ✭✭✭fletch

Also have a look on Strava flybys...I just did with people that were closely matched to 3hr finishers and couldn't see anybody suspicious.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,387 ✭✭✭fletch

robinph wrote: »
    That doesn't sound like a great point to try and cut the course and would only save a couple of hundred meters. Most likely finding a tree to hide behind at that point because they were shy.
    Yes and then he would have also had the climb out of the Furry Glen

• Registered Users Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

Saw a fella doing the same in a yellow vest at about 2.50 pace. I imagine he was utilising the unofficial facilities - then again I'm a trusting soul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭S.L.F.

Of course they know that, and of course they take that into account. That's why saying "4000 other runners would have loved a number, why don't they allow transfers" is nonsense - the organisers know fully well that if they sign up 20000 then only 16000 -17000 will turn up, and that's what they're planning for. If they allowed transfers they'd only sell 16-17k entries in the first place.

I don't think they would know that 4000 or 20% of the field would not show up...thats nonsense to think they would. Transfers or postponement is a fair request. At 70 to 90 quid a pop there should be some flexibility.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2803|echancrure|2:49:20|2:48:59|2:58:12|
    9558|diego_b|3:43:41|3:39:30|3:54:53
    |robinph|2:49:44|2:49:59|2:58:03
    |ISOP|4:18:55|4:15:00|
    3868|hot buttered scones|3:21:45|3:09:59|
    4514|davedanon|3:14:18|3:09:59|DNF
    6501|Lazare|n/a|3:58:xx|3:58:08|
    3241|Johnny_Fontane|3:36:18|3:24:59|
    1678|withcheeseplease|2:59:58|2:59:57|2:58:35
    12429|Damo 2k9|n/a|3:59:59|3:57:57
    |DC.|2:56:02|2:44:00| 2:42:29 |
    |Dexter50|4:14:19|4:10:00|
    4591|Wubble Wubble|3:49:01|3:29:59|
    7703|RedRunner|3:52:30|4:15:00|4:13:05
    |apjb82|3:35:15|3:10:00|3:12:33
    |CCR|2:59:52|3:29:59|
    |Peckham|2:58:27|3:44:59|
    |Krusty_Clown|2:30:01|2:34:59|2:38:09
    |Derco|4:16:04|4:12:59|
    |Spirogyra|3:59:02|3:39:59
    10404|Unthought Known|4:16:44|3:44:59|3:41:41
    3790|HibernianRunner|3:28:22|3:24:00|3:30:14
    1558|Slow_Runner|3:42:26|3:33:xx|4:08:00
    |Fiftyplus|3:29:45|3:29:44|
    1371|Murph_D|3:28:28|3:19:59|3:22:11
    |ThePiedPiper|2:49:00|3:19:59|
    3364|TFBubendorfer|2:55:07|3:15:00|3:10:20
    |jaggiebunnet|3:32:39|3:24:59|
    |Jakey Rolling|3:27:15|3:29:59|4:01:53
    |Eric the Eagle|3:26:25|3:19:59|3:18:21
    |El Caballo|3:15:29|3:11:29|
    2634|Trampas|3:18:41|3:20:01|3:26:20
    4143|boykev|4:00:56|3:29:30|3:31:35
    1942|MisterDrak|3:07:24|3:14:00|3:13:43
    |ciarraiabu1977|2:57:45|2:57:40
    1322|Singer|3:32:04|3:14:15|3:14:11
    |Doeshedare|n/a|3:39:59|
    2855|Martyboy48|3:18:00|3:30|
    |Brusna|n/a|3:27:59|
    |Hawkwing|3:58:30|4:59:59|5:06:20
    1805|JohnDozer|3:59:13|3:39:59|3:40:14
    20545|Jack Bracken|N/A|5:30:00|5:38:12
    3247 |Quickfeet |3:17:30 |3:15:00|3:18:21

A day to forget for me, don't know what happened but I had zero energy on the day, went off nice and conservative but knew I was working way too hard by mile 10, hoped it was just a bad patch and kept the pace going through halfway at 1:47. Things started to unravel from mile 16 and I was walking by 18.5 miles:'(. Never felt so weak crossing the finish line. Only plus side is I would have killed for a finish time like that a few years ago so shows how much I've come on - still disappointing tough, had promised myself to take a year out from marathons and have fun with the shorter stuff (which I'm better at) which might be just what the doctor ordered. Looking forward to Waterford now to banish the demons of last weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 797 ✭✭✭SeeMoreBut

Should Gary have been wearing his club singlet?

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Saint Sonner

I see finisher Pix are up. Looked at my own but they are all just ones from the finish line - no pictures from around the course - anyone know why this would be or if there are more to go up usually?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

S.L.F. wrote: »
    I don't think they would know that 4000 or 20% of the field would not show up...thats nonsense to think they would. Transfers or postponement is a fair request. At 70 to 90 quid a pop there should be some flexibility.

They do know how many are likely to turn up on the day. Approximately the same ratios every year in the marathon, across all marathons around the world and also will be about the same for every local club race up and down the country each week where people have pre-registered but fail to turn up. The arguments about having to pay up so far in advance, or that it's so expensive don't stack up when you see that there are people not turning up to more expensive events and cheap ones, and sold out events, and ones that they could have signed up for only the week before.

People enter races all the time and then end up not taking part for whatever reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

They do know that, because it's fairly standard. Happens every year in Dublin marathon, happens in every road race with pre-entry - Raheny 5, rock and roll half marathon, great ireland run... 10-20% of the people who enter won't show up. A short race where entries are open close to the race day will have a lower percentage of no-shows. Dublin marathon, where people enter early promising themselves they'll do the training, or enter in June because entries are about to close and they want to keep their options open, will have a higher percentage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

For everyone complaining about the price and quoting the 90e, there were less than 12 days where this years marathon was 90e so majority didn't pay that figure.

DCM is able to offer these early bird prices on the basis of this 10-20% drop out rate it's what keeps the overall price relatively down for the majority of people. Offering transfers would drive up logistical costing of the event which would make the race more expensive for everyone (be it through increased entry prices/no early bird entries)

The same people who are giving out about transfers this year would be complaining if there was a price hike to cover possibility of transfers in future races.

robinph wrote: »
    They do know how many are likely to turn up on the day. Approximately the same ratios every year in the marathon, across all marathons around the world and also will be about the same for every local club race up and down the country each week where people have pre-registered but fail to turn up. The arguments about having to pay up so far in advance, or that it's so expensive don't stack up when you see that there are people not turning up to more expensive events and cheap ones, and sold out events, and ones that they could have signed up for only the week before.

People enter races all the time and then end up not taking part for whatever reason.

Sorry excuse Me,

There's more than a few hundred in difference in no shows between this year and last year even though 20000 approx signed up each time. That's a fairly sizeable approximation.

This is a fairly new situation and if they knew all about it they would've been holding it on Sunday years ago.

My original point is that they should allow transfers or postponement and it's just greed if they don't despite all your logic around it. 70 to 90 quid is huge money to be pocketing so easily.

70 to 90 quid is huge money to be pocketing so easily.

New York marathon is $250 for US citizens, $350 for non-US, no transfers, refunds, or deferrals (except that you can defer your place and pay again next year)

What would you say if Dublin announced that they were going to support transfers and deferrals... also that there was a limit of 16500 places (so selling out in June), and that entry fee was 110 euro, rising to 120 in March?

Sorry excuse Me,

There's more than a few hundred in difference in no shows between this year and last year even though 20000 approx signed up each time. That's a fairly sizeable approximation.

This is a fairly new situation and if they knew all about it they would've been holding it on Sunday years ago.

My original point is that they should allow transfers or postponement and it's just greed if they don't despite all your logic around it. 70 to 90 quid is huge money to be pocketing so easily.

OK then. On a rough calculation the price goes up to €120 to make up the difference of the people not turning up, the number of available entries goes down to 16,000 (as that is all the roads can cope with), the cost of a transfer is a further €120 (as this creating extra admin work to be done at precisely the point at which they don't want extra admin work in the weeks before the event). But because there are now only 16,000 people taking part rather than 20,000 the sponsorship income goes down as there are not as many people getting advertised to at the Expo on in the emails and programs leading up to the event, so the price actually has to go up more in order to still break even based on that loss of income.

Costs for policing, road closures and medical cover are exactly the same, the same number of tshirts, medals and bottles of water have to be paid for

You'd still have a large number of people not running on the day, but you'd have far more people complaining about not having been able to sign up, or the entry cost having increased etc.

. 70 to 90 quid is huge money to be pocketing so easily.

Always laugh when I see this;

Costs associated with the race
    - Road Closures, Gardai overtime
    - Liability insurance
    - Race T Shirts
    - Goodie bags
    - Gels
    - Water
    - Chip timing

Add then the prize funds

MEN & WOMEN
    1st 12000
    2nd 7500
    3rd 6000
    4th 5000
    5th 4000
    6th 3000
    7th 2000
    8th 1500
    9th 1000
    10th 500

Add in National CHampionships prize fund

1st 3500
    2nd 2500
    3rd 1500

Couple that with the Irish Time bonuses

MEN SUB / WOMEN SUB / EURO
    2.35 / 3.00 / 100
    2.33 / 2.58 / 125
    2.32 / 2.56 / 150
    2.31 / 2.54 / 175
    2.30 / 2.52 / 200
    2.29 / 2.50 / 300
    2.28 / 2.49 / 400
    2.27 / 2.48 / 500
    2.26 / 2.47 / 600
    2.25 / 2.46 / 700
    2.24 / 2.45 / 800
    2.23 / 2.44 / 1000
    2.22 / 2.43 / 1250
    2.21 / 2.42 / 1500
    2.20 / 2.41 / 1750
    2.19 / 2.40 / 2000
    2.18 / 2.39 / 2500
    2.17 / 2.38 / 2750
    2.16 / 2.37 / 3000
    2.15 / 2.36 / 3500
    2.14 / 2.35 / 4000
    2.13 / 2.34 / 5000
    2.12 / 2.33 / 7000
    2.11 / 2.32 / 8000
    2.10 / 2.31 / 9000
    2.09 / 2.30 / 10000

Then add in the fee they give to clubs per steward as well as the cost of putting up the elite fields (flights food accomodation)

Not a whole lot left in the pockets

Then add in the fee they give to clubs per steward as well as the cost of putting up the elite fields (flights food accomodation)

Not a whole lot left in the pockets

I think they may have been flying/ ferrying in medical staff and equipment in as well. On walking into the start area I noticed one of the ambulances said "Festival Medical Services" on it, but I wasn't quick enough to notice if it was the same charity that grew out of providing the medical staff for Glastonbury or not and thought nothing more of it. On my flight back that evening though there were about 6 people in Dublin Marathon hoodies with Medic printed on the back so they had obviously been shipped over to provide staffing, and some more of them were probably on the ferry back with the ambulance.

RayCun wrote: »
    New York marathon is $250 for US citizens, $350 for non-US, no transfers, refunds, or deferrals (except that you can defer your place and pay again next year)

What would you say if Dublin announced that they were going to support transfers and deferrals... also that there was a limit of 16500 places (so selling out in June), and that entry fee was 110 euro, rising to 120 in March?

I was just waiting since my post yesterday for someone to compare us to another country. The same posters responding with the same story every year.

Youre just making up rubbish figures now to prove your point.

I could just as easily say how about charging 50 quid and allowing transfers till August.

Xyz countries charge 40 50 quid for a marathon and have more overheads with people entering who have more take home pay than the Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,854 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Why would they pay for the elite field?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

S.L.F. wrote:
    Xyz countries charge 40 50 quid for a marathon and have more overheads with people entering who have more take home pay than the Irish.

Berlin charges in excess of a 100 euro with no t-shirt in the fee.

All the ones responding supporting no transfers and postponement must have loads of money to throw around...fair play pass it my way.

No we just don't bitch and moan about the rules that are clearly stated before we sign up to.

It's not "supporting" no transfers, it's that we understand the reasons that there are no transfers.

S.L.F. wrote:

I could say the same about those paying for an event and then not taking part in said event. They must have lots of money to throw around.

No we just don't bitch and moan about the rules that are clearly stated before we sign up to.

Well you're an aul lick anyway...your livelihood depends on it.

Youre just making up rubbish figures now to prove your point.

I could just as easily say how about charging 50 quid and allowing transfers till August.

But they're not rubbish figures :)

The course won't take any more runners, and the gardai won't allow it - they've already capped the number of runners. If you allow transfers, then a higher proportion of entrants will be runners. Therefore you have to have a lower cap on entrants. Therefore, entries will close earlier.

As it is, 20,000 people paid an average of 80 euro to run. Obviously, if you cap the entry at 16,000, then you need to charge 100 euro to get the same income. But you also need more admin staff now, because you have to handle transfers, and you have a lower footfall at the expo and are less attractive to sponsors, so you have more money to make up.

You could say charge 50 quid each, but you really would be talking through your hat.

:P

He shoots and he misses but nice try ;)

S.L.F. wrote:

Why not play the ball instead of the man?

RayCun wrote: »
    But they're not rubbish figures :)

The course won't take any more runners, and the gardai won't allow it - they've already capped the number of runners. If you allow transfers, then a higher proportion of entrants will be runners. Therefore you have to have a lower cap on entrants. Therefore, entries will close earlier.

As it is, 20,000 people paid an average of 80 euro to run. Obviously, if you cap the entry at 16,000, then you need to charge 100 euro to get the same income. But you also need more admin staff now, because you have to handle transfers, and you have a lower footfall at the expo and are less attractive to sponsors, so you have more money to make up.

You could say charge 50 quid each, but you really would be talking through your hat.

The figures you concocted in your head about Dublin are not real. Therefore it's rubbish in my books