If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Trainee November 2017 intake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 dublinchris

R2999 wrote: »
    Anyone interested in a WhatsApp group?

Yes - have you got one set up or is there one already??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭bazz1000

Well done all on yer offers. Delighted for ye, some more than others. Commiserations to a small handfull of us too. Been a long 18 months for us. Feel for ye, I knew was out of running but keep the faith (tall glass). It's depressing , I know but we'll get there at some point.
    To the rest of ye who's prayers were answered a massive congrats. Enjoy the celebrations. Who knows what next week has in store ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Dub2468

Does anybody know of its 100 this week and 100 next or what way do the offers go out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

Dub2468 wrote:
    Does anybody know of its 100 this week and 100 next or what way do the offers go out?

Yeah there'll be more offers next week for the second induction week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭killer91

So did anyone set up a whatsapp group?

If so would you Pm me, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Shane88

killer91 wrote: »

Same as that! Someone PM me if it's set up please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

I'll add ye up send number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Ivandrago2008

I read in a different thread that there is talk of another campaign starting in February. I'm mid 500s from September 2016 so it's looking likely I'm be going down in February. With so many people waiting to go in and the june 2017 campaign to join the queue it makes you wonder why they want more people applying.

More headaches to be had. With the cue of ppl waiting at the moment it's pointless to start a new campaign. Let these 3 campaigns run their course and when the number of applicants starts to thin out then start a new campaign. It's a recipe for disaster. And when they get their final number of trainees in what happens to the left over people.
    " thanks for applying , putting all the effort in but we're full, try again in a cpl of years" .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Ivandrago2008

bazz1000 wrote: »
    More headaches to be had. With the cue of ppl waiting at the moment it's pointless to start a new campaign. Let these 3 campaigns run their course and when the number of applicants starts to thin out then start a new campaign. It's a recipe for disaster. And when they get their final number of trainees in what happens to the left over people.
    " thanks for applying , putting all the effort in but we're full, try again in a cpl of years" .

I know a few people from the june campaign and theyre being told they could go in may or August next year. I told them not to expect to go in before 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭stiimpreza1984

TallGlass wrote: »
    Still nothing. Doubt it will ever happen. Worst thing is, you can't even ****ing complain about it cause there's no one to complain to!

There's only a handful of people on here who know how ****ing deflating it is to see people get offers only for yourself not to hear a peep, time and time again.

But listen, I won't piss on the parade. Well done to all that got an offer. You put in the hard work and got to this stage, well done on that. Lots of exciting times ahead and best of luck to you on that. Have a nice strong drink or which tickles your fancy tonight and enjoy the next few months.

Very disappointing again for you. You never know maybe you will be offered a spot in the second round. Chin up don't lose faith!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 smurph141

Someone had a message up earlier saying they were setting one up, to pm them! I did and didnt get added and cant see their post about it! So if someone sets one up it'd be great or i can set it up either

I know a few people from the june campaign and theyre being told they could go in may or August next year. I told them not to expect to go in before 2019.

To be honest they should not be saying when we're expected to go in. Their guess is as good as ours. Gives false hope. I was told I'd be there in may. Just adds to the head wrecking when 2 intakes extra have gone by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

smurph141 wrote: »
    Someone had a message up earlier saying they were setting one up, to pm them! I did and didnt get added and cant see their post about it! So if someone sets one up it'd be great or i can set it up either

Pm me

MrBlack93 wrote: »
    Well lads, it's been a long road. For those of you still waiting there's always next week!

I didn't post much here today just cause I had to let it sink in all day today. I genuinely thought i didn't have a shot at November. With all the set backs and delays I genuinely never thought the day would come.

Exciting times ahead.
    I'll see yiz all down there. If there's a wattsgroup I'll join in :P

I hope I was of some assistance to some of ye over the course of the last 18months(ish)

It's been emotional.

MrBlack93
    :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

The very best of luck to you. You'll be missed here. Always very knowledgeable posts. Enjoy a well earned few drinks tonight :) hopefully I won't be to long behind you. You were the one who would keep us all sane lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kielmanator

If there is a whatsapp group after being setup can someone pm me the details please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Sd82

Does anyone know if we can claim our tax back in January for this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭JC43

JC43 wrote: »
    Quick question
    How many are in a class altogether. In august are there 200 recruits. ? So the next take is November ? is that 200 more recruits ? When's the next intake after Nov. What I'm trying to work out how long should it take all things going well if u have a oom of late 700 (sept 2016)

May 0
    August 150
    Nov 200. To Oom350
    Early next year 200 to Oom550
    Spring 200 to oom750
    Summer 200 to oom950

Is this how it works more or less

When i wrote this i've forgotten all about the many for Jan 16 recruitment process.
    It appears now like this for people who entered in Sept 16
    August 50
    Nov 100. To Oom 150
    Early next year 150 to Oom 400ish - taking into account entries from Jun17
    Spring 150 to oom 600ish
    Summer 150 to oom 800 ish

would it be somewhat correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 giggsey

I think your a little off JC43.

Seen on this tread someone with early 200's Sept 16 got an email.

Nov Round 1 Nov 0 To Oom 210
    Nov Round 2 211 - 350
    Feb 350-500

Have to factor in, failed/delayed physical, vetting delay, change of plans for people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭JC43

giggsey wrote: »
    I think your a little off JC43.

Seen on this tread someone with early 200's Sept 16 got an email.

Nov Round 1 Nov 0 To Oom 210
    Nov Round 2 211 - 350
    Feb 350-500

Have to factor in, failed/delayed physical, vetting delay, change of plans for people.

Great - well that's even better, i was being quite prudent as i know there are still older recruitment dates out there still and also taking into account the high oom of June17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 dylanshhkyboy

I got a reply.

Got it this morning too bud, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 giggsey

dylanshhkyboy, killer91 (ironic user name for a new Garda!), congrats.

Are ye Sept16? OOM?

Anyone on boards with Sept 16 >200 OOM get an offer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

No joy for me for November unfortunately, still not prepared for sign off.

I'm starting to fear for my application at this stage, 2 years is a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭killer91

giggsey wrote: »
    dylanshhkyboy, killer91 (ironic user name for a new Garda!), congrats.

Are ye Sept16? OOM?

Anyone on boards with Sept 16 >200 OOM get an offer?

Ha I'm Sept'16 OOM of under 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 NeeNawNeeNaw

Congratulations to everyone who got offers today, for those of you still waiting, your time will come, just hang in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭ALTHEPAL

MrBlack93 wrote: »
    Well lads, it's been a long road. For those of you still waiting there's always next week!

I didn't post much here today just cause I had to let it sink in all day today. I genuinely thought i didn't have a shot at November. With all the set backs and delays I genuinely never thought the day would come.

Exciting times ahead.
    I'll see yiz all down there. If there's a wattsgroup I'll join in :P

I hope I was of some assistance to some of ye over the course of the last 18months(ish)

It's been emotional.

MrBlack93
    :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Well done lad , you deserve it and I hope you and the rest that received there offers enjoy every minute of it. It's the beginning of a new chapter for you's and the start of an exciting career, good luck and I hope to see you's down there very soon 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 ULT_11

Has anyone got the "detailed letter and information pack" via Email? Or maybe it will be sent in the post? Long time reader but first time poster. Congrats to all who got offers so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Dcan858

You will receive information pack by post in a week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Nep35

Am I the only one left with vetting outstanding from Jan 16 ? I was told two weeks ago I was waiting to be signed off and now I was told that my vetting isn't finished ��

Nep35 wrote: »
    Am I the only one left with vetting outstanding from Jan 16 ? I was told two weeks ago I was waiting to be signed off and now I was told that my vetting isn't finished ��

That's disheartening :( hopefully, you never know you may get a second round offer. Your vetting might clear by then.