Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Trainee November 2017 intake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭bazz1000

Is there still a what's app group going please private mail me thanks :-)
    1st induction week too so offers for second still to go out. Best of luck all. A long 18 months has come to an end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭mutter_man

bazz1000 wrote: »
    Is there still a what's app group going please private mail me thanks :-)
    1st induction week too so offers for second still to go out. Best of luck all. A long 18 months has come to an end

That 18 months since you applied or is that just since you put in the form b if you don't mind my nosiness. Congratulations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Eire_1600

I've been doing some research into the Guards and read an interesting article saying that the nurse grabs your 'jewels' and asks you to cough during the medical... is this true? And also what's the minimum your BMI must be or is there no minimum? Thanks in advance for the answers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Eire_1600 wrote: »
    I've been doing some research into the Guards and read an interesting article saying that the nurse grabs your 'jewels' and asks you to cough during the medical... is this true? And also what's the minimum your BMI must be or is there no minimum? Thanks in advance for the answers :)

Long while back since I did my medical I'm fairly sure the doc had a look at the "jewels" alright,

BMI has to be under 30 to pass. I have heard of ppl who were slightly over 31/32 and they were giving a few months to lose the extra, I know people have failed if there BMI was 34/35

BMI is a tricky one as some people are athletic /muscular so their BMI is high but they would be classed as overweight according to the BMI scale

Good luck with medical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭bazz1000

mutter_man wrote: »
    That 18 months since you applied or is that just since you put in the form b if you don't mind my nosiness. Congratulations

Since Jan 16 ya. Done interview in Oct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Eire_1600

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Long while back since I did my medical I'm fairly sure the doc had a look at the "jewels" alright,

BMI has to be under 30 to pass. I have heard of ppl who were slightly over 31/32 and they were giving a few months to lose the extra, I know people have failed if there BMI was 34/35

BMI is a tricky one as some people are athletic /muscular so their BMI is high but they would be classed as overweight according to the BMI scale

Good luck with medical

Thanks for reply!

Does anyone know why they look at them? And is there a minimum BMI requirement? I did mine on a BMI calculator and it said I was slightly underweight... will this make me fail automatically? I've still plenty of time to work on everything (Fitness, Size etc) as I'm in 6th year...

Thanks again :)

bazz1000 wrote: »
    Since Jan 16 ya. Done interview in Oct

Some wait, well glad it's over for ya. Enjoy yourself down there.

Thanks for reply!

Does anyone know why they look at them? And is there a minimum BMI requirement? I did mine on a BMI calculator and it said I was slightly underweight... will this make me fail automatically? I've still plenty of time to work on everything (Fitness, Size etc) as I'm in 6th year...

I would imagine though don't quote me that to fail for being under the BMI you would need to have it so low that you would be classed as having a condition of some sort. As your only 17/18 Id say not to worry. You'll be training and have growing still to do so don't let that worry you.

As for the jewels I should have listened to the explanation when I asked a Doc 12 years ago but I didn't. Suffice to say it's not for entertainment purposes so no need to worry.

Thanks for reply!

They have a look at them to check for any lumps etc that may be linked to the likes of testicular cancer

https://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://www.garda.ie/Documents/User/Garda%2520Trainee%25202017%2520Notes%2520for%2520Candidates.pdf&ved=0ahUKEwjbhcjF2MPWAhUlBMAKHU2dCuIQFgg4MAI&usg=AFQjCNFiv1dOaY4y_sVXTSYA8Mr8Qb6Tgg

This pDf has informafion about the whole BMI and process in general worth a look

6th year you have loads of time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

Anyone get their info packets in the post yet?

Without giving away too much Information,

Does anybody know where the recent recruits are being sent lately? I know you can be sent anywhere in the country etc

Im from Cork myself so would be interested to know of any recent cork recruits where they ended up,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 micjo123

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Without giving away too much Information,

Does anybody know where the recent recruits are being sent lately? I know you can be sent anywhere in the country etc

Im from Cork myself so would be interested to know of any recent cork recruits where they ended up,

You could be sent anywhere to be honest my friend was sent to Shannon airfield when she was a recruit that was years ago. Most recruits go to Dublin as they need more guards but a small percentage will be sent outside Dublin

For those waiting on the second round offers for November - I just rang the appointments office and she said offers should be out Friday. So to give you an idea of what oom they got up to - I'm between 400 - 410 oom and she told me there is 100 people in front of me. So they must have got up to 300 releasing the offers last week.

I asked her what my chances were getting in the second round and she said it's very possible but won't know until Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭twoblub

Anyone under 50 merit from Sept16 still awaiting an offer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭stiimpreza1984

micjo123 wrote: »
    For those waiting on the second round offers for November - I just rang the appointments office and she said offers should be out Friday. So to give you an idea of what oom they got up to - I'm between 400 - 410 oom and she told me there is 100 people in front of me. So they must have got up to 300 releasing the offers last week.

I asked her what my chances were getting in the second round and she said it's very possible but won't know until Friday.

Excellent work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭ArifI

MrBlack93 wrote: »
    Well lads, it's been a long road. For those of you still waiting there's always next week!

I didn't post much here today just cause I had to let it sink in all day today. I genuinely thought i didn't have a shot at November. With all the set backs and delays I genuinely never thought the day would come.

Exciting times ahead.
    I'll see yiz all down there. If there's a wattsgroup I'll join in :P

I hope I was of some assistance to some of ye over the course of the last 18months(ish)

It's been emotional.

MrBlack93
    :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Frankgalvin

Hey where would i get my oom i see people writing that do i get that on public jobs!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Bid17

Hey where would i get my oom i see people writing that do i get that on public jobs!?

It'll be in the email you got saying you passed the interview and your oom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Bid17

i wouldn't think so unfortunately. my oom is just below 400 and im not sure ill even get this intake. the waiting is a killer.

My oom is in the 700s and when I rang up and kinda wanted an answer to say I'll not make it into the November intake just so I could plan and he was like I can't say for sure. . 😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 alanmacklin

Bid17 wrote: »
    My oom is in the 700s and when I rang up and kinda wanted an answer to say I'll not make it into the November intake just so I could plan and he was like I can't say for sure. . ��

anything can happen. i wish we had a better idea if we will make it our not. cant be planning my life 3 months at a time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Frankgalvin

Bid17 wrote: »
    My oom is in the 700s and when I rang up and kinda wanted an answer to say I'll not make it into the November intake just so I could plan and he was like I can't say for sure. . 😕

Might be hope yet so maybe fingers crossed for Friday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Ivandrago2008

Fingers crossed a lot of people get some good news today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Weejohnny

Fingers crossed a lot of people get some good news today

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 giggsey

Anyone notice any pattern on the email time from HR on intake notifications?

For example, is it always 3pm?
    Or can be anytime during the day?

I'm guessing standard rule!, no one likes working too late on a Friday....if don't hear anything by 5pm then won't be till next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 giggsey

emails are out.

Got in for Nov 2nd week induction. OOM in the 320's Sept 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭stiimpreza1984

giggsey wrote: »
    emails are out.

Got in for Nov 2nd week induction. OOM in the 320's Sept 16.

Congratulations :)

Just got an offer! I'm early 400s from sept 16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Seanf22

Long time watcher, first time poster. Got an offer today oom of around mid 400's. Delighted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Yellowmug

Got a late offer myself. Was really expecting January. Induction on the 31st of October. Could someone PM me details about WhatsApp group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 alanmacklin

September 16 oom of just under 400. Got accepted for induction week on october 31st. :D