Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Marathon 29 Oct 2017 - *** NOTE: no number transfer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭RuMan

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Probably not much. Just feels like a super soft victory if that kind of time wins.

You could probably say the same about the overall winners time ! 2:15, bag of sh*te.

Personally i'm of the view that giving out about a time is a bit like like complaining about the number of points the winner of the Premier League amasses, (unless its Berlin chasing the world record who really cares).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2803|echancrure|2:49:20|2:48:59|2:58:12|
    9558|diego_b|3:43:41|3:39:30|3:54:53
    |robinph|2:49:44|2:49:59|2:58:03
    |ISOP|4:18:55|4:15:00|
    3868|hot buttered scones|3:21:45|3:09:59|
    4514|davedanon|3:14:18|3:09:59|DNF
    6501|Lazare|n/a|3:58:xx|3:58:08|
    3241|Johnny_Fontane|3:36:18|3:24:59|
    1678|withcheeseplease|2:59:58|2:59:57|2:58:35
    12429|Damo 2k9|n/a|3:59:59|3:57:57
    |DC.|2:56:02|2:44:00| 2:42:29 |
    |Dexter50|4:14:19|4:10:00|
    4591|Wubble Wubble|3:49:01|3:29:59|
    7703|RedRunner|3:52:30|4:15:00|4:13:05
    |apjb82|3:35:15|3:10:00|3:12:33
    |CCR|2:59:52|3:29:59|
    |Peckham|2:58:27|3:44:59|
    |Krusty_Clown|2:30:01|2:34:59|2:38:09
    |Derco|4:16:04|4:12:59|
    |Spirogyra|3:59:02|3:39:59
    10404|Unthought Known|4:16:44|3:44:59|3:41:41
    3790|HibernianRunner|3:28:22|3:24:00|3:30:14
    |Slow_Runner|3:42:26|3:33:xx|
    |Fiftyplus|3:29:45|3:29:44|
    1371|Murph_D|3:28:28|3:19:59|3:22:11
    |ThePiedPiper|2:49:00|3:19:59|
    3364|TFBubendorfer|2:55:07|3:15:00|3:10:20
    |jaggiebunnet|3:32:39|3:24:59|
    |Jakey Rolling|3:27:15|3:29:59|4:01:53
    |Eric the Eagle|3:26:25|3:19:59|
    |El Caballo|3:15:29|3:11:29|
    2634|Trampas|3:18:41|3:20:01|3:26:20
    |boykev|4:00:56|3:29:30|
    1942|MisterDrak|3:07:24|3:14:00|
    |ciarraiabu1977|2:57:45|2:57:40
    1322|Singer|3:32:04|3:14:15|3:14:11
    |Doeshedare|n/a|3:39:59|
    2855|Martyboy48|3:18:00|3:30|
    |Brusna|n/a|3:27:59|
    |Hawkwing|3:58:30|4:59:59|
    1805|JohnDozer|3:59:13|3:39:59|3:40:14
    20545|Jack Bracken|N/A|5:30:00|5:38:12
    3247 |Quickfeet |3:17:30 |3:15:00|3:18:21

What a day. The injury popped up a bit earlier than expected, but I soldiered on and got the job done. Race report in the novices thread, but I already cant wait for my next one.

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭Jmcmen

Reg'stoy wrote: »
    Just wanted to give a different perspective of yesterdays race.
    Personally I've completed a Dublin Marathon and ran the last half in Newbridge, so like most here I'd only really seen the race from the little bubble around me.
    I've also gone into town and stood by the road and cheered on but yesterday I was in one of the sweeper vehicles following the last participants and so got a fairly unique view of the race.
    Obviously from my position I only really got to see those who had chosen or for what ever reason had been forced to walk.
    We had a job to do, which was asking people (once they were outside a projected finish time) to move onto the paths as roads would be re-opening to traffic once we passed. Not one person objected, we were always polite as they had paid their entry fee and deserving of respect for the effort that they were putting in; walking 26 miles (in my opinion) is not an easy task.
    Now the reason I decided to post this was the current chat about the winners and yes it is a race after all; but there was 20,000 entrants yesterday and the vast majority of them were charity runners or just individuals who wanted to prove something to themselves.
    So I just wanted to say well done to all finishers (what ever your time) and unlucky to those who couldn't finish. Give a big thank you to the red coated volunteers on the course and a massive, massive fair play to all the supporters who stood by the side of the road and cheered on everyone who passed them 5,6,7 and longer hours after the race started. I have felt and now seen the boost you give to every entrant.
    Now, hopefully I won't have opened an old wound of running'walking a marathon. I just wanted to say I saw the effort and determination of those entrants still on the course while others were long finished.
    Lovely post. Thanks for taking the time to share it.

And thanks to everyone of the volunteers and supporters once again.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,001 ✭✭✭✭event

2016 Congress passed the following competition rule:-

"For an athlete to be either a Title Holder/Medallist ( to be defined as referring to top 3 finishers or top 3 winning team members , in track
    and field - outdoor and/or indoor - cross country or road ) and/or the holder of a Championship Record (individual or team), the athlete must be a holder of, or be eligible to hold, an Irish passport and/or must reside on the island of Ireland ( for a minimum of 6 consecutive months immediately prior to the relevant Championships) and must be a member of an affiliated club on the island of Ireland."

So as long as Freddy satisfied those rules, and I don't think he would have been stupid enough to enter/ be entered for the National Championships (NOT the Championship for Nationals) then he is the National Marathon Champion of 2017 and GOH is not.

I have held 2 National titles in T&F (and several other national medals), am English, don't hold an Irish passport (and don't plan to) as still want the option to represent UK if the chance arose, so should be allowed to compete and hold national titles in future ?

I'd love to see what's defined as residency? Can you go to another country for training or do you have to be here every day for the 6 months?

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭noelearly

Enough talk of Freddy and GOH for me....

Anybody know where i can see the personal race videos ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭S.L.F.

I guess dedicating your life, your time and your body to a single race is no longer considered to taking DCM 'seriously'.

If you knew anything about the sport you'd know Gary poured everything into the race. Who says you cannot race twice over the distance in a short time frame? It's just a distance, nothing more.

Gary came 2nd. It's a non-story. Well done Freddy, well deserved.

Social Media - a race to the bottom, full of hyperbole and faux outrage.

I don't think GOH could beat Freddie's time even if he never ran Berlin.
    IMO though, running a marathon at full throttle as he did in Berlin would have some kind of impact on a performance two weeks later.
    Not doubting for a minute his commitment and dedication just my thoughts.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

I guess dedicating your life, your time and your body to a single race is no longer considered to taking DCM 'seriously'.

If you knew anything about the sport you'd know Gary poured everything into the race. Who says you cannot race twice over the distance in a short time frame? It's just a distance, nothing more.

Gary came 2nd. It's a non-story. Well done Freddy, well deserved.

Social Media - a race to the bottom, full of hyperbole and faux outrage.
    Yes he poured everything (he had) into that race. However, he would have had more to pour into it if he hadn't had ran Berlin. Can you not see that?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭boydkev

4143|boykev|4:00:56|3:29:30|3:31:35

Enjoyable Days running, Faded a bit in the last 3 miles due to cramp but got so close to target i cant complain, Also a huge PB.

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Ultraman100

sideswipe wrote: »
    Where can the national championship results be viewed?

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/competition/results/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Jaysus, whoever runs the DM Facebook page would be in trouble if they posted on boards. Ladies title :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Well too bad he was beaten fair and square by a far superior athlete.

Yes beaten by a superior athlete, from Kenya.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

ultrapercy wrote: »
    Yes beaten by a superior athlete, from Kenya.

.. who fulfills the eligibility criteria, including the one about residency. Comfortably. And that really should be the end of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

S.L.F. wrote: »
    I don't think GOH could beat Freddie's time even if he never ran Berlin.
    IMO though, running a marathon at full throttle as he did in Berlin would have some kind of impact on a performance two weeks later.
    Not doubting for a minute his commitment and dedication just my thoughts.

Honestly? No. I'm not being deliberately stubborn in my thinking, I promise! Who's to say one cannot run two good marathons in just over a month? I do know many people think you cannot but Gary ran a PB. A big one at that. Could I do it? I really really doubt it BUT I am open to the idea that Berlin could have provided both a mental and physical training and racing stimulus.

I guess the proof is in the pudding - a PB on a tough course and an excellent silver medal. You cannot ask for much more!

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭ClashCityRocker

3456|CCR|2:59:52|3:29:59| 3:13:11

Went much better than expected in the end. Started at 3:30 sort of pace as planned and just picked up as the race went on. Felt fine until about mile 24 and then shuffled home from there. Great event and the crowd support was brilliant - London aside it's as good as anything I've done.

I was running with the 3:20 pacers in the park for a while, and at one stage one of them said something along the lines of "any day we can go out and run, do a marathon, is a good day. 3, 6, 10 hours, who gives a fk". Probably doesn't look all that profound written down but when he said it i must admit i got a bit of a lump in the throat :o

• Registered Users Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

https://twitter.com/KieranKelly1988/status/924774782524149765
    Saw this post on twitter which makes a fair point If rules were rules Gary O'Hanlon would have his medal taken off him and Sergiu would be moved up to Silver and Stephen Scullion would be going home with Bronze

Surprised that this element hasn't been discussed more.

Quote AAI Rules:

"Athlete must wear club singlet alternatives permitted in certain circumstances with permission of meet manager / director on application with entry."

(unless such permission was obtained)

This rule is strictly enforced by AAI at some races/ meetings.

And to put this in perspective in if you are entered in the club championship for the London Marathon (at least as my experience) you aren't even allowed start if you are not wearing a club singlet - they even measure the manufacturers logo to make sure it comes with regulation size. In Britain its basically the same rule.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Can someone add me in there for 3.28:55

Thought the goody bag was poor but the top is excellent. They left the price on too....rookie error:P

CVLxTFd.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Eric the Eagle

|Eric the Eagle|3:26:25|3:19:59|3:18:21

Adding in my time, had a great day. Race went really well, happy with how I paced myself.

I thought I had set a pretty tough target at sub 3:20 but managed to hold onto the pacers, who did a fantastic job, until Roebuck and then decided to have a go for it. Managed to stay ahead till the end and grab a good PB.

Absolutely delighted! Big thank you to all volunteers on the day and the support was brilliant too.

Again the pacers deserve a lot of credit, they do a brilliant job!

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Ultegra

That was me that got hit by the deer!!!! Ligament damage to foot but a tale to tell for years to come -heard enough deer jokes now to last me a lifetime. Goal was 3.59.59 - actual time 4.00.47 - Ill take that!

Ultegra wrote: »
    That was me that got hit by the deer!!!! Ligament damage to foot but a tale to tell for years to come -heard enough deer jokes now to last me a lifetime. Goal was 3.59.59 - actual time 4.00.47 - Ill take that!

Oh Dear!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Podge83 wrote: »
    Oh Dear!

D'oh!

ligerdub wrote: »
    D'oh!

A bit of an "on the hoof" reply there!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,077 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Quote AAI Rules:

"Athlete must wear club singlet alternatives permitted in certain circumstances with permission of meet manager / director on application with entry."

And to put this in perspective in if you are entered in the club championship for the London Marathon (at least as my experience) you aren't even allowed start if you are not wearing a club singlet - they even measure the manufacturers logo to make sure it comes with regulation size. In Britain its basically the same rule.

One of the clubs local to me missed out on winning the team prize in London a couple of years ago as their first finisher was wearing sponsor kit rather than the club colours. They were significant enough to get in to the start area without wearing club colours though, and Radcliffe wasn't wearing club colours in her last race despite being in the championship start, but the rest of the "normal" people would have to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭PWEI

Well too bad he was beaten fair and square by a far superior athlete.

A far superior athlete? I don't know about that.

GOH finished 7 minutes ahead of Freddy at the Longford Marathon in August.
    Freddy finished in 2:32:02 that day.

Freddy also ran a 70 minute half in Belfast in August, 3 minutes behind Stephen Scullion & then went back home to Kenya to prepare for the Dublin marathon.
    In fact, I'm quite baffled how a guy who didn't break 69 minutes for a half all year, can run a low 2:16 at DCM.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

PWEI wrote: »

Freddy also ran a 70 minute half in Belfast in August, 3 minutes behind Stephen Scullion & then went back home to Kenya to prepare for the Dublin marathon.
    In fact, I'm quite baffled how a guy who didn't break 69 minutes for a half all year, can run a low 2:16 at DCM.

He ran 2:15 in 2015 perhaps just better as it goes longer.

edit: I'm not sure why we continue to compare half marathon times to full. It doesn't always relate. In the case above I'd be asking questions of Scullion's performance in Dublin before Freddies.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

|Eric the Eagle|3:26:25|3:19:59|3:18:21
    1942|MisterDrak|3:07:24|3:14:00|3:13:43

Tough day out there, ran well until mile 21, but then entered my own private hell from that point to the end of the race. Mile 24 very hard.

Still very happy to better my time from 7 years ago, and my second fastest Marathon.

Yesterday, I vowed that this would be my Final Marathon, but now I have a Boston qualifying for 2018, I'm thinking again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

I don't like the insinuations you are making on the back of nothing but spite. Gary hadn't broken 70 for 2 years going into Berlin and ran 2:19 and followed it up with a 2:18 Sunday going through halfway in 68 both times but I suppose that's different...

Savage running by both even if the rules are a bit of a joke tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jrkb

Quote AAI Rules:

Not 100% sure but I think the rule regarding the club singlet is different for the marathon.

jrkb wrote: »
    Not 100% sure but I think the rule regarding the club singlet is different for the marathon.

The quote is from the marathon championships section of the AAI competition rules booklet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Comparing Longford to DCM, the National Marathon Championships, is quite funny.

Again, you cannot compare any half times to the marathon distance. It's a rather pointless pursuit.

Regarding Belfast - I would hazard Freddie was in a comfortable 3rd, with no chance that day of beating the front two. It was highly possible he didn't run to his full capability that day. That's me hazarding a guess though. That type of thing happens a lot. For that reason alone, there's no point looking at previous results and comparing it to more recent results.

2.16 to 2.18 is huge at that level. Without knowing his training, previous race day tactics etc. it's a pointless argument trotting out the 'sure he hasn't ran a x.xx, how can he now run a x.xx' line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jrkb

The quote is from the marathon championships section of the AAI competition rules booklet.

Thanks,I knew road champs rules were different in some way just wasnt 100% sure.