Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - Capital Punishment

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Mayo getting hammered by Galway.

If that stays the same, Dublin's chances of reaching final are completely in own hands. Two wins out of three might even do, although if Tyrone win tonight one of those wins would probably have to be against them next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Interesting to see how Cuala keeper does. Don't care much for Nolan, he's a liability with those dirty tackles.

Bambi wrote: »
    Interesting to see how Cuala keeper does. Don't care much for Nolan, he's a liability with those dirty tackles.

I'd say he is still first choice as he seems to be sorting out the puck outs with the short ones having been badly exposed in my opinion and lethal to deploy against the better teams. As the man said, if you are going to give the ball away,give it away on their 21, not your own!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Mayo getting hammered by Galway.

If that stays the same, Dublin's chances of reaching final are completely in own hands. Two wins out of three might even do, although if Tyrone win tonight one of those wins would probably have to be against them next week.

Galway need to get the next score. They’ve been terrible 2nd half. Must be some wind.

Scrap that Galway are done.

Galway need to get the next score. They’ve been terrible 2nd half. Must be some wind.

Bit like Mayo's first game against Rossies.

Good comeback all the same and enough time to win.

So ignore my premature prediction above!

Might have gone the other way again.

Mayo just stopped scoring 12 mins ago.

Free to Galway here to win it.

Mayo are the weirdest outfit ever. Either ready to go through walls, or just switch off.

Hard to see what they will take from this league especially as it is likely to end with another bating in Tralee.

I really don’t rate them. They don’t have 50 good minutes in them never mind 75+

Back in Dublin’s hands now for the final. Hopefully the weathers a bit more favorable in the Hyde tomorrow.

8 wins in a row for Galway v Mayo.

I really don’t rate them. They don’t have 50 good minutes in them never mind 75+

Back in Dublin’s hands now for the final. Hopefully the weathers a bit more favorable in the Hyde tomorrow.

Tyrone have to beat Dublin. Even if they do, two wins against Rossies and Cavan would be enough.

Mayo's defeat tonight is real knock back as their heads will be all over the place facing a full Galway team in the championship. They needed a win against them, probably most of all, or against Dublin and Kerry and unlikely to get any of them.

As things stand we would need to win all 3 would we not.
    Let’s say we lost to Tyrone.

Max points we can finish on it 8.

Kerry win all their games bar the last one v Mayo finish on 12.
    And Mayo win their last 2 finish in 10

Yeah. Getting confused now!

Have to beat Tyrone. If they do then maximum Tyrone can get is 7.

So beating one of Rossies or Cavan as well would do, but losing to Tyrone would mean depending on Galway beating Tyrone in Omagh.

Yeah. Getting confused now!

Have to beat Tyrone. If they do then maximum Tyrone can get is 7.

So beating one of Rossies or Cavan as well would do, but losing to Tyrone would mean depending on Galway beating Tyrone in Omagh.
    There’s no semi any more. Top 2 straight to the final.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

We should be able to account for Tyrone at home in Croke Park, and then even if Mayo or Galway end up level on points with us, we'll go through on our head to head record. If both Galway and Mayo are level with us, then it comes down to points difference, where we're looking good too. Run up a big score against Roscommon tomorrow and we should be sorted for points.

Of course, Kerry has to play Mayo too, can't see Mayo getting much joy out of that.

Just looking at the betting. Dublin 10/11 to win the league. Mad price when you consider that Tyrone are 16/1 and a win against Dublin would more than likely put them into the final.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,459 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

As of Saturday 2nd March 2019 the Division 1 table:

vKfNE3p.png

Division 1 Round 5 remaining games

3 March 2019 Round 5 Roscommon v Dublin -- Roscommon

3 March 2019 Round 5 Kerry v Monaghan -- Killarney

Division 1 Round 6

16 March 2019 Round 6 Galway v Roscommon -- Salthill

16 March 2019 Round 6 Monaghan v Cavan -- Clones

16 March 2019 Round 6 Dublin v Tyrone -- Dublin

16 March 2019 Round 6 Kerry v Mayo -- Tralee

Division 1 Round 7

24 March 2019 Round 7 Cavan v Dublin -- Cavan

24 March 2019 Round 7 Mayo v Monaghan -- Castlebar

24 March 2019 Round 7 Roscommon v Kerry -- Roscommon

24 March 2019 Round 7 Tyrone v Galway -- Omagh

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Jaysus, it's going to be a wet one today.
    Nothing like a long drive after getting soaked!!!
    Results going our way. Win the last three and we get to dance with Kerry again.
    Great stuff

Powers have taken heed of the weather!

Line on total points cut from 31.5 to 29.5.

Was 31 points all the same in similarly crap weather in Leitrim last time.

Hyde is tighter pitch I think?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Just landed. Parked up beside the hospital. Grand handy spot. Horrible weather. Not a day to bother getting out of the car 'till 1.55.

Where do we go for the pink champagne & oyster bar?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

Architects of our own downfall. Second time this year we've thrown away a comfortable lead.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭megadodge

Powers have taken heed of the weather!

Line on total points cut from 31.5 to 29.5.

Was 31 points all the same in similarly crap weather in Leitrim last time.

Hyde is tighter pitch I think?

The Hyde is one of the biggest pitches in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Hope you all got home safe. Nearly caused a crash leaving Roscommon. Swear to God I'm still shaking. Never doing the lotto again. I won it today. Sick with myself though!!
    Weather and roads were so bad on the way back too.
    Game was enjoyable. Ros really gave it a good go. Conditions were awful for both teams so fair play to them both for giving us a good game

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Just back. Got parked 2 min minutes from the stadium

Had grub in the Hudson Bay Hotel.

Fair play to the guy who won the house a half time. Nice to see a renter win his own place

Enjoyed the game. The first half was very close, it was a close game when Roscommon went for it, and easy when they say back.
    Thought Andrews had a good game, his best so far to his year. Midfield was ok, Roscommon were handy in the middle too.

Thought the half-forward line linked up well with the inside line, Scully, O'Callaghan and Costello had a collective good shift.

O'Sullivan held things together at the back. Good crowd at the game considering the day it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Denis Bastick available now. He's hangin up his dancing shoes.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭corny

Game in Parnell Park was low scoring and scrappy but very entertaining. Well as entertained as one can be when your balls are turning blue.

Forwards were caught in possession far too often but credit Laois for that. Brennan has them doing what Kilkenny were great at....swarming on the man in possession.

Sean Brennan took his chance in goal and Oisin O'Rorke was excellent again when he came on. Sean Moran hovered up some amount of ball in the second half too.

Extra week prep because of the postponed games won't do us any harm.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Stoner wrote: »
    Just back. Got parked 2 min minutes from the stadium

Had grub in the Hudson Bay Hotel.

Fair play to the guy who won the house a half time. Nice to see a renter win his own place

Enjoyed the game. The first half was very close, it was a close game when Roscommon went for it, and easy when they say back.
    Thought Andrews had a good game, his best so far to his year. Midfield was ok, Roscommon were handy in the middle too.

Thought the half-forward line linked up well with the inside line, Scully, O'Callaghan and Costello had a collective good shift.

O'Sullivan held things together at the back. Good crowd at the game considering the day it was.

What did they say the attendance was? The stand was almost full 40 minutes before the kick off. Really enjoyed it and the young lads Gavin keeps introducing are well able to slot in. Fenton kicked a few wides today but his workrate, and that of Gavin jnr and O Sullivan was excellent.

Just watched the match back earlier and the Dublin mf cleaned up everything, from both goalkeepers in the second half.

On my third hot brandy and still freezing. Jeez it was cold today.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,459 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Fann Linn wrote: »
    What did they say the attendance was? The stand was almost full 40 minutes before the kick off. Really enjoyed it and the young lads Gavin keeps introducing are well able to slot in. Fenton kicked a few wides today but his workrate, and that of Gavin jnr and O Sullivan was excellent.

Just watched the match back earlier and the Dublin mf cleaned up everything, from both goalkeepers in the second half.

On my third hot brandy and still freezing. Jeez it was cold today.

The announcer said it was 9k at the game?
    Maybe I misheard it said 6500 in the indo.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Quiet round here when we win, innit :D