If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Trainee November 2017 intake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Clodabells1

Hello All

I have accepted offer to start November intake. OOM 239. Can someone please add me to the WhatsApp group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Clodabells1

Hello All

I have accepted offer to start November intake. OOM 239. Can someone please add me to the WhatsApp group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Paulfjkane

Hey guys. first time on here, just wondering who to message to get onto the whatsapp group. Heading down for induction on the 31st as well. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Ivandrago2008

Has anybody on here received second round deferral offers yet? If so what was your order of merit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 micjo123

Hi guys, can someone please pm the details on how to join the whatsapp group for nov intake? thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭smiley963

micjo123 wrote: »
    Hi guys, can someone please pm the details on how to join the whatsapp group for nov intake? thanks :)

Send your name and number in PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Lmarie2016

Hi if there is an in take with induction week being end of January and beginning college in February would they give out offers before or after Christmas?

Thank you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Damo1988

Lmarie2016 wrote: »
    Hi if there is an in take with induction week being end of January and beginning college in February would they give out offers before or after Christmas?

Thank you
    before Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Irishguy215702

Does anyone know what the chat with the superintendent is like, what sort of questions would (s)he ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Nacho87

Does anyone know when we finish up in templemore for the xmas and what date we are due back ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭stiimpreza1984

Does anyone know what the chat with the superintendent is like, what sort of questions would (s)he ask?

A quick chat about your vetting form, a quick chat about you and why you wanna join.. and a quick chat about the job... be calm, be honest and talk about your skills and experiences and how they relate to been a Guard. Education and past job experience may come up also.

Be open and honest and as forthcoming with information as you possibly can.

This is the most important. It helps to show your integrity and honesty.

Wear a suit and bring written references if you have them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Alberto17

Hi Lads,

Does anyone know with a degree of certainty if a degree still gets you up a few points on the pay scale?

GRA site seems to state that it still does: gra.ie - information- pay-salary-scales

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 CAJJ

Alberto17 wrote: »
    Hi Lads,

Does anyone know with a degree of certainty if a degree still gets you up a few points on the pay scale?

GRA site seems to state that it still does: gra.ie - information- pay-salary-scales

Thanks.

Taken from the GRA website under Pay & Salary Scale

Payments of Additional Increments

Additional increments are payable to a Garda who hold any of the following qualifications on appointment to An Garda Síochána.

(F Code 13.10)(i) One Additional increment in respect of at least one Grade B and two Grade C in three subjects (which must include Mathematics and English or Irish) at honours level in the Established Leaving Certificate Examination or Leaving Certificate Vocational Programme; or
    (F Code 13.10)(ii) Three additional increments in respect of a Diploma or Degree from a third-level educational institution. The Degree/Diploma must be full time, of two/four year duration, and be awarded by a third level institution recognised by the H.E.T.A.C., or recognised Irish statutory authority

On successful completion of two years service, members may apply through the channels for these increments to Assistant Comissioner Human Resource Management.

A quick chat about your vetting form, a quick chat about you and why you wanna join.. and a quick chat about the job... be calm, be honest and talk about your skills and experiences and how they relate to been a Guard. Education and past job experience may come up also.

Be open and honest and as forthcoming with information as you possibly can.

This is the most important. It helps to show your integrity and honesty.

Wear a suit and bring written references if you have them.

I didn't wear a suit. Went straight from work in jeans and a polo shirt.

Once you look respectable and talk straight appearance doesn't matter.

They can see past the suit and tell what kind of person you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭mrDerek

by points do they mean skip 3 years if you got a degree?

mrDerek wrote: »
    by points do they mean skip 3 years if you got a degree?

Yeah. You jump up 3 years on the scale.

(F Code 13.10)(ii) Three additional increments in respect of a Diploma or Degree from a third-level educational institution. The Degree/Diploma must be full time, of two/four year duration, and be awarded by a third level institution recognised by the H.E.T.A.C., or recognised Irish statutory authority

Its depends on your Third level education. What it was in and what institution it was from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭mrDerek

CAJJ wrote: »
    Yeah. You jump up 3 years on the scale.

Its depends on your Third level education. What it was in and what institution it was from

oh nice i have an honours degree so should qualify, does this 3 point jump kick in after the 34 weeks in templemore or do you have to wait until you finished phase 3

mrDerek wrote: »
    oh nice i have an honours degree so should qualify, does this 3 point jump kick in after the 34 weeks in templemore or do you have to wait until you finished phase 3

As do I

Again taken from gra.ie

"On successful completion of two years service, members may apply through the channels for these increments to Assistant Comissioner Human Resource Management."

Year Salary 01/01/2017 No. of Weeks
    On Attestation €28,405.30 32
    Year 1 €30,382.30 84
    Year 2 €33,240.30 136
    Year 3 €34,787.30 188
    Year 4 €37,062.30 240
    Year 5 €40,495.30 292
    Year 6 €42,765.30 344
    Year 7 €44,818.30 396
    Year 8 €46,793.30 448
    Year 9 €46,793.30 500
    Year 10 €46,793.30 552

So after two years you go from 33,200 to 40,495 on full allowances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

CAJJ wrote: »
    As do I

Again taken from gra.ie

"On successful completion of two years service, members may apply through the channels for these increments to Assistant Comissioner Human Resource Management."

Year Salary 01/01/2017 No. of Weeks
    On Attestation €28,405.30 32
    Year 1 €30,382.30 84
    Year 2 €33,240.30 136
    Year 3 €34,787.30 188
    Year 4 €37,062.30 240
    Year 5 €40,495.30 292
    Year 6 €42,765.30 344
    Year 7 €44,818.30 396
    Year 8 €46,793.30 448
    Year 9 €46,793.30 500
    Year 10 €46,793.30 552

So after two years you go from 33,200 to 40,495 on full allowances.

Well provided you are approved for it! You don't automatically get it.

What's interesting is this, which I think a few might have, but it isn't exactly clear so I have simplified it down a bit.
    1 Grade B and 2 Grade Cs in 3 subjects at higher level at minimum(including Maths and English or Irish) and another 1 subject (if you haven't both English and Irish at HL) you'll go up one point on the scale.

So a combination at higher level in the LC including Maths and English or Irish at HL and 1 subject at HL in the case of just 2 subjects above

Scoring a combination like below.
    AAA
    BBB
    BBC
    BCC

Agreed. People shouldn't get too excited about allowances. They probably have to be relevant to or useful as a Guard. Who knows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Conz95

Hi All,
    First time writing up here but have been following this thread for months. Happy to say got a late offer today for November. Just wondering could someone add me to the WhatsApp? My induction week is the 24th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Weejohnny

Conz95 wrote: »
    Hi All,
    First time writing up here but have been following this thread for months. Happy to say got a late offer today for November. Just wondering could someone add me to the WhatsApp? My induction week is the 24th

Congratulations! Great to see people off the waiting list! Which campaign were you from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Butters97

Conz95 wrote: »
    Hi All,

What kind of OOM are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Conz95

I'm from the September 2016 campaign with a oom of early 500s

Delighted I got a late offer today. Oom of mid 500s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

Delighted I got a late offer today. Oom of mid 500s. Do we post back the bank details or email them?

You'll get further directions concerning this in your info pack which will come in the post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Delighted I got a late offer today. Oom of mid 500s. Do we post back the bank details or email them?

Fair play, must be like getting the gold ticket to Will Wonks Chocolate factory at this stage :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 rbnjs

Delighted I got a late offer today. Oom of mid 500s.

Hi

May i know when did you clear pct?

rbnjs wrote: »
    Hi

May i know when did you clear pct?

Back in may

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 rbnjs

Back in may

Thanks for the reply. I passed the pct last week. So will probably be waiting for a few months..