Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - Capital Punishment

• Registered Users Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

Where's the lentils?

Stop. That. Now.

Sure you'll be putting an egg in it next....

• Registered Users Posts: 18,329 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Final would of been on this weekend if it wasn't for himself coming over, its too bleeding early.

It cost Galway an AI with all the intense games, they had to play in that short time.
    Lucky for Dublin they have the large panel to pace themselves and hardly have to break sweat most games.

I think this game well be Dublin's anywhere from 5-10 points depending if they want to give Tyrone the ball back when they are ahead! :D

I was listening to Kieran Donaghy on Colm Parkinsons Podcast. He said that Dublin have a major Basketball influence now with Jayo etc.
    He also said that the way Dublin play remind him the way basketball was before they introduced a shot clock.

I was thinking could the answer to fixing Gaelic football be as simple as that?
    A shot clock after 1.30 minutes of possession in the oppositions 45 or something like that?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

What worries me is that this Micky Harte fella prays a lot.
    He probably has the Pope's number. If all that God craic is true, it could give Tyrone the edge on September 2nd.

They could then go on a crusade and stop the Dubs control of the 'Holy land' (Croke Park) and the 'Holy Grail' (The Sam)? :eek:

Yeah well, good luck to him. We're getting the Pope to say Mass on Hill 16 the week before an All Ireland final. :D

Beat that bitches !

• Registered Users Posts: 18,923 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

ProudDUB wrote: »
    No sympathy for anyone who chooses to marry outside the Pale. None. If you haven't the will, the wit or the looks to nab yourself a good Heffo worshipin', Heddild readin', coddle makin', batter burger atin' Dublin woman (or man,) then you could at least have the manners to partner up with someone from another country (no, Cork doesn't count) or planet. I heard Latvians and Klingons like a good, greasy spice bag. Might explain the big frown on Lt Worf so....

God. This really is the quietest AI final build up in years, isn't it? Is it the earlier time of year, the lack of history with Tyrone (compared to Mayo or Kerry,) all the hurling hoopla, all the attention being on Mickey, the Popes visit...what?

I deliberately didn't mention the sense of the result being a foregone conclusion, leading to a lack of general interest. I just couldn't be arsed reading the ensuing outrage. :rolleyes:

Like everything wrong with this summer it's the calendar.

There's feck all on in September and as a result it can dominate the country. This situation is ridiculous. Hopefully the calendar gets fixed sooner rather than later. Can Congress change it regardless of the 3 year intention?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

The girls semi-final is on TG4 at 4:30. Like the men,there playing Galway.COYGIB.

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭WanderlustIre

Like everything wrong with this summer it's the calendar.

There's feck all on in September and as a result it can dominate the country. This situation is ridiculous. Hopefully the calendar gets fixed sooner rather than later. Can Congress change it regardless of the 3 year intention?

No the period written in is apparently the 3 years. They will need to amend it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,262 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Bret Hart wrote: »
    The girls semi-final is on TG4 at 4:30. Like the men,there playing Galway.COYGIB.

The women are in control at half time, 3-5 to 0-3, pretty impressive.

Something something financial doping, something something something Dark Side.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

I love watching them. Switched over at half time in Tyrone Monaghan game to see their quarter final and it was like getting out of a swamp.

Should be some final between them and Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 339 ✭✭frankythefish

I watched a bit of the pope earlier on rte. Impressed he showed some interest in the gaa. I see he called a Tyrone win in the final after been impressed by them in final super 8 game v Donegal

• Registered Users Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

I watched a bit of the pope earlier on rte. Impressed he showed some interest in the gaa. I see he called a Tyrone win in the final after been impressed by them in final super 8 game v Donegal

In fairness he only saw the one game all season. Also he loves a good miracle.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,309 ✭✭✭Gael85

Dublin championship/league record under Jim Gavin

Games Won Draw Lost Goals Points Total Goals Points Total
    Championship 2018 7 7 0 0 15 152 197 5 91 106
    League 2018 8 6 1 1 8 125 149 5 98 113
    Championship 2017 6 6 0 0 10 124 154 2 73 79
    League 2017 8 4 3 1 7 125 146 4 92 104
    Championship 2016 7 6 1 0 8 122 146 6 84 102
    League 2016 9 9 0 0 11 127 160 4 99 111
    Championship 2015 7 6 1 0 18 118 172 4 83 95
    League 2015 9 6 1 2 8 131 155 4 101 113
    Championship 2014 5 4 0 1 9 105 132 5 63 78
    League 2014 9 6 1 2 14 138 180 11 117 150
    Championship 2013 6 6 0 0 13 99 138 5 71 86
    League 2013 9 7 1 1 10 139 169 5 106 121
    90 73 9 8 131 1505 1898 60 1078 1258

Dublin Players who played championship/league under Jim Gavin

Player Games Starts Subs

Cluxton, Stephen 78 78 0
    Cooper, Jonny 77 76 1
    McManamon, Kevin 77 44 33
    McMahon, Philip 73 66 7
    Rock, Dean 73 58 15
    O'Sullivan, Cian 70 62 8
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 70 51 19
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 69 66 3
    McCarthy, James 67 62 5
    Andrews, Paddy 66 48 18
    Fitzsimons, Michael 66 41 25
    Flynn, Paul 63 49 14
    McCaffrey, Jack 61 47 14
    Daly, Darren 60 30 30
    Fenton, Brian 56 50 6
    Connolly, Diarmuid 55 50 5
    Brogan, Bernard 55 42 13
    Mannion, Paul 54 39 15
    Small, John 50 40 10
    Lowndes, Eric 44 26 18
    O'Gara, Eoghan 43 18 25
    Costello, Cormac 40 13 27
    Byrne, David-Naomh Olaf 39 27 12
    Bastick, Denis 39 21 18
    O'Carroll, Rory 32 32 0
    Brady, Tomas 29 15 14
    Scully, Niall 26 24 2
    Reddin, Ciaran 26 11 15
    O'Conghaile, Emmett 20 8 12
    Brogan, Alan 19 11 8
    Devereux, Nicky 19 8 11
    O'Brien, Kevin 18 13 5
    O'Callaghan, Con 17 12 5
    Carthy, Shane- St Vincents 16 6 10
    Carthy, Shane- Naomh Mearnog 16 5 11
    Howard, Brian 15 13 2
    Byrne, Davey-Ballymun Kickhams 15 5 10
    Brennan, Ger 14 14 0
    Cullen, Bryan 14 7 7
    Basquel, Colm 14 6 8
    McHugh, Conor 14 6 8
    Nelson, Darragh 12 3 9
    Nolan, Kevin 10 5 5
    Whelan, Jason 10 5 5
    Ryan, Philip 8 1 7
    O'Mahony, Declan 7 5 2
    Culligan, Eoin 6 6 0
    Murchan, Eoin 6 3 3
    Small, Paddy 6 1 5
    Currie, Sean 5 4 1
    Comerford, Evan 4 3 1
    George, Sean 3 3 0
    Savage, Michael 3 3 0
    Hudson, Paul 3 2 1
    McGowan, Andrew 3 2 1
    Dias, Craig 3 1 2
    Quinn, Paddy 3 1 2
    Supple, Shane 2 2 0
    Guckian, Chris 2 0 2
    Mullally, Conor 2 0 2
    Schutte, Mark 2 0 2
    Deegan, Michael 1 0 1
    McDaid, Robert 1 0 1
    O'Shea, Cillian 1 0 1
    Watson, Daniel 1 0 1

Dublin Players who scored championship/league under Jim Gavin

Player Goals Points Total

Rock, Dean 11 339 372
    Brogan, Bernard 19 145 202
    Connolly, Diarmuid 16 91 139
    Kilkenny, Ciaran 5 113 128
    McManaman, Kevin 12 73 109
    Andrews, Paddy 3 93 102
    Mannion, Paul 8 70 94
    Flynn, Paul 7 63 84
    Costello, Cormac 3 69 78
    O'Gara, Eoghan 11 29 62
    Fenton, Brian 3 41 50
    O'Callaghan, Con 4 31 43
    McMahon, Philip 2 35 41
    McCaffrey, Jack 5 26 41
    Cluxton, Stephen 0 36 36
    Scully, Niall 5 17 32
    McCarthy, James 4 17 29
    Brogan, Alan 0 26 26
    Macauley, Michael Darragh 4 11 23
    McHugh, Conor 1 16 19
    Basquel, Colm 0 18 18
    Cooper, Johnny 0 14 14
    Brady, Tomas 0 13 13
    Howard, Brian 0 13 13
    Reddin, Ciaran 0 13 13
    O'Sullivan, Cian 0 11 11
    Whelan, James 2 5 11
    Small, John 0 10 10
    Lowndes, Eric 1 7 10
    Carthy, Shane- St Vincents 0 7 7
    Hudson, Paul 0 7 7
    Ryan, Philip 1 4 7
    O'Conghaile, Emmett 0 6 6
    Bastick, Denis 1 3 6
    OG'S 2 0 6
    Byrne, Davey-Ballymun Kickhams 0 5 5
    Carthy, Shane-Naomh Mearnog 0 5 5
    Cullen, Bryan 0 5 5
    Small, Paddy 0 4 4
    Dias, Craig 1 1 4
    Byrne, David-Naomh Olaf 0 3 3
    Brennan, Ger 0 2 2
    Daly, Darren 0 2 2
    Devereux, Nicky 0 2 2
    Nelson, Darragh 0 2 2
    Deegan, Michael 0 1 1
    Schutte, Mark 0 1 1

131 1505 1898

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

This time next week I'll either be waking up with a hangover or waking up with a hangover.

Hope you all have Monday booked off work.

Slattsy wrote: »
    This time next week I'll either be waking up with a hangover or waking up with a hangover.

I've Monday and Tuesday off just in case.

Did anyone read the Jim McGuinness' article on Dublin the other day... ?
    The word deluded comes to mind. I can only assume he's on medication, because he seems to have completely forgotten how he had his teams 'playing' football.

Anyway, its worth a read to brighten up your Monday morning, its comical.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

The word deluded comes to mind. I can only assume he's on medication, because he seems to have completely forgotten how he had his teams 'playing' football.

Is this Jims 245th definitive guide on "How to beat the Dubs?"

Jimmy's no longer winning matches.

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Is this Jims 245th definitive guide on "How to beat the Dubs?"

Here is the article:

Dublin have an extremist game plan apparently:

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/jim-mcguinness-tyrone-must-challenge-dublin-s-extremist-game-plan-1.3602290

I just read a another well known GAA mouth's reaction to it.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/columnists/joe-brolly/joe-brolly-jim-mcguinness-advocates-a-defensive-strategy-that-would-bore-us-to-death-37252109.html

Brolly has seemed to have gone full circle about McGuinness from lauding him to laughing at him.
    Rightly so I suppose, but they are in competing papers now.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

This genius here starts a new job Monday morning, same employer but a completely new site. First day hangover in meetings for me.

Thought Jimmy be off managing Celtic, Galway Utd or Finn Harps by now :D:D

This genius will be up bright & early on Monday morning. for 7am start time. Am off a 3 though, so loads of time for a celebratory perambulation around our glorious capital & a general soaking up the atmosphere, before heading down to Smithfield for the annual Marty Party with Sam.

Gael85 wrote: »

Holding out for Maurinho to leave Man Utd :D:D

He probably could not decide which to take as was (no doubt) inundated with offers.

It is a much easier gig re-hashing the same article about the Dubs every second week.
    It only takes a few tweaks, you put every word in blanket format on a page.
    Once the words know the system, you can just change the names and the date.
    It is important to go on the defensive and be slightly bitter with your articles, to goad your opponents into attack.

Lovely work if you can get it I suppose.
    He can buy himself a new curling tong each week.

McGuinness seems to be suggesting that best way to beat Dublin is to refuse to take the ball past your own 45!

Mother of Jaysus! Mind you that is what Donegal did in 2011, but Dublin are no longer so naïve as to walk into that trap.

I would imagine that Harte's plan will be less tactical and more an attempt to throw a few curveballs and hope for sendings off and so o.

All 3 at the same time, knowing him. :P

Anyone else hoping Mick Fitz will be starting. I think he gives us another element to the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Monday, Tuesday.

I'll shag off to Portugal on the Tuesday for a few days to continue the celebrations, the Monday after the All Ireland is up there with Stephen's day for me.

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Monday, Tuesday.

I'll shag off to Portugal on the Tuesday for a few days to continue the celebrations, the Monday after the All Ireland is up there with Stephen's day for me.

Only since 2011, I used to hate sitting watching Kerry, Galway, Tyrone lift him.

Anyone else hoping Mick Fitz will be starting. I think he gives us another element to the game.

He is the Gay O'Driscoll of this team. Ruthlessly efficient and gets very little of the limelight. Hard to believe he has been mainstay of the defence since 2011.
    This game be perfect for him.